DETAILED ACTION
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 25-27, 42 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(2) as being anticipated by Zhu (Pub No 20250155582)
Regarding claim 25,
Zhu teaches a method comprising:
receiving, from a network device, a media access control (MAC) control element (CE) that indicates one or more GNSS measurement parameters, the one or more GNSS measurement parameters including a Global Navigation Satellite System (GNSS) measurement gap; and (interpreted as measurement configuration information of GNSS measurement agreed upon by a protocol or indicated by a network is obtained, in which the measurement configuration information includes a measurement gap of the GNSS measurement, see para [0068]. MAC-CE para [0041])
performing, while in a radio resource control (RRC) connected mode, a GNSS measurement based on the one or more GNSS measurement parameters. (interpreted as GNSS measurement is performed when the terminal is in the connected state to ensure that the terminal can update the GNSS position information, see para [0098])
Regarding claim 26,
Zhu teaches the method of claim 25, further comprising: detecting a status of a GNSS position fix for a user equipment; determining the GNSS position fix is invalid; and performing the GNSS measurement to acquire a valid GNSS new position fix. (Interpreted as the first indication information is sent to the network device before the step of “in response to the expiration of the current GNSS position information of the terminal, performing the GNSS measurement in the connected state”, see para [0054]. GNSS measurement is performed when the terminal is in the connected state to ensure that the terminal can update the GNSS position information, see para [0098]))
Regarding claim 27,
Zhu teaches the method of claim 25, wherein the MAC CE includes a field with an indication to perform the GNSS measurement and the method further comprises: performing the GNSS measurement based on the indication to perform the GNSS measurement. (interpreted as the first indication information is sent to the network device before the step of “in response to the expiration of the current GNSS position information of the terminal, performing the GNSS measurement in the connected state”, see para [0054])
Regarding claim 42,
Zhu teaches one or more non-transitory, computer-readable media having instructions that, when executed, cause one or more processors to: (see para [0181] [0164])
generate, for transmission to a user equipment (UE), an indication of one or more Global Navigation Satellite System (GNSS) measurement parameters including a GNSS measurement gap; and generate, for transmission to the UE, a trigger for a GNSS measurement. (Interpreted as With the GNSS measurement method provided in the embodiment of the disclosure, the GNSS measurement capability of the terminal is obtained through the first indication information. The terminal is instructed to perform the GNSS measurement within a specified measurement gap through the measurement configuration information, see para [0098])
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 28, 29, 34, 43 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Zhu (Pub No 20250155582) further in view of Manalakos (Pub No 20240284211)
Regarding claim 34,
Zhu teaches an apparatus comprising: one or more processors to:
detect a status of a Global Navigation Satellite System (GNSS) position fix for a user equipment (UE) in an on-duration period of a Connected-Discontinuous Reception (C-DRX); (interpreted as The first indication information is sent to the network device before the step of “in response to the expiration of the current GNSS position information of the terminal, performing the GNSS measurement in the connected state”, see para [0054])
in accordance with a determination that the GNSS position fix for the UE is invalid, generate, for transmission to a network device, a first GNSS measurement parameter including a first GNSS measurement periodicity and a first GNSS measurement gap. (Interpreted as terminal determines the measurement duration required for the GNSS measurement according to historical measurement situations and indicates the measurement duration to the network device. In some implementations, the terminal may indicate the measurement duration to the network device separately. In other implementations, the terminal may indicate the measurement duration to the network device via the first indication information, see para [0058])
receive, from the network device, a second GNSS measurement parameter including a second GNSS measurement gap; and (interpreted as measurement configuration information of GNSS measurement agreed upon by a protocol or indicated by a network is obtained, in which the measurement configuration information includes a measurement gap of the GNSS measurement, see para [0068])
perform, while in a radio resource control (RRC) connected mode, a GNSS measurement based on the received second GNSS measurement parameter, for acquiring a valid GNSS new position fix; and (interpreted as GNSS measurement is performed when the terminal is in the connected state to ensure that the terminal can update the GNSS position information, see para [0098])
an interface coupled with the one or more processors to enable communication. (see para [0164])
However, Zhu does not teach GNSS measurement periodicity
Manolakos teaches first GNSS measurement periodicity. (Interpreted as UE capabilities message 712 may indicate one or more measurement gap patterns supported by the UE 500. For example, the UE capabilities message 712 may indicate whether the UE 500 supports one or more standard gap patterns, such as gap patterns 0-26 as shown in a gap pattern table 800 for NR positioning, see para [0112]. See measurement gap and measurement gap repetition period fig. 8).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to modify the system taught by Zhu with the periodicity as taught by Manolakos with the motivation being to establish configurations within the UE capabilities.
Regarding claim 28,
Zhu teaches the method of claim 25, wherein the one or more GNSS measurement parameters are one or more second GNSS measurement parameters, the GNSS measurement gap is a second GNSS measurement gap, and the method further comprises: generating, for transmission to the network device, one or more first GNSS measurement parameters based on a moving velocity of a user equipment (UE) or information associated with satellite, the one or more first GNSS measurement parameters to include a first GNSS measurement gap. (Interpreted as terminal determines the measurement duration required for the GNSS measurement according to historical measurement situations and indicates the measurement duration to the network device. In some implementations, the terminal may indicate the measurement duration to the network device separately. In other implementations, the terminal may indicate the measurement duration to the network device via the first indication information, see para [0058])
However, Zhu does not teach GNSS measurement periodicity
Manolakos teaches first GNSS measurement periodicity. (Interpreted as UE capabilities message 712 may indicate one or more measurement gap patterns supported by the UE 500. For example, the UE capabilities message 712 may indicate whether the UE 500 supports one or more standard gap patterns, such as gap patterns 0-26 as shown in a gap pattern table 800 for NR positioning, see para [0112]. See measurement gap and measurement gap repetition period fig. 8).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to modify the system taught by Zhu with the periodicity as taught by Manolakos with the motivation being to establish configurations within the UE capabilities.
Regarding claim 29,
Zhu teaches the method of claim 25, however does not teach wherein the one or more GNSS measurement parameters further include a GNSS measurement periodicity and a subframe offset, and performing the GNSS measurement based on the one or more GNSS measurement parameters comprises: determining a starting time of the GNSS measurement gap based on the GNSS measurement periodicity and the subframe offset; and performing the GNSS measurement based on the determined starting time of the GNSS measurement gap and the GNSS measurement gap.
Manolakos teaches wherein the one or more GNSS measurement parameters further include a GNSS measurement periodicity and a subframe offset, and performing the GNSS measurement based on the one or more GNSS measurement parameters comprises: determining a starting time of the GNSS measurement gap based on the GNSS measurement periodicity and the subframe offset; and performing the GNSS measurement based on the determined starting time of the GNSS measurement gap and the GNSS measurement gap (interpreted as The measurement gaps are specified by a measurement gap offset (MGO), an MGL, and an MGRP. The MGO is the offset of the measurement gap pattern in a number of slots from a reference slot, e.g., SFN slot 0 (System Frame Number slot 0). The MGO value points to a starting subframe within a period. There are numerous possible offset values, although not all offset values may be applicable for all periodicities. The range of values for MGO may be from 0 to MGRP-1. For example, if the periodicity is 20 ms, the offset ranges from 0 to 19. The MGL is the length of the measurement gap, e.g., in ms. Example measurement gap length magnitudes include 1.5, 3, 3.5, 4, 5.5, 6, 10, 18, 20, 34, 40, and 50 (or more), see para [0113])
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to modify the system taught by Zhu with the periodicity as taught by Manolakos with the motivation being to establish parameters for determining the resources for communications.
Regarding claim 43,
Zhu teaches the one or more non-transitory, computer-readable media of claim 42, however does not teach wherein the one or more GNSS measurement parameters further comprise a GNSS measurement periodicity and a subframe offset, and wherein the GNSS measurement is to be performed based on the GNSS measurement periodicity, the GNSS measurement gap, and the subframe offset.
Manolakos teaches wherein the one or more GNSS measurement parameters further comprise a GNSS measurement periodicity and a subframe offset, and wherein the GNSS measurement is to be performed based on the GNSS measurement periodicity, the GNSS measurement gap, and the subframe offset. (interpreted as The measurement gaps are specified by a measurement gap offset (MGO), an MGL, and an MGRP. The MGO is the offset of the measurement gap pattern in a number of slots from a reference slot, e.g., SFN slot 0 (System Frame Number slot 0). The MGO value points to a starting subframe within a period. There are numerous possible offset values, although not all offset values may be applicable for all periodicities. The range of values for MGO may be from 0 to MGRP-1. For example, if the periodicity is 20 ms, the offset ranges from 0 to 19. The MGL is the length of the measurement gap, e.g., in ms. Example measurement gap length magnitudes include 1.5, 3, 3.5, 4, 5.5, 6, 10, 18, 20, 34, 40, and 50 (or more) , see para [0113])
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to modify the system taught by Zhu with the periodicity as taught by Manolakos with the motivation being to establish parameters for determining the resources for communications.
Claim(s) 30-32 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Zhu (Pub No 20250155582) further in view of Khan (Pub No 20260153630)
Regarding claim 30,
Zhu teaches the method of claim 25, further comprising: determining whether a user equipment (UE) is capable of simultaneously performing operations for transmission and the GNSS measurement; and in accordance with a determination that the UE is not capable of simultaneously performing the operations for transmission and the GNSS measurement. (interpreted as a possible implementation, “0” represents that the terminal has no ability of supporting both the wireless communication system and the GNSS to simultaneously work, and “1” represents that the terminal has an ability of supporting both the wireless communication system and the GNSS to simultaneously work, see para [0055])
However, Zhu does not teach suspending uplink transmissions within the GNSS measurement gap.
Khan teaches suspending uplink (UL) transmission within the GNSS measurement gap (interpreted as remaining in a RRC connected state, refraining from uplink transmissions while acquiring new GNSS data, and resuming uplink transmissions after new GNSS data is acquired, see para [0252])
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to modify the system taught by Zhu with the UL suspension as taught by Khan with the motivation being to provide communications with the capabilities supported by the UE.
Regarding claim 31,
Zhu teaches the method of claim 30, however does not teach wherein suspending the UL transmission within the GNSS measurement gap comprises: not scheduling Physical Uplink Control Channel (PUCCH) and Physical Uplink Shared Channel (PUSCH) within the GNSS measurement gap.
Khan teaches wherein suspending the UL transmission within the GNSS measurement gap comprises: not scheduling Physical Uplink Control Channel (PUCCH) and Physical Uplink Shared Channel (PUSCH) within the GNSS measurement gap. (Interpreted as remaining in a RRC connected state, refraining from uplink transmissions while acquiring new GNSS data, and resuming uplink transmissions after new GNSS data is acquired, see para [0252]. PUCCH, PUSCH para [0095])
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to modify the system taught by Zhu with the UL suspension as taught by Khan with the motivation being to provide communications with the capabilities supported by the UE.
Regarding claim 32,
Zhu teaches the method of claim 30, however does not teach wherein suspending the UL transmission within the GNSS measurement gap comprises: determining there are Physical Uplink Shared Channel (PUSCH) repetitions and at least one of the PUSCH repetitions is colliding with the GNSS measurement gap; and performing at least one of: dropping the at least one of the PUSCH repetitions collided with the GNSS measurement gap; postponing the at least one of the PUSCH repetitions collided with the GNSS measurement gap and the remaining PUSCH repetitions that are scheduled after the at least one of the PUSCH repetitions; or dropping the at least one of the PUSCH repetitions collided within the GNSS measurement gap and the remaining PUSCH repetitions that are scheduled after the at least one of the PUSCH repetitions.
Khan teaches wherein suspending the UL transmission within the GNSS measurement gap comprises: determining there are Physical Uplink Shared Channel (PUSCH) repetitions and at least one of the PUSCH repetitions is colliding with the GNSS measurement gap; and performing at least one of: dropping the at least one of the PUSCH repetitions collided with the GNSS measurement gap; (rejected as being an alternative limitation) postponing the at least one of the PUSCH repetitions collided with the GNSS measurement gap and the remaining PUSCH repetitions that are scheduled after the at least one of the PUSCH repetitions; (interpreted as remaining in a RRC connected state, refraining from uplink transmissions while acquiring new GNSS data, and resuming uplink transmissions after new GNSS data is acquired, see para [0252]. PUCCH, PUSCH para [0095]) or dropping the at least one of the PUSCH repetitions collided within the GNSS measurement gap and the remaining PUSCH repetitions that are scheduled after the at least one of the PUSCH repetitions. (rejected as being an alternative limitation)
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to modify the system taught by Zhu with the UL suspension as taught by Khan with the motivation being to provide communications with the capabilities supported by the UE.
Claim(s) 33, 44 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Zhu (Pub No 20250155582) further in view of Zhang (Pub No 20210289374)
Regarding claim 33,
Zhu teaches the method of claim 25, however does not teach further comprising: detecting a trigger for the GNSS measurement, wherein the trigger for the GNSS measurement comprises Radio Resource Control (RRC) configuration, Downlink Control Information (DCI) or Random Access Response Uplink (UL) Grant.
Zhang teaches further comprising: detecting a trigger for the GNSS measurement, wherein the trigger for the GNSS measurement comprises Radio Resource Control (RRC) configuration, Downlink Control Information (DCI) or Random Access Response Uplink (UL) Grant. (interpreted as at 425, base station 105-b may send a measurement trigger signal to UE 115-c (e.g., a CLI measurement activation message via a MAC-CE) or a CLI measurement trigger message via DCI), see para [0128])
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to modify the system taught by Zhu with the DCI as taught by Zhang since it is known in the art to use different formats for control packets.
Regarding claim 44,
Zhu teaches one or more non-transitory, computer-readable media of claim 42 or 43, however does not teach wherein the instructions, when executed, further cause the one or more processors to generate a Medium Access Control (MAC) Control Element (CE) with the indication of the one or more GNSS measurement parameters and the trigger.
Zhang teaches wherein the instructions, when executed, further cause the one or more processors to generate a Medium Access Control (MAC) Control Element (CE) with the indication of the one or more GNSS measurement parameters and the trigger. (interpreted as at 425, base station 105-b may send a measurement trigger signal to UE 115-c (e.g., a CLI measurement activation message via a MAC-CE) or a CLI measurement trigger message via DCI), see para [0128])
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to modify the system taught by Zhu with the DCI as taught by Zhang since it is known in the art to use different formats for control packets.
Allowable Subject Matter
Claim 35-41 objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
Regarding claim 35
The prior art of record does not teach the apparatus of claim 34, wherein to perform the GNSS measurement based on the received second GNSS measurement parameter the one or more processors are to determine a time slot gap between a starting time of the on-duration period of a C-DRX cycle and an end time of the second GNSS measurement gap in a second GNSS measurement periodicity included in the second GNSS measurement parameter, wherein the second GNSS measurement gap is just before the on-duration period of the C-DRX cycle, and the one or more processors are further to: in accordance with a determination that the time slot gap is smaller than a predefined threshold, perform the GNSS measurement within the second GNSS measurement gap in the second GNSS measurement periodicity; and in accordance with a determination that the time slot gap is not smaller than the predefined threshold, perform an additional GNSS measurement just before the on-duration period of the C-DRX, wherein the additional GNSS measurement is not the GNSS measurement in the second GNSS measurement periodicity.
Regarding claim 36
The prior art of record does not teach apparatus of claim 35, wherein the additional GNSS measurement is triggered by paging information including an indication of triggering the additional GNSS measurement, and wherein the one or more processors are further to: receive the paging information from the network device.
Regarding claim 37
The prior art of record does not teach apparatus of claim 35, wherein the additional GNSS measurement is triggered by the starting time of the on-duration period of a C-DRX cycle such that the additional GNSS measurement is performed during a sleep period in a previous C-DRX cycle and completed just before the starting time of the on-duration period of the C-DRX cycle.
Regarding claim 38
The prior art of record does not teach apparatus of claim 35, wherein the one or more processors are further to: compare the on-duration period of a C-DRX cycle with a duration of the second GNSS measurement periodicity, and wherein to perform the GNSS measurement based on the received second GNSS measurement parameter the one or more processors are to: in accordance with a determination that the on-duration period of the C-DRX cycle is greater than the duration of the second GNSS measurement periodicity, shift the second GNSS measurement gap within the on-duration period of the C-DRX based on the additional GNSS measurement gap.
Regarding claim 39
The prior art of record does not teach apparatus of claim 35, wherein the GNSS measurements in the remaining second GNSS measurement periodicities within a sleep period of a C-DRX cycle are suspended when the time slot gap is smaller than the predefined threshold.
Regarding claim 40
The prior art of record does not teach apparatus of claim 35, wherein the GNSS measurements in the second GNSS measurement periodicities within a sleep period of a C-DRX cycle are suspended when the time slot gap is not smaller than the predefined threshold.
Regarding claim 41
The prior art of record does not teach apparatus of claim 34, wherein the one or more processors are further to: compare an on-duration period of a C-DRX cycle with a duration of a second GNSS measurement periodicity included in the second GNSS measurement parameter, and wherein to perform the GNSS measurement based on the received second GNSS measurement parameter the one or more processors are to: in accordance with a determination that the on-duration period of the C-DRX cycle is greater than the duration of the second GNSS measurement periodicity, perform the GNSS measurement periodically within the on-duration period of the C-DRX based on the second GNSS measurement gap and the second GNSS measurement periodicity.
Conclusion
/BAO G NGUYEN/Examiner, Art Unit 2461
/JASON E MATTIS/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2461