DETAILED ACTION
This office action is in reply communication filed on 10/28/2024.
Claims 1-20 are pending.
Claim Objections
Claims 1-20 are objected to because of the following informalities:
Claim 1 recited, “wherein the relationship mapping table represents…” in line 4. For clarity, it is suggested to change to “wherein the preset relationship mapping table represents…”.
Claim 9 recited, “wherein the relationship mapping table represents…” in line 4. For clarity, it is suggested to change to “wherein the preset relationship mapping table represents…”.
Claim 10 recited, “wherein the relationship mapping table represents…” in line 4. For clarity, it is suggested to change to “wherein the preset relationship mapping table represents…”.
All dependent claims are also objected since they are depended on the objected claims 1 and 9.
Appropriate corrections are required.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 101
Claim 10 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 101 because the claimed invention is directed to non-statutory subject matter.
Claim 10 recites, “computer readable storage medium, storing computer executable instructions, wherein the computer executable instructions are used for executing operations comprising: …”.
In the specification (US PG Pub, No. 2024/0171317) describe in Paragraph 0050 below:
[0123] In addition, an embodiment of the present disclosure provides a computer readable storage medium, the computer readable storage medium stores computer executable instructions, the computer executable instructions are executed by a processor 1320 or a controller, for example, by a processor 1320 in the foregoing embodiment of the UE 1300, the foregoing processor 1320 may be caused to perform the PRACH transmission occasion determination method applied to the UE 1300 in the foregoing embodiments, for example, perform the method operations S110 to S140 in FIG. 1, the method operations S210 to S240 in FIG. 2, the method operations S310 to S350 in FIG. 3, the method operations S410 to S430 in FIG. 4, the method operations S510 to S520 in FIG. 5, the method operations S610 to S630 in FIG. 6, the method operations S710 to S730 in FIG. 7, the method operations S810 to S820 in FIG. 8 described above. Those having ordinary skill in the art may understand that all or some of the operations and systems in the methods disclosed in the foregoing may be implemented as software, firmware, hardware, and a proper combination thereof. Some or all of the physical components may be implemented as software executed by a processor, such as a central processor, digital signal processor, or microprocessor, or as hardware, or as an integrated circuit, such as an application specific integrated circuit. Such software may be distributed on computer readable media, which may include computer storage media (or non-transitory media) and communication media (or transitory media). As is well known to those of ordinary skill in the art, the term computer storage media includes both volatile and nonvolatile, removable and non-removable media implemented in any method or technology for storage of information such as computer readable instructions, data structures, program modules, or other data. Computer storage media includes, but is not limited to, Random Access Memory (RAM), Read-Only Memory (ROM), Electrically Erasable Programmable Read-Only Memory (EEPROM), flash memory or other memory technology, Compact Disc Read-Only Memory (CD-ROM), Digital Versatile Discs (DVD) or other optical disk storage, magnetic cassettes, magnetic tape, magnetic disk storage or other magnetic storage devices, or any other medium which can be used to store the desired information and which can be accessed by a computer. In addition, communication media typically embodies computer readable instructions, data structures, program modules, or other data in a modulated data signal such as a carrier wave or other transport mechanism and may include any information delivery media as is known to those of ordinary skill in the art..
Since the applicant fails inclusively and specifically provide antecedent basis to limit the specific statutory embodiments, “the computer readable storage medium stores computer executable instructions” belongs to the intrinsic non-statutory embodiments such as carrier signal, radio wave, and light wave.
Note that signal claims are not directed to a process since they do not cover an act or series or acts. No part of the signal is a mechanical “device” or “part.” A propagating electromagnetic signal is not a “machine” as that term is used in 35 U.S.C. 101. Signals, standing alone, are not "manufacture[s]” under the meaning of that term in 35 U.S.C. 101. A signal comprising a fluctuation in electric potential or in electromagnetic fields is not a "chemical union," nor a gas, fluid, powder, or solid. Signals are not "composition[s] of matter." Thus, a transitory, propagating signal is not a "process, machine, manufacture, or composition of matter. Those four categories define the explicit scope and reach of subject matter patentable under 35 U.S.C. 101; thus, such a signal cannot be patentable subject matter (see In re Nuitjen, 500 F. 3d 1346 1356 n.7 (Fed. Cir 2007)).
In view of the above analysis, claim 10 is ineligible for patent protection as failing to be limited to embodiments which fall within a statutory category.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
(a) A patent may not be obtained though the invention is not identically disclosed or described as set forth in section 102 of this title, if the differences between the subject matter sought to be patented and the prior art are such that the subject matter as a whole would have been obvious at the time the invention was made to a person having ordinary skill in the art to which said subject matter pertains. Patentability shall not be negatived by the manner in which the invention was made.
Claims 1, 9-12, and 16 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 unpatentable over AGIWAL et al. (US 2021/0051708) in view of Irukulapati et al. (US WO 2020/067950).
Regarding claim 1, AGIWAL discloses a Physical Random Access Channel (PRACH) transmission occasion determination method [see Fig. 2, 3, 4, 5, ¶¶ 59-84; performing Random Access procedure], applied to User Equipment (UE), and comprising:
acquiring a System Information Block (SIB) sent by a base station [see ¶ 67; acquiring RACH configuration is signaled in system information (i.e. SIB 1)], wherein the SIB comprises one or more Synchronization Signal Blocks (SSBs) and PRACH configuration index information [see ¶¶ 68-70; RACH configuration includes ssb-perRACH-OccasionAndCB-PreamblesPerSSB and prach-ConfigurationIndex], and the PRACH configuration index information comprises PRACH transmission occasions [see ¶ 68; prach-ConfigurationIndex which indicates the available set of PRACH occasions for the transmission of the Random Access Preamble];
acquiring a preset relationship mapping table [see ¶¶ 68, 75; acquiring pre-defined PRACH configuration table lists s number of configurations] [see ¶ 70; PRACH occasions are mapped to SSBs over association period];
determining a target SSB from the one or more SSBs according to a preset condition [see ¶ 72; selects a suitable SSB where an SSB is suitable if synchronization signal reference signal received power (SS-RSRP) of that SSB is above rsrp-ThresholdSSB]; and
determining a PRACH transmission occasion corresponding to the target SSB in the relationship mapping table as a target PRACH transmission occasion [see Fig. 3, 5, ¶¶ 79, 84; PRACH occasion is selected from PRACH occasions corresponding to SSB selected by UE]
AGIWAL discloses all aspects of claim invention including acquiring a preset relationship mapping table but does not explicitly disclose wherein the relationship mapping table represents a mapping relationship between the one or more SSBs and the PRACH transmission occasions.
However, Irukulapati discloses acquiring a preset relationship mapping table, wherein the relationship mapping table represents a mapping relationship between the one or more SSBs and the PRACH transmission occasions [see ¶¶ 178, 188; obtaining a Synchronization Signal Block, SSB, scrambling order, the SSB scrambling order defining an order in which SSB indices are mapped to Physical Random Access Channel, PRACH, occasions].
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filling date of the claimed invention was made to provide “wherein the relationship mapping table represents a mapping relationship between the one or more SSBs and the PRACH transmission occasions” as taught by Irukulapati in the system of AGIWAL, so that it would reduce the UL interference level in the victim cell and therefore be beneficial to the overall network performance [see Irukulapati; ¶ 25].
Regarding claim 9, the claim recites a User Equipment (UE), comprising a memory, a processor and a computer program stored in the memory and capable of running on the processor [Fig. 13, ¶ 147; a terminal includes a transceiver 1310, a controller 1320 and a memory 1330g], wherein the processor is configured to perform the Physical Random Access Channel (PRACH) transmission occasion determination method recited as in claim 1; therefore, claim 9 is rejected along the same rationale that rejected in claim 1.
Regarding claim 10, the claim recites a computer readable storage medium, storing computer executable instructions, wherein the computer executable instructions are used to perform the Physical Random Access Channel (PRACH) transmission occasion determination method recited as in claim 1; therefore, claim 10 is rejected along the same rationale that rejected in claim 1.
Regarding claim 11, the combined system of AGIWAL and Irukulapati discloses the PRACH transmission occasion determination method according to claim 1.
AGIWAL further discloses wherein the determining a target SSB from the one or more SSBs according to a preset condition comprises: selecting an SSB with a maximum Reference Signal Receiving Power (RSRP) value from the plurality of SSBs as the target SSB [see ¶ 72; selecting an SSB with a maximum Reference Signal Receiving Power (RSRP) value from the plurality of SSBs as the target SSB].
Regarding claim 12, the combined system of AGIWAL and Irukulapati discloses the PRACH transmission occasion determination method according to claim 1.
AGIWAL further discloses wherein the determining a target SSB from the one or more SSBs according to a preset condition comprises: in a case where there are two or more SSBs with a same Reference Signal Receiving Power (RSRP) value in the SIB, randomly selecting an SSB from the two or more SSBs with the same RSRP value as the target SSB [see ¶ 72; Selection of a suitable SSB amongst multiple suitable SSBs; if a suitable SSB is not available, UE can select any SSB].
Regarding claim 16, the combined system of AGIWAL and Irukulapati discloses the PRACH transmission occasion determination method according to claim 1.
AGIWAL further discloses wherein the PRACH configuration index information comprises at least one of following information: a preamble format, a frame period, a frame offset, a starting symbol, a PRACH transmission occasion of each time slot, and a duration [see Fig. 2, 3, ¶ 75; wherein the PRACH configuration index information is an index to an entry in this PRACH configuration table of configurations, wherein each configuration indicates PRACH configuration period, number of PRACH occasions in PRACH configuration period, location (i.e. OFDM symbols/slots) of PRACH occasions in PRACH configuration period].
Claims 2, 13, and 17 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 unpatentable over AGIWAL et al. (US 2021/0051708) in view of Irukulapati et al. (US WO 2020/067950), and further in view of ISLAM et al. (US 2018/0368126).
Regarding claim 2, the combined system of AGIWAL and Irukulapati discloses the PRACH transmission occasion determination method according to claim 1.
AGIWAL further discloses wherein the relationship mapping table is acquired according to following operations:
determining available PRACH transmission occasions from the PRACH transmission occasions according to a preset screening rule [see Fig. 3, ¶¶ 77-78; determining the PRACH occasions for 2 step CBRA based on prach-ConfigurationIndex configured/signaled by gNB for 2 step CBRA (350)];
determining a PRACH mapping configuration parameter of the one or more SSBs, wherein the PRACH mapping configuration parameter represents a number of PRACH transmission occasions to be mapped corresponding to the one or more SSBs [see ¶ 75; Embodiment 1-1: determining a PRACH mapping configuration parameter of the one or more SSBs, wherein the PRACH mapping configuration parameter represents a number of PRACH transmission occasions to be mapped corresponding to the one or more SSBs];
mapping the one or more SSBs to the available PRACH transmission occasions according to the PRACH mapping configuration parameter, and generating mapping information [see ¶¶ 79, 84; the PRACH occasions remaining after the exclusion are mapped to SSBs, wherein the SSBs are mapped to these PRACH occasions in increasing order of SSB indexes].
The combined system of AGIWAL and Irukulapati does not explicitly disclose saving the mapping information to the relationship mapping table.
However, ISLAM discloses mapping the one or more SSBs to the available PRACH transmission occasions according to the PRACH mapping configuration parameter, and generating mapping information [see ¶ 125; a respective resource (e.g., a value or index) to which the beam index corresponds; that is, the UE determine the beam index and then access a lookup table to determine a resource index or region that corresponds to the determined beam index];
saving the mapping information to the relationship mapping table [see Fig. 9, ¶¶ 118, 125; the scheduled entity may store a mapping or lookup table 960 in the memory 905, the lookup table 960 includes a plurality of beam indexes and the respective resources associated with the beam indexes].
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filling date of the claimed invention was made to provide “saving the mapping information to the relationship mapping table” as taught by ISLAM in the combined system of AGIWAL and Irukulapati, so that it would to increase, research and development continue to advance communication using beamforming techniques to mitigate the high path loss and short range of mmW and near mmW wireless communication [see ISLAM; ¶ 4].
Regarding claim 13, the combined system of AGIWAL, Irukulapati, and ISLAM discloses the PRACH transmission occasion determination method according to claim 2.
AGIWAL further discloses wherein the PRACH mapping configuration parameter is an Ssb_perRACH_Occasion parameter [see ¶ 70; wherein the PRACH mapping configuration parameter is an Ssb_perRACH_Occasion parameter], and correspondingly represents the number of SSBs that are able to be mapped on each PRACH transmission occasion [see ¶¶ 70; correspondingly represents the number of SSBs that are able to be mapped on each PRACH transmission occasion].
Regarding claim 17, the claim recites UE according to claim 9 to perform the PRACH transmission occasion determination method according to the recited as in claim 2; therefore, claim 17 is rejected along the same rationale that rejected in claim 2.
Allowable Subject Matter
Claims 3-8, 14-15, and 18-20 are objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
Conclusion
In additional to references cited that are used for rejection as set forth above, CHENG et al. (US 2024/0137988) is also considered as relevant prior arts for rejection of in claims 1 and 9-10 (Fig. 4, ¶¶ 144, 155-158).
If you would like assistance from a USPTO Customer Service Representative or access to the automated information system, call 800-786-9199 (IN USA OR CANADA) or 571-272-1000.
/PHONG LA/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2469