DETAILED ACTION
Claim(s) 1-4, 6, 8, 9, 11-15, 17 and 22-28 are presented for examination.
Claims 2, 4, 6 and 8 are amended.
Claim(s) 5, 7, 10, 16 and 18-21 are canceled.
Priority
As required by M.P.E.P.201.14(c), acknowledgement is made to applicant’s claim for priority based on application(s) PCT/CN2022/090365 submitted on April 29th, 2022.
Information Disclosure Statement
The information disclosure statement(s) (IDS) submitted on October 26th, 2024; December 5th, 2024; and November 12th, 2025 follow the provisions of 37 CFR 1.97. Accordingly, the information disclosure statement is being considered by the examiner.
Specification
Applicant’s amendment(s) to the specification of the disclosure filed October 26th, 2024 and March 10th, 2026 is/are considered.
Claim Rejections - 35 U.S.C. § 103
Claim(s) 1-4, 12-14, 17 and 22 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. § 103 as being unpatentable over SHRESTHA et al. (US 2022/0046491 A1) hereinafter “SHRESTHA” in view of Uemura (US 2011/0058529 A1).
Regarding Claim 1,
SHRESTHA discloses a baseband processor of a user equipment (UE) [see fig(s). 2 & 3, pg. 5, ¶51 lines 1-27, a user equipment (UE) “120”/ “305”], comprising:
one or more processors configured to [see fig(s). 2 & 3, pg. 5, ¶51 lines 1-27, a controller/processor “280” implemented to]:
communicate [see fig. 3: Step “345”, pg. 6, ¶59 lines 1-15, the UE “305” performs one or more measurements, and transmits, based at least in part on performing the one or more measurements (e.g., serving cell measurements and/or neighbor cell measurements)], to a serving base station [see fig. 3: Step “345”, pg. 6, ¶59 lines 1-15, to the source base station “310”], a reference signal received power (RSRP) measurement on a non-serving cell corresponding to a non-serving base station [see fig. 3: Step “345”, pg. 6, ¶59 lines 1-15, a measurement report indicating, for example, an RSRP parameter, an RSRQ parameter, an RSSI parameter, and/or a signal-to-interference-plus-noise-ratio (SINR) parameter (e.g., for the serving cell and/or one or more neighbor cells)];
receive instructions to perform a contention free random access (CFRA) procedure towards the non-serving base station [see fig. 3: Step “355”, pg. 6, ¶61 lines 1-12, the source base station “310” transmits an RRC reconfiguration message including a handover command instructing the UE “305” to execute a handover procedure from the source base station “310” to the target base station “315”];
communicate [see fig. 3: Step(s) “360”/ “365”, pg. 6, ¶62 lines 1-14; ¶63 lines 1-7, the UE “305” transmits and/or receives], in response to the instructions and to the non-serving base station [see fig. 3: Step(s) “360”/ “365”, pg. 6, ¶62 lines 1-14; ¶63 lines 1-7, while the UE “305” is performing the random access procedure with the target base station “315”], a random access (RA) preamble message that is configured for the CFRA procedure associated with the non-serving cell of the non-serving base station [see fig. 3: Step(s) “360”/ “365”, pg. 6, ¶62 lines 1-14; ¶63 lines 1-7, uplink data, uplink control information, and/or an uplink reference signal (e.g., a sounding reference signal) to the source base station “310”, and/or downlink data, downlink control information, and/or a downlink reference signal from the source base station “310”]; and
receive [see fig. 3: Step “375”, pg. 7, ¶65 lines 1-10, obtaining, by the UE “305”], from the non-serving base station and in response to the RA preamble message [see fig. 3: Step “375”, pg. 7, ¶65 lines 1-10, from the target base station “315”], a random access response (RAR) message [see fig. 3: Step “375”, pg. 7, ¶65 lines 1-10, an RRC reconfiguration message to instruct the UE “305” to release the connection with the source base station “310”].
Although SHRESTHA discloses receiving a random access response (RAR) message, SHRESTHA does not explicitly teach the random access response (RAR) message includes “timing advance (TA) information for communicating on the non-serving cell”.
However Uemura discloses communicate [see fig. 13: Step “127”, pg. 12, ¶112 lines 1-46, the mobile station apparatus “10” notifies], to a serving base station [see fig. 13: Step “127”, pg. 12, ¶112 lines 1-46, to the source cell “71”], a reference signal received power (RSRP) measurement on a non-serving cell corresponding to a non-serving base station [see fig. 13: Step “127”, pg. 12, ¶112 lines 1-46, at least the measurement result of the reception quality between the source cell “71” and the target cell “73” or a measurement report message including a handover command request];
receive instructions to perform a contention free random access (CFRA) procedure towards the non-serving base station [see fig. 13: Step(s) “135”/ “137”, pg. 12, ¶112 lines 1-46, the source cell “71” that has received the handover request permission message notifies a downlink resource allocation message and a synchronous handover instruction message to the mobile station apparatus “10”];
communicate [see fig. 13: Step “169”, pgs. 12-13, ¶116 lines 1-12, the mobile station apparatus “10” uses], in response to the instructions and to the non-serving base station [see fig. 13: Step “169”, pgs. 12-13, ¶116 lines 1-12, if the downlink synchronization establishment is completed after at least one of the downlink synchronization establishment expected time “143” and the uplink synchronization maintenance time “141”], a random access (RA) preamble message that is configured for the CFRA procedure associated with the non-serving cell of the non-serving base station [see fig. 13: Step “169”, pgs. 12-13, ¶116 lines 1-12, a random access channel to request the target cell for uplink synchronization information and uplink resource allocation information]; and
receive [see fig. 13: Step “170”, pg. 13, ¶117 lines 1-12, obtaining, by the mobile station apparatus “10”], from the non-serving base station and in response to the RA preamble message [see fig. 13: Step “170”, pg. 13, ¶117 lines 1-12, from the base station apparatus of the target cell “73” that has received the random access channel], a random access response (RAR) message that includes timing advance (TA) information for communicating on the non-serving cell [see fig. 13: Step “170”, pg. 13, ¶117 lines 1-12, an input with uplink synchronization information for adjusting the uplink transmission timing of the mobile station apparatus “10” and uplink resource allocation information for transmitting a handover complete message into a downlink control channel to notify the information to the mobile station apparatus “10”].
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to include the random access response (RAR) message includes “timing advance (TA) information for communicating on the non-serving cell” as taught by Uemura in the system of SHRESTHA for providing an optimal handover procedure to be selected based on a comparison between individual times of downlink synchronization establishment and uplink resource allocation in a synchronous handover procedure [see Uemura, pg. 5, ¶37 lines 1-6].
Regarding Claim 2,
SHRESTHA discloses the baseband processor of claim 1.
SHRESTHA does not explicitly teach wherein the one or more processors are configured to “generate UE capability information indicating a maximum number of additional PCIs per frequency for obtaining the TA information”.
However Uemura further discloses generate UE capability information indicating a maximum number of additional PCIs per frequency for obtaining the TA information [see pg. 1, ¶10 lines 1-14, the base station apparatus “205” of the target cell that has received the preamble determines that the handover process of the mobile station apparatus “201” is completed and notifies uplink synchronization information for adjusting the uplink transmission timing and uplink resource allocation information for transmitting a handover complete message (also called handover confirm in some cases, “231”)].
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to include the random access response (RAR) message includes “timing advance (TA) information for communicating on the non-serving cell” as taught by Uemura in the system of SHRESTHA for the same motivation as set forth in claim 1.
Regarding Claim 3,
The combined system of SHRESTHA and Uemura discloses the baseband processor of claim 1.
SHRESTHA further discloses wherein the one or more processors is further configured to:
communicate [see fig. 3: Step(s) “360”/ “365”, pg. 6, ¶62 lines 1-14; ¶63 lines 1-7, the UE “305” executes], to the serving base station and in response to the RAR message [see fig. 3: Step(s) “360”/ “365”, pg. 6, ¶62 lines 1-14; ¶63 lines 1-7, during the handover execution phase “335” of the MBB handover, while continuing to communicate with the source base station “310”], an indication of a successful completion of the CFRA procedure to the non-serving cell [see fig. 3: Step(s) “360”/ “365”, pg. 6, ¶62 lines 1-14; ¶63 lines 1-7, the handover by performing a random access procedure with the target base station “315” (e.g., including synchronization with the target base station “315”)].
Regarding Claim 4,
The combined system of SHRESTHA and Uemura discloses the baseband processor of claim 1.
SHRESTHA further discloses wherein the instructions include a downlink (DL) control information (DCI) received from the non-serving base station [see fig. 3: Step(s) “360”/ “365”, pg. 6, ¶62 lines 1-14; ¶63 lines 1-7, while the UE “305” is performing the random access procedure with the target base station “315”, the UE “305” transmits uplink data, uplink control information, and/or an uplink reference signal (e.g., a sounding reference signal) to the source base station “310”, and/or receives downlink data, downlink control information, and/or a downlink reference signal from the source base station “310”], and wherein the DCI is received in response to the RSRP measurement being forwarded by the serving base station to the non-serving base station [see fig. 3: Step(s) “360”/ “365”, pg. 6, ¶62 lines 1-14; ¶63 lines 1-7; pg. 11, ¶113 lines 1-8, the source base station “110-1” transmits an indication of a timing advance adjustment associated with the target base station “110-2” in a UE-specific or group specific indication (e.g., downlink control information (DCI) using a group radio network temporary identifier (RNTI))]..
Regarding Claim 12,
The combined system of SHRESTHA and Uemura discloses the baseband processor of claim 1.
SHRESTHA further discloses wherein the instructions comprise radio resource control (RRC) signaling to provide dedicated physical random access channel (PRACH) resources for each SSB of the non-serving cell and a medium control access (MAC) control element (CE) is used to trigger the CFRA procedure and corresponding PRACH transmission towards the non-serving cell [see pg. 14, ¶137 lines 1-11, the UE “120” uses a RACH-based transmission to send an indication (e.g., the RRC reconfiguration complete message) that the reduced signaling handover is complete to the target base station “110-2”. The UE “120” derives a contention free PRACH resource based at least in part on an indication received from the source base station].
Regarding Claim 13,
SHRESTHA discloses a baseband processor of a user equipment (UE) [see fig(s). 2 & 3, pg. 5, ¶51 lines 1-27, a controller/processor “280” of a user equipment (UE) “120”/ “305”], comprising:
one or more processors configured to [see fig(s). 2 & 3, pg. 5, ¶51 lines 1-27, one or more processors implemented to]:
communicate [see fig. 3: Step “345”, pg. 6, ¶59 lines 1-15, the UE “305” performs one or more measurements, and transmits, based at least in part on performing the one or more measurements (e.g., serving cell measurements and/or neighbor cell measurements)], to a serving base station [see fig. 3: Step “345”, pg. 6, ¶59 lines 1-15, to the source base station “310”], a reference signal received power (RSRP) measurement on a non-serving cell corresponding to a non-serving base station [see fig. 3: Step “345”, pg. 6, ¶59 lines 1-15, a measurement report indicating, for example, an RSRP parameter, an RSRQ parameter, an RSSI parameter, and/or a signal-to-interference-plus-noise-ratio (SINR) parameter (e.g., for the serving cell and/or one or more neighbor cells)];
receive [see fig. 3: Step “355”, pg. 6, ¶61 lines 1-12, obtaining, by the UE “305”], from the serving base station and in response to the RSRP measurement [see fig. 3: Step “355”, pg. 6, ¶61 lines 1-12, from the source base station “310”], dedicated random access channel (RACH) resources corresponding to the non-serving cell of the non-serving base station [see fig. 3: Step “355”, pg. 6, ¶61 lines 1-12, an RRC reconfiguration message including a handover command instructing the UE “305” to execute a handover procedure from the source base station “310” to the target base station “315”];
monitor at least one condition for performing a contention free random access (CFRA) procedure towards the non-serving base station [see fig. 3: Step(s) “360”/ “365”, pg. 6, ¶62 lines 1-14; ¶63 lines 1-7, while the UE “305” is performing the random access procedure with the target base station “315”, the UE “305” transmits uplink data, uplink control information, and/or an uplink reference signal (e.g., a sounding reference signal) to the source base station “310”, and/or receives downlink data, downlink control information, and/or a downlink reference signal from the source base station “310”];
when the at least one condition is satisfied [see fig. 3: Step(s) “360”/ “365”, pg. 6, ¶62 lines 1-14; ¶63 lines 1-7, upon successfully establishing a connection with the target base station “315” (e.g., via a random access procedure)], communicate a random access (RA) preamble message that is configured for the CFRA procedure on the non-serving cell of the non-serving base station [see fig. 3: Step(s) “360”/ “365”, pg. 6, ¶62 lines 1-14; ¶63 lines 1-7, the UE transmits an RRC reconfiguration completion message to the target base station “315”]; and
receive [see fig. 3: Step “375”, pg. 7, ¶65 lines 1-10, obtaining, by the UE “305”], from the non-serving base station and in response to the RA preamble message [see fig. 3: Step “375”, pg. 7, ¶65 lines 1-10, from the target base station “315”], a random access response (RAR) message [see fig. 3: Step “375”, pg. 7, ¶65 lines 1-10, an RRC reconfiguration message to instruct the UE “305” to release the connection with the source base station “310”].
Although SHRESTHA discloses receiving a random access response (RAR) message, SHRESTHA does not explicitly teach the random access response (RAR) message includes “timing advance (TA) information for communicating on the non-serving cell of with the non-serving base station”.
However Uemura discloses communicate [see fig. 13: Step “127”, pg. 12, ¶112 lines 1-46, the mobile station apparatus “10” notifies], to a serving base station [see fig. 13: Step “127”, pg. 12, ¶112 lines 1-46, to the source cell “71”], a reference signal received power (RSRP) measurement on a non-serving cell corresponding to a non-serving base station [see fig. 13: Step “127”, pg. 12, ¶112 lines 1-46, at least the measurement result of the reception quality between the source cell “71” and the target cell “73” or a measurement report message including a handover command request];
receive [see fig. 13: Step(s) “135”/ “137”, pg. 12, ¶112 lines 1-46, obtaining, by the mobile station apparatus “10”], from the serving base station and in response to the RSRP measurement [see fig. 13: Step(s) “135”/ “137”, pg. 12, ¶112 lines 1-46, from the source cell “71” that has received the handover request permission message], dedicated random access channel (RACH) resources corresponding to the non-serving cell of the non-serving base station [see fig. 13: Step(s) “135”/ “137”, pg. 12, ¶112 lines 1-46, a notification of a downlink resource allocation message and a synchronous handover instruction message to the mobile station apparatus “10”];
monitor at least one condition for performing a contention free random access (CFRA) procedure towards the non-serving base station [see fig. 13: Step “145”, pg. 12, ¶112 lines 1-46, the mobile station apparatus “10” switches the control parameters of the radio frequency and the transmitting/receiving circuit in the handover execution time and then executes a downlink synchronization establishment process for establishing the downlink wireless synchronization with the target cell “73”];
when the at least one condition is satisfied [see fig. 13: Step “169”, pgs. 12-13, ¶116 lines 1-12, if the downlink synchronization establishment is completed after at least one of the downlink synchronization establishment expected time “143” and the uplink synchronization maintenance time “141”], communicate a random access (RA) preamble message that is configured for the CFRA procedure on the non-serving cell of the non-serving base station [see fig. 13: Step “169”, pgs. 12-13, ¶116 lines 1-12, the mobile station apparatus “10” uses a random access channel to request the target cell for uplink synchronization information and uplink resource allocation information]; and
receive [see fig. 13: Step “170”, pg. 13, ¶117 lines 1-12, obtaining, by the mobile station apparatus “10”], from the non-serving base station and in response to the RA preamble message [see fig. 13: Step “170”, pg. 13, ¶117 lines 1-12, from the base station apparatus of the target cell “73” that has received the random access channel], a random access response (RAR) message that includes timing advance (TA) information for communicating on the non-serving cell of with the non-serving base station [see fig. 13: Step “170”, pg. 13, ¶117 lines 1-12, an input with uplink synchronization information for adjusting the uplink transmission timing of the mobile station apparatus “10” and uplink resource allocation information for transmitting a handover complete message into a downlink control channel to notify the information to the mobile station apparatus “10”].
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to include the random access response (RAR) message includes “timing advance (TA) information for communicating on the non-serving cell of with the non-serving base station” as taught by Uemura in the system of SHRESTHA for providing an optimal handover procedure to be selected based on a comparison between individual times of downlink synchronization establishment and uplink resource allocation in a synchronous handover procedure [see Uemura, pg. 5, ¶37 lines 1-6].
Regarding Claim 14,
The combined system of SHRESTHA and Uemura discloses the baseband processor of claim 13.
SHRESTHA further discloses wherein the dedicate RACH resource is provided to be associated with a system synchronization block (SSB) of a channel status information (CSI) reference signal (RS) (CSI-RS) of the non-serving cell of the non-serving base station [see pg. 12, ¶114 lines 1-9, the UE “120” reads system information from a synchronization signal block (SSB) of the target base station “110-2” to a latest common configuration for the target base station “110-2”].
Regarding Claim 17,
SHRESTHA discloses a baseband processor of a user equipment (UE) [see fig(s). 2 & 3, pg. 5, ¶51 lines 1-27, a controller/processor “280” of a user equipment (UE) “120”/ “305”], comprising:
one or more processors configured to [see fig(s). 2 & 3, pg. 5, ¶51 lines 1-27, one or more processors implemented to]:
communicate [see fig. 3: Step “345”, pg. 6, ¶59 lines 1-15, the UE “305” performs one or more measurements, and transmits, based at least in part on performing the one or more measurements (e.g., serving cell measurements and/or neighbor cell measurements)], to a serving base station [see fig. 3: Step “345”, pg. 6, ¶59 lines 1-15, to the source base station “310”], a reference signal received power (RSRP) measurement on a non-serving cell corresponding to a non-serving base station [see fig. 3: Step “345”, pg. 6, ¶59 lines 1-15, a measurement report indicating, for example, an RSRP parameter, an RSRQ parameter, an RSSI parameter, and/or a signal-to-interference-plus-noise-ratio (SINR) parameter (e.g., for the serving cell and/or one or more neighbor cells)];
communicate [see fig. 3: Step(s) “360”/ “365”, pg. 6, ¶62 lines 1-14; ¶63 lines 1-7, the UE “305” transmits and/or receives], to a non-serving base station [see fig. 3: Step(s) “360”/ “365”, pg. 6, ¶62 lines 1-14; ¶63 lines 1-7, while the UE “305” is performing the random access procedure with the target base station “315”], a random access (RA) preamble message that is configured for a contention free random access (CFRA) procedure associated with the non-serving cell of the non-serving base station [see fig. 3: Step(s) “360”/ “365”, pg. 6, ¶62 lines 1-14; ¶63 lines 1-7, uplink data, uplink control information, and/or an uplink reference signal (e.g., a sounding reference signal) to the source base station “310”, and/or downlink data, downlink control information, and/or a downlink reference signal from the source base station “310”]; and
receive [see fig. 3: Step “375”, pg. 7, ¶65 lines 1-10, obtaining, by the UE “305”], from the non-serving base station and in response to the RA preamble message [see fig. 3: Step “375”, pg. 7, ¶65 lines 1-10, from the target base station “315”], a random access response (RAR) message [see fig. 3: Step “375”, pg. 7, ¶65 lines 1-10, an RRC reconfiguration message to instruct the UE “305” to release the connection with the source base station “310”].
Although SHRESTHA discloses receiving a random access response (RAR) message, SHRESTHA does not explicitly teach the random access response (RAR) message includes “timing advance (TA) information for communicating on the non-serving cell of the non-serving base station”.
However Uemura discloses communicate [see fig. 13: Step “127”, pg. 12, ¶112 lines 1-46, the mobile station apparatus “10” notifies], to a serving base station [see fig. 13: Step “127”, pg. 12, ¶112 lines 1-46, to the source cell “71”], a reference signal received power (RSRP) measurement on a non-serving cell corresponding to a non-serving base station [see fig. 13: Step “127”, pg. 12, ¶112 lines 1-46, at least the measurement result of the reception quality between the source cell “71” and the target cell “73” or a measurement report message including a handover command request];
communicate [see fig. 13: Step “169”, pgs. 12-13, ¶116 lines 1-12, the mobile station apparatus “10” uses], to a non-serving base station [see fig. 13: Step “169”, pgs. 12-13, ¶116 lines 1-12, if the downlink synchronization establishment is completed after at least one of the downlink synchronization establishment expected time “143” and the uplink synchronization maintenance time “141”], a random access (RA) preamble message that is configured for a contention free random access (CFRA) procedure associated with the non-serving cell of the non-serving base station [see fig. 13: Step “169”, pgs. 12-13, ¶116 lines 1-12, a random access channel to request the target cell for uplink synchronization information and uplink resource allocation information]; and
receive [see fig. 13: Step “170”, pg. 13, ¶117 lines 1-12, obtaining, by the mobile station apparatus “10”], from the non-serving base station and in response to the RA preamble message [see fig. 13: Step “170”, pg. 13, ¶117 lines 1-12, from the base station apparatus of the target cell “73” that has received the random access channel], a random access response (RAR) message that includes timing advance (TA) information for communicating on the non-serving cell of the non-serving base station [see fig. 13: Step “170”, pg. 13, ¶117 lines 1-12, an input with uplink synchronization information for adjusting the uplink transmission timing of the mobile station apparatus “10” and uplink resource allocation information for transmitting a handover complete message into a downlink control channel to notify the information to the mobile station apparatus “10”].
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to include the random access response (RAR) message includes “timing advance (TA) information for communicating on the non-serving cell of the non-serving base station” as taught by Uemura in the system of SHRESTHA for providing an optimal handover procedure to be selected based on a comparison between individual times of downlink synchronization establishment and uplink resource allocation in a synchronous handover procedure [see Uemura, pg. 5, ¶37 lines 1-6].
Regarding Claim 22,
The combined system of SHRESTHA and Uemura discloses the baseband processor of claim 17.
SHRESTHA further discloses wherein the TA information includes a differential TA value of the non-serving cell relative to a TA value of the serving cell of the serving base station [see pgs. 11-12, ¶113 lines 1-12, if the UE “120” does not receive an indication, the UE “120” uses a current timing advance (e.g., the timing advance associated with the source base station “110-1”) as the timing advance associated with the target base station “110-2”].
Allowable Subject Matter
Claim(s) 6, 8, 9, 11, 15 and 23-28 is/are objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure.
United States Patent Application Publication: Rune et al. (US 2017/0135134 A1); see fig. 7, pg. 10, ¶124-¶133.
/RUSHIL P. SAMPAT/Primary Examiner- TC 2400, Art Unit 2469