DETAILED ACTION
This office action is a response to the application 18/860,602 filed on October 25th, 2024.
Claim Status
This office action is based upon claims received on 10/25/2024, which replace all prior or other submitted versions of the claims.
Claims 1 – 20 are pending.
Claims 1 – 20 are rejected.
Information Disclosure Statement
The information disclosure statement (IDS) submitted on 10/25/2024 is in compliance with the provisions of 37 CFR 1.97. Accordingly, the information disclosure statement is being considered by the examiner.
Claim Objections
Claims 14 and 15 are objected to because of the following informalities:
Claim 14 recites “the method of any of claim 10”. The phrase “any of” should be removed from the preamble, especially because there is only one claim mentioned after the phrase. It also appears to have been mistakenly omitted from the amendment provided.
Claim 15 comprises a number of punctuation issues. Firstly, the colon [:] after the word “configured” should have been a semicolon [;]. Likewise, after each limitation in the claim language, there should be semicolons [;] instead of commas [,].
Appropriate correction is required.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1 – 6, 10 – 14, and 15 – 19 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by 3GPP TSG-RAN WG3 Meeting #115 R3-221881 [E-Meeting, 21st February – 3rd March 2022; Title: (TP for POS BL CR for TS 38.455, TS 38.473) on RRC_INACTIVE positioning; Source: Huawei; Agenda item: 19.2.2; Document Type: Discussion and Approval], as provided in the IDS, hereinafter Huawei.
Regarding claim 1, Huawei teaches a method implemented in a central unit (CU) (Huawei: Page 11, Figure 8.13.9.2-1; in view of gNB-CU) of a distributed base station that further includes a distributed unit (DU) (Huawei: Page 11, Figure 8.13.9.2-1; in view of gNB-DU), the method comprising:
transmitting, to the DU, a CU-to-DU message requesting sounding reference signals (SRS) resources for a UE (Huawei: Page 11, Figure 8.13.9.2-1, section 9.2.12.13, section 8.13.9.2, paragraphs 1 – 2; wherein the gNB-CU initiates the procedure by sending a POSITIONING INFORMATION REQUEST message to the gNB-DU, and the Requested SRS Transmission Characteristics IE is included in the POSITIONING INFORMATION REQUEST message, the gNB-DU may take this information into account when configuring SRS transmissions for the UE. Therefore, the CU transmits the positioning information request message (which includes the SRS transmission characteristics IE required for configuring the SRS transmission for the UE) to the DU);
receiving, from the DU and in response to the CU-to-DU message, a DU-to-CU message including an SRS configuration for the UE in an information element (IE) specific for SRS transmission during an inactive state of the UE (Huawei: Page 11, Figure 8.13.9.2-1, section 9.2.12.13, section 8.13.9.2, paragraphs 1 – 2; wherein the gNB-DU sends a POSITIONING INFORMATION RESPONSE message to the gNB-CU, and it shall include the SRS Configuration IE and the SFN Initialization Time IE in the POSITIONING INFORMATION RESPONSE message and when the Reserve In Inactive IE is included in the POSITIONING INFORMATION REQUEST message, the gNB-DU shall reserve the SRS configuration when the UE is released into RRC INACTIVE state. Therefore, the CU receives the positioning information response message (which includes the SRS Configuration IE and the SFN Initialization Time IE) from the DU, and when the positioning measurement is for when the UE is in an inactive state, the SRS configuration for the UE will be in an information element (IE) specific for SRS transmission during an inactive state of the UE); and
transmitting, to the UE via the DU, a command to release the radio connection, the command including the SRS configuration (Huawei: Page 12 – 13, Figure 8.3.3.2-1, section 2.3.1 8.3.3, and Figure 3, step 14; wherein the gNB-CU initiates the procedure by sending the UE CONTEXT RELEASE COMMAND message to the gNB-DU. Upon reception of the UE CONTEXT RELEASE COMMAND message, the gNB-DU shall release all related signaling and user data transport resources and reply with the UE CONTEXT RELEASE COMPLETE message and wherein SRS configuration is sent to the UE via a RRC Release message (see page 5, figure 3, step 14). Therefore, when the gNB is to release the radio connection with the UE, the CU sends the UE context release command to the DU, then the gNB forwards the SRS configuration to the UE via a RRC release message).
Regarding claim 2, Huawei teaches the method of claim 1, wherein the transmitting of the CU-to-DU message includes:
transmitting a positioning information request (Huawei: Page 11, Figure 8.13.9.2-1, section 9.2.12.13, section 8.13.9.2, paragraphs 1 – 2; wherein the gNB-CU initiates the procedure by sending a POSITIONING INFORMATION REQUEST message to the gNB-DU).
Regarding claim 3, Huawei teaches the method of claim 2, wherein the receiving of the DU-to-CU message includes:
receiving a positioning information response (Huawei: Page 11, Figure 8.13.9.2-1, section 9.2.12.13, section 8.13.9.2, paragraphs 1 – 2; wherein the gNB-DU sends a POSITIONING INFORMATION RESPONSE message to the gNB-CU).
Regarding claim 4, Huawei teaches the method of claim 1, further comprising:
including, in the CU-to-DU message, an indication that the SRS resources are specific for SRS transmission in the inactive state of the UE (Huawei: Page 11, Figure 8.13.9.2-1, section 9.2.12.13, section 8.13.9.2, paragraphs 1 – 2; wherein the gNB-DU sends a POSITIONING INFORMATION RESPONSE message to the gNB-CU, and it shall include the SRS Configuration IE and the SFN Initialization Time IE in the POSITIONING INFORMATION RESPONSE message and when the Reserve In Inactive IE is included in the POSITIONING INFORMATION REQUEST message, the gNB-DU shall reserve the SRS configuration when the UE is released into RRC INACTIVE state).
Regarding claim 5, Huawei teaches the method of claim 4 , further comprising:
receiving, from the UE in the inactive state, SRS transmissions based on the SRS configuration (Huawei: section 2.3. SRS reservation and release, proposal 4; in view of “if the DU has independent release condition, there is risk that the UE is still sending SRS, but the DU has already released the resource”. Therefore, the UE sends SRS transmissions in the inactive state, based on SRS configuration).
Regarding claim 6, Huawei teaches the method of claim 5, further comprising:
retaining the SRS configuration after the UE transitions to a connected state (Huawei: section 2.3. SRS reservation and release, proposal 4; in view of including an indication (e.g. Reserve SRS) either in positioning information request message or RRC context release command message… When the gNB knows the UE moves to another gNB (i.e., the UE transitions to a connected state), such as context retrieve, then it can send the Positioning Deactivation. There is no need for new condition for releasing the SRS. Also, if the DU has independent release condition, there is a risk that the UE is still sending SRS, but the DU has already released the resource. That will cause interference and contradict [to] our intention to reserve SRS resource).
Regarding claim 10, Huawei teaches a method implemented in a distributed unit (DU) (Huawei: Page 11, Figure 8.13.9.2-1; in view of gNB-DU) of a distributed base station that further includes a central unit (CU) (Huawei: Page 11, Figure 8.13.9.2-1; in view of gNB-CU), the method comprising:
receiving, from the CU, a CU-to-DU message requesting sounding reference signals (SRS) resources for a UE (Huawei: Page 11, Figure 8.13.9.2-1, section 9.2.12.13, section 8.13.9.2, paragraphs 1 – 2; wherein the gNB-CU initiates the procedure by sending a POSITIONING INFORMATION REQUEST message to the gNB-DU, and the Requested SRS Transmission Characteristics IE is included in the POSITIONING INFORMATION REQUEST message, the gNB-DU may take this information into account when configuring SRS transmissions for the UE. Therefore, the CU transmits the positioning information request message (which includes the SRS transmission characteristics IE required for configuring the SRS transmission for the UE) to the DU);
transmitting, to the DU and in response to the CU-to-DU message, a DU-to-CU message including an SRS configuration for the UE in an information element (IE) specific for SRS transmission during an inactive state of the UE (Huawei: Page 11, Figure 8.13.9.2-1, section 9.2.12.13, section 8.13.9.2, paragraphs 1 – 2; wherein the gNB-DU sends a POSITIONING INFORMATION RESPONSE message to the gNB-CU, and it shall include the SRS Configuration IE and the SFN Initialization Time IE in the POSITIONING INFORMATION RESPONSE message and when the Reserve In Inactive IE is included in the POSITIONING INFORMATION REQUEST message, the gNB-DU shall reserve the SRS configuration when the UE is released into RRC INACTIVE state. Therefore, the CU receives the positioning information response message (which includes the SRS Configuration IE and the SFN Initialization Time IE) from the DU, and when the positioning measurement is for when the UE is in an inactive state, the SRS configuration for the UE will be in an information element (IE) specific for SRS transmission during an inactive state of the UE);
receiving, from the CU, a command to release the radio connection, the command including the SRS configuration (Huawei: Page 12 – 13, Figure 8.3.3.2-1, section 2.3.1 8.3.3, and Figure 3, step 14; wherein the gNB-CU initiates the procedure by sending the UE CONTEXT RELEASE COMMAND message to the gNB-DU. Upon reception of the UE CONTEXT RELEASE COMMAND message, the gNB-DU shall release all related signaling and user data transport resources and reply with the UE CONTEXT RELEASE COMPLETE message and wherein SRS configuration is sent to the UE via a RRC Release message (see page 5, figure 3, step 14). Therefore, when the gNB is to release the radio connection with the UE, the CU sends the UE context release command to the DU, then the gNB forwards the SRS configuration to the UE via a RRC release message); and
transmitting the command to the UE (Huawei: Page 12 – 13, Figure 8.3.3.2-1, section 2.3.1 8.3.3, and Figure 3, step 14; wherein the SRS configuration is sent to the UE via a RRC Release message (see page 5, figure 3, step 14). Therefore, when the gNB is to release the radio connection with the UE, the CU sends the UE context release command to the DU, then the gNB forwards the SRS configuration to the UE via a RRC release message).
Regarding claim 11, Huawei teaches the method of claim 10, wherein the receiving of the CU-to-DU message includes:
receiving a positioning information request (Huawei: Page 11, Figure 8.13.9.2-1, section 9.2.12.13, section 8.13.9.2, paragraphs 1 – 2; wherein the gNB-CU initiates the procedure by sending a POSITIONING INFORMATION REQUEST message to the gNB-DU).
Regarding claim 12, Huawei teaches the method of claim 11, wherein the transmitting of the DU-to-CU message includes:
transmitting a positioning information response (Huawei: Page 11, Figure 8.13.9.2-1, section 9.2.12.13, section 8.13.9.2, paragraphs 1 – 2; wherein the gNB-DU sends a POSITIONING INFORMATION RESPONSE message to the gNB-CU).
Regarding claim 13, Huawei teaches the method of claim 10, further comprising:
receiving, in the CU-to-DU message, an indication that the SRS resources are specific for SRS transmission in the inactive state of the UE (Huawei: Page 11, Figure 8.13.9.2-1, section 9.2.12.13, section 8.13.9.2, paragraphs 1 – 2; wherein the gNB-DU sends a POSITIONING INFORMATION RESPONSE message to the gNB-CU, and it shall include the SRS Configuration IE and the SFN Initialization Time IE in the POSITIONING INFORMATION RESPONSE message and when the Reserve In Inactive IE is included in the POSITIONING INFORMATION REQUEST message, the gNB-DU shall reserve the SRS configuration when the UE is released into RRC INACTIVE state).
Regarding claim 14, Huawei teaches the method of any of claim 10, further comprising:
receiving, from the UE in the inactive state, SRS transmissions based on the SRS configuration (Huawei: section 2.3. SRS reservation and release, proposal 4; in view of “if the DU has independent release condition, there is risk that the UE is still sending SRS, but the DU has already released the resource”. Therefore, the UE sends SRS transmissions in the inactive state, based on SRS configuration).
Regarding claim 15, Huawei teaches a central unit (CU) (Huawei: Page 11, Figure 8.13.9.2-1; in view of gNB-CU) of a distributed base station that further includes a distributed unit (DU) (Huawei: Page 11, Figure 8.13.9.2-1; in view of gNB-DU), configured to operate in a radio access network (RAN) (a person having ordinary skill in the art understands that, in a 5G RAN (NG-RAN) network, CU and DU are indeed the two main functional blocks of a distributed base station (gNB)), the CU comprising processing hardware and configured:
transmit, to the DU, a CU-to-DU message requesting sounding reference signals (SRS) resources for a UE (Huawei: Page 11, Figure 8.13.9.2-1, section 9.2.12.13, section 8.13.9.2, paragraphs 1 – 2; wherein the gNB-CU initiates the procedure by sending a POSITIONING INFORMATION REQUEST message to the gNB-DU, and the Requested SRS Transmission Characteristics IE is included in the POSITIONING INFORMATION REQUEST message, the gNB-DU may take this information into account when configuring SRS transmissions for the UE. Therefore, the CU transmits the positioning information request message (which includes the SRS transmission characteristics IE required for configuring the SRS transmission for the UE) to the DU);
receive, from the DU and in response to the CU-to-DU message, a DU-to-CU message including an SRS configuration for the UE in an information element (IE) specific for SRS transmission during an inactive state of the UE (Huawei: Page 11, Figure 8.13.9.2-1, section 9.2.12.13, section 8.13.9.2, paragraphs 1 – 2; wherein the gNB-DU sends a POSITIONING INFORMATION RESPONSE message to the gNB-CU, and it shall include the SRS Configuration IE and the SFN Initialization Time IE in the POSITIONING INFORMATION RESPONSE message and when the Reserve In Inactive IE is included in the POSITIONING INFORMATION REQUEST message, the gNB-DU shall reserve the SRS configuration when the UE is released into RRC INACTIVE state. Therefore, the CU receives the positioning information response message (which includes the SRS Configuration IE and the SFN Initialization Time IE) from the DU, and when the positioning measurement is for when the UE is in an inactive state, the SRS configuration for the UE will be in an information element (IE) specific for SRS transmission during an inactive state of the UE); and
transmit, to the UE via the DU, a command to release the radio connection, the command including the SRS configuration (Huawei: Page 12 – 13, Figure 8.3.3.2-1, section 2.3.1 8.3.3, and Figure 3, step 14; wherein the gNB-CU initiates the procedure by sending the UE CONTEXT RELEASE COMMAND message to the gNB-DU. Upon reception of the UE CONTEXT RELEASE COMMAND message, the gNB-DU shall release all related signaling and user data transport resources and reply with the UE CONTEXT RELEASE COMPLETE message and wherein SRS configuration is sent to the UE via a RRC Release message (see page 5, figure 3, step 14). Therefore, when the gNB is to release the radio connection with the UE, the CU sends the UE context release command to the DU, then the gNB forwards the SRS configuration to the UE via a RRC release message).
Regarding claim 16, Huawei teaches the CU of claim 15, wherein to transmit the CU-to-DU message includes, the CU is configured to:
transmit a positioning information request (Huawei: Page 11, Figure 8.13.9.2-1, section 9.2.12.13, section 8.13.9.2, paragraphs 1 – 2; wherein the gNB-CU initiates the procedure by sending a POSITIONING INFORMATION REQUEST message to the gNB-DU).
Regarding claim 17, Huawei teaches the CU of claim 16, wherein to receive the DU-to-CU message, the CU is configured to:
receive a positioning information response (Huawei: Page 11, Figure 8.13.9.2-1, section 9.2.12.13, section 8.13.9.2, paragraphs 1 – 2; wherein the gNB-DU sends a POSITIONING INFORMATION RESPONSE message to the gNB-CU).
Regarding claim 18, Huawei teaches the CU of claim 15, further configured to:
include, in the CU-to-DU message, an indication that the SRS resources are specific for SRS transmission in the inactive state of the UE (Huawei: Page 11, Figure 8.13.9.2-1, section 9.2.12.13, section 8.13.9.2, paragraphs 1 – 2; wherein the gNB-DU sends a POSITIONING INFORMATION RESPONSE message to the gNB-CU, and it shall include the SRS Configuration IE and the SFN Initialization Time IE in the POSITIONING INFORMATION RESPONSE message and when the Reserve In Inactive IE is included in the POSITIONING INFORMATION REQUEST message, the gNB-DU shall reserve the SRS configuration when the UE is released into RRC INACTIVE state).
Regarding claim 19, Huawei teaches the CU of claim 18, further configured to:
receive, from the UE in the inactive state, SRS transmissions based on the SRS configuration (Huawei: section 2.3. SRS reservation and release, proposal 4; in view of “if the DU has independent release condition, there is risk that the UE is still sending SRS, but the DU has already released the resource”. Therefore, the UE sends SRS transmissions in the inactive state, based on SRS configuration).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 7 – 8 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Huawei, as applied to claims 1, 10, and 15 above, and further in view of Li et al. [US 20250261155 A1] hereinafter Li.
Regarding claim 7, Huawei teaches the method of claim 1, wherein.
Huawei does not explicitly teach that the IE is SRS-PosRRC-InactiveConfig.
Referring to the invention of Li, Li teaches that detailed configuration corresponding to the uplink positioning reference signal is included in ‘srs-PosRRC-InactiveConfig’ of the RRC release message (Li: ¶ 49; wherein the positioning of the terminal in an RRC inactive state is supported. The terminal, while in the RRC inactive state, can send an uplink positioning reference signal to the network device. Specifically, the network device will configure the uplink positioning reference signal for the terminal via an RRC release message when it transitions the terminal from the RRC connected state to the RRC inactive state. The detailed configuration corresponding to the uplink positioning reference signal is included in ‘srs-PosRRC-InactiveConfig’ of the RRC release message).
Thus, it would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to incorporate the SRS-PosRRC-InactiveConfig IE teachings as taught by Li into the teachings of Huawei in order to allow positioning-related SRS configurations to be retained and transferred when a UE is in RRC_INACTIVE, enabling faster re-activation and more efficient positioning without full RRC re-configuration.
Regarding claim 8, Huawei in view of Li teaches the method of claim 7, further comprising:
including the SRS-PosRRC-InactiveConfig IE in a suspend configuration; and including the suspend configuration in the command to release the radio connection (Li: ¶ 49; wherein the ‘srs-PosRRC-InactiveConfig’ is in the RRC release message).
Claims 9 and 20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Huawei, as applied to claims 1, 10, and 15 above, and further in view of Ghimire et al. [US 20240340839 A1] hereinafter Ghimire.
Regarding claim 9, Huawei teaches the method of claim 1, further comprising.
Huawei does not explicitly disclose starting, in response to the transmitting of the command to release the radio connection, an SRS validity timer to limit validity of the SRS resources configuration at the UE.
Referring to the invention of Ghimire, Ghimire teaches starting, in response to the transmitting of the command to release the radio connection, an SRS validity timer to limit validity of the SRS resources configuration at the UE (Ghimire: ¶ 42, ¶ 47 – 51; wherein the configuration information comprises information on a validity information (e.g., a validity condition). The user equipment may, e.g., be configured to determine whether or not the configuration information is currently valid for the user equipment depending on the validity condition. The configuration information may … also comprise … IEs in the SRS resource/in the SRS resource set (i.e., the configuration information comprises SRS resource that may or may not be valid based on the validity condition) … the validity information comprises information on a validity timer, and the user equipment may, e.g., be configured to start the validity timer when the user equipment receives the suspendConfig or the RRC suspend message (i.e., a command to release the radio connection) … if the validity timer has expired, the user equipment may, e.g., be configured to stop transmitting the reference signal for positioning).
Thus, it would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to incorporate the starting of the SRS validity timer upon receiving the RRC release or suspend message as taught by Ghimire into the Huawei invention since starting the SRS validity timer after RRC Release ensures the SRS remains valid for later access, minimizes re-configuration overhead, reduces latency, and improves both network efficiency and user experience when the UE re-enters connected mode.
Regarding claim 20, Huawei teaches the method of claim 10, further comprising.
Huawei does not explicitly disclose starting, in response to the transmitting of the command to release the radio connection, an SRS validity timer to limit validity of the SRS resources configuration at the UE.
Referring to the invention of Ghimire, Ghimire teaches starting, in response to the transmitting of the command to release the radio connection, an SRS validity timer to limit validity of the SRS resources configuration at the UE (Ghimire: ¶ 42, ¶ 47 – 51; wherein the configuration information comprises information on a validity information (e.g., a validity condition). The user equipment may, e.g., be configured to determine whether or not the configuration information is currently valid for the user equipment depending on the validity condition. The configuration information may … also comprise … IEs in the SRS resource/in the SRS resource set (i.e., the configuration information comprises SRS resource that may or may not be valid based on the validity condition) … the validity information comprises information on a validity timer, and the user equipment may, e.g., be configured to start the validity timer when the user equipment receives the suspendConfig or the RRC suspend message (i.e., a command to release the radio connection) … if the validity timer has expired, the user equipment may, e.g., be configured to stop transmitting the reference signal for positioning).
Thus, it would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to incorporate the starting of the SRS validity timer upon receiving the RRC release or suspend message as taught by Ghimire into the Huawei invention since starting the SRS validity timer after RRC Release ensures the SRS remains valid for later access, minimizes re-configuration overhead, reduces latency, and improves both network efficiency and user experience when the UE re-enters connected mode.
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure.
Martinez et al. [EP 4271068 A1]: Support for Positioning-Measurement-Configuration-Transfer in RRC inactive in a Disaggregated Next Generation Radio Access Network (NG-RAN) Node. Martinez teaches that the gNB-DU shall, if supported, provide the SRS positioning related configuration in the SRS-PosRRC-InactiveConfig IE within the DU to CU RRC Information IE contained in the UE CONTEXT MODIFICATION RESPONSE message to the gNB-CU.
Keating et al. [US 20250105990 A1]: Power Control For Frequency Hopping. Keating teaches that the wireless device may receive one or more configuration parameters (e.g., via SRS-PosRRC-InactiveConfig) for transmission of SRS in an RRC Inactive mode.
/HD/Examiner, Art Unit 2414
/EDAN ORGAD/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 2414