DETAILED ACTION
Notice of AIA Status
Priority
The priority document(s), which have been placed on record in the file, are acknowledged.
Information Disclosure Statement
The information disclosure statement (IDS) submitted on 10/25/2024 and 03/25/2025 are acknowledged.
Specification
The disclosure is objected to because of the following informalities (and appropriate corrections are required):
On page 14, Line [21], the Specification recites, “SRS”, which is in an abbreviation form and which has not been followed by the full explanation of the term and needs to be clarified and defined within the Specification.
Appropriate correction is required.
Claim Objections
Claim 91 is objected to because of the following informalities:
In Line [2], claim 91 recites, “SRS”, which is in an abbreviation form and which has not been followed by the full explanation of the term and needs to be clarified and defined within the claim;
Appropriate correction is required.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 82, 90-92, 94 and 101 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Faxer et al. (WO 2018127426 A1), hereinafter referenced as Faxer, in view of Yang et al. (US 20190089432 A1), hereinafter referenced as Yang.
Regarding claims 82 and 92, Faxer teaches a method (Para. [0007]-Faxer discloses method performed by a wireless communication device configured for use in a wireless communication system. The method comprises determining, based on one or more structural properties of a multi-panel antenna array describing how the antenna array is structured into multiple panels, a precoder to recommend to a transmit radio node for applying to a transmission from the multi-panel antenna array. Fig. 1, Para. [0039]-Faxer discloses radio node 12 in the form of a base station and wireless device 16 in the form of a UE, such need not be the case. Radio node 12 in other embodiments may be a UE and wireless device 16 may be a base station. Para. [0045]-Faxer discloses the wireless communication device 16 comprises respective circuits or circuitry configured to perform the steps shown in Figure 2. The circuits or circuitry in this regard may comprise circuits dedicated to performing certain functional processing and/or one or more microprocessors in conjunction with memory. In embodiments that employ memory, which may comprise one or several types of memory such as read-only memory (ROM), random-access memory, cache memory, flash memory devices, optical storage devices, etc., the memory stores program code that, when executed by the one or more processors, carries out the techniques. Para. [0009]-Faxer discloses corresponding apparatus, computer programs, and computer readable storage mediums) comprising:
receiving, from a base station (BS), one or more messages that include precoding information (Para. [0068]-Faxer discloses the precoding matrix can be signaled in DCI. Para. [0056]-Faxer discloses signaling of codebook parameters enabling the UE to determine the precoder codebook to use for calculating CSI feedback. Para. [0007-0008]-Faxer discloses signaling the determined precoder to the transmit radio node ... transmit radio node configured for transmitting via a multi-panel antenna array in a wireless communication system ... responsive to transmitting that signaling, receiving from the wireless communication device signaling indicating a precoder that the wireless communication device recommends to the transmit radio node for applying to a transmission from the multi-panel antenna array. Fig. 1, Para. [0039]-Faxer discloses radio node 12 in the form of a base station and wireless device 16 in the form of a UE, such need not be the case. Radio node 12 in other embodiments may be a UE and wireless device 16 may be a base station);
determining, based on the precoding information, a precoder (Para. [0068]-Faxer discloses the precoding matrix can be signaled in DCI. Para. [0056]-Faxer discloses signaling of codebook parameters enabling the UE to determine the precoder codebook to use for calculating CSI feedback. Para. [0007-0008]-Faxer discloses signaling the determined precoder to the transmit radio node ... transmit radio node configured for transmitting via a multi-panel antenna array in a wireless communication system ... responsive to transmitting that signaling, receiving from the wireless communication device signaling indicating a precoder that the wireless communication device recommends to the transmit radio node for applying to a transmission from the multi-panel antenna array. Fig. 1, Para. [0039]-Faxer discloses radio node 12 in the form of a base station and wireless device 16 in the form of a UE, such need not be the case. Radio node 12 in other embodiments may be a UE and wireless device 16 may be a base station).
Faxer fails to explicitly teach generating, based on the precoder, a codebook-based physical uplink shared channel (PUSCH) transmission using eight antenna ports.
However, Yang teaches generating, based on the precoder, a codebook-based physical uplink shared channel (PUSCH) transmission using eight antenna ports (Fig. 11, Para. [0158]-Yang discloses communication apparatus 1110 may also include a transceiver 1116 coupled to processor 1112 and capable of wirelessly transmitting and receiving data, signals and information ... transceiver 1116 may be equipped with a plurality of antenna ports. Fig. 1, Para. [0104]-Yang discloses network node 120 may transmit signaling to UE 110 for PUSCH scheduling with SRI/TRI/TPMI signaling in an UL downlink control information (DCI). At step (5) of procedure 100, UE 110 may look up a codebook according to the SRI/TRI/TPMI signaling from network node 120, and UE 110 may apply a precoder for the codebook according to the signaled PMI. Para. [0056]-Yang discloses precoders with indices 0, 8, 16, 24, 32, 40, 48 and 56 may be used for port combination (1,2), 1, 9, 17, 25, 33, 41, 49 and 57 for the port combination (, 3), and so on, with the understanding that the first two elements may be for the relevant antennas).
Faxer and Yang are both considered to be analogous to the claimed invention because they are in the same field of wireless communications, dealing with codebook-based uplink (UL) transmission in wireless communications.
Therefore, it would have been obvious to someone of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified the Faxer to incorporate the teachings of Yang on codebook-based uplink transmission, with a motivation to transmit PUSCH, and guarantee reducing inter-stream interference at the receiving radio node, (Faxer, Para. [0001]).
Regarding claim 94, Faxer teaches an apparatus (Para. [0007]-Faxer discloses method performed by a wireless communication device configured for use in a wireless communication system. The method comprises determining, based on one or more structural properties of a multi-panel antenna array describing how the antenna array is structured into multiple panels, a precoder to recommend to a transmit radio node for applying to a transmission from the multi-panel antenna array. Fig. 1, Para. [0039]-Faxer discloses radio node 12 in the form of a base station and wireless device 16 in the form of a UE, such need not be the case. Radio node 12 in other embodiments may be a UE and wireless device 16 may be a base station. Para. [0045]-Faxer discloses the wireless communication device 16 comprises respective circuits or circuitry configured to perform the steps shown in Figure 2. The circuits or circuitry in this regard may comprise circuits dedicated to performing certain functional processing and/or one or more microprocessors in conjunction with memory. In embodiments that employ memory, which may comprise one or several types of memory such as read-only memory (ROM), random-access memory, cache memory, flash memory devices, optical storage devices, etc., the memory stores program code that, when executed by the one or more processors, carries out the techniques. Para. [0009]-Faxer discloses corresponding apparatus, computer programs, and computer readable storage mediums) comprising: one or more processors to:
generate, for transmission to a user equipment (UE), one or more messages that include precoding information (Para. [0068]-Faxer discloses the precoding matrix can be signaled in DCI. Para. [0056]-Faxer discloses signaling of codebook parameters enabling the UE to determine the precoder codebook to use for calculating CSI feedback. Para. [0007-0008]-Faxer discloses signaling the determined precoder to the transmit radio node ... transmit radio node configured for transmitting via a multi-panel antenna array in a wireless communication system ... responsive to transmitting that signaling, receiving from the wireless communication device signaling indicating a precoder that the wireless communication device recommends to the transmit radio node for applying to a transmission from the multi-panel antenna array. Fig. 1, Para. [0039]-Faxer discloses radio node 12 in the form of a base station and wireless device 16 in the form of a UE, such need not be the case. Radio node 12 in other embodiments may be a UE and wireless device 16 may be a base station),
an interface coupled to the one or more processors to enable communication (Para. [0007]-Faxer discloses method performed by a wireless communication device configured for use in a wireless communication system. The method comprises determining, based on one or more structural properties of a multi-panel antenna array describing how the antenna array is structured into multiple panels, a precoder to recommend to a transmit radio node for applying to a transmission from the multi-panel antenna array. Fig. 1, Para. [0039]-Faxer discloses radio node 12 in the form of a base station and wireless device 16 in the form of a UE, such need not be the case. Radio node 12 in other embodiments may be a UE and wireless device 16 may be a base station. Para. [0045]-Faxer discloses the wireless communication device 16 comprises respective circuits or circuitry configured to perform the steps shown in Figure 2. The circuits or circuitry in this regard may comprise circuits dedicated to performing certain functional processing and/or one or more microprocessors in conjunction with memory. In embodiments that employ memory, which may comprise one or several types of memory such as read-only memory (ROM), random-access memory, cache memory, flash memory devices, optical storage devices, etc., the memory stores program code that, when executed by the one or more processors, carries out the techniques. Para. [0009]-Faxer discloses corresponding apparatus, computer programs, and computer readable storage mediums).
Faxer fails to explicitly teach the precoding information is to identify a precoder to be used for a codebook-based physical uplink shared channel (PUSCH) transmission using eight antenna ports; and receive, from the UE, the codebook-based PUSCH transmission.
However, Yang teaches the precoding information is to identify a precoder to be used for a codebook-based physical uplink shared channel (PUSCH) transmission using eight antenna ports (Fig. 11, Para. [0158]-Yang discloses communication apparatus 1110 may also include a transceiver 1116 coupled to processor 1112 and capable of wirelessly transmitting and receiving data, signals and information ... transceiver 1116 may be equipped with a plurality of antenna ports. Fig. 1, Para. [0104]-Yang discloses network node 120 may transmit signaling to UE 110 for PUSCH scheduling with SRI/TRI/TPMI signaling in an UL downlink control information (DCI). At step (5) of procedure 100, UE 110 may look up a codebook according to the SRI/TRI/TPMI signaling from network node 120, and UE 110 may apply a precoder for the codebook according to the signaled PMI. Para. [0056]-Yang discloses precoders with indices 0, 8, 16, 24, 32, 40, 48 and 56 may be used for port combination (1,2), 1, 9, 17, 25, 33, 41, 49 and 57 for the port combination (, 3), and so on, with the understanding that the first two elements may be for the relevant antennas); and
receive, from the UE, the codebook-based PUSCH transmission (Fig. 11, Para. [0158]-Yang discloses communication apparatus 1110 may also include a transceiver 1116 coupled to processor 1112 and capable of wirelessly transmitting and receiving data, signals and information ... transceiver 1116 may be equipped with a plurality of antenna ports. Fig. 1, Para. [0104]-Yang discloses network node 120 may transmit signaling to UE 110 for PUSCH scheduling with SRI/TRI/TPMI signaling in an UL downlink control information (DCI). At step (5) of procedure 100, UE 110 may look up a codebook according to the SRI/TRI/TPMI signaling from network node 120, and UE 110 may apply a precoder for the codebook according to the signaled PMI. Para. [0056]-Yang discloses precoders with indices 0, 8, 16, 24, 32, 40, 48 and 56 may be used for port combination (1,2), 1, 9, 17, 25, 33, 41, 49 and 57 for the port combination (, 3), and so on, with the understanding that the first two elements may be for the relevant antennas).
Faxer and Yang are both considered to be analogous to the claimed invention because they are in the same field of wireless communications, dealing with codebook-based uplink (UL) transmission in wireless communications.
Therefore, it would have been obvious to someone of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified the Faxer to incorporate the teachings of Yang on codebook-based transmission, with a motivation to receive PUSCH, and guarantee reducing inter-stream interference at the receiving radio node, (Faxer, Para. [0001]).
Regarding claims 90 and 101, Faxer in view of Yang teaches the method of claim 82 and The apparatus of claim 94 respectively,
Faxer further teaches the eight antenna ports comprise a plurality of antenna panels (Para. [0062]-Faxer disclosesa core component in NR is the support of MIMO antenna deployments and MIMO related techniques. It is expected that NR will support up to 8- or 16-layer spatial multiplexing for up to 32 or 64 antenna ports with channel dependent precoding),
each of the plurality of antenna panels is associated with a corresponding precoder (Para. [0162]-Faxer discloses multi-panel precoder codebook comprises precoder matrices that concatenates independently selected per-panel precoders. Claim [39]-Faxer discloses the determined precoder concatenates independently selected per-panel sub-precoders. Para. [0030]-Faxer discloses the multi-panel precoding codebook may be an inter-panel precoding codebook (e.g., inter-panel cophasing precoding codebook));
each pair of two antenna panels of the plurality of antenna panels is associated with a corresponding adjustment parameter for adjusting an amplitude (Para. [0032]-Faxer discloses an actual or recommended precoder (that co-phases panels) may be configured to apply, for each of the multiple panels, a panel-specific complex weight to all antenna ports corresponding to that antenna panel. This panel-specific complex weight may be for instance a phase shift with unitary amplitude. Para. [00128]-Faxer discloses if antenna panels are uncalibrated with respect to carrier frequency or sampling clock timing, coherent transmission between panels may be unfeasible since not only will a phase and amplitude offset between panels be introduced after OFDM demodulation, ICI is introduced as well which limits the benefit of coherent transmission. While the resulting phase and amplitude scaling can be compensated for in a precoder codebook) and
a phase between the pair of two antenna panels (Para. [0032]-Faxer discloses an actual or recommended precoder (that co-phases panels) may be configured to apply, for each of the multiple panels, a panel-specific complex weight to all antenna ports corresponding to that antenna panel. This panel-specific complex weight may be for instance a phase shift with unitary amplitude. Para. [00128]-Faxer discloses if antenna panels are uncalibrated with respect to carrier frequency or sampling clock timing, coherent transmission between panels may be unfeasible since not only will a phase and amplitude offset between panels be introduced after OFDM demodulation, ICI is introduced as well which limits the benefit of coherent transmission. While the resulting phase and amplitude scaling can be compensated for in a precoder codebook, the ICI cannot be mitigated without explicitly estimating the frequency and timing offset and compensating for them in the OFDM (de)modulation), and
a corresponding compensation of a propagation delay between the pair of two antenna panels (Para. [00105]-Faxer discloses timing misalignment between antenna panels that needs to be compensated for. Para. [00128]-Faxer discloses to compensate for timing misalignment between panels ... the panels should see the same propagation environment. Para. [00128]-Faxer discloses if antenna panels are uncalibrated with respect to carrier frequency or sampling clock timing, coherent transmission between panels may be unfeasible since not only will a phase and amplitude offset between panels be introduced after OFDM demodulation, ICI is introduced as well which limits the benefit of coherent transmission. While the resulting phase and amplitude scaling can be compensated for in a precoder codebook, the ICI cannot be mitigated without explicitly estimating the frequency and timing offset and compensating for them in the OFDM (de)modulation. Para. [0032]-Faxer discloses an actual or recommended precoder (that co-phases panels) may be configured to apply, for each of the multiple panels, a panel-specific complex weight to all antenna ports corresponding to that antenna panel. This panel-specific complex weight may be for instance a phase shift with unitary amplitude); and
the precoder is determined based on all corresponding precoders (Para. [0162]-Faxer discloses multi-panel precoder codebook comprises precoder matrices that concatenates independently selected per-panel precoders. Claim [39]-Faxer discloses the determined precoder concatenates independently selected per-panel sub-precoders. Para. [0030]-Faxer discloses the multi-panel precoding codebook may be an inter-panel precoding codebook (e.g., inter-panel cophasing precoding codebook)),
all corresponding adjustment parameters (Para. [0032]-Faxer discloses an actual or recommended precoder (that co-phases panels) may be configured to apply, for each of the multiple panels, a panel-specific complex weight to all antenna ports corresponding to that antenna panel. This panel-specific complex weight may be for instance a phase shift with unitary amplitude. Para. [00128]-Faxer discloses if antenna panels are uncalibrated with respect to carrier frequency or sampling clock timing, coherent transmission between panels may be unfeasible since not only will a phase and amplitude offset between panels be introduced after OFDM demodulation, ICI is introduced as well which limits the benefit of coherent transmission. While the resulting phase and amplitude scaling can be compensated for in a precoder codebook, the ICI cannot be mitigated without explicitly estimating the frequency and timing offset and compensating for them in the OFDM (de)modulation) and
all corresponding compensations (Para. [00105]-Faxer discloses timing misalignment between antenna panels that needs to be compensated for. Para. [00128]-Faxer discloses to compensate for timing misalignment between panels ... the panels should see the same propagation environment. Para. [00128]-Faxer discloses if antenna panels are uncalibrated with respect to carrier frequency or sampling clock timing, coherent transmission between panels may be unfeasible since not only will a phase and amplitude offset between panels be introduced after OFDM demodulation, ICI is introduced as well which limits the benefit of coherent transmission. While the resulting phase and amplitude scaling can be compensated for in a precoder codebook, the ICI cannot be mitigated without explicitly estimating the frequency and timing offset and compensating for them in the OFDM (de)modulation. Para. [0032]-Faxer discloses an actual or recommended precoder (that co-phases panels) may be configured to apply, for each of the multiple panels, a panel-specific complex weight to all antenna ports corresponding to that antenna panel. This panel-specific complex weight may be for instance a phase shift with unitary amplitude).
Regarding claim 91, Faxer in view of Yang teaches the method of claim 82,
Faxer fails to explicitly teach the precoding information comprises a sounding reference signal resource indicator (SRI), wherein the SRI indicates one or more SRS resources for the codebook-based PUSCH transmission.
However, Yang teaches the precoding information comprises a sounding reference signal resource indicator (SRI) (Fig. 1, Para. [0104]-Yang discloses network node 120 may transmit signaling to UE 110 for PUSCH scheduling with SRI/TRI/TPMI signaling in an UL downlink control information (DCI). At step (5) of procedure 100, UE 110 may look up a codebook according to the SRI/TRI/TPMI signaling from network node 120, and UE 110 may apply a precoder for the codebook according to the signaled PMI. Para. [0056]-Yang discloses precoders with indices 0, 8, 16, 24, 32, 40, 48 and 56 may be used for port combination (1,2), 1, 9, 17, 25, 33, 41, 49 and 57 for the port combination (, 3), and so on, with the understanding that the first two elements may be for the relevant antennas),
the SRI indicates one or more SRS resources for the codebook-based PUSCH transmission (Fig. 1, Para. [0104]-Yang discloses network node 120 may transmit signaling to UE 110 for PUSCH scheduling with SRI/TRI/TPMI signaling in an UL downlink control information (DCI). At step (5) of procedure 100, UE 110 may look up a codebook according to the SRI/TRI/TPMI signaling from network node 120, and UE 110 may apply a precoder for the codebook according to the signaled PMI. Para. [0056]-Yang discloses precoders with indices 0, 8, 16, 24, 32, 40, 48 and 56 may be used for port combination (1,2), 1, 9, 17, 25, 33, 41, 49 and 57 for the port combination (, 3), and so on, with the understanding that the first two elements may be for the relevant antennas).
Yang is considered to be analogous to the claimed invention because it is in the same field of wireless communications, dealing with codebook-based uplink (UL) transmission in wireless communications.
Therefore, it would have been obvious to someone of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified the Faxer to incorporate the teachings of Yang on SRI, with a motivation to indicate SRS resources, and guarantee reducing inter-stream interference at the receiving radio node, (Faxer, Para. [0001]).
Claim 83-87, 93, 95-99 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Faxer et al. (WO 2018127426 A1), hereinafter referenced as Faxer, in view of Yang et al. (US 20190089432 A1), hereinafter referenced as Yang, and further in view of Wernersson et al. (US 20170126294 A1), hereinafter referenced as Wernersson.
Regarding claims 83, 93 and 95, Faxer, in view of Yang, teaches the method of claim 82, The one or more non-transitory, computer-readable media of claim 92 and The apparatus of claim 94 respectively,
Faxer further teaches determining the precoder comprises: determining the precoder from a first sub-precoder and a second sub-precoder (Claim [39]-Faxer discloses the determined precoder concatenates independently selected per-panel sub-precoders. Para. [0162]-Faxer discloses multi-panel precoder codebook comprises precoder matrices that concatenates independently selected per-panel precoders. Para. [0030]-Faxer discloses the multi-panel precoding codebook may be an inter-panel precoding codebook (e.g., inter-panel cophasing precoding codebook)).
Faxer fails to explicitly teach the first sub-precoder is determined from a first codebook and the second sub-precoder is determined from a second codebook.
However, Wernersson teaches the first sub-precoder is determined from a first codebook and the second sub-precoder is determined from a second codebook (Para. [0022]-Wernersson discloses the precoder may be identified by a first index referring to a sub-precoder in the first codebook and a second index k referring to a sub-precoder in the second codebook ... the transmitting radio node is effectively using a precoder formed as a Kronecker product of a sub-precoder of the first codebook and a sub-precoder of the second codebook. Para. [0009]-Wernersson discloses first codebook comprises predetermined sub-precoders and a second codebook comprises configurable sub-precoders).
Wernersson is considered to be analogous because it is in the same field of communication network, dealing with precoding of a transmission.
Therefore, it would have been obvious to someone of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified the Faxer in view of Yang to incorporate the teachings of Wernersson on precoding, with a motivation for sub-precoding corresponding to codebooks, and guarantee reducing inter-stream interference at the receiving radio node, (Faxer, Para. [0001]).
Regarding claims 84 and 96, Faxer, in view of Yang and Wernersson teaches the method of claim 83 and The apparatus of claim 95 respectively,
Faxer further teaches the eight antenna ports correspond to two antenna panels (Para. [0030-0031]-Faxer discloses precoders in the inter-panel precoding codebook may for instance perform precoding so as to co-phase panels of the array (e.g., in order to perform coherent multi-panel transmission whereby antenna ports corresponding to different panels are combined onto the same transmission layer) ... for instance, the multiple panels include at least some panels that have identical antenna port layouts and intra-panel antenna port indices. In this case, an actual or recommended precoder (that co-phases panels) may apply the same phase offset between antenna ports that correspond to spatially adjacent panels and that have the same intra-panel antenna port indices. That is, considering two identical panels and where the antenna ports corresponding to a panel is indexed with i so that (i,0) denotes antenna port number I corresponding to a first panel and (i,1 ) denotes antenna number I corresponding to a second panel, then the phase shift between (i,0) -> (i,1 ) is the same for all antenna ports i. (See also Para. [00128]));
the first sub-precoder is associated with a first antenna panel (Para. [0162]-Faxer discloses multi-panel precoder codebook comprises precoder matrices that concatenates independently selected per-panel precoders. Claim [39]-Faxer discloses the determined precoder concatenates independently selected per-panel sub-precoders. Para. [0030]-Faxer discloses the multi-panel precoding codebook may be an inter-panel precoding codebook (e.g., inter-panel cophasing precoding codebook)) and
the second sub-precoder is associated with a second antenna panel (Para. [0162]-Faxer discloses multi-panel precoder codebook comprises precoder matrices that concatenates independently selected per-panel precoders. Claim [39]-Faxer discloses the determined precoder concatenates independently selected per-panel sub-precoders. Para. [0030]-Faxer discloses the multi-panel precoding codebook may be an inter-panel precoding codebook (e.g., inter-panel cophasing precoding codebook));
the precoder is a concatenation determined from the first sub-precoder, the second sub- precoder, and a cophase between the first antenna panel and the second antenna panel (Para. [0162]-Faxer discloses multi-panel precoder codebook comprises precoder matrices that concatenates independently selected per-panel precoders. Claim [39]-Faxer discloses the determined precoder concatenates independently selected per-panel sub-precoders. Para. [0030]-Faxer discloses the multi-panel precoding codebook may be an inter-panel precoding codebook (e.g., inter-panel cophasing precoding codebook). (See also Para. [00128])).
Faxer fails to explicitly teach four-transmitter codebooks.
However, Yang teaches both the first codebook and the second codebook are four-transmitter codebooks (Para. [0198]-Yang discloses a definition of W.sub.k.sup.(1) is same as in a New Radio downlink four-transmitter codebook).
Yang is considered to be analogous to the claimed invention because it is in the same field of wireless communications, dealing with codebook-based uplink (UL) transmission in wireless communications.
Therefore, it would have been obvious to someone of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified the Faxer in view of Wernersson to incorporate the teachings of Yang on codebook, with a motivation for four-transmitter codebooks, and guarantee reducing inter-stream interference at the receiving radio node, (Faxer, Para. [0001]).
Regarding claims 85 and 97, Faxer in view of Yang and Wernersson teaches the method of claim 84 and The apparatus of claim 96 respectively,
Faxer further teaches the precoding information comprises a first transmit precoder matrix indicator (TPMI) (Para. [0034]-Faxer discloses device 16 may recommend such a precoder by signaling an index (e.g., precoding matrix indicator, PMI) into the W.sub.3 precoder codebook. Fig. 1, Para. [0039]-Faxer discloses radio node 12 in the form of a base station and wireless device 16 in the form of a UE, such need not be the case. Radio node 12 in other embodiments may be a UE and wireless device 16 may be a base station),
a second TPMI (Para. [00104]-Faxer discloses transmitting a separate PMI for each matrix factor … For instance, a separate selection may be done for each subband in the frequency domain. In that case, several PMIs indicating all the selected matrices may be comprised a CSI feedback report. Para. [0034]-Faxer discloses device 16 may recommend such a precoder by signaling an index (e.g., precoding matrix indicator, PMI) into the W.sub.3 precoder codebook. Fig. 1, Para. [0039]-Faxer discloses radio node 12 in the form of a base station and wireless device 16 in the form of a UE, such need not be the case. Radio node 12 in other embodiments may be a UE and wireless device 16 may be a base station), and
a co-phasing indication indicating the cophase (Para. [0033]-Faxer discloses to signal an index indicating a recommended intra-panel precoder selected from an intra-panel precoding codebook and/or an index indicating a recommended polarization co-phasing precoder selected from a polarization co-phasing precoding codebook. Fig. 1, Para. [0039]-Faxer discloses radio node 12 in the form of a base station and wireless device 16 in the form of a UE, such need not be the case. Radio node 12 in other embodiments may be a UE and wireless device 16 may be a base station),
Faxer fails to explicitly teach the first sub-precoder is selected from the first codebook based on the first TPMI and the second sub-precoder is selected from the second codebook based on the second TPMI.
However, Wernersson teaches the first sub-precoder is selected from the first codebook based on the first TPMI (Para. [0022]-Wernersson discloses the precoder may be identified by a first index referring to a sub-precoder in the first codebook and a second index k referring to a sub-precoder in the second codebook ... the transmitting radio node is effectively using a precoder formed as a Kronecker product of a sub-precoder of the first codebook and a sub-precoder of the second codebook. Para. [0009]-Wernersson discloses first codebook comprises predetermined sub-precoders and a second codebook comprises configurable sub-precoders. Para. [0005]-Wernersson index of that precoder (often referred to as a “preceding matrix indicator”, PMI)) and
the second sub-precoder is selected from the second codebook based on the second TPMI (Para. [0022]-Wernersson discloses the precoder may be identified by a first index referring to a sub-precoder in the first codebook and a second index k referring to a sub-precoder in the second codebook ... the transmitting radio node is effectively using a precoder formed as a Kronecker product of a sub-precoder of the first codebook and a sub-precoder of the second codebook. Para. [0009]-Wernersson discloses first codebook comprises predetermined sub-precoders and a second codebook comprises configurable sub-precoders. Para. [0005]-Wernersson index of that precoder (often referred to as a “preceding matrix indicator”, PMI)).
Wernersson is considered to be analogous because it is in the same field of communication network, dealing with precoding of a transmission.
Therefore, it would have been obvious to someone of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified the Faxer in view of Yang to incorporate the teachings of Wernersson on precoding, with a motivation to select sub-precoder from codebook based on TPMI, and guarantee reducing inter-stream interference at the receiving radio node, (Faxer, Para. [0001]).
Regarding claims 86 and 98, Faxer in view of Yang and Wernersson teaches the method of claim 83 and The apparatus of claim 95 respectively,
Faxer fails to explicitly teach the first codebook is a four-transmitter codebook and
the second codebook is a two-transmitter codebook, wherein the precoder is determined based on a Kronecker product of the first sub-precoder and the second sub-precoder.
However, Yang teaches the first codebook is a four-transmitter codebook and
the second codebook is a two-transmitter codebook (Para. [0198]-Yang discloses a definition of W.sub.k.sup.(1) is same as in a New Radio downlink four-transmitter codebook),
the precoder is determined based on a Kronecker product of the first sub-precoder and the second sub-precoder (Para. [0145]-Yang discloses in a second case (“case 2”), rank 2 transmission may come from the same coherence group. In this case, the two-transmitter (2Tx) codebook for rank 2 may be applied. As there are two ways to select a coherence group, there are two ways to choose a rank 2 2Tx precoder (assuming the same construction for 2Tx UL codebook)).
Yang is considered to be analogous to the claimed invention because it is in the same field of wireless communications, dealing with codebook-based uplink (UL) transmission in wireless communications.
Therefore, it would have been obvious to someone of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified the Faxer in view of Wernersson to incorporate the teachings of Yang on codebook, with a motivation for 2- and 4-transmitter codebook, and guarantee reducing inter-stream interference at the receiving radio node, (Faxer, Para. [0001]).
Regarding claims 87 and 99, Faxer in view of Yang and Wernersson teaches the method of claim 86 and The apparatus of claim 98 respectively,
Faxer further teaches the precoding information comprises a first TPMI (Para. [0034]-Faxer discloses device 16 may recommend such a precoder by signaling an index (e.g., precoding matrix indicator, PMI) into the W.sub.3 precoder codebook. Fig. 1, Para. [0039]-Faxer discloses radio node 12 in the form of a base station and wireless device 16 in the form of a UE, such need not be the case. Radio node 12 in other embodiments may be a UE and wireless device 16 may be a base station),
a second TPMI (Para. [00104]-Faxer discloses transmitting a separate PMI for each matrix factor … For instance, a separate selection may be done for each subband in the frequency domain. In that case, several PMIs indicating all the selected matrices may be comprised a CSI feedback report. Para. [0034]-Faxer discloses device 16 may recommend such a precoder by signaling an index (e.g., precoding matrix indicator, PMI) into the W.sub.3 precoder codebook. Fig. 1, Para. [0039]-Faxer discloses radio node 12 in the form of a base station and wireless device 16 in the form of a UE, such need not be the case. Radio node 12 in other embodiments may be a UE and wireless device 16 may be a base station).
Faxer fails to explicitly teach the first sub-precoder is determined from the first codebook based on the first TPMI the second sub-precoder is selected from the second codebook based on the second TPMI.
However, Wernersson teaches the first sub-precoder is determined from the first codebook based on the first TPMI (Para. [0022]-Wernersson discloses the precoder may be identified by a first index referring to a sub-precoder in the first codebook and a second index k referring to a sub-precoder in the second codebook ... the transmitting radio node is effectively using a precoder formed as a Kronecker product of a sub-precoder of the first codebook and a sub-precoder of the second codebook. Para. [0009]-Wernersson discloses first codebook comprises predetermined sub-precoders and a second codebook comprises configurable sub-precoders. Para. [0005]-Wernersson index of that precoder (often referred to as a “preceding matrix indicator”, PMI)) and
the second sub-precoder is selected from the second codebook based on the second TPMI (Para. [0022]-Wernersson discloses the precoder may be identified by a first index referring to a sub-precoder in the first codebook and a second index k referring to a sub-precoder in the second codebook ... the transmitting radio node is effectively using a precoder formed as a Kronecker product of a sub-precoder of the first codebook and a sub-precoder of the second codebook. Para. [0009]-Wernersson discloses first codebook comprises predetermined sub-precoders and a second codebook comprises configurable sub-precoders. Para. [0005]-Wernersson index of that precoder (often referred to as a “preceding matrix indicator”, PMI)).
Wernersson is considered to be analogous because it is in the same field of communication network, dealing with precoding of a transmission.
Therefore, it would have been obvious to someone of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified the Faxer in view of Yang to incorporate the teachings of Wernersson on precoding, with a motivation to select sub-precoder from codebook based on TPMI, and guarantee reducing inter-stream interference at the receiving radio node, (Faxer, Para. [0001]).
Claims 88-89 and 100 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Faxer et al. (WO 2018127426 A1), hereinafter referenced as Faxer, in view of Yang et al. (US 20190089432 A1), hereinafter referenced as Yang, and further in view of Park et al. (US 11018737 B2), hereinafter referenced as Park.
Regarding claim 88, Faxer in view of Yang teaches the method of claim 82,
Faxer further teaches the precoding information comprises a transmit precoder matrix indicator (TPMI) (Para. [0034]-Faxer discloses device 16 may recommend such a precoder by signaling an index (e.g., precoding matrix indicator, PMI) into the W.sub.3 precoder codebook. Fig. 1, Para. [0039]-Faxer discloses radio node 12 in the form of a base station and wireless device 16 in the form of a UE, such need not be the case. Radio node 12 in other embodiments may be a UE and wireless device 16 may be a base station).
Faxer fails to explicitly teach the precoder is determined by applying a permutation matrix to the precoder candidate.
However, Yang teaches the precoder is determined by applying a permutation matrix to the precoder candidate (Para. [0163]-Yang discloses in performing the permutation on the candidate precoder processor 1112 may select a permutation matrix from a plurality of permutation matrices. Moreover, processor 1112 may apply the permutation matrix to the candidate precoder to enlarge the candidate precoder).
Yang is considered to be analogous to the claimed invention because it is in the same field of wireless communications, dealing with codebook-based uplink (UL) transmission in wireless communications.
Therefore, it would have been obvious to someone of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified the Faxer to incorporate the teachings of Yang on permutation, with a motivation to apply permutation matrix to the precoder, and guarantee reducing inter-stream interference at the receiving radio node, (Faxer, Para. [0001]).
Faxer fails to explicitly teach a precoder candidate is selected from an eight-transmitter codebook based on the TPMI.
However, Park teaches a precoder candidate is selected from an eight-transmitter codebook based on the TPMI (Col. 28, Lines [58-62]-Park discloses a PMI (precoding matrix indicator) of an 8 Tx (transmitter) codebook is designed as a long term and/or wideband precoder W_1 and a short term and/or sub-band precoder W_2 in order to improve feedback channel accuracy).
Park is considered to be analogous to the claimed invention because it is in the same field of wireless communications, dealing with method for transmitting/receiving a signal based on a codebook.
Therefore, it would have been obvious to someone of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified the Faxer in view of Yang to incorporate the teachings of Park on codebook, with a motivation for eight-transmitter codebook, and guarantee reducing inter-stream interference at the receiving radio node, (Faxer, Para. [0001]).
Regarding claim 89, Faxer in view of Yang and Park teaches the method of claim 88,
Faxer fails to explicitly teach the precoding information further comprises a permutation indication, wherein the permutation matrix is selected from a plurality of permutation matrices based on the permutation indication.
However, yang teaches the precoding information further comprises a permutation indication (Para. [0140]-Yang discloses in an event that SRS resources with a single port for each SRS resource are used for an UL codebook, with the order of SRS resources mapped to the codebook ports being fixed, then indication of the permutation of the SRS resources may be necessary for PMI definition. Figs. 8-9, Para. [0139]-Yang discloses an example scenario 800 of port permutation (1234) indication from SRI signaling ... an example scenario 900 of port permutation (1324) indication from SRI signaling),
the permutation matrix is selected from a plurality of permutation matrices based on the permutation indication (Para. [0163]-Yang discloses in performing the permutation on the candidate precoder processor 1112 may select a permutation matrix from a plurality of permutation matrices. Moreover, processor 1112 may apply the permutation matrix to the candidate precoder to enlarge the candidate precoder).
Yang is considered to be analogous to the claimed invention because it is in the same field of wireless communications, dealing with codebook-based uplink (UL) transmission in wireless communications.
Therefore, it would have been obvious to someone of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified the Faxer in view Park to incorporate the teachings of Yang on permutation, with a motivation to select permutation matrix, and guarantee reducing inter-stream interference at the receiving radio node, (Faxer, Para. [0001]).
Regarding claim 100, Faxer in view of Yang teaches the apparatus of claim 94,
Faxer fails to explicitly teach the precoding information comprises a TPMI and a permutation indication; a permutation matrix is to be selected from a plurality of permutation matrices based on the permutation indication; and the precoder is to be determined by applying the permutation matrix to the precoder candidate.
However, Yang teaches the precoding information comprises a TPMI and a permutation indication (Para. [0140]-Yang discloses in an event that SRS resources with a single port for each SRS resource are used for an UL codebook, with the order of SRS resources mapped to the codebook ports being fixed, then indication of the permutation of the SRS resources may be necessary for PMI definition. Figs. 8-9, Para. [0139]-Yang discloses an example scenario 800 of port permutation (1234) indication from SRI signaling ... an example scenario 900 of port permutation (1324) indication from SRI signaling);
a permutation matrix is to be selected from a plurality of permutation matrices based on the permutation indication (Para. [0163]-Yang discloses in performing the permutation on the candidate precoder processor 1112 may select a permutation matrix from a plurality of permutation matrices. Moreover, processor 1112 may apply the permutation matrix to the candidate precoder to enlarge the candidate precoder); and
the precoder is to be determined by applying the permutation matrix to the precoder candidate (Para. [0163]-Yang discloses in performing the permutation on the candidate precoder processor 1112 may select a permutation matrix from a plurality of permutation matrices. Moreover, processor 1112 may apply the permutation matrix to the candidate precoder to enlarge the candidate precoder).
Yang is considered to be analogous to the claimed invention because it is in the same field of wireless communications, dealing with codebook-based uplink (UL) transmission in wireless communications.
Therefore, it would have been obvious to someone of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified the Faxer to incorporate the teachings of Yang on permutation, with a motivation to apply permutation matix to precoder, and guarantee reducing inter-stream interference at the receiving radio node, (Faxer, Para. [0001]).
Faxer fails to explicitly teach a precoder candidate is selected from an eight-transmitter codebook based on the TPMI.
However Park teaches a precoder candidate is selected from an eight-transmitter codebook based on the TPMI (Col. 28, Lines [58-62]-Park discloses a PMI (precoding matrix indicator) of an 8 Tx (transmitter) codebook is designed as a long term and/or wideband precoder W_1 and a short term and/or sub-band precoder W_2 in order to improve feedback channel accuracy).
Park is considered to be analogous to the claimed invention because it is in the same field of wireless communications, dealing with method for transmitting/receiving a signal based on a codebook.
Therefore, it would have been obvious to someone of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified the Faxer in view of Yang to incorporate the teachings of Park on codebook, with a motivation for eight-transmitter codebook, and guarantee reducing inter-stream interference at the receiving radio node, (Faxer, Para. [0001]).
Conclusion
Listed below are the prior arts made of record and not relied upon but are considered pertinent to applicant`s disclosure.
Yang et al. (US 20190081667 A1)-discloses Para. [0068]-Yang discloses plurality of components may include at least one of the following: (A) a component for port combining for four transmitter antennas of communication apparatus 610 for a non-ULA-based codebook; (B) a component for port combining for the four transmitter antennas of communication apparatus 610 for a ULA-based codebook; (C) a component for recursive construction from an NR two-transmitter codebook; (D) a component for a port selection codebook; and (E) a component for PAPR preserving codewords …. …Fig. 1-2
YUAN et al. (US 20230132207 A1)-discloses Para. [0058]-Yuan discloses UE may transmit the first PUSCH transmission 510 using a first antenna panel of the UE, and the second PUSCH transmission 515 using a second antenna panel of the UE. An antenna panel may refer to a group of antenna ports …. …Fig. 1-5
GAO et al. (US 20180254813 A1)-discloses Para. [0130]-Gao discloses when dual polarizations are used in a 2D UPA, the 2D UPA can be considered as two antenna panels. Para. [0036]-Gao discloses up to eight CSI-RS ports can be configured in LTE Rel-10, that is, the wireless device can estimate the channel from up to eight transmit antennas. Para. [0044]-Gao discloses a corresponding precoder vector for a two-dimensional uniform planar array (UPA) with N.sub.1×N.sub.2 antennas can be created by taking the Kronecker product of two one dimension precoder vectors as w.sub.2D(l, m)=w.sub.1D(l, N.sub.1, O.sub.1).Math.w.sub.1D(m, N.sub.2, O.sub.2), where O.sub.2 is an integer oversampling factor in the N.sub.2 dimension .… …Fig. 1-2
Liu et al. (US 20220038158 A1)-discloses Para. [0047]-Liu discloses each panel has four antenna ports, the precoder (or precoding matrix) for eight antenna ports …. …Fig. 1-4
/OLADIRAN GIDEON OLALEYE/Examiner, Art Unit 2472