DETAILED ACTION
Priority
Acknowledgment is made of applicant’s claim for foreign priority under 35 U.S.C. 119 (a)-(d) to PCT Patent Application No. CN202211300114.9, filed on 10/24/2022. Receipt is acknowledged of certified copies of papers required by 37 CFR 1.55.
Status of Claims
Applicant’s communications filed on 4/22/2026 have been considered.
Claims 1-3, 5-9, 12-13, 17 and 19-22 have been amended.
Claims 1-15, 17 and 19-22 are currently pending and have been examined.
Response to Arguments
Applicant’s arguments filed with respect to the rejection of claims under 35 USC 101 have been fully considered but they are not persuasive.
Applicant argues on pages 12-13 that the claims are not directed to an abstract idea because are directed to a particular technological implementation, and involves technical coordination that cannot practically be performed mentally or with pen and paper. This argument has been considered but is not persuasive. The 101 rejection of the previous Non-Final Rejection (filed 2/9/2026) was made on the grounds that the claims recite limitations falling within the “Certain Methods of Organizing Human Activity” grouping of abstract ideas, rather than the “Mental Processes” grouping (see Non-Final Rejection, pages 3-4), and accordingly Applicant’s arguments directed to the claims not being directed to a mental process are not applicable. Applicant is further reminded that in Prong One examiner evaluate whether the claim recites a judicial exception, i.e., whether a law of nature, natural phenomenon, or abstract idea is set forth or described in the claim. Despite Applicant’s assertion to the contrary, the Examiner maintains that the claims clearly set forth or describe abstract idea(s) for those reasons set forth previously. Accordingly, the claims recite an abstract idea under Step 2A, Prong One, and the rejection has been maintained.
Applicant further argues on page 13 that the claims integrate the abstract idea into a practical application because the amendments tie the process to a specific technological context and improvement identified in the specification (with reference to Applicant’s Specification [0022][0093][0095][0097][0099-0101]), and that the combination of additional elements reflects a specific technological solution. This argument has been considered but is not persuasive. As claimed, the amended limitations, both individually and in combination, represent the mere use of generic computing components to facilitate the abstract idea, and do not recite a technical improvement.
If it is asserted that the invention improves upon conventional function of a computer, or upon conventional technology or technological processes, a technical explanation as to how to implement the invention should be present in the specification. That is, the disclosure must provide sufficient details such that one of ordinary skill in the art would recognize the claimed invention as providing an improvement. Although the specification need not explicitly set forth the improvement, it must describe the invention such that the improvement would be apparent to one of ordinary sill in the art. Conversely, if the specification explicitly sets forth an improvement but in a conclusory manner (i.e., a bare assertion of an improvement without the detail necessary to be apparent to a person of ordinary skill in the art), the examiner should not determine the claim improves technology. (see MPEP 2106.05(a); MPEP 2106.04(d)(1)). Furthermore, if the specification does provide support for a technical improvement, the claims must reflect said improvement. Currently, the claims are recited at a high level, and do not contain sufficient technical implementation details such that a person of ordinary skill in the art would determine that an improvement to technology is apparent.
Applicant’s specification does not provide the requisite detail necessary such that one of ordinary skill in the art could recognize the claimed invention as providing an improvement. Applicant’s specification does not provide sufficient detail with respect to the claimed technology, and is specific only in its use in facilitating the abstract idea of presenting product information based on content consumption. Furthermore, the specification as filed does not reveal to one of ordinary skill in the art that Applicant has provided an improvement to the claimed technology. Nor does the specification provide technical detail regarding an improvement to the functioning of the audio playback device, user interfaces, or another technical area. Applicant’s cited portions of the specification (see at least [0002-0003][0022][0093][0095][0097][0099-0101]) further describe the interluding of target content according to book content, but do not reflect a change or improvement to the functioning of a computer or other technology as would be apparent to one of ordinary skill in the art. It is further noted that the specification (see at least [0100]) discloses presentation of product information “to meet the purchase needs of the user”, indicating that the claimed invention is directed to improving the abstract idea, rather than the claimed technology. Similarly, the claim does not provide any detail with regards to technical implementations of the claimed “obtaining…; detecting…; modifying…; and presenting…” steps, such that an improvement to the claimed technology or another technical area is apparent. It is further noted that providing peripheral contextual information associated with consumed content (see at least Specification [0002-0003]) is an improvement further directed towards the abstract idea. Accordingly, the amended claims, individually and in combination, are insufficient to amount to do not integrate the abstract idea into a practical application, and the rejection has been maintained.
Applicant further argues on pages 13 and 14 that Claim 1 recites additional elements that amount to significantly more than the alleged abstract idea because the combination of claimed elements provides an inventive concept over the cited references. This argument has been considered but is not persuasive. The question of whether a particular claimed invention is novel or obvious is "fully apart" from the question of whether it is eligible. Diamond v. Diehr, 450 U.S. 175, 190, 209 USPQ 1, 9 (1981). As made clear by the courts, the search for an inventive concept is different from an obviousness analysis under 35 U.S.C. 103. See, e.g., BASCOM Global Internet v. AT&T Mobility LLC, 827 F.3d 1341, 1350, 119 USPQ2d 1236, 1242 (Fed. Cir. 2016) ("The inventive concept inquiry requires more than recognizing that each claim element, by itself, was known in the art. . . . [A]n inventive concept can be found in the non-conventional and non-generic arrangement of known, conventional pieces."). Because they are separate and distinct requirements from eligibility, patentability of the claimed invention under 35 U.S.C. 102 and 103 with respect to the prior art is neither required for, nor a guarantee of, patent eligibility under 35 U.S.C. 101. See MPEP 2106.05(I). Accordingly, non-obviousness under 35 U.S.C, 103 has no bearing on the eligibility of the claims over 35 U.S.C. 101.
With regards to Applicant’s argument that the claims do not represent well-understood, routine or conventional activity, it is noted that the 101 rejection of the previous Non-Final Rejection was not made on the basis that the claims recite well-understood, routine or conventional activity, and accordingly this argument is not applicable. Rather, the claims were rejected for amounting to mere utilization of generic computing components in order to implement the abstract idea, and currently stand rejected for similar reasons, as discussed above. It is further noted that, while claim 1 recites the “detecting” and “modifying” steps, these steps are not connected to the “presenting” step, since the “presenting” step does not refer back to the claimed “audio playback queue”, and the claimed product information of the “presenting” step can be any product information. Accordingly, the claims do not amount to an inventive concept, and the rejection has been maintained.
Applicant’s arguments filed with respect to the rejection of claims under 35 USC 103 have been fully considered but are rendered moot under new grounds of rejection.
Applicant argues on pages 14-17 that the amended claims overcome previously cited Kilroy, Rajaram, Reddy, Wojcicki, and Yang, as Kilroy does not disclose or teach several distinguishing features of claim 1. This argument has been considered but is rendered moot under new grounds of rejection. Regarding independent claims 1, 17 and 22, the amendments to the claims have altered the scope of the claimed invention, such that previously cited Reddy (US 10,740,064 B1) is now relied upon as the primary reference, in view of newly cited Lee (US 2018/0268435 A1), in the rejections of the independent claims. Accordingly, Applicant’s arguments are rendered moot under new grounds of rejection necessitated by Applicant’s amendments.
With regards to Applicant’s argument on page 17 that Reddy fails to cure the deficiencies of Kilroy and previously cited Rajaram with regards to amended claim 1, it is further noted that this argument is rendered moot under new grounds of rejection, in view of the newly cited combination of Reddy in view of Lee. Accordingly, claim 1 stands as rejected under 35 USC 103. Independent claims 17 and 22 stand rejected for substantially similar reasons discussed with regards to claim 1. Dependent claims 2-15 and 19-21 stand rejected for substantially similar reasons.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 101
Claims 1-15, 17 and 19-22 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 101 because the claimed invention is directed to an abstract idea without significantly more. The claims recite an abstract idea. The judicial exception is not integrated into a practical application. The claims do not include additional elements that are sufficient to amount to significantly more than the judicial exception.
Under Step 1 of the Subject Matter Eligibility Test for Products and Processes, the claims must be directed to one of the four statutory categories. See MPEP 2106.03. Claims 1-15 are directed towards a process. Claims 17 and 20-21 are directed towards a machine. Claim 22 is directed towards a manufacture. Therefore, claims 1-15, 17 and 19-22 are directed to one of the four statutory categories (Step 1: YES, regarding claims 1-15, 17 and 19-22).
Under Step 2A of the MPEP, it is determined whether the claims are directed to a judicially recognized exception. See MPEP 2106.04. Step 2A is a two-prong inquiry.
Under Prong 1, it is determined whether the claim recites a judicial exception. In determining whether the claims are directed to a judicial exception, the claims are analyzed to evaluate whether the claims recite a judicial exception.
Taking Claim 22 as representative, claim 22 recites limitations that fall within the certain methods of organizing human activity groupings of abstract ideas, including:
a method for presenting information, comprising:
obtaining a product introduction audio of at least one product associated with a target book, the at least one product being associated with book content of the target book, and the at least one product comprising a physical product and/or a service item;
detecting completion of playback of target content in the target book during playing of audio content of the target book;
modifying by interluding a product introduction audio of a target product associated with book content that is played;
in response to a target trigger operation received during playing of the product introduction audio of the target product, presenting product information of the target product.
Claims 1 and 17 recite the same abstract limitations as recited in claim 22.
Claim 22, as exemplary, recites certain methods of organizing human activity, such as performing commercial interactions. See MPEP 2106.04(a)(2). The MPEP defines the “Certain Methods of Organizing Human Activity” grouping as including fundamental economic principles or practices (including hedging, insurance, mitigating risk); commercial or legal interactions (including agreements in the form of contracts; legal obligations; advertising, marketing or sales activities or behaviors; business relations); managing personal behavior or relationships or interactions between people (including social activities, teaching, and following rules or instructions) (see MPEP § 2106.04(a)(2). The abstract ideas recited in representative claim 22 are certain methods of organizing human activity because obtaining a product introduction audio of at least one product associated with a target book, the at least one product comprising a physical product and/or a service item, detecting completion of playback of target content in the target book during playing of audio content of the target book, interluding a product introduction audio of a target product associated with played book content, and presenting product information of the target product in response to a target trigger operation received during playing of the product introduction audio is a commercial or legal interaction because it is an advertising, marketing or sales activity, or business relations. Claims 1 and 17 recite the same abstract limitations.
Accordingly, under Prong One of Step 2A of the Alice/Mayo test, claims 1, 17 and 22 recite an abstract idea (Step 2A, Prong One: YES).
Under Step 2A (prong 2), if it is determined that the claims recite a judicial exception, it is then necessary to evaluate whether the claims recite additional elements that integrate the judicial exception into a practical application of that exception (see MPEP 2106.04). As stated in the MPEP, when “an additional element merely recites the words ‘apply it (or an equivalent) with the judicial exception, or merely uses a computer as a tool to perform an abstract idea,” the judicial exception has not been integrated into a practical application. In this case, representative claim 22 includes additional elements such as (additional elements are bolded):
A non-transitory computer-readable storage medium, wherein a computer program is stored on the computer-readable storage medium, and when the computer program is executed by a computer device, the computer device performs a method for presenting information, comprising:
obtaining, by an audiobook playback device, a product introduction audio of at least one product associated with a target book, the at least one product being associated with book content of the target book, and the at least one product comprising a physical product and/or a service item;
detecting, by the audiobook playback device, completion of playback of target content in the target book during playing of audio content of the target book;
modifying, by the audiobook playback device, an audio playback queue by interluding a product introduction audio of a target product associated with book content that is played;
in response to a target trigger operation received during playing of the product introduction audio of the target product, presenting, by the audiobook playback device, product information of the target product.
These additional elements are described at a high level in Applicant’s specification without any meaningful detail about their structure or configuration. As such, these computer-related limitations are not found to be sufficient to integrate the abstract idea into a practical application. Claims 1, 17 and 22 specifying that the abstract idea is executed in a computer environment merely indicates a field of use in which to apply the abstract idea because this requirement merely limits the claims to the computer field, i.e., to execution on a generic computer. As such, under Prong Two of Step 2A of the Alice/Mayo test, when considered both individually and as a whole, the limitations of claims 1, 17 and 22 are not indicative of integration into a practical application (Step 2A, Prong Two: NO).
Since claims 1, 17 and 22 recite an abstract idea and fail to integrate the abstract idea into a practical application, claims 1, 17 and 22 are “directed to” an abstract idea (Step 2A: YES). Accordingly, the judicial exception is not integrated into a practical application.
Next, under Step 2B, examiners should evaluate additional elements individually and in combination to determine whether they provide an inventive concept (i.e., whether the additional elements amount to significantly more than the exception itself). In this case, the claims do not include additional elements that are sufficient to amount to significantly more than the judicial exception. Returning to representative claims 1, 17 and 22, taken individually or as a whole the additional elements of claims 1, 17 and 22 amount to no more than mere instructions to apply the exception using a generic computer and/or no more than a general link to a technological environment. For the same reason these elements are not sufficient to provide an inventive concept. Therefore when considering the additional elements alone, and in combination, there is no inventive concept in the claim, and thus the claim is not patent eligible (Step 2B: NO).
Dependent claims 2-5, 13-14 and 19-20, when analyzed as a whole, are held to be patent ineligible under 35 U.S.C. 101 because they do not add “significantly more” to the abstract idea. As for dependent claims 2-5, 13-14 and 19-20, these claims recite limitations that further define the same abstract idea noted in independent claims 1, 17 and 22, and do not recite any additional elements other than what is disclosed in independent claims 1, 17 and 22. Therefore, claims 2-5, 13-14 and 19-20 are considered patent ineligible for the reasons given above.
As for dependent claims 6-12, 15 and 21, these claims recite limitations that further define the abstract idea noted in independent claims 1, 17 and 22. Additionally, they recite the following additional limitations:
wherein the consumption conversion rate corresponding to the product is related to at least one of reading popularity corresponding to book content associated with the product, an intrinsic consumption attribute of the product, and a playback environment in which the audio content of the target book associated with the product is played;
performing speech synthesis processing on the product information corresponding to each product of the at least one product;
wherein the product information corresponding to the determined at least one product comprises… multimedia content information associated with the at least one product, wherein the multimedia content information is determined based on a multimedia resource associated with a product source to which the at least one product belongs;
performing audio recording on the filled product information template by using the target character audio, to obtain the product introduction audio;
updating the product introduction audio with audio content corresponding to the paragraph, to obtain an updated product introduction audio;
presenting the product information of the target product in a first region of an audio playback page; and
wherein the supplementary presenting information corresponding to the associated presenting information includes: multimedia explanation content…; or multimedia evaluation content.
The additional elements of a playback environment; performing speech synthesis processing; multimedia content information based on a multimedia resource; performing audio recording; updating the product introduction audio with audio content… to obtain an updated product introduction audio; an audio playback page; and a multimedia explanation content; or multimedia evaluation content are all recited at a high level of generality such that they amount to no more than instructions to apply the judicial exception in a generic technological environment. Even in combination, these additional elements do not integrate the abstract idea into a practical application and do not amount to significantly more than the abstract idea itself. Accordingly, under the Alice/Mayo test, claims 1-15, 17 and 19-22 are ineligible.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1, 12-13, 17, and 22 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over previously cited Reddy (US 10,740,064 B1) in view of newly cited U.S Patent Application No. 2018/0268435 A1 to Lee, hereinafter Lee.
Regarding Claim 1, Reddy discloses A method for presenting information, comprising ([Fig. 3][Fig. 6]; [Col 14 Ln 43-55]):
obtaining, by an audiobook playback device, a product introduction audio of at least one product associated with a target book, the at least one product being associated with book content of the target book, and the at least one product comprising a physical product and/or a service item ([Fig. 3]; [Col 9 Ln 54-Col 10 Ln 5] selecting a template based on one or more attributes associated with the content currently being consumed… the service provider may receive an indication that the user is currently reading an audio book that is categorized as “humorous”… Based on receiving the indication that the user is consuming humorous content, the service provider may select a template that facilitates the generation of content in a more casual tone; see [Col 6 Ln 35-58] dynamic content may be converted into an audio format so that it can be consumed by the user; [Col 4 Ln 4-14] media content includes any audio content capable of being presented on the user device 104 in order to be consumed by the user 102… including reading material (e.g., a web page or an ebook)… an audio book, or any other suitable audio material);
detecting, by the audiobook playback device, completion of playback of target content in the target book during playing of audio content of the target book ([Fig. 6]; [Col 14 Ln 43-Col 15 Ln 6] the user device 602 may have reached a point P, which may be some point in time in a play time of the media content 604… the content provider 606, upon detecting that the user device 602 has reached point P within the media content 604 at step 1, may identify a time slot 610 which should be filled with a dynamically-generated content… the time slot 610 may represent a period of time between chapters when streaming an audio book);
modifying, by the audiobook playback device, an audio playback queue by interluding a product introduction audio of a target product associated with book content that is played ([Fig. 6]; [Col 14 Ln 43-Col 15 Ln 6] the user device 602 may have reached a point P, which may be some point in time in a play time of the media content 604… the content provider 606, upon detecting that the user device 602 has reached point P within the media content 604 at step 1, may identify a time slot 610 which should be filled with a dynamically-generated content; [Col 15 Ln 63-Col 16 Ln 21] the content provider 606 may provide the dynamically-generated content 612 to the user device 602… streamed to the user device during the identified time slot 610. The content provider 606 may make the transition from media content 604 to dynamically-generated content 612 as smooth as possible);
a target trigger operation received associated with playing of the product introduction audio of the target product ([Col 15 Ln 63-Col 16 Ln 21] the content provider 606 may enable follow up action by the user device for some period of time 614 following the presentation of the dynamically-generated content 612… the dynamically-generated content 612 may be associated with a voice command that can be used to purchase the product by the user of the user device 602… the content provider 606 may be configured to receive voice commands from the user device 602 for 30 seconds after the dynamically-generated content 612 has played; see [Col 11 Ln 54-Col 12 Ln 14] updating templates based on effectiveness values, including in response to determining that the user has purchased the product in the content after presentation of the content to the user; [Col 17 Ln 51-62] tracking conversions or other follow up actions), and
presenting, by the audiobook playback device, product information ([Col 7 Ln 35-Col 8 Ln 7] the user device 228 includes a presentation application 234 which… causes the user device 228 to present media content to a user… each user device 228 is capable of continuously receiving media content from a content provider 230… and presenting the received media to a user).
Reddy discloses receiving a target trigger operation associated with playing of the product introduction audio of the target product (see at least Reddy [Col 15 Ln 63-Col 16 Ln 21]), as well as presenting, by the audiobook playback device, product information ([Col 7 Ln 35-Col 8 Ln 7]). However, Reddy does not explicitly teach in response to an operation received during playing of the product introduction audio, presenting product information of the target product.
However, in the field of in-stream advertisements during playback of content (see at least Lee [abstract][0013][0028-0033]), Lee, on the other hand, teaches in response to an operation received during playing of the product introduction audio, presenting product information of the target product ([0031-0032] While a video advertisement is being displayed, an advertisement information area 304 may be displayed… including a resource link 318. When the resource link 318 is selected by a user, the resource link 318 may direct the user to a resource associated with the advertisement (e.g., a website of the advertiser or sponsor); see [Fig. 3B] depicting resource link 318 displayed during an advertisement for “XYZ Cars” with audio controls; [0017] An advertisement may be any content designed to promote a product).
The steps of Lee are applicable to the method of Reddy, as they share characteristics and capabilities, namely, they are directed to presenting advertisements during the consumption of content. It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time of filing to modify the advertisement method as taught by Reddy, to include in response to an operation received during playing of the product introduction audio, presenting product information of the target product, as taught by Lee. One of ordinary skill in the art at the time of filing would have been motivated to expand the advertisement method of Reddy in order to foster goodwill with users by providing for multiple options with regards to an advertisement presented during consumption, as well as increase likelihood of conversions (Lee, [0006]).
Regarding Claim 12, Reddy in view of Lee teaches the limitations of claim 1.
Reddy further discloses wherein a target trigger operation received associated with playing of the product introduction audio of the target product comprises: in response to the target trigger operation, determining the target product indicated by the target trigger operation ([Col 15 Ln 63-Col 16 Ln 21] the content provider 606 may enable follow up action by the user device for some period of time 614 following the presentation of the dynamically-generated content 612… the dynamically-generated content 612 may be associated with a voice command that can be used to purchase the product by the user of the user device 602… the content provider 606 may be configured to receive voice commands (to purchase a product from the generated content) from the user device 602 for 30 seconds after the dynamically-generated content 612 has played). Reddy further discloses wherein the audiobook playback device is an audio playback device (see at least Reddy [Col 4 Ln 4-14]).
Reddy further discloses presenting, by the audiobook playback device, product information ([Col 7 Ln 35-Col 8 Ln 7]). However, Reddy does not explicitly teach in response to an operation received during playing of the product introduction audio, presenting product information of the target product, and presenting the product information of the target product in a first region of an audio playback page.
Lee, on the other hand, teaches in response to an operation receiving during playing of the product introduction audio, presenting product information of the target product ([0031-0032] While a video advertisement is being displayed, an advertisement information area 304 may be displayed… including a resource link 318. When the resource link 318 is selected by a user, the resource link 318 may direct the user to a resource associated with the advertisement (e.g., a website of the advertiser or sponsor); see [Fig. 3B] depicting resource link 318 displayed during an advertisement for “XYZ Cars” with audio controls; [0017] An advertisement may be any content designed to promote a product), and
presenting the product information of the target product in a first region of an audio playback page ([0031-0032] While a video advertisement is being displayed, an advertisement information area 304 may be displayed… including a resource link 318. When the resource link 318 is selected by a user, the resource link 318 may direct the user to a resource associated with the advertisement (e.g., a website of the advertiser or sponsor); see [Fig. 3B] depicting resource link 318 displayed during an advertisement for “XYZ Cars” with audio controls).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time of filing to modify the advertisement method as taught by Reddy, to include in response to an operation received during playing of the product introduction audio, presenting product information of the target product, and presenting the product information of the target product in a first region of an audio playback page, as taught by Lee, for the same reasons discussed above with respect to claim 1.
Regarding Claim 13, Reddy in view of Lee teaches the limitations of claim 12.
Reddy further discloses further comprising: determining associated presenting information of the target product, the associated presenting information including at least one of an associated product associated with the target product and a sales channel of the target product, the associated product including a first product other than the target product in a suite product to which the target product belongs or a second product in a same category as the target product ([Col 10 Ln 40-55] selecting a product from a set of products available from the service provider based on one or more attributes associated with the content currently being consumed… the product may be selected based on an association between a particular content (or type of content) and a… category of products; [Col 16 Ln 55-67] the service provider may maintain a mapping between a category of content and one or more products related to that category of content (e.g., related by subject matter or related by being frequently purchased in connection with the category of content); see [Col 15 Ln 63-Col 16 Ln 21] generated content includes a link to a product page (i.e., a webpage) maintained by the service provider 608 (or a separate entity)) (Note: The claim requires the associated product to include only one of a first product… in a suite product to which the target product belongs or a second product in a same category as the target product. Reddy has been relied upon to teach the associated product including a second product in a same category as the target product). However, Reddy does not explicitly teach presenting the associated presenting information in a second region associated with the first region.
Lee, on the other hand, teaches presenting the associated presenting information in a second region associated with the first region ([Fig. 3B] depicting multiple content areas 302, 304, 306, 308; [0028-0029] the video player includes advertisement slots 314 within progress bar 312 within control portion 306).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time of filing to modify the advertisement method as taught by Reddy, to include presenting the associated presenting information in a second region associated with the first region, as taught by Lee, for the same reasons discussed above with respect to claim 1.
Claim 17 is directed to a machine. The claim discloses substantially the same limitations as claim 1, except claim 1 is directed to a process while claim 17 is directed to a machine. The added element of A computer device, comprising: a processor and a memory storing machine-readable instructions executable by the processor, the processor being configured to execute the machine-readable instructions stored in the memory, and when the machine-readable instructions are executed by the processor, the processor performs a method is taught by Reddy (Reddy: [Fig. 2][Col 4 Ln 40-Col 5 Ln 26]). Therefore, claim 17 is rejected for the same rationale over the prior art cited in claim 1.
Claim 22 is directed to a manufacture. The claim discloses substantially the same limitations as claim 1, except claim 1 is directed to a process while claim 22 is directed to a manufacture. The added element of A non-transitory computer-readable storage medium, wherein a computer program is stored on the computer-readable storage medium, and when the computer program is executed by a computer device, the computer device performs a method is taught by Reddy (Reddy: [Fig. 2][Col 4 Ln 40-Col 5 Ln 26][Col 8 Ln 57-Col 9 Ln 2]). Therefore, claim 22 is rejected for the same rationale over the prior art cited in claim 1.
Claims 2-9, 11, and 19-21, are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Reddy in view of Lee, and further in view of previously cited Kilroy (US 2012/0151351 A1).
Regarding Claim 2, Reddy in view of Lee teaches the limitations of claim 1.
Reddy further discloses wherein during the playing of the audio content of the target book, in response to currently played content being a target chapter or a target paragraph in the target book, interluding a product introduction audio corresponding to a target product associated with the target chapter or the target paragraph ([Fig. 6]; [Col 14 Ln 43-Col 15 Ln 6] … time slot 610 may be a natural break in the playing of the media content 604… such as between chapters when streaming an audio book; [Col 15 Ln 63-Col 16 Ln 21] the content provider 606 may provide the dynamically-generated content 612 to the user device 602… streamed to the user device during the identified time slot 610. The content provider 606 may make the transition from media content 604 to dynamically-generated content 612 as smooth as possible),
wherein the content comprises information associated with the target product ([Col 5 Ln 53-Col 6 Ln 3] if the user is listening to an audio book that explains the advantages of a particular category of products, then the template populator 210 may identify a product within that category to be presented to the user).
Reddy discloses interluding a product introduction audio corresponding to a target product associated with a target chapter or the target paragraph, wherein the content comprises information with the target product (see at least Reddy [Col 5 Ln 53-Col 6 Ln 3][Col 14 Ln 43-Col 15 Ln 6][Col 15 Ln 63-Col 16 Ln 21]). However, Reddy in view of Lee does not explicitly teach wherein the target chapter and the target paragraph comprise keyword information.
However, in the field of inserting advertisements within ebooks (see at least Kilroy ([abstract][0043]), Kilroy, on the other hand, teaches wherein the target chapter and the target paragraph comprise keyword information ([0080] keywords (which can be words or terms of ebook content, or associated with the ebook or portions thereof, etc.) and tags are utilized, and categories of such, and detected patterns and can trigger advertising associated with the keywords and tags; [0083] if, through a single chapter or subject, keywords and tags suggest showing an advertisement relating to a particular keyword, then the system may detect this and one or more advertisements may be triggered that tail into this keyword; see [0044] a time of advertisements includes the accessed paragraph or chapter).
The steps of Kilroy are applicable to the method of Reddy in view of Lee, as they share characteristics and capabilities, namely, they are directed to inserting/presenting advertisements during the consumption of content. It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time of filing to modify the advertisement method as taught by Reddy in view of Lee, to include wherein the target chapter and the target paragraph comprise keyword information, as taught by Kilroy. One of ordinary skill in the art at the time of filing would have been motivated to expand the advertisement method of Reddy in view of Lee in order to optimize targeted advertising in ebook readers and associated monetization techniques, including dynamic/real-time targeting (Kilroy, [0001-0002][0058]).
Regarding Claim 3, Reddy in view of Lee and Kilroy teaches the limitations of claim 2.
Reddy further discloses wherein the in response to currently played content being a target chapter or a target paragraph in the target book, interluding a product introduction audio corresponding to a target product associated with the target chapter or the target paragraph comprises (see [Fig. 6]; [Col 14 Ln 43-Col 15 Ln 6]):
in response to currently played content being the target chapter in the target book, after the target chapter is played, and before a next chapter of the target chapter is played, interluding the product introduction audio of the target product associated with the target chapter; or
in response to currently played content being the target paragraph in the target book, after the target paragraph is played, and before a next paragraph of the target paragraph is played, interluding the product introduction audio of the target product associated with the target paragraph ([Fig. 6]; [Col 14 Ln 43-Col 15 Ln 6] … time slot 610 may be a natural break in the playing of the media content 604… such as between chapters when streaming an audio book; [Col 15 Ln 63-Col 16 Ln 21] the content provider 606 may provide the dynamically-generated content 612 to the user device 602… streamed to the user device during the identified time slot 610. The content provider 606 may make the transition from media content 604 to dynamically-generated content 612 as smooth as possible; see [Col 9 Ln 54-Col 10 Ln 5] selecting a template based on one or more attributes associated with the content currently being consumed… the service provider may receive an indication that the user is currently reading an audio book).
Regarding Claim 4, Reddy in view of Lee and Kilroy teaches the limitations of claim 2.
Reddy further discloses wherein the in response to currently played content being a target chapter or a target paragraph in the target book, interluding a product introduction audio corresponding to a target product associated with the target chapter or the target paragraph comprises (see [Fig. 6]; [Col 9 Ln 54-Col 10 Ln 5][Col 14 Ln 43-Col 15 Ln 6][Col 15 Ln 63-Col 16 Ln 21]):
in response to currently played content being the target chapter in the target book, interluding the product introduction audio of the target product associated with the target chapter r ([Fig. 6]; [Col 14 Ln 43-Col 15 Ln 6] … time slot 610 may be a natural break in the playing of the media content 604… such as between chapters when streaming an audio book; [Col 15 Ln 63-Col 16 Ln 21] the content provider 606 may provide the dynamically-generated content 612 to the user device 602… streamed to the user device during the identified time slot 610. The content provider 606 may make the transition from media content 604 to dynamically-generated content 612 as smooth as possible; see [Col 9 Ln 54-Col 10 Ln 5] selecting a template based on one or more attributes associated with the content currently being consumed); or
in response to currently played content being the target paragraph in the target book, interluding the product introduction audio of the target product associated with the target chapter based on sentence position information of the entity keyword associated with the target product in the target paragraph. However, Reddy in view of Lee does not explicitly teach product introduction audio based on paragraph position information of an entity keyword associated with the target product.
Kilroy, on the other hand, teaches product introduction audio based on paragraph position information of an entity keyword associated with the target product ([0107] advertisements target the different levels of specific content being just read… as one reads an ebook, he or she will be reading word in a paragraph, in a chapter, etc… the reading velocity can be used to determine or help determine reading position in the ebook; see [0070] targeting could be based on a topic or mood associated with the title of the book as well as a topic or mood associated with content at a more granular level, such as the particular chapter, or even paragraph or sentence; [0083] if, through a single chapter or subject, keywords and tags suggest showing an advertisement relating to a particular keyword, then the system may detect this and one or more advertisements may be triggered that tail into this keyword).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time of filing to modify the advertisement method as taught by Reddy in view of Lee, to include wherein the target chapter and the target paragraph comprise keyword information, as taught by Kilroy, for the same reasons discussed above with respect to claim 2.
Regarding Claim 5, Reddy in view of Lee teaches the limitations of claim 1.
Reddy further discloses wherein the at least one product associated with the book content of the target book is determined by: extracting information from the book content of the target book, and determining a plurality of products matching the information from a predetermined product library ([Fig. 3]; [Col 10 Ln 6-55] selecting a product from a set of products available from the service provider based on a number of factors, including attributes/preferences stored with respect to the user, and attributes associated with the content currently being consumed… the product may be selected based on an association between a particular content (or type of content) and a product or category of products; see [Col 3 Ln 16-37] the service provider 106 may maintain a product catalog which includes products (e.g., goods and/or services) available for purchase);
selecting the at least one product from the plurality of products as the at least one product associated with the book content of the target book ([Fig. 3]; [Col 10 Ln 6-55] the product may be selected based on an association between a particular content (or type of content) and a product or category of products. For example, the service provider may receive an indication that the user is currently listening to an audio book that espouses the benefits of barefoot running. In this example, the service provider may identify a product categorized as a “barefoot running shoe.”).
However, Reddy in view of Lee does not explicitly teach wherein information is an entity keyword.
Kilroy, on the other hand, teaches wherein information is an entity keyword ([0083] if, through a single chapter or subject, keywords and tags suggest showing an advertisement relating to a particular keyword, then the system may detect this and one or more advertisements may be triggered that tail into this keyword).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time of filing to modify the advertisement method as taught by Reddy in view of Lee, to include wherein information is an entity keyword, as taught by Kilroy, for the same reasons discussed above with respect to claim 2.
Regarding Claim 6, Reddy in view of Lee and Kilroy teaches the limitations of claim 5.
Reddy further discloses wherein the selecting the at least one product from the plurality of products comprises: determining the at least one product from the plurality of products based on information corresponding to the plurality of products, ([Fig. 3]; [Col 10 Ln 14-55] a type or category of product to be presented to a user may be selected based on products that the user has viewed and/or purchased in the past);
wherein the information corresponding to the product is related to at least one of reading popularity corresponding to book content associated with the product, an intrinsic consumption attribute of the product, and a playback environment in which the audio content of the target book associated with the product is played ([Fig. 3]; [Col 9 Ln 38-53] selecting a template based on effectiveness metrics with respect to particular types of templates for a particular user… the service provider may determine that content presented in a formal tone is 45% more effective (e.g., results in a user responding to a call to action 45% more times) than content presented in a casual tone; [Col 10 Ln 14-55] a type or category of product to be presented to a user may be selected based on products that the user has viewed and/or purchased in the past) (Note: a category of a product reasonably reads on an intrinsic consumption attribute).
However, Reddy does not explicitly teach wherein information is respective consumption conversion rates, wherein a consumption conversion rate corresponding to each product represents a ratio of the product being purchased after being presented.
Lee, on the other hand, teaches wherein information is respective consumption conversion rates, wherein a consumption conversion rate corresponding to each product represents a ratio of the product being purchased after being presented ([Fig. 4]; [0034-0040] a conversion can be defined to occur when a user clicks on a resource link associated with the content item, is referred to the content item provider's web page, and consummates a purchase before leaving that web page… the CMS may identify the non-skippable portion of the content item by determining a position in the content item that is associated with optimal interaction statistics for the content item… based on optimal interaction statistics, the CMS may determine that the highest conversion rate associated with the content item occurs after a particular playback duration).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time of filing to modify the advertisement method as taught by Reddy, to include in response to an operation received during playing of the product introduction audio, presenting, by the audiobook playback device, product information of the target product, as taught by Lee, for the same reasons discussed above with respect to claim 1.
Regarding Claim 7, Reddy in view of Lee and Kilroy teaches the limitations of claim 6.
Reddy further discloses wherein the product introduction audio is obtained by: determining product information corresponding to the determined at least one product ([Fig. 4]; [Col 12 Ln 15-23] populating a template with product attributes includes selecting an appropriate product… and populating the selected template with information about the selected product); and
performing speech synthesis processing on the product information corresponding to each product of the at least one product, to obtain the product introduction audio corresponding to the product ([Fig. 5]; [Col 13 Ln 53-Col 14 Ln 12] generating and fixing audio from a populated template… includes subjecting the populated template to a speech synthesizer application to convert the text in the populated template 502 to a rough speech soundbite 504).
Regarding Claim 8, Reddy in view of Lee and Kilroy teaches the limitations of claim 7.
Reddy further discloses wherein the product information corresponding to the determined at least one product comprises at least one of the following: description information of the at least one product in the product library ([Col 3 Ln 16-37] the service provider 106 may maintain a product catalog which includes products (e.g., goods and/or services) available for purchase. When populating the template 114, the service provider 106 may, for each data field in the template to be populated, identify an attribute of a product which corresponds to the data field and populate the data field with a value stored in relation to that attribute), or
multimedia content information associated with the at least one product, wherein the multimedia content information is determined based on a multimedia resource associated with a product source to which the at least one product belongs ([Col 4 Ln 4-25] media content may include any visual or audio content capable of being presented on the user device 104 in order to be consumed by the user 102. Some examples of media content may include movies, games, reading material (e.g., a web page or an ebook), music, an audio book, etc… media content may be hosted and managed by a content provider, where the user device 104 may be used to access streaming media content provided by a streaming media content provider).
Regarding Claim 9, Reddy in view of Lee and Kilroy teaches the limitations of claim 7.
Reddy further discloses wherein the performing speech synthesis processing on the product information to obtain the product introduction audio comprises: determining a product type corresponding to the at least one product ([Fig. 3]; [Fig. 10 Ln 14-29] a type or category of product to be recommended to the user may be selected based on the content indicated as being consumed by the user and/or content consumed by the user in the past), and
determining a product information template corresponding to the product introduction audio of the product type, wherein the product information template comprises a product introduction text corresponding to the product type and at least one reserved fill-in position in the product introduction text to be filled in with the product information ([Fig. 1] template 114; [Col 2 Ln 58-Col 3 Ln 15] each template may comprise a number of sections, such as an introduction, a product presentation, and a call to action… the template 114 includes a number of data fields to be populated with specific data; ; and
filling the at least one fill-in position in the product information template with the product information, to obtain a filled product information template ([Col 3 Ln 16-37] the service provider 106 may populate the selected template 114 with attributes associated with one or more products… When populating the template 114, the service provider 106 may, for each data field in the template to be populated, identify an attribute of a product which corresponds to the data field and populate the data field with a value stored in relation to that attribute), and
performing the speech synthesis processing on the filled product information template to obtain the product introduction audio ([Col 3 Ln 16-37] a service provider 106 may populate a selected template 114 with attributes associated with one or more products based, where the selection of a product of interest to the user 102 is made based on a type of content consumed by the user device; [Col 6 Ln 35-58] a dynamic content may first be generated in a text format. In this example, the dynamic content may then be converted into an audio format so that it can be consumed by the user. To do this, the conversion module 214 may use one or more text to speech synthesis applications; [Col 11 Ln 25-41] converting the populated template from a text format to an audio format may involve the use of speech synthesis techniques).
Regarding Claim 11, Reddy in view of Lee and Kilroy teaches the limitations of claim 9.
Reddy further discloses wherein after the performing speech synthesis processing on the filled product information template to obtain the product introduction audio, the method further comprises: determining content of the target book to which information associated with the target product belongs ([Fig. 7]; [Col 17 Ln 25-41] the service provider may receive one or more constraints for the media file and may adjust content of the media file based on those constraints… the service provider may receive a time slot and audio data generated using the techniques described herein may be compressed (i.e., sped up) or extended (i.e., slowed down) to fit within the received time slot; see [Fig. 5][Col 13 Ln 53-Col 14 Ln 12] receiving a time slot within which the generated content must fit… a rough speech soundbite may be compressed or extended in order to fit within the time slot), and
updating the product introduction audio with audio content corresponding to the content, to obtain an updated product introduction audio ([Fig. 7]; [Col 17 Ln 25-41] the service provider may receive a time slot and audio data generated using the techniques described herein may be compressed (i.e., sped up) or extended (i.e., slowed down) to fit within the received time slot; see [Fig. 5][Col 13 Ln 53-Col 14 Ln 12] receiving a time slot within which the generated content must fit… a rough speech soundbite may be compressed or extended in order to fit within the time slot).
However, Reddy in view of Lee does not explicitly teach determining a paragraph to which an entity keyword associated with the product belongs, and wherein content includes the paragraph.
Kilroy, on the other hand, teaches determining a paragraph to which an entity keyword associated with the product belongs ([0058] advertisements may be inserted in a dynamic fashion, such as online and based on real-time targeting, which can include targeting based on ebook reading; [0107] As one reads an ebook, for example, he or she will be reading a word in a paragraph… in a book of a certain genre… as the user moves through the reader media, and may use zoom, font enlarge, scroll, select certain pages, etc. the system can use this to help determine the mindset the reader, such as by considering the likely emotional impact of the sentence the user is reading. This, in turn, can be used in advertisement (or other content) targeting), and
wherein content includes the paragraph ([0107]).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time of filing to modify the advertisement method as taught by Reddy in view of Lee, to include determining a paragraph to which an entity keyword associated with the product belongs, and wherein content includes the paragraph, as taught by Kilroy, for the same reasons discussed above with respect to claim 2.
Claim 19 recites a computer device comprising substantially similar limitations as claim 2. All limitations as recited have been analyzed and rejected with respect to claim 2, and do not introduce any additional narrowing of the scopes of the claims as analyzed. Therefore, Claim 17 is rejected for the same rationale over the prior art cited in claim 2.
Claim 20 recites a computer device comprising substantially similar limitations as claim 5. All limitations as recited have been analyzed and rejected with respect to claim 5, and do not introduce any additional narrowing of the scopes of the claims as analyzed. Therefore, Claim 20 is rejected for the same rationale over the prior art cited in claim 5.
Claim 21 recites a computer device comprising substantially similar limitations as claim 7. All limitations as recited have been analyzed and rejected with respect to claim 7, and do not introduce any additional narrowing of the scopes of the claims as analyzed. Therefore, Claim 21 is rejected for the same rationale over the prior art cited in claim 7.
Claim 10 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Reddy in view of Lee and Kilroy, and further in view of previously cited Yang (US 2022/0351714 A1).
Regarding Claim 10, Reddy in view of Lee and Kilroy teaches the limitations of claim 9.
Reddy further discloses wherein the performing speech synthesis processing on the filled product information template to obtain the product introduction audio comprises: in response to the audio content of the target book including audio content recorded based on at least one audio, determining, from the at least one audio, target audio used for recording the product introduction audio ([Fig. 7]; [Col 16 Ln 22-Col 17 Ln 41] the template is determined from the plurality of templates based at least in part on the category of content and a user identifier… the determined template is populated with product attributes, and converted to a media file including an audio format; see [Col 6 Ln 4-58] the conversion module 214 be configured to apply a particular accent or dialect to the converted content based on what has been determined to be effective for the target user); and
performing audio recording on the filled product information template by using the target audio, to obtain the product introduction audio ([Fig. 7]; [Col 16 Ln 22-Col 17 Ln 41] the template is determined from the plurality of templates based at least in part on the category of content and a user identifier… the determined template is populated with product attributes, and converted to a media file including an audio format; see [Col 6 Ln 4-58] the conversion module 214 be configured to apply a particular accent or dialect to the converted content based on what has been determined to be effective for the target user; [Fig. 5][Col 13 Ln 53-63] generating and fixing audio from a populated template… using a speech synthesizer application to obtain a rough speech soundbite).
Reddy teaches performing speech synthesis on filled product information templates to obtain product introduction audio using target audio, in response to the audio content of the target book including audio content recorded based on at least one audio, and performing audio recording on the filled product information template using the target audio (see at least Reddy [Fig. 5][Fig. 7][Col 6 Ln 4-58][Col 13 Ln 53-63][Col 16 Ln 22-Col 17 Ln 41]). However, Reddy in view of Lee and Kilroy does not explicitly teach in response to audio content recorded based on at least one character audio, determining, from the at least one character audio, target character audio; and using the target character audio.
However, in the field of performing speech synthesis for audiobooks (see at least Yang [abstract]), Yang, on the other hand, teaches in response to audio content recorded based on at least one character audio, determining, from the at least one character audio, target character audio ([0145] AI processing may be a process of analyzing a script of the TTS device 10 to set the most suitable speakers respectively corresponding to multiple characters present in the script; [0213] A speaker setting unit 177 may set an individual speaker for each character included in a script. The speaker setting unit 177 may be integrated into a TTS module 170 or may be integrated as a part of a pre-processor 171 or a speech synthesis engine 172. The speaker setting unit 177 synthesizes texts corresponding to multiple characters with a voice of a set speaker using metadata corresponding to a speaker profile); and
using the target character audio ([0222] The speech synthesis unit 105 may perform speech synthesis based on a speaker for each character set by the speaker setting unit 104; [0234] The speech synthesis unit synthesizes a speech of a specific character with a voice of a specific speaker by reflecting speaker information set in the script; [0235] The processor 140 may output the speech synthetic result to the acoustic output unit… see [0152] recording is performed via the AI processor 21).
The steps of Yang are applicable to the method of Reddy in view of Lee and Kilroy, as they share characteristics and capabilities, namely, they are directed to speech synthesis techniques in audiobooks. It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time of filing to modify the advertisement method as taught by Reddy in view of Lee and Kilroy, to include in response to audio content recorded based on at least one character audio, determining, from the at least one character audio, target character audio; and using the target character audio, as taught by Yang. One of ordinary skill in the art at the time of filing would have been motivated to expand the advertisement method of Reddy in view of Lee and Kilroy in order to customize an audiobook having multiple characters to a voice desired by a user, so that intent or emotion… is reflected in a voice output (Yang, [0001-0003]).
Claims 14 and 15 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Reddy in view of Lee, and further in view of previously cited Wojcicki (US 2011/0066498 A1).
Regarding Claim 14, Reddy in view of Lee teaches the limitations of claim 13.
Reddy further discloses receiving a trigger operation on presented information ([Col 15 Ln 63-Col 16 Ln 21] the dynamically-generated content 612 may be associated with a voice command that can be used to purchase the product by the user of the user device 602).
Lee, on the other hand, teaches receiving a trigger operation on the associated presenting information ([Fig. 3B]; [0028-0029]).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time of filing to modify the advertisement method as taught by Reddy, to include receiving a trigger operation on the associated presenting information, as taught by Lee, for the same reasons discussed above with respect to claim 1.
However, Reddy in view of Lee does not explicitly teach in response to a trigger operation on the associated presenting information, obtaining supplementary presenting information corresponding to the associated presenting information, and presenting the supplementary presenting information, the supplementary presenting information being configured to supplement for and explain the associated presenting information.
However, in the field of targeted audio advertisements (see at least Wojcicki [abstract][0022]), Wojcicki, on the other hand, teaches in response to a trigger operation on the associated presenting information, obtaining supplementary presenting information corresponding to the associated presenting information, and presenting the supplementary presenting information, the supplementary presenting information being configured to supplement for and explain the associated presenting information ([0054] advertisement 106 may also include one or more merchant page links 109, each capable of landing the user on an alternative landing page 112 if the corresponding link is clicked… clicking on the merchant page link 109 for a particular coffee shop may redirect the user to the coffee shop's corresponding alternative landing page 112, where the user may view a map 113a, user reviews 113b, merchant content 113c; [0041] the system 100 may provide one or more alternative landing pages 112… accessible when the user (e.g., a potential customer 104) selects any of the links or controls on the advertisement 106).
The steps of Wojcicki are applicable to the method of Reddy in view of Lee, as they share characteristics and capabilities, namely, they are directed to targeted audio advertisements. It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time of filing to modify the advertisement method as taught by Reddy in view of Lee, to include in response to a trigger operation on the associated presenting information, obtaining supplementary presenting information corresponding to the associated presenting information, and presenting the supplementary presenting information, the supplementary presenting information being configured to supplement for and explain the associated presenting information, as taught by Wojcicki. One of ordinary skill in the art at the time of filing would have been motivated to expand the advertisement method of Reddy in view of Lee in order to provide multiple avenues in which advertisers can interact with customers, as well as permit advertisers to better pool their customer service resources (Wojcicki, [0005-0007]).
Regarding Claim 15, Reddy in view of Lee teaches the limitations of claim 13.
Reddy further discloses the associated presenting information including the second product ([Col 10 Ln 40-55] selecting a product from a set of products available from the service provider based on one or more attributes associated with the content currently being consumed… the product may be selected based on an association between a particular content (or type of content) and a… category of products); or
the associated presenting information including a sales channel of the target product ([Col 15 Ln 63-Col 16 Ln 21] generated content includes a link to a product page (i.e., a webpage) maintained by the service provider 608 (or a separate entity)).
However, Reddy in view of Lee does not explicitly teach wherein in response to the associated presenting information including the first product, the supplementary presenting information corresponding to the associated presenting information includes: multimedia explanation content corresponding to the suite product to which the target product and the first product belong; or in response to the associated presenting information including the second product, the supplementary presenting information corresponding to the associated presenting information includes: multimedia evaluation content corresponding to the target product and/or the second product; or in response to the associated presenting information including a sales channel of the target product, the supplementary presenting information corresponding to the associated presenting information includes at least one of a selling price of the target product in the sales channel and merchant information of a merchant.
Wojcicki, on the other hand, teaches wherein in response to the associated presenting information including the first product, the supplementary presenting information corresponding to the associated presenting information includes: multimedia explanation content corresponding to the suite product to which the target product and the first product belong; or
in response to the associated presenting information including the second product, the supplementary presenting information corresponding to the associated presenting information includes: multimedia evaluation content corresponding to the target product and/or the second product; or
in response to the associated presenting information including a sales channel of the target product, the supplementary presenting information corresponding to the associated presenting information includes at least one of a selling price of the target product in the sales channel and merchant information of a merchant ([0026] the advertisement 106 may include merchant information such as graphics and text, and one or more merchant page links 109 that provide access to merchant home pages and/or to alternative, merchant-based landing pages; [0054] clicking on the merchant page link 109 for a particular coffee shop may redirect the user to the coffee shop's corresponding alternative landing page 112, where the user may view a map 113a, user reviews 113b, merchant content 113c; see [0038] merchant content (e.g., products, services, hours or operation, prices, promotions, sales, etc.)).
Note: Claim 15 only requires the presence of one of the recited limitations, as they are delimited by “or”. Reddy in view Lee has been relied upon to teach the associated presenting information including a sales channel of the target product in claim 13.
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time of filing to modify the advertisement method as taught by Reddy in view of Lee, to include wherein in response to the associated presenting information including the first product, the supplementary presenting information corresponding to the associated presenting information includes: multimedia explanation content corresponding to the suite product to which the target product and the first product belong; or in response to the associated presenting information including the second product, the supplementary presenting information corresponding to the associated presenting information includes: multimedia evaluation content corresponding to the target product and/or the second product; or in response to the associated presenting information including a sales channel of the target product, the supplementary presenting information corresponding to the associated presenting information includes at least one of a selling price of the target product in the sales channel and merchant information of a merchant, as taught by Wojcicki, for the same reasons discussed above with respect to claim 14.
Conclusion
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/ZACHARY RYAN DONAHUE/Examiner, Art Unit 3689
/MARISSA THEIN/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 3689