Priority
Acknowledgment is made of applicant’s claim for foreign priority (TR2022/007076, filed 28 April 2022) under 35 U.S.C. 119 (a)-(d). Receipt is acknowledged of certified copies of papers required by 37 CFR 1.55.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 1-5 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by CELIK (“PROJECT NAME: SUPER HYDROPHOBIC OIL ABSORBER”, Teknofest: Aviation, Space and Technology Festival, 1 February 2022, XP093107096; cited by Applicant, machine translation provided by Google provided and referenced herein).
Regarding Claim 1, CELIK discloses the use of Verbascum thapsus as an adsorbent for cleanup operations in oil spills (i.e., [a] method for separating and cleaning a product mixed with water from the water, comprising using… Verbascum (mullein) as an absorbent material, wherein the product comprises oil and petroleum; §1 Project Summary, par. 1). Briefly, CELIK discloses pre-treating raw “mullein herb [sic]” by drying and grounding (i.e., pre-treated Verbascum; §4 Method, par. 3).
Regarding Claims 2 and 5, CELIK anticipates the method of Claim 1. CELIK further discloses the use of a fine netting or porous bag (i.e., the pre-treated Verbascum is further used in packages by placing the pre-treated Verbascum in a porous structure carrier material (Claim 2); the porous structure carrier material is a permeable material with a porous structure (Claim 5); §12 Project Images, see FIGs. 2 and 3).
Regarding Claims 3 and 4, CELIK anticipates the method of Claim 2. CELIK further discloses that the absorbent is designed as a “sausage” type absorbent (i.e., the porous structure carrier material is an absorbent pad (Claim 3); the porous structure carrier material is an absorbent cushion (Claim 4); §3 Solution, par. 2).
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure.
LEE et al. (KR 101938616 B1) discloses an adsorbent material for eliminating oil spills, said adsorbent being made of eco-friendly materials (abstract). LEE further discloses the adsorbent can be packaged with filling material so as to prepare an adsorbent cushion (pg. 7, par. 2; Example 2 on pg. 8) or as an oil-absorbing pad (pg. 9, pars. 4-5).
/Ryan B Huang/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 1772