DETAILED ACTION
Claim Objections
Claim 13 is objected to because of the following informalities: in line 3, after for, Applicant is suggested to replace “the respective permissible DFT basis” with --- each respective permissible DFT basis ---. Appropriate correction is required.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 17-18 and 20 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Nammi et al (US 20160127018 A1) in view of Canonne-Velasquez et al (US 20250240072 A1).
As per claim 17, Nammi et al apparatus, comprising: a processor (see fig.15 element 34) configured to cause a user equipment (UE) ((see fig.15 element 32 or fig.6 element 14) and para [0095] for… The wireless device 32 may, in some embodiments, be the wireless device 14 of FIG. 6 and, in other embodiments, the wireless device 30 of FIG. 13. As illustrated, the wireless device 32 includes at least one processor circuit 34..) to: receive a rank restriction (codebook restriction) configuration from a base station (see fig.6 element 12 and para [0060] for…. the codebook restriction is a rank restriction. The rank restriction may restrict the ranks to thereby define a reduced codebook and para [0088] for…. the base station 12 transmits the codebook restriction (or more specifically an indication of the codebook restriction) to the wireless device 14), wherein the rank restriction configuration indicates one or more ranks for precoding matrix indicator (PMI) (see para [0016] for…. the full codebook comprises precoding matrices for each of a plurality of ranks, and the codebook restriction is a restriction on the ranks such that the reduced codebook comprises the precoding matrices); determine a rank indicator (RI) to provide to the base station based at least in part on the rank restriction configuration (see para [0071] for… the “search space” of the wireless device 14 is the set of codebook elements that are evaluated by the wireless device 14 when searching for the best or preferred codebook element (e.g., the preferred to best rank and precoding matrix (e.g., RI and PMI)))), wherein the RI indicates a preferred rank, and wherein the preferred rank is selected from the one or more ranks indicated in the rank restriction configuration (see para [0072] for….. the wireless device 14 uses the conventional approach to select the best, or preferred, rank and precoding matrix combination that gives the maximum, or best, channel capacity.); and provide the RI to the base station (see para [0072] for… The wireless device 14 then transmits the feedback report to the base station 12…… the feedback report includes an indication of the best or preferred codebook element (e.g., the best or preferred RI and PMI) from the reduced codebook and para [0074] for….. The wireless device 14 then selects the element from the restricted codebook corresponding to the maximum capacity as the best or preferred element (e.g., best or preferred PMI/RI) (step 404). The selected codebook element (e.g., PMI and RI) is then indicated in the feedback report).
However Nammi et al does not explicitly teach rank restriction configuration reporting for multi-transmission reception point (multi-TRP) coherent joint transmission (CJT).
Canonne-Velasquez et al teaches rank restriction configuration reporting for multi-transmission reception point (multi-TRP) coherent joint transmission (CJT) (see abstract for…… joint transmission (JT) channel state information (CSI) reporting. Joint transmission CSI may be coherent JT CSI or non-coherent JT CSI. Feedback overhead may be reduced, for example, if reporting CSI for multiple transmission/reception points (TRPs) and para [0159] for… to indicate association between a PMI or PMI group of a first TRP or a first CSI-RS resource and a CBSR set of a second TRP or a second CSI-RS resource. TRP may be interchangeably used with CSI-RS resource, CSI-RS resource index, Cell, Physical cell-id, measurement RS, and SSB. PMI may be interchangeably used with CSI-RS resource index (CRI), CQI, rank, strongest layer indicator (SLI), beam index, source RS index, and SSB index).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, at the time of filing or before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to modify Nammi to include rank restriction configuration reporting for multi-transmission reception point in order to reduce feedback overhead when reporting co-phasing information. Furthermore the wireless device-TRP link would use accurate CSI at the network side when considering C-JT with multiple TRPs. Such modification would facilitate communications between different communication networks, reduce overhead information, and subsequently determine optimal downlink precoding.
As per claim 18, Nammi and Canonne-Velasquez in combination would teach wherein the rank restriction configuration comprises a bitmap indicating each of a plurality of ranks (see Nammi et al para [0093} for…. a bit pattern or bit map may be used to communicate the codebook restriction from the RNC 24 to the wireless device 30 and para [0060] for…. the codebook restriction is a rank restriction) in order to reduce feedback overhead when reporting co-phasing information. Furthermore the wireless device-TRP link would use accurate CSI at the network side when considering C-JT with multiple TRPs. Such modification would facilitate communications between different communication networks, reduce overhead information, and subsequently determine optimal downlink precoding.
As per claim 20, Nammi and Canonne-Velasquez in combination would teach wherein the rank restriction configuration indicates the one or more ranks for each of a plurality of TRPs of the multi-TRP CJT (see Canonne-Velasquez para [0162] for…. A CSI reporting quantity may be one or more of the following (e.g., at least one of but not limited to): CQI, PMI, RI, SLI, and CRI. For example, if a WTRU determined a RI value (e.g., RI=2) for a first TRP (e.g., TRP #1), the WTRU may use the determined RI value for a second TRP (e.g., TRP #2).) in order to reduce feedback overhead when reporting co-phasing information. Furthermore the wireless device-TRP link would use accurate CSI at the network side when considering C-JT with multiple TRPs. Such modification would facilitate communications between different communication networks, reduce overhead information, and subsequently determine optimal downlink precoding.
-----Claim(s) 19 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Nammi et al (US 20160127018 A1) in view of Canonne-Velasquez et al (US 20250240072 A1) and in further view of Park et al (US 20200195319 A1).
As per claim 19, Nammi and Canonne in combination do not explicitly teach wherein the rank restriction configuration comprises a 2-bit indicator indicating a rank value threshold, wherein the one or more ranks indicated by the rank restriction configuration are larger or smaller than the rank value threshold.
Park et al teaches wherein the rank restriction configuration comprises a 2-bit indicator indicating a rank value threshold, wherein the one or more ranks indicated by the rank restriction configuration are larger or smaller than the rank value threshold (see para [0376 for…. In the case that a UE reports that the UE may report rank 8 with the capability and 8-bit rank CSR bitmap (i.e., bitmap for rank restriction configuration) is indicated with “00001111” (here, it is assumed that ‘0’ means no CSR and ‘1’ means CSR, and bits correspond rank 1, . . . , 8 from the most significant bit sequentially), the UE maps RI with 2 bits, not 3 bits, and feedback overhead may be reduced. That is, since the number of RIs in which a reporting is allowed in rank CSR bitmap “00001111” is 4 (there are four ‘0’ values in the above example), the bit-width for RI reporting may be determined with 2 bits, and accordingly, RI feedback overhead may be reduced.
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, at the time of filing or before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to modify Nammi and Canonne to include a 2-bit indicator indicating a rank value threshold to identify a set of restricted beams for a pre-coding matrix and reduce feedback overhead when reporting co-phasing information. Furthermore the wireless device-TRP link would use accurate CSI at the network side when considering C-JT with multiple TRPs. Such modification would facilitate communications between different communication networks, reduce overhead information, and subsequently determine optimal downlink precoding.
Allowable Subject Matter
Claims 1-12 and 14-16 are allowed over the prior arts of record.
The following is a statement of reasons for the indication of allowable subject matter: wherein determining the PMI comprises: selecting one or more first DFT basis groups to indicate in the PMI for a first TRP of the multi-TRP CJT, wherein the one or more first DFT basis groups are indicated as permissible for PMI reporting by the CBSR configuration; and providing the PMI to the base station, as recited in independent claims 1 and 12.
Claim 13 would be allowable if rewritten to overcome the objection(s) above.
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure.
US 20210159953 A1 or US 20210273692 A1 or US 20200186207 A .
/EMMANUEL BAYARD/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2633