DETAILED ACTION
Claim(s) 1-20 are presented for examination.
Claims 5, 17 and 18 are amended.
Priority
As required by M.P.E.P.201.14(c), acknowledgement is made to applicant’s claim for priority based on application(s) 63/335,888 submitted on April 28th, 2022.
Information Disclosure Statement
The information disclosure statement(s) (IDS) submitted on October 26th, 2024; November 12th, 2024; October 7th, 2025; and March 30th, 2026 follow the provisions of 37 CFR 1.97. Accordingly, the information disclosure statement is being considered by the examiner.
Specification
Applicant’s amendment to the specification of the disclosure filed October 26th, 2024 is considered.
Claim Objections
Claims 6 and 20 are objected to because of the following informalities:
Claim 6 recites “and/or” in line 4. For clarity and consistency, it is suggested to use words (i.e., and, or, etc.) without the slash “/”.
Claim 20 recites a similar limitation.
Appropriate correction is required.
Claim Rejections - 35 U.S.C. § 103
Claim(s) 1-13 and 15-20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. § 103 as being unpatentable over LIU et al. (US 2022/0338175 A1) hereinafter “Liu” in view of LIU et al. (US 2023/0022077 A1) hereinafter “Liu ‘077”.
Regarding Claim 1,
Liu discloses a baseband processor [see fig(s). 6 & 11, pg. 6, ¶69 lines 1-5; ¶93 lines 1-20, a processing system “1102”], comprising:
a memory interface [see fig(s). 6 & 11, pg. 6, ¶69 lines 1-5; ¶93 lines 1-20, a computer-readable medium/memory “1112”];
one or more processors coupled to the memory interface and configured to [see fig(s). 6 & 11, pg. 6, ¶69 lines 1-5; ¶93 lines 1-20, a processor “1104” coupled to the computer-readable medium/memory “1112” via a bus “1106” and implemented to]:
communicate [see pg. 6, ¶69 lines 1-5, configuring], to a base station [see pg. 6, ¶69 lines 1-5, by a gNB], a request for sidelink resource selection [see pg. 6, ¶69 lines 1-5, an SL transmitter UE with a preconfigured number of SL (PSCCH/PSSCH) repetitions so that the SL transmitter UE has multiple opportunities to clear the LBT before requesting a retransmission from gNB];
receive [see fig. 6: Step “602”, pg. 6, ¶67 lines 1-10, receiving], from the base station and in response to the request [see fig. 6: Step “602”, pg. 6, ¶67 lines 1-10, from a network entity], a dynamic grant or configured grant allocating sidelink resources [see fig. 6: Step “602”, pg. 6, ¶67 lines 1-10; ¶70 lines 1-6, a single DCI (DCI3_0) including a multi-TTI grant for PSCCH/PSSCH in continuous slots within a pool (TX pool) of resources available for sidelink transmissions];
perform a clear channel assessment (CCA) procedure in response to receiving the dynamic grant or configured grant [see fig. 6: Step “604”, pg. 6, ¶68 lines 1-6, the transmitter UE performs a listen-before-talk (LBT) channel access procedure in the TTIs]; and
communicate with another UE based on the one or more sidelink resources [see fig. 6: Step “606”, pg. 6, ¶68 lines 1-6, the transmitter UE transmits, to at least one receiver UE, one or more PSSCHs in one or more of the TTIs being indicated as passing the LBT channel access procedure based on the performance].
Although Liu discloses performing a clear channel assessment (CCA) procedure, Liu does not explicitly teach “select one or more sidelink resources based on the CCA procedure and the dynamic grant or configured grant”.
However Liu ‘077 discloses communicate [see pg. 13, ¶103 lines 28-41, in mode “1” operation, the UEs receive], to a base station [see pg. 13, ¶103 lines 28-41, from a BS], a request for sidelink resource selection [see pg. 13, ¶103 lines 28-41, LBT parameters that define the parameters for the UEs to access the channel Sidelink communication including a mode “2” operation in which the UEs operate autonomously from the BS and perform LBT/CCA sensing of the channel to gain access to the channel];
receive [see pg. 14, ¶111 lines 1-7, the UE receives], from the base station and in response to the request [see pg. 14, ¶111 lines 1-7, from the BS], a configured grant allocating sidelink resources [see pg. 14, ¶111 lines 1-7, a configured grant (CG) associated with a resource allocation for a plurality of sub-slots];
perform a clear channel assessment (CCA) procedure in response to receiving the configured grant [see fig. 9: Step “910”, pgs. 12-13, ¶102 lines 1-18, the UE performs a clear channel assessment (CCA)];
select one or more sidelink resources based on the CCA procedure and the configured grant [see fig. 9: Step “920”, pgs. 12-13, ¶104 lines 1-15, a UE transmitting, to another UE based on the CCA being successful, a first transport block (TB) via a first sub-PSSCH associated with a first sub-slot]; and
communicate with another UE based on the one or more sidelink resources [see fig. 9: Step “930”, pg. 14, ¶110 lines 1-30, the UE transmitting, to another UE, a second TB via a PSSCH associated with a slot].
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to provide “select one or more sidelink resources based on the CCA procedure and the dynamic grant or configured grant” as taught by Liu ‘077 in the system of Liu to increase capacity of the wireless network and/or to reduce UE power consumption as compared to performing an additional CCA in order to transmit another TB in the adjacent slot [see Liu ‘077, pg. 3, ¶29 lines 1-16].
Regarding Claim 2,
The combined system of Liu and Liu ‘077 discloses the baseband processor of claim 1.
Liu further discloses wherein the request for sidelink resource selection is communicated via a licensed frequency band [see pg. 4, ¶51 lines 1-19, the sidelink signals are communicated using a licensed spectrum], and the one or more sidelink resources are in an unlicensed frequency band [see pg. 4, ¶51 lines 1-19, (unlike wireless local area networks, which typically use an unlicensed spectrum)].
Regarding Claim 3,
The combined system of Liu and Liu ‘077 discloses the baseband processor of claim 1.
Liu further discloses wherein the request for sidelink resource selection comprises a scheduling request (SR) [see pg. 6, ¶69 lines 1-5, a gNB configures an SL transmitter UE with a preconfigured number of SL (PSCCH/PSSCH) repetitions so that the SL transmitter UE has multiple opportunities to clear the LBT before requesting a retransmission from gNB].
Regarding Claim 4,
The combined system of Liu and Liu ‘077 discloses the baseband processor of claim 1.
Liu further discloses wherein the configured grant indicates a CCA type of the CCA procedure [see pg. 5, ¶62 lines 1-12, for a category “2” (CAT “2”) LBT, the device transmits if the CCA indicates the channel is free; e.g., Type “2” channel access procedures as specified in 3GPP].
Regarding Claim 5,
The combined system of Liu and Liu ‘077 discloses the baseband processor of claim 4.
Liu further discloses wherein the one or more processors are further configured to determine a channel access priority class based on the CCA type or another indication in the configured grant [see pg. 5, ¶62 lines 1-12, for a category “4” (CAT “4”) LBT, the device performs random back-off within a contention window (extended CCA) if CCA indicates the channel is free, and transmits only when channel is still free during the back-off period; e.g., Type “1” channel access procedures as specified in 3GPP].
Regarding Claim 6,
The combined system of Liu and Liu ‘077 discloses the baseband processor of claim 1.
Liu further discloses wherein the one or more processors are further configured to:
communicate with the another UE via a physical sidelink shared channel (PSSCH) upon a successful CCA procedure [see pg. 6, ¶68 lines 1-6, the transmitter UE transmits, to at least one receiver UE, one or more PSSCHs in one or more of the TTIs being indicated as passing the LBT channel access procedure based on the performance].
Regarding Claim 7,
The combined system of Liu and Liu ‘077 discloses the baseband processor of claim 1.
Liu further discloses wherein the one or more processors are further configured to:
perform a sidelink Hybrid Automatic Repeat Request (HARQ) procedure for a shared channel occupancy time (COT) [see pg. 6, ¶73 lines 1-10, a transmitter UE determines hybrid automatic repeat request (HARQ) IDs for each sidelink transmission].
Regarding Claim 8,
The combined system of Liu and Liu ‘077 discloses the baseband processor of claim 1.
Liu further discloses wherein the one or more processors are further configured to:
send [see pgs. 5-6, ¶63 lines 1-12, in the event of failure of the LBT procedure, the UE sends], to the base station [see pgs. 5-6, ¶63 lines 1-12, to the gNB], an update of the sidelink resource selection [see pgs. 5-6, ¶63 lines 1-12, negative acknowledgment (NACK) feedback to the gNB, indicating the transmitter UE needs an additional DCI grant from gNB].
Regarding Claim 9,
The combined system of Liu and Liu ‘077 discloses the baseband processor of claim 1.
Liu further discloses wherein the one or more processors are further configured to:
communicate the sidelink resource selection to UEs in an area [see pg. 10, ¶132 lines 1-7, a scheduling entity (e.g., a BS) allocates resources for communication among some or all devices and equipment within its service area or cell].
Regarding Claim 10,
The combined system of Liu and Liu ‘077 discloses the baseband processor of claim 1.
Liu further discloses wherein the one or more processors are further configured to:
receive a sidelink resource configured grant retransmission from the base station [see pgs. 5-6, ¶63 lines 1-12, when operating in Mode “1” with gNB allocating resources in an unlicensed spectrum is that the transmitter UE still has to perform an LBT procedure before transmitting, in which a gNB sends a grant to a transmitter UE for a single SL transmission, via a DCI].
Regarding Claim 11,
Liu discloses a base station [see fig(s). 6 & 11, pg. 6, ¶69 lines 1-5; ¶93 lines 1-20, a network entity or base station (BS) “1102”], comprising:
a memory configured to store instructions [see fig(s). 6 & 11, pg. 6, ¶69 lines 1-5; ¶93 lines 1-20, a computer-readable medium/memory “1112”]; and
one or more processors configured to execute the instructions to cause the base station to [see fig(s). 6 & 11, pg. 6, ¶69 lines 1-5; ¶93 lines 1-20, a processor “1104” coupled to the computer-readable medium/memory “1112” via a bus “1106” and implemented to]:
receive [see pg. 6, ¶69 lines 1-5, before requesting a retransmission from gNB], from a user equipment (UE) via a first frequency band [see pg. 6, ¶69 lines 1-5, by an SL transmitter UE], a request for sidelink resource selection in a second frequency band [see pg. 6, ¶69 lines 1-5, configuring by the gNB, with a preconfigured number of SL (PSCCH/PSSCH) repetitions so that the SL transmitter UE has multiple opportunities to clear the LBT]; and
communicate [see fig. 6: Step “602”, pg. 6, ¶67 lines 1-10, transmitting], to the UE and in response to the request [see fig. 6: Step “602”, pg. 6, ¶67 lines 1-10, by a network entity], a dynamic grant or a configured grant regarding sidelink resources [see fig. 6: Step “602”, pg. 6, ¶67 lines 1-10; ¶70 lines 1-6, a single DCI (DCI3_0) including a multi-TTI grant for PSCCH/PSSCH in continuous slots within a pool (TX pool) of resources available for sidelink transmissions], wherein the dynamic grant or the configured grant causes the UE to perform a clear channel assessment (CCA) procedure based on the dynamic grant or configured grant [see fig. 6: Step “604”, pg. 6, ¶68 lines 1-6, the transmitter UE performs a listen-before-talk (LBT) channel access procedure in the TTIs] and communicate with another UE based on the sidelink resources [see fig. 6: Step “606”, pg. 6, ¶68 lines 1-6, the transmitter UE transmits, to at least one receiver UE, one or more PSSCHs in one or more of the TTIs being indicated as passing the LBT channel access procedure based on the performance].
Although Liu discloses performing a clear channel assessment (CCA) procedure, Liu does not explicitly teach “select sidelink resources based on the CCA procedure and the dynamic grant or the configured grant”.
However Liu ‘077 discloses receive [see pg. 13, ¶103 lines 28-41, sensing], from a user equipment (UE) via a first frequency band [see pg. 13, ¶103 lines 28-41, by the UEs, in mode “1” operation], a request for sidelink resource selection in a second frequency band [see pg. 13, ¶103 lines 28-41, LBT parameters that define the parameters for the UEs to access the channel Sidelink communication including a mode “2” operation in which the UEs operate autonomously from the BS and perform LBT/CCA sensing of the channel to gain access to the channel]; and
communicate [see pg. 14, ¶111 lines 1-7, the UE receives], to the UE and in response to the request [see pg. 14, ¶111 lines 1-7, from the BS], a configured grant regarding sidelink resources [see pg. 14, ¶111 lines 1-7, a configured grant (CG) associated with a resource allocation for a plurality of sub-slots], wherein the configured grant causes the UE to perform a clear channel assessment (CCA) procedure based on the configured grant [see fig. 9: Step “910”, pgs. 12-13, ¶102 lines 1-18, the UE performs a clear channel assessment (CCA)] and select sidelink resources based on the CCA procedure and the dynamic grant or the configured grant [see fig. 9: Step “920”, pgs. 12-13, ¶104 lines 1-15, a UE transmitting, to another UE based on the CCA being successful, a first transport block (TB) via a first sub-PSSCH associated with a first sub-slot], and communicate with another UE based on the sidelink resources [see fig. 9: Step “930”, pg. 14, ¶110 lines 1-30, the UE transmitting, to another UE, a second TB via a PSSCH associated with a slot].
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to provide “select one or more sidelink resources based on the CCA procedure and the dynamic grant or configured grant” as taught by Liu ‘077 in the system of Liu to increase capacity of the wireless network and/or to reduce UE power consumption as compared to performing an additional CCA in order to transmit another TB in the adjacent slot [see Liu ‘077, pg. 3, ¶29 lines 1-16].
Regarding Claim 12,
The combined system of Liu and Liu ‘077 discloses the base station of claim 11.
Liu further discloses wherein the first frequency band is a licensed frequency band [see pg. 4, ¶51 lines 1-19, the sidelink signals are communicated using a licensed spectrum] and the second frequency band is an unlicensed frequency band [see pg. 4, ¶51 lines 1-19, (unlike wireless local area networks, which typically use an unlicensed spectrum)].
Regarding Claim 13,
The combined system of Liu and Liu ‘077 discloses the base station of claim 11.
Liu further discloses wherein the request for sidelink resource selection comprises a scheduling request (SR) [see pg. 6, ¶69 lines 1-5, a gNB configures an SL transmitter UE with a preconfigured number of SL (PSCCH/PSSCH) repetitions so that the SL transmitter UE has multiple opportunities to clear the LBT before requesting a retransmission from gNB].
Regarding Claim 15,
The combined system of Liu and Liu ‘077 discloses the base station of claim 11.
Liu further discloses wherein the configured grant comprises a type 1 configured grant or a type 2 configured grant [see pg. 5, ¶62 lines 1-12, for a category “2” (CAT “2”) LBT, the device transmits if the CCA indicates the channel is free; e.g., Type “2” channel access procedures as specified in 3GPP].
Regarding Claim 16,
The combined system of Liu and Liu ‘077 discloses the base station of claim 11.
Liu further discloses wherein a sidelink Hybrid Automatic Repeat Request (HARQ) Acknowledgement (ACK) or HARQ Negative ACK (NACK) is received [see fig. 7: Step “704”, pg. 8, ¶96 lines 1-18, obtaining, hybrid automatic repeat request (HARQ) feedback], from the UE [see fig. 7: Step “704”, pg. 8, ¶96 lines 1-18, from the transmitter UE], regarding sidelink communications with the another UE [see fig. 7: Step “704”, pg. 8, ¶96 lines 1-18, for the one or more PSSCH transmissions].
Regarding Claim 17,
Liu discloses a user equipment (UE) [see fig(s). 6 & 11, pg. 6, ¶69 lines 1-5; ¶93 lines 1-20, a communications device or user equipment (UE) “1102”], comprising:
a memory device configured to store instructions [see fig(s). 6 & 11, pg. 6, ¶69 lines 1-5; ¶93 lines 1-20, a computer-readable medium/memory “1112”]; and
one or more processors configured to execute the instructions to cause the UE to [see fig(s). 6 & 11, pg. 6, ¶69 lines 1-5; ¶93 lines 1-20, a processor “1104” coupled to the computer-readable medium/memory “1112” via a bus “1106” and implemented to]:
receive [see fig. 7: Step “702”, pg. 8, ¶96 lines 1-18, outputting], from another UE [see fig. 7: Step “702”, pg. 8, ¶96 lines 1-18, for transmission to a transmitter user equipment (UE)], a sidelink communication via sidelink resources allocated to the another UE from a base station [see fig. 7: Step “702”, pg. 8, ¶96 lines 1-18, a downlink control information (DCI) allocating resources in an unlicensed frequency band], the sidelink communication comprising information indicating sidelink resources reserved by the another UE for sidelink communications [see fig. 7: Step “702”, pg. 8, ¶96 lines 1-18, for multiple physical sidelink shared channel (PSSCH) transmissions across multiple transmission time intervals (TTIs)]; and
communicating [see fig. 7: Step “704”, pg. 8, ¶96 lines 1-18, obtaining], to the another UE [see fig. 7: Step “702”, pg. 8, ¶96 lines 1-18, from the transmitter UE], a sidelink Hybrid Automatic Repeat Request (HARQ) Acknowledgement (ACK) or HARQ Negative ACK (NACK) based on whether the sidelink communication is received properly [see fig. 7: Step “704”, pg. 8, ¶96 lines 1-18, hybrid automatic repeat request (HARQ) feedback for the one or more PSSCH transmissions].
Although Liu discloses communicating, to the another UE, a sidelink Hybrid Automatic Repeat Request (HARQ) Acknowledgement (ACK) or HARQ Negative ACK (NACK) based on whether the sidelink communication is received properly, Liu does not explicitly teach “communicating, to other UEs, the information indicating the sidelink resources reserved by the another UE for sidelink communications”.
However Liu ‘077 discloses receive [see pg. 8, ¶63 lines 1-9, the UE “115” transmits], from another UE [see pg. 8, ¶63 lines 1-9, to another UE “115” in a sub-PSSCH “332”], a sidelink communication via sidelink resources allocated to the another UE from a base station [see pg. 8, ¶63 lines 1-9, the SCI-2 “334”], the sidelink communication comprising information indicating sidelink resources reserved by the another UE for sidelink communications [see pg. 8, ¶63 lines 1-9, the SCI-2 “334” includes a UE “115” source ID and a UE “115” destination ID associated with a TB];
communicating [see pg. 8, ¶63 lines 1-9, the SCI-2 “334” include information used for decoding], to the another UE [see pg. 8, ¶63 lines 1-9, for the another UE “115”], a sidelink Hybrid Automatic Repeat Request (HARQ) Acknowledgement (ACK) or HARQ Negative ACK (NACK) based on whether the sidelink communication is received properly [see pg. 8, ¶63 lines 1-9, the sub-PSSCH “332” and for supporting HARQ feedback]; and
communicating [see pg. 8, ¶63 lines 1-9, the SCI-2 also includes], to other UEs [see pg. 8, ¶63 lines 1-9, for the UEs “115”], the information indicating the sidelink resources reserved by the another UE for sidelink communications [see pg. 8, ¶63 lines 1-9, a one-bit new data indicator (NDI) that is used to specify whether the TB sent in the sub-PSSCH “332” corresponding to the transmission of new data or a retransmission].
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to provide “communicating, to other UEs, the information indicating the sidelink resources reserved by the another UE for sidelink communications” as taught by Liu ‘077 in the system of Liu to increase capacity of the wireless network and/or to reduce UE power consumption as compared to performing an additional CCA in order to transmit another TB in the adjacent slot [see Liu ‘077, pg. 3, ¶29 lines 1-16].
Regarding Claim 18,
The combined system of Liu and Liu ‘077 discloses the UE of claim 17.
Liu further discloses wherein the sidelink resources were reserved via dynamic grant or a configured grant from the base station via a first frequency band [see pg. 4, ¶51 lines 1-19, the sidelink signals are communicated using a licensed spectrum], and the sidelink communication was made via a second frequency band [see pg. 4, ¶51 lines 1-19, (unlike wireless local area networks, which typically use an unlicensed spectrum)].
Regarding Claim 19,
The combined system of Liu and Liu ‘077 discloses the UE of claim 18.
Liu further discloses wherein the first frequency band is a licensed frequency band [see pg. 4, ¶51 lines 1-19, the sidelink signals are communicated using a licensed spectrum] and the second frequency band is an unlicensed frequency band [see pg. 4, ¶51 lines 1-19, (unlike wireless local area networks, which typically use an unlicensed spectrum)].
Regarding Claim 20,
The combined system of Liu and Liu ‘077 discloses the UE of claim 17.
Liu further discloses wherein the UE and the another UE communicate with one another via a physical sidelink shared channel (PSSCH) [see pg. 6, ¶68 lines 1-6, the transmitter UE transmits, to at least one receiver UE, one or more PSSCHs in one or more of the TTIs being indicated as passing the LBT channel access procedure based on the performance].
Allowable Subject Matter
Claim 14 is objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure.
United States Patent Application Publication: Fong et al. (US 2022/0015133 A1); see fig. 5, pgs. 13-14, ¶131-¶143.
/RUSHIL P. SAMPAT/Primary Examiner- TC 2400, Art Unit 2469