DETAILED ACTION
Claims 1-18 were filed with the Preliminary Amendment dated 10/28/2024.
Drawings
The drawings are objected to because Figures 5, 7, 16, 17, 18, 26, 31, 35, and 40 show sectional views, but do not include the required hatching (see 37 C.F.R. 1.84(h)(3)).
Claim Objections
Claim 12 is objected to because of the following informalities: the phrase “at least part of the motor is located in the first accommodating cavity” in line 5-6 is just a repetition of claim 12, line 2. The examiner suggests deleting the repeated phrase. Appropriate correction is required.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112b
Claims 2, 3, 4, 6, 11, 12, 13 and 15-18 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
With regard to claim 2, the phrase “at least one second chamber” (line 5) renders the claim confusing and, therefore, indefinite. Claim 2 depends from claim 1. Claim 1 requires “a second chamber” (line 2). Therefore, it is not clear if claim 2 is merely referring to the singular second chamber of claim 1 or if claim 2 is referring to different chambers. For purposes of examination, claim 2 will be construed as if it is written as: “the
Claim 4 recites the limitation "the first mounting port" in line 3). There is insufficient antecedent basis for this limitation in the claim. It is not clear if claim 4 should be amended to depend from claim 2 (instead of claim 1), or if claim 4 should be amended to change “the first mounting port” to “a first mounting port.” For purposes of examination, claim 4 will be construed as if it depends from claim 2, not claim 1.
With regard to claim 6, the phrase “in a position-limited way” (line 3) renders the claim confusing and, therefore, indefinite. It is not clear what is being required by “position-limited way.” The scope of the phrase is not known. The examiner suggests deleting “in a position-limited way.”
With regard to claim 11, the phrase “in a position-limited way” (line 4) renders the claim confusing and, therefore, indefinite. It is not clear what is being required by “position-limited way.” The scope of the phrase is not known. The examiner suggests deleting “in a position-limited way.”
With regard to claim 12, the phrase “in a position-limited way” (line 5) renders the claim confusing and, therefore, indefinite. It is not clear what is being required by “position-limited way.” The scope of the phrase is not known. The examiner suggests deleting “in a position-limited way.”
With regard to claim 15, the phrase “in a position-limited way” (line 11) renders the claim confusing and, therefore, indefinite. It is not clear what is being required by “position-limited way.” The scope of the phrase is not known. The examiner suggests deleting “in a position-limited way.”
Dependent claims 3, 13, 16, 17, and 18 are rejected for being dependent upon a rejected claim.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112d
Claim 14 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(d) or pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, 4th paragraph, as being of improper dependent form for failing to further limit the subject matter of the claim upon which it depends, or for failing to include all the limitations of the claim upon which it depends.
Claim 14 depends from claim 1 and claim 11 and merely restates that “the fluid assembly cooperates and is connected with the drive assembly” (claim 14, line 4) what is in the preamble of claim 11.
Applicant may cancel the claim(s), amend the claim(s) to place the claim(s) in proper dependent form, rewrite the claim(s) in independent form, or present a sufficient showing that the dependent claim(s) complies with the statutory requirements.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1-4 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by CN114151577 (hereinafter “Leonuri”) (as evidenced by Translation).
With regard to claim 1, Leonuri discloses a fluid assembly (see Figs 1-18), comprising a main housing (1), a pump assembly (91) and a valve assembly (2), wherein the main housing (1) has a first chamber (17) and a second chamber (16), which are spaced from each other (see annotated Fig 4); and at least part of the pump assembly (91) is arranged in the first chamber (17) in a sealed manner (page 6, lines 42-43; “in a sealed manner” is met because pump is installed inside chamber 17 which prevents leaks by being inside chamber), the valve assembly (2) comprises a valve core (2 “valve core 2” page 6, line 3), and at least part of the valve core (2) is arranged in the second chamber (16) (page 5, lines 28-37) in a sealed manner (page 6, lines 27-29).
With regard to claim 2, (as far as it is definite and understood) Leonuri discloses that the first chamber (17) has a first mounting port (port/entrance toward chamber 17 at Fig 4, top, see annotated Figs), the second chamber (16) has a second mounting port (port is by 33 in Fig 5, see annotated Figs), and the first mounting port (see annotated Fig 4) and the second mounting port (see annotated Fig 5) are arranged at different sides of the main housing (1) (compare Figs 4 and 5) respectively; and the main housing (1) further comprises a communication channel (19), and the first chamber (17) is in communication with the second chamber (16) through the communication channel (19) (see Figs 4-5 and page 7, lines 1-2).
With regard to claim 3, Leonuri discloses that the main housing (1) further comprises a first orifice (see opening in annotated Fig 5), a second orifice (see opening in annotated Fig 5) and a plurality of flow channels (11-15), and wherein the first orifice (see opening in annotated Fig 5) and the second orifice (see opening in annotated Fig 5) each is in communication with the first chamber (17) (via 19, see Fig 5), the plurality of flow channels (11-15) are arranged at an outer circumferential side of a wall portion of the second chamber (16) (see Fig 5 and compare with Fig 4), one of the first orifice and the second orifice (see opening in annotated Fig 5) is in communication with any or some of the flow channels (11-15) through the communication channel (19), and the valve core (2) is configured to open and/or close the flow channels (11-15) (page 5, line 44 to page 6, line 2).
With regard to claim 4, (as far as it is definite and understood) Leonuri discloses that the main housing (1) comprises a first end (end near 17 in Fig 4, see annotated Fig 4) and a second end (end near 11-15 in Fig 5, see annotated Fig 5) which are oppositely arranged in a height direction of the main housing (1) (one is at top and other is on bottom, compare Figs 4-5), the first mounting port (see annotated Fig 4) of the first chamber (17) is located at the first end (see annotated Fig 4), and the second mounting port (see annotated Fig 5) of the second chamber (16) is located at the second end (see annotated Fig 5).
Claims 1, 11, 14, and 15 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by EP 3904689 (hereinafter “Jensen”).
With regard to claim 1, Jensen discloses a fluid assembly (see Figs 1-18) comprising a main housing (8), a pump assembly (“ The centrifugal pump” [0047], 14+110) and a valve assembly (24, para [0027]), wherein the main housing (8) has a first chamber (portion of 8 above 46, see annotated Fig) and a second chamber (44) which are spaced from each other, at least part of the pump assembly (rotor 110) is arranged in the first chamber (portion above 46 within 8) in a sealed manner (by connection of 46 to 8, see Fig 3), the valve assembly (24) comprises a valve core (24) and at least part of the valve core (24) is arranged in the second chamber (44) in a sealed manner (by sealing 70, see para [0031]).
With regard to claim 11, Jensen discloses a drive assembly (2+112) for cooperating and being connected with the fluid assembly according to claim 1 (see above with respect to claim 1), wherein the drive assembly comprises a first housing (4), a stator assembly (112) and a motor (2), both of the stator assembly (112) and the motor (2) are connected to the first housing (8) (see Fig 3) in a position-limiting manner (because 2 and 112 are contained with 8, see Fig 3), the pump assembly (“ The centrifugal pump” [0047], 14+110) comprises a rotor assembly (110), the rotor assembly comprises a magnetic assembly (para [0006]: “permanent magnetic rotor”), at least part of the magnetic assembly is located in a magnetic field range of the stator assembly (112) in an operating state (see para [0006]), and the motor (2) is in transmission connection with the valve core (24) (see abstract, motor drives impeller which rotates valve).
With regard to claim 14, (which depends from claim 1 and claim 11), Jensen discloses a fluid control apparatus (110-14-24; see Figs 1-18) according to claim 1 (see above with respect to claim 1 with Jensen) and the drive assembly according to claim 11 (see above with respect to claim 11), wherein the fluid assembly (110+14+24) cooperates and is connected with the drive assembly (drive 2+112 cooperates with fluid assembly 110+14+24 by the drive 2 driving impeller; and connected to by being within housing together, see Fig 3).
With regard to claim 15, Jensen discloses a method (method inherent in apparatus shown) for manufacturing a fluid control apparatus, comprising the steps of: forming at least part of a fluid assembly, comprising: providing a main housing (8), wherein the main housing (8) has a first chamber (chamber in 8 above 46) and a second chamber (44) (see annotated Fig 3) spaced from each other; arranging at least part of a pump assembly (14/110) in the first chamber (chamber formed by 8 above 46) in a sealed manner (sealed by connection of 46 to 8, see Fig 3), wherein the pump assembly comprises a rotor assembly (110); and arranging at least part of a valve core (24) of a valve assembly in the second chamber (44, see Fig 3) in a sealed manner (by sealing 70, see para [0031]); providing a drive assembly (2+112), wherein the drive assembly comprises a first housing (4), a stator assembly (112) and a motor (2), and both of the stator assembly (112) and the motor (2) are connected to the first housing (4) in a position-limited manner (because 2 and 112 are contained with 8, see Fig 3); and connecting the fluid assembly to the drive assembly (see Fig 3 showing connection of 8+14+110+110 fluid assembly to 2+112 drive assembly), so that at least part of a magnetic assembly of the rotor assembly (para [0006]: “permanent magnetic rotor”) is located in a magnetic field range of the stator assembly (112) in the operating state (see para [0006]), and the motor (2) is in transmission connection with a valve core shaft (30) of the valve assembly (24) (met because “transmission connection” is broadly recited and as motor 2 turns, movement is transmitted to valve assembly 24 rotating on shaft 30; para [0028]).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 5, 6, 11, 14, 16, 17, and 18 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over CN114151577 (hereinafter “Leonuri”) in view of U.S. Pat. Pub. No. 2017/0082117 (“Zhou”).
With regard to claim 5, Leonuri discloses all the claimed features with the exception of disclosing wherein the pump assembly comprises a rotor assembly, the fluid assembly further comprises an isolation sleeve, and the isolation sleeve is located on at least part of an outer circumferential side of the rotor assembly and is connected to the main housing in a sealed manner.
Leonuri discloses a pump assembly (91), but is silent as to its features.
Zhou teaches that it is known in the art to modify a fluid assembly with a pump assembly (Fig 1), to include a pump that comprises a rotor assembly (14, para [0037]), the fluid assembly further comprises an isolation sleeve (12, para [0037]), and the isolation sleeve (12) is located on at least part of an outer circumferential side of the rotor assembly (14) and is connected to the main housing in a sealed manner (Sealed via O-ring shown in Fig 2) (see paras [0009] [0022] [0041] and see annotated Figs).
It would have been obvious before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to a person having ordinary skill in the art to utilize a pump assembly with a rotor assembly and isolation sleeve, as taught by Zhou, in place of the pump assembly of Leonuri, since the pump assemblies are known equivalents and the use of which would be known to one of ordinary skill in the art.
With regard to claim 6 (which depends from claim 5), the combination of Leonuri and Zhou discloses that the rotor assembly (14) comprises an impeller assembly (14-1) (para [0042]) and a positioning shaft (shown, but not labeled in Fig 7, see annotated Fig 7 identifying the positioning shaft), an end of the positioning shaft is connected to the main housing (see annotated Fig 2; connected at least via being clamped between 17 and 5/8/3) in a position-limited way (as best understood, in a way that minimizes unwanted movement as is shown in Fig 2), the impeller assembly (14-1) is arranged outside the positioning shaft (see annotated figs), and at least part of the impeller assembly (14-1) is located in the first chamber (in chamber within 17 and 3 that holds the pump).
With regard to claim 11, Leonuri discloses all the claimed features with the exception of disclosing a drive assembly for cooperating and being connected with the fluid assembly according to claim 1, wherein the drive assembly comprises a first housing, a stator assembly and a motor, both of the stator assembly and the motor are connected to the first housing in a position-limiting manner, the pump assembly comprises a rotor assembly, the rotor assembly comprises a magnetic assembly, at least part of the magnetic assembly is located in a magnetic field range of the stator assembly in an operating state, and the motor is in transmission connection with the valve core.
Leonuri discloses a pump assembly (91), but is silent as to its features.
Zhou teaches that it is known in the art to modify a fluid assembly with a pump assembly and drive assembly (Figs 1-2), to include a drive assembly (motor assembly 8, para [0039], Figs 1, 2, and 5) for cooperating and being connected to a fluid assembly (pump head 17, fluid channels 20, 21), wherein the drive assembly (8) comprises a first housing (3+ body of 8-1, see annotated Fig 2), a stator assembly (8-2) and a motor (8-5, 8-6 are both parts of motor, see para [0039]), both of the stator assembly (8-2) and the motor (8-5, 8-6) are connected to the first housing (3 and walls of 8-1) in a position-limiting manner (“position-limiting manner” is met because stator and motor are within the first housing, thus limiting the position), the pump assembly comprises a rotor assembly (14-2), the rotor assembly (14-2) comprises a magnetic assembly, at least part of the magnetic assembly is located in a magnetic field range of the stator assembly (8-2) in an operating state.
It would have been obvious before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to a person having ordinary skill in the art to utilize a pump assembly with a drive assembly, as taught by Zhou, in place of the pump assembly (which necessarily has something to drive it) of Leonuri, since the pump/drive assemblies are known equivalents and the use of which would be known to one of ordinary skill in the art. When substituting the assembly of Zhou in place of 91 in Leonuri, the motor of Zhou would be in, as so broadly recited, transmission connection with the valve core of Leonuri (valve 2) because the components of the pump/drive assembly cooperate with the valve core, at least via transmission of fluid)
With regard to claim 14, (which depends from claim 1 and claim 11), the combination discloses a fluid control apparatus (see Leonuri) according to claim 1 (see above with respect to claim 1 with Leonuri) and the drive assembly according to claim 11 (see above with respect to claim 11), wherein the fluid assembly cooperates and is connected with the drive assembly (motor assembly 8, para [0039], Figs 1, 2, and 5; and see pump head 17, fluid channels 20, 21).
With regard to claims 16, 17, and 18, Leonuri discloses all the claimed features with the exception of disclosing wherein the pump assembly comprises a rotor assembly, the fluid assembly further comprises an isolation sleeve, and the isolation sleeve is located on at least part of an outer circumferential side of the rotor assembly and is connected to the main housing in a sealed manner.
Leonuri discloses a pump assembly (91), but is silent as to its features.
Zhou teaches that it is known in the art to modify a fluid assembly with a pump assembly (Fig 1), to include a pump that comprises a rotor assembly (14, para [0037]), the fluid assembly further comprises an isolation sleeve (12, para [0037]), and the isolation sleeve (12) is located on at least part of an outer circumferential side of the rotor assembly (14) and is connected to the main housing in a sealed manner (Sealed via O-ring shown in Fig 2) (see paras [0009] [0022] [0041] and see annotated Figs).
It would have been obvious before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to a person having ordinary skill in the art to utilize a pump assembly with a rotor assembly and isolation sleeve, as taught by Zhou, in place of the pump assembly of Leonuri, since the pump assemblies are known equivalents and the use of which would be known to one of ordinary skill in the art.
Allowable Subject Matter
Claims 7-10 are objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
Claims 12 and 13 would be allowable if rewritten to overcome the rejection(s) under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), 2nd paragraph, set forth in this Office action and to include all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure.
U.S. Pat. Pub. No. 2013/0294928 discloses a pump and motor assembly.
/JESSICA CAHILL/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 3753