DETAILED ACTION
Priority
Receipt is acknowledged of certified copies of papers required by 37 CFR 1.55.
Information Disclosure Statement
The information disclosure statement (IDS) submitted on 1/24/2025 is in compliance with the provisions of 37 CFR 1.97. Accordingly, the information disclosure statement is being considered by the examiner.
Drawings
The drawings are objected to under 37 CFR 1.83(a). The drawings must show every feature of the invention specified in the claims. Therefore, the connecting plates arranged at two adjacent ends of the laminated structure of Claim 10 lines 1-2 must be shown or the feature(s) canceled from the claim(s). No new matter should be entered.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claims 9 and 10 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor, or for pre-AIA the applicant regards as the invention.
With regards to Claim 9, line 1 recites the phrasing “the connecting plates”. There is insufficient antecedent basis for this phrasing in the claim language. The examiner notes that Claim 9 depends from Claim 2, which recites on line 5 “a connecting plate arranged on at least one end of the laminated structure”. Therefore, for the purpose of examination, the examiner understands the scope of Claim 9 such that the backlight module includes a plurality of connecting plates, which are arranged at two opposite ends of the laminated structure. The applicant is encouraged to clarify in the claim language sufficient antecedent basis for all claimed limitations.
With regards to Claim 10, line 1 recites the phrasing “the connecting plates”. There is insufficient antecedent basis for this phrasing in the claim language. The examiner notes that Claim 10 depends from Claim 2, which recites on line 5 “a connecting plate arranged on at least one end of the laminated structure”. Therefore, for the purpose of examination, the examiner understands the scope of Claim 10 such that the backlight module includes a plurality of connecting plates, which are arranged at two adjacent ends of the laminated structure. The applicant is encouraged to clarify in the claim language sufficient antecedent basis for all claimed limitations.
Applications filed after March 15th 2013
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1-3, 7, 9-13, and 17 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Gu et al. (US 2019/0146145).
With regards to Claim 1, Gu et al. discloses a backlight module (see paragraph 2), comprising: a backplane [50] (see paragraph 28 and Figures 2 and 3a; the element [50] provides a substantially planar backing of the backlight module and is therefore substantially a backplane); a light plate [10] arranged at one side of the backplane [50] (see paragraph 34 and Figure 2; the plate [10] substantially provides light to other components of the backlight module and is therefore substantially a light plate); and a backlight film [40] arranged at a side, away from the backplane [50], of the light plate [10] (see paragraph 26 and Figure 3a); wherein orthographic projections of the backlight film [40] and the light plate [10] on the backplane [50] are coincided with the backplane [50] (see paragraphs 28 and 29 and Figures 1, 2, and 3a).
With regards to Claim 2, Gu et al. discloses the backlight module as discussed above with regards to Claim 1.
Gu et al. further discloses a laminated structure is formed by the backplane [50], the light plate [10], and the backlight film [40] (see paragraphs 28 and 29 and Figure 2), and the laminated structure includes four ends opposite to each other in pairs (see Figures 1 and 2; in orthographic projection, the laminated structure substantially forms a rectangular shape with substantially four ends opposite to each other in pairs); wherein the backlight module further comprises: a connecting plate [30] (see paragraphs 26 and 27; the element [30] is substantially a smooth flat thin piece of material substantially acting as a plate) arranged on at least one end of the laminated structure (see paragraph 27 and Figure 3a), and configured to connect an end of the backplane [50], an end of the light plate [10], and an end of the backlight film [40] on a same side (see Figure 3a).
With regards to Claim 3, Gu et al. discloses the backlight module as discussed above with regards to Claim 2.
Gu et al. further discloses the connecting plate comprises: a side plate attached to a side wall of the laminated structure (see Figure 3a); a top plate connected to the side plate to form a bend, and attached to a top wall of the laminated structure (see Figure 3a); and a bottom plate connected to the side plate to form a bend, arranged to be opposite to the top plate, and attached to a bottom wall of the laminated structure (see Figure 3a).
With regards to Claim 7, Gu et al. discloses the backlight module as discussed above with regards to Claim 2.
Gu et al. further discloses a connecting glue is arranged between the connecting plate [30] and the laminated structure (see paragraphs 7 and 26; the connecting plate may be a light-shielding layer, which is adhered to the laminated structure, thereby substantially including a glue or similar adhesive).
With regards to Claim 9, Gu et al. discloses the backlight module as discussed above with regards to Claim 2.
Gu et al. further discloses the connecting plates [30] are arranged at two opposite ends of the laminated structure (see paragraphs 7, 26, and 27 and Figure 1).
With regards to Claim 10, Gu et al. discloses the backlight module as discussed above with regards to Claim 2.
Gu et al. further discloses the connecting plates [30] are arranged at two adjacent ends of the laminated structure (see paragraphs 7, 26, and 27 and Figure 1).
With regards to Claim 11, Gu et al. discloses a display panel, comprising: a backlight module (see paragraph 2) comprising: a backplane [50] (see paragraph 28 and Figures 2 and 3a; the element [50] provides a substantially planar backing of the backlight module and is therefore substantially a backplane); a light plate [10] arranged at one side of the backplane [50] (see paragraph 34 and Figure 2; the plate [10] substantially provides light to other components of the backlight module and is therefore substantially a light plate); and a backlight film [40] arranged at a side, away from the backplane [50], of the light plate [10] (see paragraph 26 and Figure 3a); wherein orthographic projections of the backlight film [40] and the light plate [10] on the backplane [50] coincide with the backplane [50] (see paragraphs 28 and 29 and Figures 1, 2, and 3a), and a display module [1] arranged at one side of the backlight module (see paragraph 30 and Figure 3a).
With regards to Claim 12, Gu et al. discloses the display panel as discussed above with regards to Claim 11.
Gu et al. further discloses a laminated structure is formed by the backplane [50], the light plate [10], and the backlight film [40] (see paragraphs 28 and 29 and Figure 2), and the laminated structure includes four ends opposite to each other in pairs (see Figures 1 and 2; in orthographic projection, the laminated structure substantially forms a rectangular shape with substantially four ends opposite to each other in pairs); wherein the backlight module further comprises: a connecting plate [30] (see paragraphs 26 and 27; the element [30] is substantially a smooth flat thin piece of material substantially acting as a plate) arranged on at least one end of the laminated structure (see paragraph 27 and Figure 3a), and configured to connect an end of the backplane [50], an end of the light plate [10], and an end of the backlight film [40] on a same side (see Figure 3a).
With regards to Claim 13, Gu et al. discloses the display panel as discussed above with regards to Claim 12.
Gu et al. further discloses the connecting plate [30] comprises: a side plate attached to a side wall of the laminated structure (see Figure 3a); a top plate connected to the side plate to form a bend, and attached to a top wall of the laminated structure (see Figure 3a); and a bottom plate connected to the side plate to form a bend, arranged to be opposite to the top plate, and attached to a bottom wall of the laminated structure (see Figure 3a).
With regards to Claim 17, Gu et al. discloses the display panel as discussed above with regards to Claim 12.
Gu et al. further discloses a connecting glue is arranged between the connecting plate [30] and the laminated structure (see paragraphs 7 and 26; the connecting plate may be a light-shielding layer, which is adhered to the laminated structure, thereby substantially including a glue or similar adhesive).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 4, 8, and 14 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Gu (US 2019/0146145) in view of Kim et al. (US 2018/0149800).
With regards to Claim 4, Gu et al. discloses the backlight module as discussed above with regards to Claim 3.
Gu et al. further discloses the top plate and the bottom plate extend in a horizontal direction perpendicular to a stacking direction of the laminated structure.
Gu et al. does not explicitly disclose lengths of the top plate and the bottom plate in the horizontal direction are equal.
Kim et al. teaches lengths of the top plate and the bottom plate in the horizontal direction are equal (see paragraph 84 and Figures 3 and 4; the top plate of the connecting plate [1050] on the surface [700c] and the bottom plate of the connecting plate [1050] on the surface [700c] are substantially the same size).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the lengths of the top plate and the bottom plate in the horizontal direction of Gu et al. to be equal, as taught by Kim et al. One would have been motivated to do so in order to freely adjust the size of the external area and adjust the strength of the adhesion (see Kim et al. paragraph 84).
With regards to Claim 8, Gu et al. discloses the backlight module as discussed above with regards to Claim 2.
Gu et al. does not disclose the connecting plate is made of a metal material.
Kim et al. teaches the connecting plate (comprising the plate formed by portion [1050], see paragraph 103 and Figure 4) is made of a metal material (see paragraph 104).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the connecting plate of Gu et al. to be made of a metal material, as taught by Kim et al. One would have been motivated to do so in order to increase the light reflectivity of the connecting plate (see Kim et al. paragraph 105).
With regards to Claim 14, Gu et al. discloses the display panel, as discussed above with regards to Claim 13.
Gu et al. further discloses the top plate and the bottom plate extend in a horizontal direction perpendicular to a stacking direction of the laminated structure.
Gu et al. does not explicitly disclose lengths of the top plate and the bottom plate in the horizontal direction are equal.
Kim et al. teaches lengths of the top plate and the bottom plate in the horizontal direction are equal (see paragraph 84 and Figures 3 and 4; the top plate of the connecting plate [1050] on the surface [700c] and the bottom plate of the connecting plate [1050] on the surface [700c] are substantially the same size).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the lengths of the top plate and the bottom plate in the horizontal direction of Gu et al. to be equal, as taught by Kim et al. One would have been motivated to do so in order to freely adjust the size of the external area and adjust the strength of the adhesion (see Kim et al. paragraph 84).
Claims 5, 6, 15, and 16 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Gu et al. (US 2019/0146145).
With regards to Claim 5, Gu et al. discloses the backlight module as discussed above with regards to Claim 3.
Gu et al. does not explicitly disclose in a horizontal direction perpendicular to a stacking direction of the laminated structure, a ratio of a length of the top plate to a length of the laminated structure is less than or equal to 0.1. However, Gu et al. does disclose the upper end of the laminated structure has the top plate of the connecting plate [30] extending over only a very narrow part of the top surface of the laminated structure (see Gu et al. paragraph 27 and Figures 1 and 3a) to eliminate the need for additional frames to facilitate fabrication of a narrow backlight module (see Gu et al. paragraph 27). Therefore, one of ordinary skill in the art would be able to form the top plate such that in a horizontal direction perpendicular to a stacking direction of the laminated structure, a ratio of a length of the top plate to a length of the laminated structure is less than or equal to 0.1 in order to facilitate fabrication of a narrow backlight module. It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the backlight module of Gu et al. such that in a horizontal direction perpendicular to a stacking direction of the laminated structure, a ratio of a length of the top plate to a length of the laminated structure is less than or equal to 0.1. One would have been motivated to do so in order to eliminate the need for additional frames to facilitate fabrication of a narrow backlight module (see Gu et al. paragraph 27).
With regards to Claim 6, Gu et al. discloses the backlight module as discussed above with regards to Claim 3.
Gu et al. does not explicitly disclose in a horizontal direction perpendicular to a stacking direction of the laminated structure, a ratio of a length of the bottom plate to a length of the laminated structure is less than or equal to 0.1. However, Gu et al. does disclose the bottom plate of the connecting plate [30] extending over only a very narrow part of the bottom surface of the laminated structure (see Gu et al. Figures 1 and 3a). Therefore, one of ordinary skill in the art would be able to form the bottom plate such that in a horizontal direction perpendicular to a stacking direction of the laminated structure, a ratio of a length of the top plate to a length of the laminated structure is less than or equal to 0.1 in order to facilitate fabrication of a narrow backlight module. It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the backlight module of Gu et al. such that in a horizontal direction perpendicular to a stacking direction of the laminated structure, a ratio of a length of the bottom plate to a length of the laminated structure is less than or equal to 0.1. One would have been motivated to do so in order to eliminate the need for additional frames to facilitate fabrication of a narrow backlight module (see Gu et al. paragraph 27).
With regards to Claim 15, Gu et al. discloses the display panel as discussed above with regards to Claim 13.
Gu et al. does not explicitly disclose in a horizontal direction perpendicular to a stacking direction of the laminated structure, a ratio of a length of the top plate to a length of the laminated structure is less than or equal to 0.1. However, Gu et al. does disclose the upper end of the laminated structure has the top plate of the connecting plate [30] extending over only a very narrow part of the top surface of the laminated structure (see Gu et al. paragraph 27 and Figures 1 and 3a) to eliminate the need for additional frames to facilitate fabrication of a narrow backlight module (see Gu et al. paragraph 27). Therefore, one of ordinary skill in the art would be able to form the top plate such that in a horizontal direction perpendicular to a stacking direction of the laminated structure, a ratio of a length of the top plate to a length of the laminated structure is less than or equal to 0.1 in order to facilitate fabrication of a narrow backlight module. It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the backlight module of Gu et al. such that in a horizontal direction perpendicular to a stacking direction of the laminated structure, a ratio of a length of the top plate to a length of the laminated structure is less than or equal to 0.1. One would have been motivated to do so in order to eliminate the need for additional frames to facilitate fabrication of a narrow backlight module (see Gu et al. paragraph 27).
With regards to Claim 16, Gu et al. discloses the display panel as discussed above with regards to Claim 13.
Gu et al. does not explicitly disclose in a horizontal direction perpendicular to a stacking direction of the laminated structure, a ratio of a length of the bottom plate to a length of the laminated structure is less than or equal to 0.1. However, Gu et al. does disclose the bottom plate of the connecting plate [30] extending over only a very narrow part of the bottom surface of the laminated structure (see Gu et al. Figures 1 and 3a). Therefore, one of ordinary skill in the art would be able to form the bottom plate such that in a horizontal direction perpendicular to a stacking direction of the laminated structure, a ratio of a length of the top plate to a length of the laminated structure is less than or equal to 0.1 in order to facilitate fabrication of a narrow backlight module. It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the backlight module of Gu et al. such that in a horizontal direction perpendicular to a stacking direction of the laminated structure, a ratio of a length of the bottom plate to a length of the laminated structure is less than or equal to 0.1. One would have been motivated to do so in order to eliminate the need for additional frames to facilitate fabrication of a narrow backlight module (see Gu et al. paragraph 27).
Claims 18-20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Gu (US 2019/0146145) in view of Chan et al. (TW M633304; please see attached translation for reference to pages).
With regards to Claim 18, Gu et al. discloses a preparation method for a backlight module, comprising: stacking a backplane substrate (comprising a substrate including portion [50], see paragraph 28 and Figures 2 and 3a; the element [50] provides a substantially planar backing of the backlight module and is therefore substantially a backplane substrate), a light plate substrate (comprising a substrate including light plate portion [10], see paragraph 34 and Figure 2; the plate [10] substantially provides light to other components of the backlight module and is therefore substantially a light plate), and a backlight film substrate (comprising a substrate including backlight film portion [40], see paragraph 26) in sequence to form a laminated substrate (see Figure 3a); and forming a laminated structure including a backplane [50], a light plate [10], and a backlight film [40], wherein orthographic projections of the backlight film [40] and the light plate [10] on the backplane [50] are coincided with the backplane [50] (see paragraphs 28 and 29 and Figures 1, 2, and 3a).
Gu et al. does not explicitly disclose the step of cutting a periphery of the laminated substrate along a stacking direction to form the laminated structure.
Chan et al. teaches cutting a periphery of the laminated substrate (comprising the substrate formed by layers [2213,2212,2211], see bottom of page 5 and top of page 6 and Figure 6A) along a stacking direction to form a laminated structure (see bottom of page 5 and top of page 6 and Figure 6B).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the method of Gu et al. to include the step of cutting a periphery of the laminated substrate along a stacking direction to form the laminated structure, as taught by Chan et al. One would have been motivated to do so in order to form one or more laminated structures from larger substrates of materials (see Chan et al. top of page 5) to improve efficiency (see Chan et al. bottom of page 6).
With regards to Claim 19, Gu et al. and Chan et al. disclose the method as discussed above with regards to Claim 18.
Gu et al. further discloses after cutting the periphery of the laminated substrate along the stacking direction to form a laminated structure including a backplane, a light plate, and a backlight film, wherein orthographic projections of the backlight film and the light plate on the backplane coincide with the backplane, the preparation method for the backlight module further comprises: arranging a connecting plate [30] on at least one end of the laminated structure to connect an end of the backplane [50], an end of the light plate [10], and an end of the backlight film [40] on a same side (see paragraphs 26 and 27 and Figure 3a; the element [30] is substantially a smooth flat thin piece of material substantially acting as a plate, and substantially connects ends of the backplane [50], light plate [10], and backlight film [40] after the laminated structure is formed).
With regards to Claim 20, Gu et al. and Chan et al. disclose the method as discussed above with regards to Claim 19.
Gu et al. further discloses arranging the connecting plate on at least one end of the laminated structure to connect the end of the backplane, the end of the light plate, and the end of the backlight film on the same side comprises: arranging a plate (comprising a strip [30]) on at least one end of the laminated structure; and bending two ends of the plate to form a connecting plate comprising a top plate, a side plate, and a bottom plate connected in sequence (see Figure 3a), wherein the top plate is attached to a top wall of the laminated structure, the side plate is attached to a side wall of the laminated structure, and the bottom plate is attached to a bottom wall of the laminated structure (see Figure 3a; such an arrangement is substantially disclosed by Gu et al.).
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure. In addition to the prior art discussed in this action, the applicant is directed to form 892, and particularly the references Ho (US 2023/0417977), which discloses at least a backlight module including a laminated substrate including a backplane, a light plate, and a backlight film with a connecting plate disposed to connect ends of each the backplane, light plate, and backlight film, the connecting plate having a top plate, bottom plate, and side plate and Cheng (US 2020/0355348) which discloses at least a backlight module including a laminated substrate including a backplane, a light plate, and a backlight film with a connecting plate disposed to connect ends of each the backplane, light plate, and backlight film, the connecting plate having a top plate, bottom plate, and side plate.
/ERIN KRYUKOVA/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2875