Priority
2. Acknowledgment is made of applicant’s claim for foreign priority under 35 U.S.C. 119 (a)-(d). The certified copy has been filed in parent Application No. PCT/EP2023/060345, filed on April 20, 2023, that claims foreign priority to 10 2022 204 053.8, filed on April 27, 2022.
Claim Objections
3. Claims 1, 3-5, 7-8, and 11-15 are objected to because of the following informalities:
“User equipment" in claim 1 (lines 5 and 9), claim 3 (line 1-2), claim 7 (line 1), claim 8 (line 1), and claim 11 (line 13) should be replaced with - - the user equipment - - to be consistent with the first citation of “a user equipment” in claim 1 (line 2).
“Paging-Radio Network Temporary Identifier" in claim 1 (line 6-7), claim 12 (line 22-23), claim 13 (line 23-24), claim 14 (line 23-24), and claim 15 (line 26-27) should be replaced with - - the paging-Radio Network Temporary Identifier - - to be consistent with the first citation of “paging-Radio Network Temporary Identifier” in claim 1 (line 5), claim 12 (line 21), claim 13 (line 22), claim 14 (line 22), and claim 15 (line 25), respectively.
“The network" in claim 1 (line 9), claim 12 (line 25), claim 13 (line 26), claim 14 (line 26), and claim 15 (line 29) should be replaced with - - the radio network - - to be consistent with the first citation of “a radio network” in claim 1 (line 4), claim 12 (line 20), claim 13 (line 21), claim 14 (line 21), and claim 15 (line 24), respectively.
Claim 1 (line 9), claim 12 (line 25), claim 13 (line 26), claim 14 (line 26), and claim 15 (line 29) recite “the indication of Small Data transmission” and it should be - - an indication of Small Data transmission - -, as “the indication of Small Data transmission” lacks antecedent basis.
Claim 3 (line 2-3), claim 7 (line 2), and claim 8 (line 2) recite “the probability threshold” and it should be - - a probability threshold - -, as “the probability threshold” lacks antecedent basis.
Claim 4 (line 2) recites “the Temporary Mobile Subscriber Identity” and it should be - - a Temporary Mobile Subscriber Identity - -, as “the Temporary Mobile Subscriber Identity” lacks antecedent basis.
Claim 5 (line 2) recites “the International Mobile Subscriber Identity” and it should be - - an International Mobile Subscriber Identity - -, as “the International Mobile Subscriber Identity” lacks antecedent basis.
Claim 11 (line 2) recites “the mapping of the probability of priorities to one random-access channel resource” and it should be - - mapping of the probability of priorities to one random-access channel resource - -, as “the mapping of the probability of priorities to one random-access channel resource” lacks antecedent basis.
Claim 11 (line 4) recites “the interval of random value” and it should be - - an interval of random value - -, as “the interval of random value” lacks antecedent basis.
Examiner suggests replacing “user equipment drawn a random value” in claim 11 (line 13) with - - user equipment draws a random value - -.
“Base-station" in claim 12 (line 8 and 12-13) should be replaced with - - the base-station - - to be consistent with the first citation of “a base-station” in claim 12 (line 4).
Claim 12 (line 15-16), claim 13 (line 16-17), claim 14 (line 17), and claim 15 (line 20) recite “the microprocessor” and it should be - - a microprocessor - -, as “the microprocessor” lacks antecedent basis.
“A user equipment" in claim 12 (line 18), claim 13 (line 19), claim 14 (line 19), and claim 15 (line 22) should be replaced with - - the user equipment - - to be consistent with the first citation of “a user equipment” in claim 12 (line 1), claim 13 (line 4), claim 14 (line 3-4), and claim 15 (line 5), respectively.
“User equipment" in claim 12 (lines 21 and 25), claim 13 (lines 22 and 26), claim 14 (lines 22 and 26), and claim 15 (lines 25 and 29) should be replaced with - - the user equipment - - to be consistent with the first citation of “a user equipment” in claim 12 (line 1), claim 13 (line 4), claim 14 (line 3-4), and claim 15 (line 5), respectively.
Claim 14 (line 6) and claim 15 (line 6) recite “the idle mode” and it should be - - idle mode - -, as “the idle mode” lacks antecedent basis.
Examiner suggests replacing “in the in inactive mode” in claim 14 (line 12) with - - in the inactive mode - -.
Examiner suggests replacing “transmit, to the user equipmentandbasedatleastinpartontransmittingthefirstcommunication,asecondcommunicationthatincludes” in claim 15 (line 9-11) with - - transmit to the user equipment and based at least in part on transmitting the first communication, a second communication that includes - -.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
5. Claim 1 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Xiao ‘481 (US 2024/0397481, “Xiao ‘481”), in view of Chang ‘618 (US 2020/0045618, “Chang ‘618”), and further in view of Lee ‘898 (US 12,621,898, “Lee ‘898”).
Regarding claim 1, Xiao ‘481 discloses a method of wireless communication (FIG. 1, para 29; wireless communications system) comprising the following steps:
receiving downlink control information comprising by a user equipment in an inactive state (FIG. 5, para 5-6, 46, and 64; user equipment (UE) scans a physical downlink control channel (PDCCH) for scheduling downlink control information (DCI), and receives the DCI to be configured with a slot format, while the UE is in RRC inactive mode),
a cyclic redundancy check scrambled by a radio network with at least one base-station with paging-Radio Network Temporary Identifier at least one user equipment (FIG. 5, para 46 and 64; UE receives the DCI, where the cyclic redundancy check (CRC) is scrambled with a paging-Radio Network Temporary Identifier (P-RNTI)),
user equipment monitors paging message in inactive state (FIG. 5, para 64; UE monitors a paging occasion to receive a paging message, while the UE is in the RRC inactive mode) and
to decode reception of paging message (FIG. 5, para 64; UE receives the paging message in a physical downlink shared channel (PDSCH), and decodes the PDSCH; thus, UE decodes the received paging message).
Although Xiao ‘481 discloses to decode reception of paging message, Xiao ‘481 does not specifically disclose uses paging-Radio Network Temporary Identifier to decode reception of paging message.
Chang ‘618 teaches uses paging-Radio Network Temporary Identifier to decode reception of paging message (para 115; paging message is decoded using P-RNTI).
Therefore, it would have been obvious for one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to combine Xiao ‘481’s method of wireless communication comprising a step of a user equipment selecting random-access channel resources, to include Chang ‘618’s paging message decoded using P-RNTI. The motivation for doing so would have been to address a demand for improvements in data rate and spectral efficiency (Chang ‘618, para 19).
However, Xiao ‘481 in combination with Chang ‘618 does not specifically disclose wherein the user equipment receives more than one random-access channel resources from the network and the indication of Small Data transmission and user equipment selects the random-access channel resources.
Lee ‘898 teaches wherein the user equipment receives more than one random-access channel resources from the network and the indication of Small Data transmission (col. 36:50-60, claim 1; UE receives indication of “SmallDataConfig”, to perform small data transmission; further, UE receives system information indicating a plurality of physical random access channel (PRACH) configurations, including RACH resources for small data transmission) and
user equipment selects the random-access channel resources (claim 1; UE transmits a message to the base station via a selected RACH resource).
Therefore, it would have been obvious for one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to add features to the combined method of Xiao ‘481 and Chang ‘618, to include Lee ‘898’s UE transmission via selected RACH resource. The motivation for doing so would have been to transmit small data through a RACH procedure (Lee ‘898, col. 1:47-49).
6. Claims 2 and 4-5 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Xiao ‘481, in view of Chang ‘618, further in view of Lee ‘898, and further in view of Tang ‘771 (US 2020/0296771, “Tang ‘771”).
Regarding claim 2, Xiao ‘481 in combination with Chang ‘618 and Lee ‘898 discloses all the limitations with respect to claim 1, as outlined above.
However, Xiao ‘481 in combination with Chang ‘618 and Lee ‘898 does not specifically disclose whereby the user equipment selects the random-access channel resources corresponding to outcome of UE_ID mod N.
Tang ‘771 teaches whereby the user equipment selects the random-access channel resources corresponding to outcome of UE_ID mod N (para 86 and 91; UE transmits a random access preamble using RACH resources, under the condition of S-TMSI mod = 1, where S-TMSI is a Serving-Temporary Mobile Subscriber Identity).
Therefore, it would have been obvious for one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to add features to the combined method of Xiao ‘481, Chang ‘618, and Lee ‘898, to include Tang ‘771’s condition for UE transmission of a random access preamble using RACH resources. The motivation for doing so would have been to address network congestion caused by a large number of random access procedures (Tang ‘771, para 3).
Regarding claim 4, Xiao ‘481 in combination with Chang ‘618 and Lee ‘898 discloses all the limitations with respect to claim 1, as outlined above.
However, Xiao ‘481 in combination with Chang ‘618 and Lee ‘898 does not specifically disclose whereby UE_ID is the Temporary Mobile Subscriber Identity.
Tang ‘771 teaches whereby UE_ID is the Temporary Mobile Subscriber Identity (para 86 and 91; S-TMSI is a Serving-Temporary Mobile Subscriber Identity).
Therefore, it would have been obvious for one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to add features to the combined method of Xiao ‘481, Chang ‘618, and Lee ‘898, to include Tang ‘771’s S-TMSI. The motivation for doing so would have been to address network congestion caused by a large number of random access procedures (Tang ‘771, para 3).
Regarding claim 5, Xiao ‘481 in combination with Chang ‘618 and Lee ‘898 discloses all the limitations with respect to claim 1, as outlined above.
However, Xiao ‘481 in combination with Chang ‘618 and Lee ‘898 does not specifically disclose whereby UE_ID is the International Mobile Subscriber Identity.
Tang ‘771 teaches whereby UE_ID is the International Mobile Subscriber Identity (para 59; UE has its own International Mobile Subscriber Identification Number (IMSI)).
Therefore, it would have been obvious for one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to add features to the combined method of Xiao ‘481, Chang ‘618, and Lee ‘898, to include Tang ‘771’s IMSI. The motivation for doing so would have been to address network congestion caused by a large number of random access procedures (Tang ‘771, para 3).
7. Claims 3, 7-9, and 11 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Xiao ‘481, in view of Chang ‘618, further in view of Lee ‘898, and further in view of Sun ‘179 (US 2019/0223179, “Sun ‘179”).
Regarding claims 3 and 7, Xiao ‘481 in combination with Chang ‘618 and Lee ‘898 discloses all the limitations with respect to claim 1, as outlined above.
However, Xiao ‘481 in combination with Chang ‘618 and Lee ‘898 does not specifically disclose whereby user equipment selects the random-access channel resources based on the probability threshold.
Sun ‘179 teaches whereby user equipment selects the random-access channel resources based on the probability threshold (FIG. 13, para 137-138, Table 1; a probability value is selected as an available probability value, and a resource is selected based on the available probability value).
Therefore, it would have been obvious for one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to add features to the combined method of Xiao ‘481, Chang ‘618, and Lee ‘898, to include Sun ‘179’s resource is selected based on the available probability value. The motivation for doing so would have been to ensure relatively long-time normal use of a handheld device for device-to-device transmission (Sun ‘179, para 5-6).
Regarding claim 8, Xiao ‘481 in combination with Chang ‘618, Lee ‘898, and Sun ‘179 discloses all the limitations with respect to claim 7, as outlined above.
Further, Sun ‘179 teaches whereby user equipment receives mapping between probability threshold and random-access channel RACH resources (FIG. 13, para 137-138, Table 1; a one-to-one correspondence between a resource subset and a probability value is configured on a communication device).
Therefore, it would have been obvious for one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to add features to the combined method of Xiao ‘481, Chang ‘618, Lee ‘898, and Sun ‘179, to further include Sun ‘179’s one-to-one correspondence between a resource set and a probability value. The motivation for doing so would have been to ensure relatively long-time normal use of a handheld device for device-to-device transmission (Sun ‘179, para 5-6).
Regarding claim 9, Xiao ‘481 in combination with Chang ‘618, Lee ‘898, and Sun ‘179 discloses all the limitations with respect to claim 7, as outlined above.
Further, Sun ‘179 teaches whereby is more than one probability threshold and each probability threshold maps to one random-access channel resources (FIG. 13, para 137-138, Table 1; a one-to-one correspondence between a resource subset and a probability value is configured on a communication device; as seen in Table 1, each resource subset corresponds to a single probability value, different from probability values matched to other probability values).
Therefore, it would have been obvious for one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to add features to the combined method of Xiao ‘481, Chang ‘618, Lee ‘898, and Sun ‘179, to further include Sun ‘179’s one-to-one correspondence between a resource set and a probability value. The motivation for doing so would have been to ensure relatively long-time normal use of a handheld device for device-to-device transmission (Sun ‘179, para 5-6).
Regarding claim 11, Xiao ‘481 in combination with Chang ‘618, Lee ‘898, and Sun ‘179 discloses all the limitations with respect to claim 7, as outlined above.
Further, Sun ‘179 teaches whereby the mapping of the probability of priorities to one random-access channel resource is set by:
probability T1 in the interval of a random value is mapped to random-access channel resources 0, probability T2 in the interval of a random value is mapped to random-access channel resources 1, probability T3 in the interval of a random value is mapped to random-access channel resources 2. Probability T4 in the interval of a random value is mapped to random-access channel resources 3 (FIG. 13, para 137-138, Table 1; a one-to-one correspondence between a resource set and a probability value is configured on a communication device; a probability value is selected randomly as an available probability value, and a resource is selected based on the available probability value) and
user equipment drawn a random value and compares it with the probability threshold associated with the random-access channel resources to perform random-access channel resource selection (FIG. 13, para 137-138, Table 1; a one-to-one correspondence between a resource set and a probability value is configured on a communication device; a probability value is selected randomly as an available probability value, and a resource is selected based on the available probability value).
Therefore, it would have been obvious for one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to add features to the combined method of Xiao ‘481, Chang ‘618, Lee ‘898, and Sun ‘179, to further include Sun ‘179’s one-to-one correspondence between a resource set and a probability value. The motivation for doing so would have been to ensure relatively long-time normal use of a handheld device for device-to-device transmission (Sun ‘179, para 5-6).
8. Claim 6 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Xiao ‘481, in view of Chang ‘618, further in view of Lee ‘898, and further in view of El-Saidny ‘091 (US 2010/0069091, “El-Saidny ‘091”).
Regarding claim 6, Xiao ‘481 in combination with Chang ‘618 and Lee ‘898 discloses all the limitations with respect to claim 1, as outlined above.
However, Xiao ‘481 in combination with Chang ‘618 and Lee ‘898 does not specifically disclose whereby UE_ID is a new UE ID which is configured by base-station through dedicated RRC message.
El-Saidny ‘091 teaches whereby UE_ID is a new UE ID which is configured by base-station through dedicated RRC message (para 123; a Primary-TMSI (Pr-TMSI) is in an RRC message).
Therefore, it would have been obvious for one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to add features to the combined method of Xiao ‘481, Chang ‘618, and Lee ‘898, to include El-Saidny ‘091’s Primary-TMSI (Pr-TMSI) in an RRC message. The motivation for doing so would have been to address wastes in system and power resources and on a user device due to extra wake up periods needed for decoding multiple services (El-Saidny ‘091, para 7).
9. Claim 10 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Xiao ‘481, in view of Chang ‘618, further in view of Lee ‘898, further in view of Sun ‘179, and further in view of Zhang ‘657 (US 2021/0185657, “Zhang ‘657”).
Regarding claim 10, Xiao ‘481 in combination with Chang ‘618, Lee ‘898, and Sun ‘179 discloses all the limitations with respect to claim 7, as outlined above.
However, Xiao ‘481 in combination with Chang ‘618, Lee ‘898, and Sun ‘179 does not specifically disclose whereby mapping between the random-access channel resources and the probability threshold is broadcasted in system information or configured through dedicated RRC message.
Zhang ‘657 teaches whereby mapping between the random-access channel resources and the probability threshold is broadcasted in system information or configured through dedicated RRC message (para 155; network device sends resource mapping information to the terminal via RRC signaling; examiner notes the use of alternative language; for rejection purposes, only one of the alternative limitations must be disclosed by prior art).
Therefore, it would have been obvious for one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to add features to the combined method of Xiao ‘481, Chang ‘618, and Lee ‘898, to include Zhang ‘657’s network device that sends resource mapping information via RRC signaling. The motivation for doing so would have been to address a resource mapping procedure complexity (Zhang ‘657, para 5).
10. Claims 12-15 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Xiao ‘481, in view of Chang ‘618, further in view of Lee ‘898, further in view of Wong ‘499 (US 2022/0368499, “Wong ‘499”), further in view of Esswie ‘941 (US 2024/0236941, “Esswie ‘941”).
Regarding claims 12 and 14, Xiao ‘481 discloses a user equipment for wireless communication (FIGS. 1 and 10, para 29 and 84; UE in a wireless communications system), comprising:
a memory; and one or more processors coupled to the memory, the memory and the one or more processors configured to (FIG. 10, para 84; UE includes a processor and a memory, where the memory stores software that is executed by the processor):
receive, from a base-station, a paging communication while the user equipment is in an inactive mode (FIG. 5, para 64; UE monitors a paging occasion to receive a paging message, while the UE is in the RRC inactive mode; examiner notes the use of alternative language; for rejection purposes, only one of the alternative limitations must be disclosed by prior art) or an idle mode;
a radio resource control release message (para 54; RRC connection control communication includes RRC connection release);
wherein the memory stores computer program instructions which, when executed by the microprocessor, configure the user equipment to perform operations (FIG. 10, para 84; UE includes a processor and a memory, where the memory stores software that is executed by the processor) comprising:
receiving downlink control information comprising by a user equipment in an inactive state (FIG. 5, para 5-6, 46, and 64; user equipment (UE) scans a physical downlink control channel (PDCCH) for downlink control information (DCI), and receives the DCI to be configured with a slot format, while the UE is in RRC inactive mode),
a cyclic redundancy check scrambled by a radio network with at least one base-station with paging-Radio Network Temporary Identifier at least one user equipment (FIG. 5, para 46 and 64; UE receives the DCI, where the cyclic redundancy check (CRC) is scrambled with a paging-Radio Network Temporary Identifier (P-RNTI)),
user equipment monitors paging message in inactive state (FIG. 5, para 64; UE monitors a paging occasion to receive a paging message, while the UE is in the RRC inactive mode) and
to decode reception of paging message (FIG. 5, para 64; UE receives the paging message in a physical downlink shared channel (PDSCH), and decodes the PDSCH; thus, UE decodes the received paging message).
Although Xiao ‘481 discloses to decode reception of paging message, Xiao ‘481 does not specifically disclose uses paging-Radio Network Temporary Identifier to decode reception of paging message.
Chang ‘618 teaches uses paging-Radio Network Temporary Identifier to decode reception of paging message (para 115; paging message is decoded using P-RNTI).
Therefore, it would have been obvious for one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to combine Xiao ‘481’s user equipment selecting random-access channel resources, to include Chang ‘618’s paging message decoded using P-RNTI. The motivation for doing so would have been to address a demand for improvements in data rate and spectral efficiency (Chang ‘618, para 19).
However, Xiao ‘481 in combination with Chang ‘618 does not specifically disclose wherein the user equipment receives more than one random-access channel resources from the network and the indication of Small Data transmission and user equipment selects the random-access channel resources.
Lee ‘898 teaches wherein the user equipment receives more than one random-access channel resources from the network and the indication of Small Data transmission (col. 36:50-60, claim 1; UE receives indication of “SmallDataConfig”, to perform small data transmission; further, UE receives system information indicating a plurality of physical random access channel (PRACH) configurations, including RACH resources for small data transmission) and
user equipment selects the random-access channel resources (claim 1; UE transmits a message to the base station via a selected RACH resource).
Therefore, it would have been obvious for one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to add features to the combined user equipment of Xiao ‘481 and Chang ‘618, to include Lee ‘898’s UE transmission via selected RACH resource. The motivation for doing so would have been to transmit small data through a RACH procedure (Lee ‘898, col. 1:47-49).
However, Xiao ‘481 in combination with Chang ‘618 and Lee ‘898 does not specifically disclose transmit, to the base-station and based at least in part on receiving the paging communication, a first communication as part of a random access channel procedure; and receive, from base-station and based at least in part on transmitting the first communication, a second communication that includes: mobile-terminated downlink data, an indication of an uplink resource; while receiving the mobile-terminated downlink data; and transmit to a base-station mobile-originated uplink data using the uplink resource.
Wong ‘499 teaches transmit, to the base-station and based at least in part on receiving the paging communication, a first communication as part of a random access channel procedure (FIG. 6, para 63; UE receives a paging message from an eNB; UE sends a PRACH preamble to the eNB, in response to the paging message, as part of the random access procedure shown in FIG. 6); and
receive, from base-station and based at least in part on transmitting the first communication, a second communication that includes: mobile-terminated downlink data, an indication of an uplink resource; while receiving the mobile-terminated downlink data (FIG. 6, para 63; in response to the received PRACH preamble, the eNB sends to the UE a random access response (RAR), where the RAR includes an uplink grant for the UE’s subsequent transmission; an uplink grant reads on an indication of an uplink resource; as an uplink grant constitutes data, and is transmitted on the downlink, an uplink grant also reads on mobile-terminated downlink data); and
transmit to a base-station mobile-originated uplink data using the uplink resource (FIG. 6, para 63; UE transmits on the uplink using the uplink grant resources).
Therefore, it would have been obvious for one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to add features to the combined user equipment of Xiao ‘481, Chang ‘618, and Lee ‘898, to include Wong ‘499’s PRACH preamble and a random access response (RAR). The motivation for doing so would have been to support transmissions on preconfigured uplink resources and optimize operation of wireless telecommunication systems (Wong ‘499, para 9).
Although Xiao ‘481 in combination with Chang ‘618, Lee ‘898, and Wong ‘499 discloses a radio resource control release message, Xiao ‘481 in combination with Chang ‘618, Lee ‘898, and Wong ‘499 does not specifically disclose a radio resource control release message that causes the user equipment to remain in the inactive mode or the idle mode. Further, Xiao ‘481 in combination with Chang ‘618, Lee ‘898, and Wong ‘499 does not specifically disclose transmit to a base-station and while in the inactive mode or the idle mode, mobile-originated uplink data using the uplink resource.
Esswie ‘941 teaches a radio resource control release message that causes the user equipment to remain in the inactive mode (para 46 and 147-150; a wireless transmit-receive unit (WTRU) receives a RRC release indication such that the WTRU stays in inactive mode; examiner notes the use of alternative language; for rejection purposes, only one of the alternative limitations must be disclosed by prior art) or the idle mode;
transmit to a base-station and while in the inactive mode or the idle mode, mobile-originated uplink data using the uplink resource (para 147-150; WTRU transmits to a gNB uplink data with a RRC request message, while in the inactive mode; examiner notes the use of alternative language; for rejection purposes, only one of the alternative limitations must be disclosed by prior art).
Therefore, it would have been obvious for one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to add features to the combined user equipment of Xiao ‘481, Chang ‘618, Lee ‘898, and Wong ‘499, to include Esswie ‘941’s WTRU’s uplink data transmission while in inactive mode. The motivation for doing so would have been to avoid signaling and power consumption overhead at the WTRU-side for RAN connectivity activation (Esswie ‘941, para 146).
Regarding claims 13 and 15, Xiao ‘481 discloses a base-station for wireless communication (FIGS. 1 and 13, para 29 and 95; base station in a wireless communications system), comprising:
a memory; and one or more processors coupled to the memory, the memory and the one or more processors (FIGS. 3 and 13, para 54 and 95; base station includes a processor and a memory, where the memory stores software that is executed by the processor) configured to:
transmit, to a user equipment, a paging communication while the user equipment is in an inactive mode (FIG. 5, para 64; base station transmits to a UE a paging message; UE monitors a paging occasion to receive a paging message, while the UE is in the RRC inactive mode; examiner notes the use of alternative language; for rejection purposes, only one of the alternative limitations must be disclosed by prior art) or an idle mode;
a radio resource control release message (para 54; RRC connection control communication includes RRC connection release);
wherein the memory stores computer program instructions which, when executed by the microprocessor, configure the user equipment (UE) via the base-station to perform operations comprising (FIG. 10, para 84; UE includes a processor and a memory, where the memory stores software that is executed by the processor) comprising:
receiving downlink control information comprising by a user equipment in an inactive state (FIG. 5, para 5-6, 46, and 64; user equipment (UE) scans a physical downlink control channel (PDCCH) for scheduling downlink control information (DCI), and receives the DCI to be configured with a slot format, while the UE is in RRC inactive mode),
a cyclic redundancy check scrambled by a radio network with at least one base-station with paging-Radio Network Temporary Identifier at least one user equipment (FIG. 5, para 46 and 64; UE receives the DCI, where the cyclic redundancy check (CRC) is scrambled with a paging-Radio Network Temporary Identifier (P-RNTI)),
user equipment monitors paging message in inactive state (FIG. 5, para 64; UE monitors a paging occasion to receive a paging message, while the UE is in the RRC inactive mode) and
to decode reception of paging message (FIG. 5, para 64; UE receives the paging message in a physical downlink shared channel (PDSCH), and decodes the PDSCH; thus, UE decodes the received paging message).
Although Xiao ‘481 discloses to decode reception of paging message, Xiao ‘481 does not specifically disclose uses paging-Radio Network Temporary Identifier to decode reception of paging message.
Chang ‘618 teaches uses paging-Radio Network Temporary Identifier to decode reception of paging message (para 115; paging message is decoded using P-RNTI).
Therefore, it would have been obvious for one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to combine Xiao ‘481’s base station that transmits a paging communication to a user equipment, while the user equipment is in an inactive mode, to include Chang ‘618’s paging message decoded using P-RNTI. The motivation for doing so would have been to address a demand for improvements in data rate and spectral efficiency (Chang ‘618, para 19).
However, Xiao ‘481 in combination with Chang ‘618 does not specifically disclose wherein the user equipment receives more than one random-access channel resources from the network and the indication of Small Data transmission and user equipment selects the random-access channel resources.
Lee ‘898 teaches wherein the user equipment receives more than one random-access channel resources from the network and the indication of Small Data transmission (col. 36:50-60, claim 1; UE receives indication of “SmallDataConfig”, to perform small data transmission; further, UE receives system information indicating a plurality of physical random access channel (PRACH) configurations, including RACH resources for small data transmission) and
user equipment selects the random-access channel resources (claim 1; UE transmits a message to the base station via a selected RACH resource).
Therefore, it would have been obvious for one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to add features to the combined base station of Xiao ‘481 and Chang ‘618, to include Lee ‘898’s UE transmission via selected RACH resource. The motivation for doing so would have been to transmit small data through a RACH procedure (Lee ‘898, col. 1:47-49).
However, Xiao ‘481 in combination with Chang ‘618 and Lee ‘898 does not specifically disclose receive, from the user equipment and based at least in part on transmitting the paging communication, a first communication as part of a random access channel procedure; and transmit to the user equipment and based at least in part on transmitting the first communication, a second communication that includes: mobile-terminated downlink data, an uplink resource; and receive from the user equipment and in the uplink resource mobile-originated uplink data, the user equipment is to transmit the mobile-originated uplink data.
Wong ‘499 teaches receive, from the user equipment and based at least in part on transmitting the paging communication, a first communication as part of a random access channel procedure (FIG. 6, para 63; UE receives a paging message from an eNB; UE sends a PRACH preamble to the eNB, in response to the paging message, as part of the random access procedure shown in FIG. 6); and
transmit to the user equipment and based at least in part on transmitting the first communication, a second communication that includes: mobile-terminated downlink data, an uplink resource (FIG. 6, para 63; in response to the received PRACH preamble, the eNB sends to the UE a random access response (RAR), where the RAR includes an uplink grant for the UE’s subsequent transmission; an uplink grant reads on an indication of an uplink resource; as an uplink grant constitutes data, and is transmitted on the downlink, an uplink grant also reads on mobile-terminated downlink data); and
receive from the user equipment and in the uplink resource mobile-originated uplink data (FIG. 6, para 63; UE transmits using the uplink grant resources),
the user equipment is to transmit the mobile-originated uplink data (FIG. 6, para 63; UE transmits using the uplink grant resources).
Therefore, it would have been obvious for one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to add features to the combined base station of Xiao ‘481, Chang ‘618, and Lee ‘898, to include Wong ‘499’s PRACH preamble and a random access response (RAR). The motivation for doing so would have been to support transmissions on preconfigured uplink resources and optimize operation of wireless telecommunication systems (Wong ‘499, para 9).
Although Xiao ‘481 in combination with Chang ‘618, Lee ‘898, and Wong ‘499 discloses a second communication that includes: mobile-terminated downlink data, an uplink resource, Xiao ‘481 in combination with Chang ‘618, Lee ‘898, and Wong ‘499 does not specifically disclose an uplink resource that the user equipment is to use to transmit mobile-originated uplink data while in the inactive mode or the idle mode. Further, although Xiao ‘481 in combination with Chang ‘618, Lee ‘898, and Wong ‘499 discloses a radio resource control release message, Xiao ‘481 in combination with Chang ‘618, Lee ‘898, and Wong ‘499 does not specifically disclose a message that causes the user equipment receive the mobile-terminated downlink(DL) data while in the inactive mod or the idle mode. Furthermore, although Xiao ‘481 in combination with Chang ‘618, Lee ‘898, and Wong ‘499 discloses the user equipment is to transmit the mobile-originated uplink data, Xiao ‘481 in combination with Chang ‘618, Lee ‘898, and Wong ‘499 does not specifically disclose the user equipment is to transmit the mobile-originated uplink data while in the inactive mode or the idle mode.
Esswie ‘941 teaches an uplink resource that the user equipment is to use to transmit mobile-originated uplink data while in the inactive mode (para 147-150; WTRU receives over higher layer signaling an indication of uplink resources; WTRU transmits to a gNB, over the uplink resources, uplink data with a RRC request message, while in the inactive mode; examiner notes the use of alternative language; for rejection purposes, only one of the alternative limitations must be disclosed by prior art) or the idle mode, and
a message that causes the user equipment receive the mobile-terminated downlink(DL) data while in the inactive mode (para 98 and 167; WTRU receives downlink small data transmission (DL SDT) while in the inactive mode, after receiving a message indicating DL SDT configuration; examiner notes the use of alternative language; for rejection purposes, only one of the alternative limitations must be disclosed by prior art) or the idle mode; and
the user equipment is to transmit the mobile-originated uplink data while in the inactive mode (para 147-150; WTRU transmits to a gNB uplink data with a RRC request message, while in the inactive mode; examiner notes the use of alternative language; for rejection purposes, only one of the alternative limitations must be disclosed by prior art) or the idle mode.
Therefore, it would have been obvious for one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to add features to the combined base station of Xiao ‘481, Chang ‘618, Lee ‘898, and Wong ‘499, to include Esswie ‘941’s WTRU’s uplink data transmission while in inactive mode. The motivation for doing so would have been to avoid signaling and power consumption overhead at the WTRU-side for RAN connectivity activation (Esswie ‘941, para 146).
Conclusion
Internet Communication
Applicant is encouraged to submit a written authorization for Internet communications (PTO/SB/439, https://www.uspto.gov/sites/default/files/documents/sb0439.pdf) in the instant patent application to authorize the examiner to communicate with the applicant via email. The authorization will allow the examiner to better practice compact prosecution. The written authorization can be submitted via one of the following methods only. (1) Central Fax which can be found in the Conclusion section of this Office action; (2) regular postal mail; (3) EFS WEB; or (4) the service window on the Alexandria campus. EFS web is the recommended way to submit the form since this allows the form to be entered into the file wrapper within the same day (system dependent). Written authorization submitted via other methods, such as direct fax to the examiner or email, will not be accepted. See MPEP § 502.03.
/NEVENA ZECEVIC SANDHU/Examiner, Art Unit 2474
/Michael Thier/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 2474