DETAILED ACTION
Information Disclosure Statement
2. The information disclosure statements (IDSs) submitted on 02/18/2025 and 05/29/2025 are in compliance with the provisions of 37 CFR 1.97. Accordingly, the information disclosure statement is being considered by the examiner.
Please note: Examiner has cited particular columns, line numbers, and figures in the references as applied to the claims below for the convenience of the applicant. Although the specified citations are representative of the teaching of the art and are applied to the specific limitations within the individual claim, other passages and figures may apply as well.
Applicants are reminded that MPEP 2141.02 states:
A prior art reference must be considered in its entirety, i.e., as a whole, including portions that would lead away from the claimed invention. W.L. Gore & Associates, Inc. v. Garlock, Inc., 721 F.2d 1540, 220 USPQ 303 (Fed. Cir. 1983), cert. denied, 469 U.S. 851 (1984).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
5. Claims 16-27 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Hoang et al. (US 20250151010) (hereinafter Hoang) in view of PENG et al. (US 20240345201) (hereinafter PENG).
Regarding claims 16 and 25:
As shown in figures 1-24, Hoang discloses a UE (user equipment) (see UE in figure 1) comprising:
a radio frequency (RF) transceiver (120 in figure 1B); and
a processor (118 in figure 1B) connected to the RF transceiver (120 in figure 1B), wherein the processor (118 in figure 1B) is configured to:
receive configuration information related to a position measurement from a network (see step 2302 in figure 23, par 0357);
measure phase information related to a reference measurement frequency based on the configuration information (see step 2310 in figure 23, par 0357); and
report a measurement result including the phase information (see step 2314 in figure 23, par 0357), wherein the configuration information includes information that configures a frequency band related to the positioning (figures 3-11 show the configuration information includes information that configures a frequency band related to the positioning. See par 0106-0146).
Hoang discloses all of the subject matter as described above except for specifically teaching wherein the reference measurement frequency is a center frequency of the frequency band configured by the configuration information.
However, PENG in the same field of endeavor teaches wherein the reference measurement frequency is a center frequency of the frequency band configured by the configuration information (par 0099, 0176, 0246). Therefore, it would have been obvious to one ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to use phase measurement methodology as taught by PENG to modify the system and method of Hoang in order to measure the reference signal for positioning (par 0099) (See KSR Rationale: Combining prior art elements according to known methods to yield predictable results).
Regarding claim 26:
As shown in figures 1-24, Hoang discloses a method comprising:
transmitting (see step 2302 in figure 23), by a network (see LMF in figure 23), configuration information related to positioning (par 0357);
receiving (see step 2314-2316 in figure 23), by the network (see LMF in figure 23), a measurement result measured by a UE (user equipment) (see WTRU in figure 23) based on the configuration information and a reference measurement frequency (see steps 2302-2316 in figure 23) (par 0357),
wherein the configuration information includes information that configures a frequency band related to the positioning (See par 0106-0146).
Hoang discloses all of the subject matter as described above except for specifically teaching wherein the reference measurement frequency is a center frequency of the frequency band configured by the configuration information.
However, PENG in the same field of endeavor teaches wherein the reference measurement frequency is a center frequency of the frequency band configured by the configuration information (par 0099, 0176, 0246). Therefore, it would have been obvious to one ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to use phase measurement methodology as taught by PENG to modify the system and method of Hoang in order to measure the reference signal for positioning (par 0099) (See KSR Rationale: Combining prior art elements according to known methods to yield predictable results).
Regarding claim 17:
Hoang further discloses wherein the configuration information includes a plurality of measurement frequency offsets for specifying a plurality of measurement frequencies for a CPP (Carrier Phase positioning) (par 0137-0138) wherein the plurality of measurement frequencies are specified the reference measurement frequency and the plurality of measurement frequency offsets indicated based on the configuration information (par 0137-0138, 0142-0144).
Regarding claim 18:
Hoang further discloses wherein the reference measurement frequency is specified based on the starting PRB (Physical Resource Block) of a PRS (Positioning Reference Signal) and a PRS bandwidth included in the configuration information (par 0103, 0107).
Regarding claim 19:
Hoang further discloses wherein the measurement result include the phase information measured for the reference measurement frequency (par 0357).
Regarding claim 20:
Hoang further discloses wherein the reference measurement frequency is determined based on an index located in indexes of REs (resource elements) included in a PRS (Positioning Reference Signal) configuration included in the configuration information (par 0097, 0103-0105, 0135, 0138-0140).
Regarding claim 21:
Hoang further discloses a non-transitory computer-readable medium recording a program code for performing the method according to claim 16 (par 0451, 0456).
Regarding claim 22:
Hoang further discloses wherein, based on the plurality of measurement frequencies that are not included in the active downlink BWP, the measurement result is determined the phase information measured for a predefined measurement frequency other than the plurality of measurement frequencies (par 0103, 0108-0128, 0141-0144).
Regarding claim 23:
Hoang further discloses wherein the predefined measurement frequency is a frequency that is an integer multiple of any one of the plurality of measurement frequencies within the active downlink BWP (par 0103, 0108-0128, 0141-0144) or a frequency that is closest to the plurality of measurement frequencies within the active downlink BWP.
Regarding claim 24:
Hoang further discloses wherein the predefined measurement frequency is the lowest frequency within the active downlink BWP (par 0103, 0108-0128, 0141-0144) or the highest frequency within the active downlink BWP.
Regarding claim 27:
Hoang further discloses wherein the network configures an active downlink BWP (Bandwidth Part) for the UE so as to include the above multiple measurement frequencies (par 0097, 0103-0105, 0135, 0138-0140).
Conclusion
6. The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure.
BAO et al. (US 20230046045) disclose a method of providing positioning reference signal information includes: transmitting wirelessly, from an apparatus, a positioning reference signal comprising a carrier signal with a carrier phase; and transmitting, from the apparatus, an indication of a reference carrier phase of the positioning reference signal, comprising a phase of the carrier signal of the positioning reference signal at a reference time of transmission of the positioning reference signal.
/KABIR A TIMORY/ Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2631