Information Disclosure Statement
The information disclosure statement (IDS) submitted on January 27, 2025 has been considered by the examiner.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claims 3-6 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention. Regarding claims 3-6, the phrase "for example" renders the claim indefinite because it is unclear whether the limitation(s) following the phrase are part of the claimed invention. See MPEP § 2173.05(d).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1-10 and 20-22 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Zhang (US 6,418,037) in view of Kashiwakura et al (US 2018/0235076).
As per claim 1 Zhang discloses: An electronic device comprising:
a first high frequency alternating current (HFAC) power distribution bus 255 HFAC power distribution bus 255 is configured for connecting to a first HFAC power supply 250 {figure 2};
a first power supply connection for connecting the first HFAC power supply 250 to the first HFAC power distribution bus 255 {figure 2};
a component connection for connecting the first HFAC power distribution bus 255 to electronic components 260/261 {figure 2}.
Regarding claim 1 Zhang is silent as to: a first substrate comprising a first ground plane and a second ground plane, wherein the first ground plane and the second ground plane are arranged to provide a shielded volume there between. With respect to claim 1 Kashiwakura et al discloses: a first substrate 1 comprising a first ground plane 402 and a second ground plane 403, wherein the first ground plane 402 and the second ground plane 403 are arranged to provide a shielded volume there between {figures 14-15}. Regarding claim 9 Zhang is silent as to: The electronic device of claim 7 wherein the component connections are provided by vias through the first ground plane or the second ground plane. With respect to claim 9 Kashiwakura et al discloses: [0051] Note that in FIG. 1, all of three power supply wirings 51, 52, 53 are positioned on the same layer. However, some of the power supply wirings may be on another layer in the board or all of the power supply layers may be on separate layers as long as each power wiring is put between the GND layers above and below the each power wiring and is connected by the GND through holes 3.
It would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art at the time the invention was effectively filed to provide the device of Zhang with a first substrate comprising a first ground plane and a second ground plane, wherein the first ground plane and the second ground plane are arranged to provide a shielded volume there between as taught by Kashiwakura et al. The rationale is as follows: one of ordinary skill in the art at the time the invention was effectively filed would have been motivated to a device with a first substrate comprising a first ground plane and a second ground plane, wherein the first ground plane and the second ground plane are arranged to provide a shielded volume there between so as to improve the EMI performance of the electronic device.
As per claim 2 Zhang discloses: The electronic device of claim 1 wherein the first HFAC power distribution bus 255 comprises a pair of electrical conduction paths from the power supply connection to the component connection {figure 2}.
As per claim 3 Zhang discloses, insofar as the claims are definite and understood: The electronic device of claim 2 wherein the pair of electrical conduction paths are a matched pair, for example wherein they provide the same electrical path length from the power supply connection to the component connection, for example wherein the pair of electrical conduction paths are aligned with each other, for example wherein they comprise elongate conductive members disposed parallel to each other {figure 2 & [column 3, lines 6-12] High frequency AC voltage regulators 260 and 261 receive power in the AC domain from AC bus 255 and regulate it to voltage and current levels appropriate for a microprocessor (not shown) and integrated circuits 202, 204, and 206. Regulators 260 and 261 each include transformer 262, which receives high frequency AC power from AC bus 255 and steps it down to a lower voltage.}.
Regarding claim 4 Zhang is silent as to: The electronic device of claim 3 comprising an HFAC power supply 250 connected to the power supply connection, wherein the power supplies are configured such that H-field generated by the first HFAC power distribution bus 255 is reduced by the matching of the pair of electrical conduction paths, for example by their being aligned with each other. With respect to claim 4 Kashiwakura et al discloses: [0042] For verification of these effects, an analytical model for the electromagnetic field analysis like FIG. 4 is made, and the effects are verified by the electromagnetic field analysis. The analytical model is as follows: two GND layers 4 are formed in the printed board 1, and a power supply layer 5 is put between the two GND layers 4; in the model, noise is applied by a noise source 90, which is disposed between the GND layer 4 and power supply layer 5, and then the electric field intensities of the electromagnetic waves by the application of the noise are analyzed.
It would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art at the time the invention was effectively filed to provide the device of Zhang et al with an HFAC power supply connected to the power supply connection, wherein the power supplies are configured such that H-field generated by the first HFAC power distribution bus is reduced by the matching of the pair of electrical conduction paths, for example by their being aligned with each other as taught by Kashiwakura et al. The rationale is as follows: one of ordinary skill in the art at the time the invention was effectively filed would have been motivated to a device with an HFAC power supply connected to the power supply connection, wherein the power supplies are configured such that H-field generated by the first HFAC power distribution bus is reduced by the matching of the pair of electrical conduction paths, for example by their being aligned with each other so as to suppress propagations of noise and EMI emissions.
As per claim 5 Zhang discloses, insofar as the claims are definite and understood: The electronic device of claim 2, wherein the pair of electrical conduction paths are separated by part of the first substrate, for example wherein the pair of electrical conduction paths overlie each other on different layers of the substrate {figure 2 Note: see annotated figure 2}.
As per claim 6 Zhang discloses, insofar as the claims are definite and understood: The electronic device of claim 2 wherein the pair of electrical conduction paths are separated by part of the first substrate are laterally separated from each other for example wherein they are spaced apart on the same layer of the substrate {figure 2 Note: see annotated figure 2}.
As per claim 7 Zhang discloses: The electronic device of claim 2 comprising a plurality of first conductive spurs connected between the first HFAC power distribution bus 255 and corresponding ones of a plurality of component connections {figure 2 Note: the lines in figure 2 show spurs and traces}.
As per claim 8 Zhang discloses: The electronic device of claim 7 wherein said conductive spurs comprise a pair of conductive traces {figure 2 Note: the lines in figure 2 show spurs and traces}.
As per claim 10 Zhang discloses: The electronic device of claim 7 wherein at least one of the component connections connects the first HFAC power distribution bus 255 to an electronic component disposed outside of the {figure 1}.
As per claim 20 Zhang discloses: The electronic device of claim 2, comprising more than one pair of electrical conduction paths from the power supply connection to the component connection {figure 2}.
As per claim 21 Zhang discloses: The electronic device of claim 20 wherein each of the more than one pairs of electrical conduction paths are matched with each other {figure 2}.
As per claim 22 Zhang discloses: The electronic device of claim 20 wherein the more than one pairs of electrical conduction paths have the same path length {figure 2}.
Claim 11 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Zhang (US 6,418,037) in view of Kashiwakura et al (US 2018/0235076) as applied to claim 1 above, and further in view of Yamakoshi et al (US 2001/0021422).
As per claim 11 Zhang discloses: The electronic device of claim 1 comprising a HFAC power supply 250 to the HFAC power distribution bus 255. Regarding claim 11 Zhang is silent as to: a second power supply. With respect to claims 11 Yamakoshi et al discloses: [0209] The two power supplies 5a and 5b incorporate amplifiers and independently feed very-high-frequency (VHF) power components having the same frequency of 60 MHz.
It would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art at the time the invention was effectively filed to provide the device of Zhang with a second power supply as taught by Yamakoshi et al. The rationale is as follows: one of ordinary skill in the art at the time the invention was effectively filed would have been motivated to provide a device with a second power supply as to provide redundancy in case of failure or disconnection.
Claims 23-24, 29-30, 35 and 38 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Zhang (US 6,418,037) in view of Yamakoshi et al (US 2001/0021422).
As per claim 23 Zhang discloses: An electronic device comprising:
a first HFAC power distribution bus 255, a first HFAC power supply 250 connected to the first HFAC power distribution bus 255 {figure 2};
a HFAC power distribution bus 255, a HFAC power supply 250 connected to the HFAC power distribution bus 255;
at least one component connection for connecting an electronic component 260/261 to be powered to the first HFAC power distribution bus 255 {figure 2} and the HFAC power distribution bus 255.
Regarding claim 23 Zhang is silent as to: a second HFAC power distribution bus, a second HFAC power supply connected to the second HFAC power distribution bus. Regarding claim 24 Zhang is silent as to: The electronic device of claim 23, wherein the first HFAC power supply 250 and the second HFAC power supply 250 are synchronised to provide HFAC power supplies which are in phase with each other. Regarding claim 29 Zhang is silent, insofar as the claims are definite and understood, as to: The electronic device of claim 24 wherein the first HFAC power supply 250 unit and the second HFAC power supply 250 unit each provides HFAC with a constant frequency. Regarding claim 30 Zhang is silent as to: The electronic device of claim 23, wherein the first HFAC power distribution bus 255 and the second HFAC power distribution bus 255 is connected to the component connection.
With respect to claims 23-24 and 29 Yamakoshi et al discloses: [0209] The two power supplies 5a and 5b incorporate amplifiers and independently feed very-high-frequency (VHF) power components having the same frequency of 60 MHz.
It would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art at the time the invention was effectively filed to provide the device of Zhang with a second HFAC power distribution bus, a second HFAC power supply connected to the second HFAC power distribution bus as taught by Yamakoshi et al. The rationale is as follows: one of ordinary skill in the art at the time the invention was effectively filed would have been motivated to provide a device with a second HFAC power distribution bus, a second HFAC power supply connected to the second HFAC power distribution bus as to provide redundancy in case of failure or disconnection.
As per claim 35 Zhang discloses: The electronic device of claim 1, the device comprising a logic circuit configured to selectively disable the first HFAC power supply 250 in the event that a fault signal is provided to the logic circuit by a component connected to one of said component connections {[column 3, lines 1-5] A controller (not shown) may be coupled to AC bus 255 and switch 252 to monitor voltage and current levels at the output of power supply 250. Such a controller may adjust switch 252 to ensure that the power delivered over AC bus 255 is provided at a predetermined level.}
As per claim 38 Zhang discloses: The electronic device of claim 23 comprising a logic circuit configured to selectively disable at least one of:
(a) the first HFAC power supply 250 and (b) the second HFAC power supply 250 in the event that a fault signal is provided to the logic circuit by a component connected to one of said component connections {[column 3, lines 1-5] A controller (not shown) may be coupled to AC bus 255 and switch 252 to monitor voltage and current levels at the output of power supply 250. Such a controller may adjust switch 252 to ensure that the power delivered over AC bus 255 is provided at a predetermined level.}.
Conclusion
/DAVID D DAVIS/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2627
DDD