DETAILED ACTION
This office action is in response to the application and the preliminary amendment filed 25 October 2024, and the Information Disclosure Statements filed on 28 October 2024, 6 February 2026, and 27 May 2026.
This office action is viewed as Non Final.
Claims 1-15 were originally filed.
Claims 4, 6-8, 10, and 12-13 have been amended.
Claims 11 and 14-15 have been cancelled.
Claims 16-23 are new.
Claims 1-10, 12-13, and 16-23 are pending. Claims 1, 12, and 13 are independent claims.
Priority
Acknowledgment is made of applicant’s claim for foreign priority, CN202210475697.2 filed 4/29/2022, under 35 U.S.C. 119 (a)-(d). Receipt is acknowledged of certified copies of papers required by 37 CFR 1.55.
Information Disclosure Statement
The information disclosure statement (IDS) submitted on 28 October 2024, 6 February 2026, and 27 May 2026 are in compliance with the provisions of 37 CFR 1.97. Accordingly, the information disclosure statement is being considered by the examiner.
Drawings
The drawings filed on 10/25/24 have been entered and accepted.
Specification
The amendment to the specification filed on 10/25/24 has been entered and accepted.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 1-2, 4, 6, 12-13, 16, 18, and 20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Zhou et al (CN112256169A, pub. 1/22/2021) (Disclosed in IDS filed on 2/6/26) in further view of Zhao et al (CN112070569A, pub. 12/11/2020) (Disclosed in IDS filed on 5/27/26) (Examiner's Note: An English machine translation of CN112256169A and CN112070569A provided by the EPO are attached with this Office Action. All references to paragraph numbers associated with Zhou et al and Zhao et al disclosed in the rejection(s) below refer to the EPO’s English translation copy provided by the Examiner)
As per independent claim 1, Zhou et al discloses a method of information display (FIG 4-5), comprising:
detecting a first operation for a panel hot zone in a target page, the target page comprising a video region and the panel hot zone, and the video region being used for displaying a target video; (FIG. 4; FIG.5; FIG 9: discloses a page comprising a page comprising a video area (target content display area 63; 0082) and a panel hot zone (target control display area 62)). 0125: discloses when User performs/applies upward swipe gesture to the content display interface as shown (form of detecting), target control display area 62 is enlarged.)
and in response to the first operation, displaying an information region in the target page, and adjusting a display mode of the video region, wherein the information region is used to display detailed information corresponding to the target video. (FIG 5, 0082: an expanded form of target control display area 62 is displayed which discloses comments of the video (see also FIG 8). The video portion being displayed is reduced(e.g. 0113)
However, the cited art fails to specifically disclose wherein the information region is used to display detailed information about a target object corresponding to the target video. However, Zhao et al discloses an interface comprising a video regarding a product being played/displayed (0065) product details display interface. The video playback interface can display options for viewing product details. (0068; FIG. 2) In response to the user's action of triggering the product details viewing option associated with product video playing (FIG 2); the corresponding product details are displayed on the video playback interface. In particular, upon the user touching the purchase link, product details for the product may be displayed in the video play interface to facilitate user triggering manipulation of the item details to purchase the target item. For example, as shown in Figure 3, a presentation interface for product details is shown for the present solution. (information display area)(0069, 0072, 0075-0076)
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of Applicant’s invention to have modified Zhou et al with the cited disclosed feature(s) of Zhao et al would have provided the benefit of providing users with a more convenient shopping experience and improving the efficiency of video-to transaction conversion.
As per dependent claim 2, Zhou et al discloses wherein the adjusting a display mode of the video region comprises: reducing a display area of the video region in the target page, wherein the reduced video region is used for displaying content associated with the target video. (FIG 5, 8; 0082, 00113, 0120: target content display area that displays videos is reduced)
As per dependent claim 4, Zhou et al discloses wherein the first operation comprises a sliding operation, and the in response to the first operation, displaying an information region on the target page comprises: in response to the sliding operation, determining a sliding distance corresponding to the sliding operation (0087, 0120, 0135, 0137: distance determined); determining a target display area of the information region based on the sliding distance (0125, 0087-0089, 0113, 0120, 0124-0125, 0144),; and displaying the information region in the target page, wherein a display area of the information region in the target page is the target display area. (FIG 5, 8; 0113; 0144: an expanded form of target control display area 62/71 is displayed)
As per dependent claim 6, Zhou et al discloses wherein the panel hot zone is an information region for displaying basic information (FIG 5, 8; 0082); wherein the in response to the first operation, displaying an information region in the target page comprises: in response to the first operation, increasing a display area of the information region in the target page; (FIG 5; 8) and adjusting content displayed in the increased information region to be the detailed information (FIG 5; 8; 0082: more details are shown as the size increases) Furthermore, based on the rejection of Claim 1 and the rationale incorporated, Zhao et al discloses wherein the panel hot zone is an information region for displaying basic information of the target object (FIG 3; 0069, 0072, 0075-0076); adjusting content displayed in the increased information region to be the detailed information about the target object corresponding to the target video. (FIG 2-3; 0069, 0072, 0075-0076; 0106: Discloses the video being reduced and the information panel increased in size to display product details of the product being display in the video)
As per independent claims 12-13, Claims 12-13 recite similar limitations as in Claim 1 and are rejected under similar rationale. Furthermore, Zhou et al discloses a medium and a device with a memory and processor (FIG 12; 0166-0169; 0177)
As per dependent claims 16, 18, 20, Claims 16, 18, and 20 recite similar limitations as in Claim 2, 4, and 6 and are rejected under similar rationale.
Claim(s) 3, 17 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Zhou et al in further view of Zhao et al in further view of Hongshi Media, “Store homepage live streaming module 2.0 upgrade announcement”, pub. 11/25/2020)(herein as “Hongshi”) (Disclosed in IDS filed on 2/6/26)
As per dependent claim 3, Zhou et al discloses adjusting the video region (FIG 5-6); however, the cited art fails to specifically disclose adjusting a display mode of the video region comprises: adjusting the video region into a video play control, wherein the video play control is used for displaying the video region in the target page in response to a trigger operation. However, Hongshi discloses when consumers pull down the store homepage page or switch the store tab, a live broadcast floating window will be displayed. After closing the window, a floating icon is shown, with the specific style as follows:
(page 1)(The floating element is a video playback control; effectively, the video area is converted into a video playback control, and this control is configured to display the video area within the target page in response to a trigger action.) When the consumer pulls down the details page to a certain position, a floating live-streaming window is displayed, as specifically shown in Figure 2:
(page 2)
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of Applicant’s invention to have modified the cited art with the cited disclosed feature(s) of Hongshi would have provided the benefit of strengthening the interactive atmosphere and better consumer experience of store live streaming (page 1)
As per dependent claim(s) 17, Claim(s) 17 recite similar limitations as in Claim 3 and are rejected under similar rationale.
Claim(s) 5, 19 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Zhou et al in further view of Zhao et al in further view of Zhu et al (US20200379638, 2020)
As per dependent claim 5, the cited art fails to specifically disclose wherein the determining a target display area of the information region based on the sliding distance comprises: if the sliding distance is less than or equal to a predetermined distance threshold, determining the target display area of the information region based on the sliding distance; and if the sliding distance is greater than the predetermined distance threshold, determining the target display area of the information region based on the distance threshold. However, Zhu et al discloses : if the sliding distance is less than or equal to a predetermined distance threshold, determining the target display area of the information region based on the sliding distance (0218, 0249: discloses a drag gesture (touch and slide input) being performed on a grabber in an upward direction that results in stroke input area 604a expands (e.g., to a bigger size, longer in length but same width) and, optionally, the aspect ratio of stroke input area 604a changes. As illustrated in FIGS. 6C-6E, stroke input area 604a expands in conjunction with movement of input 650b. In addition, Zhu et al discloses when stroke input area 604a reaches a maximum size (e.g., the large size), stroke input area 604a no longer expands in conjunction with the upward movement of the input. One of a skilled artisan would have realized that the stroke input area reaches its max size when the user slides the grabber to a certain distance point that corresponds to the maximum size of the stroke input area allowed. Thus, Zhu et al discloses as the user slides the grabber up and stroke input area hasn’t reached it max size then the stroke input area is based on the current distance from the starting location point of the gesture to the current location point of the gesture. Once the user slides the grabber to the point the stroke input area can no longer expand (reaches its max size), then any further sliding up will not have the stroke input area increase any further. One of a skilled artisan in the art would have realized that once the point the stroke input area can no longer increase based on the user sliding up, then that the distance threshold has been met. Thus, Zhu et al discloses determining the target display area of the information region based on the sliding distance)
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of Applicant’s invention to have modified the cited art with the cited disclosed feature(s) of Zhu would have provided the benefit of providing the user with more display space for providing handwriting strokes, thereby reducing input errors. Reducing input errors enhances the operability of the device and makes the user-device interface more efficient (e.g., by helping the user to provide proper inputs and reducing user mistakes when operating/interacting with the device) which, additionally, reduces power usage and improves battery life of the device by enabling the user to use the device more quickly and efficiently. (0248)
As per dependent claim(s) 19, Claim(s) 19 recite similar limitations as in Claim 5 and are rejected under similar rationale.
Claim(s) 7, 21 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Zhou et al in further view of Zhao et al in further view of Tang (CN112632322A; 2021-04-09) in further view of Peterson et al (US20160182965, 2016) (Examiner's Note: An English machine translation of CN112632322A provided by the EPO are attached with this Office Action. All references to paragraph numbers associated with Zhou et al and Zhao et al disclosed in the rejection(s) below refer to the EPO’s English translation copy provided by the Examiner)
As per dependent claim 7, Zhou et al discloses wherein the target video comprises at least one video clip, each video clip is used to display detailed information, and respective video clips display different detailed information (FIG 5, 0082: discloses at least one video clip and detailed information) Furthermore, based on the rejection of Claim 1 and the rationale incorporated, Zhao et al discloses the target video comprises at least one video clip, each video clip is used to display detailed information (0062, 0065, 0069, 0072, 0075-0076) In addition, 0065, 0096-0097 discloses a plurality of product videos are played for the user to watch. Thus, Zhou et al discloses different product videos are played. In addition, one of a skilled artisan would realize that if the cited art is able to perform this functionality once, then it will perform the functionality again. Thus, for each video played, the video playback interface of Zhao can display options for viewing product details for that current video played. (0068; FIG. 2) In response to the user's action of triggering the product details viewing option associated with a current product video playing (FIG 2); the corresponding product details are displayed on the video playback interface. In particular, upon the user touching the purchase link, product details for the product may be displayed in the video play interface to facilitate user triggering manipulation of the item details to purchase the target item. For example, as shown in Figure 3, a presentation interface for product details is shown for the present solution. (information display area)(0069, 0072, 0075-0076). This process can be repeated with each video.
However, the cited art fails to specifically disclose wherein in response to that the target video is displayed in the video region, the video region is provided with at least one content control and a progress bar corresponding to each content control, each content control corresponding to a video clip, each content control being used for triggering playing of a corresponding video clip, and the progress bar being used for displaying a playing progress of the video clip which is triggered to be played. However, Tang et al discloses wherein in response to that the target video is displayed in the video region, the video region is provided with at least one content control, each content control corresponding to a video clip, each content control being used for triggering playing of a corresponding video clip (FIG. 1; n0006-0009; n0042; n0059: Discloses a video being played. The video includes additional videos displayed on the video that when selected causes the additional video to be played instead.)
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of Applicant’s invention to have modified the cited art with the cited disclosed feature(s) of Tang would have provided the benefit of select multiple recommended videos by means of information display instructions without exiting the video playback page, and switch videos by means of video switching instructions. This not only simplifies the user's operation but also gives the user a certain degree of choice by providing recommended videos. (n0132)
Furthermore, the cited art fails to specifically disclose the video region is provided with a progress bar corresponding to each content control, the progress bar being used for displaying a playing progress of the video clip which is triggered to be played. However, Peterson et al discloses each video clip/content control is associated with a progress bar being used for displaying a playing progress of the video clip (FIG 2; 0027, 0050-0051) In addition each video clip/content control is selectable for viewing (0048)
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of Applicant’s invention to have modified the cited art with the cited viewing progress information visually available to the user feature(s) of Peterson et al would have provided the intrinsic advantage of simplifies media program management decisions for the user.
As per dependent claim(s) 21, Claim(s) 21 recite similar limitations as in Claim 7 and are rejected under similar rationale.
Claim(s) 8, 22 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Zhou et al in further view of Zhao et al in further view of Tao et al (US 20230297618, EFD 3/9/2022)
As per dependent claim 8, Zhou et al discloses in response to that the target video is displayed in the video region, displaying the comment in a predetermined sub-region within the video region. (FIG 5, FIG 8; 0078; 0113, 0125) However, the cited art fails to specifically disclose screening out a comment of the target object according to a predetermined rule. However, Tao et al discloses screening out a comment of the target object according to a predetermined rule (0027-0028, 0058: comments are filtered based on selected subject matter of the played video such only the related comments are displayed)
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of Applicant’s invention to have modified the cited art with the cited disclosed feature(s) of Tao would have provided the benefit of user can quickly find comments or topics corresponding to the content currently involved in the video in the comment area. (0014)
As per dependent claim(s) 22, Claim(s) 22 recite similar limitations as in Claim 8 and are rejected under similar rationale.
Claim(s) 9 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Zhou et al in further view of Zhao et al in further view of Hongshi in further view of Ramachandran (US 20130145267, 2013)
As per dependent claim 9, the cited art fails to specifically disclose wherein the video play control comprises at least one of the following: a playing key for resuming playing of the target video, a selection key for restoring a displaying manner of the video region, or a scroll control key for viewing the target video. However, Ramachandran discloses a floating video element that play the video when select (form of a playing key for playing the video) (0035; 0040) or return to full size mode based on a user input (selection key for restoring a displaying manner of the video region)(FIG 6; 0037)
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of Applicant’s invention to have modified the cited art with the cited disclosed feature(s) of Ramachandran would have provided the benefit of maximizing the user experience and allow the user to efficiently consume content. (0006)
Claim(s) 10, 23 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Zhou et al in further view of Zhao et al in further view of Gross (US 20150289022, 2015)
As per dependent claim 10, the cited art fails to specifically disclose wherein a picture browsing control is provided in the video region, and the method further comprises: in response to the picture browsing control being triggered, displaying at least one picture of the target object in the video region. However, Gross discloses wherein a picture browsing control is provided in the video region, and the method further comprises: in response to the picture browsing control being triggered, displaying at least one picture of the target object in the video region. (FIG. 7-8, 10; 0064, 0066: Discloses selecting an icon/marker (form of picture browsing control) associated with a target object in the interactive video. In response, an image of the target object is displayed on top of the video. This is a form of in response to the picture browsing control being triggered, displaying at least one picture of the target object in the video region)
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of Applicant’s invention to have modified the cited art with the cited disclosed feature(s) of Gross since it would have provided an efficiency method in the process of identifying additional information associated with products in videos. (0003)
As per dependent claim(s) 23, Claim(s) 23 recite similar limitations as in Claim 10 and are rejected under similar rationale.
Conclusion
If the Applicant chooses to amend the claims in future filings, the Examiner kindly states any new limitation(s) added to the claims must be described in the specification in such a way as to reasonably convey to one skilled in the relevant art in order to meet the written description requirement of 35 USC 112, first paragraph. To help expedite prosecution, promote compact prosecution and prevent a possible 112(a)/first paragraph rejection, the Examiner respectfully requests for each new limitation added to the claims in a future filing by the Applicant that the Applicant would cite the location within the specification showing support for that new limitation within the remarks. In addition, MPEP 2163.04(I)(B) states that a prima facie under 112(a)/first paragraph may be established if a claim has been added or amended, the support for the added limitation is not apparent, and applicant has not pointed out where added the limitation is supported.
/ADAM M QUELER/ Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 2172
/D.F/ Examiner, Art Unit 2172