DETAILED ACTION
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claim 12 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(a) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), first paragraph, as failing to comply with the enablement requirement. The claim(s) contains subject matter which was not described in the specification in such a way as to enable one skilled in the art to which it pertains, or with which it is most nearly connected, to make and/or use the invention.
Claim 12 recites “updating the location of the user equipment with the user equipment when Reference Signal Receive Power or Reference Signal Received Quality or beams requirement is not met and sending downlink data to base station within the time gap”
It appears the claim claims user equipment sends downlink data to base station. However, downlink data is known for data being transmitted by a base station and received by a user equipment. It is unclear how downlink data being sent by a user equipment and received by a base station.
Claims 13 and 14 are rejected as being directly and indirectly dependent upon claim 12.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1, 2, 4-8 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(2) as being anticipated by Esswie et al. (US 2024/0236941, “Esswie”).
Regarding claim 1, Esswie teaches a method of wireless communication comprising:
receiving downlink control information by a user equipment in an inactive state ([0188] “that the inactive WTRU is being paged… One or more WTRUs may decode the paging DCI and/or paging record”),
monitoring a paging message with the user equipment while in an inactive state ([0188] “that the inactive WTRU is being paged… One or more WTRUs may decode the paging DCI and/or paging record”), wherein the paging message comprises a cyclic redundancy check scrambled by a radio network with at least one base-station with paging-Radio Network Temporary Identifier ([0188] “the DL SDT indication may be scrambled by a paging-RNTI and/or paging-group-RNTI. For example, one or multiple WTRUs may decode the paging DCI when scrambling uses the paging-RNTI. One or more WTRUs may decode the paging DCI and/or paging record, such as by calculating the correct CRC using a (e.g., common) paging-RNTI”);
using the paging-Radio Network Temporary Identifier to decode reception of paging message with the user equipment ([0188] “For example, one or multiple WTRUs may decode the paging DCI when scrambling uses the paging-RNTI. One or more WTRUs may decode the paging DCI and/or paging record, such as by calculating the correct CRC using a (e.g., common) paging-RNTI”);
receiving with the user equipment indication of small data transmission and an identifier from radio network with at least one base-station ([0189] “In the paging record, the inactive WTRU can determines if it is own RNTI/ID is being DL SDT paged or not” [0248] “FIG. 19 is a diagram illustrating a representative paging record 1900. A SDT EPI DCI and/or other paging DCI may include a DL SDT paging indication for one or more of the DL SDT-capable WTRUs (e.g., using different scrambling RNTIs)… the paged WTRUs may be identified by their corresponding IDs, such as a temporary mobile subscription identifier (T-MSI)”).
Regarding claim 2, Esswie teaches claim 1 and further teaches further comprising receiving with the user equipment with the paging message whether radio network with at least one base-station has small data transmission and identifier a paging message ([0207] “On condition that the inactive WTRU finds the DL SDT indication present (e.g., for the current paging occasion), the inactive WTRU may proceed to use the DL beam to PDSCH resource mapping of the PDSCH-beam association information to determine relationships between PDSCH occasions for DL SDT and DL beams thereof. As shown in FIG. 10, the inactive WTRU may receive a (e.g., first) DL SDT PDSCH transmitted by a DL beam ‘x’ at 1012. The inactive WTRU may proceed to decode and/or buffer the DL SDT payload for the DL beam ‘x’ at 1014.” [0401] “The WTRU 102 may determine whether a DL SDT indication is present in any of the EPI DCI, the paging DCI and/or the paging record for the paging occasion, and, on condition that the DL SDT indication is determined to be present, the WTRU 102 may receive the DL SDT using the one or more PDSCH resource sets”. It is understood DL SDT indication is determined to be present, the WTRU 102 may receive the DL SDT from the base station).
Regarding claim 4, Esswie teaches claim 1 and further teaches receiving with the user equipment information regarding list of beams in the paging message or dedicated RRC message ([0256] “WTRU 102 receiving (e.g., from a network entity such as a gNB 180) DL SDT paging information at 2102… the WTRU 102 may perform receiving (e.g., from the network entity) of information indicating one or more active DL SDT PDSCH resource sets and DL SDT beam mapping. For example, the DL SDT beam mapping may associate different beams with different ones of the (e.g., active) DL SDT PDSCH resource sets”).
Regarding claim 5, Esswie teaches claim 1 and further teaches further comprising with the base station a list of cells or a list of beams based on the history of a generated list of the cells and/or the beams ([0256] “WTRU 102 receiving (e.g., from a network entity such as a gNB 180) DL SDT paging information at 2102… the WTRU 102 may perform receiving (e.g., from the network entity) of information indicating one or more active DL SDT PDSCH resource sets and DL SDT beam mapping. For example, the DL SDT beam mapping may associate different beams with different ones of the (e.g., active) DL SDT PDSCH resource sets.” [0182] “the RAN node may identify a best beam selected by the WTRU from the corresponding RACH occasion” [0219] “The inactive CSI information may allow the serving RAN (e.g., gNB or the like) to identify a best DL beam to use (e.g., select) for the WTRU which provided the inactive CSI report”).
Regarding claim 6, Esswie teaches claim 1 and further teaches further comprising reporting with the user equipment current cells or beam to the base-station by transmitting Configured grant based small data transmission and/or Random Access based small data transmission ([0221] “The inactive CSI report may be transmitted by the inactive WTRU as part of a DL SDT RACH occasion. The inactive WTRU may receive information regarding uplink time alignment as part of the DL SDT RACH occasion. For example, the uplink time alignment may be used to keep the inactive WTRU in time alignment with the uplink RAN.” “[I]nactive WTRU may receive information regarding uplink time alignment uplink time alignment” indicates a configured grant based transmission).
Regarding claim 7, Esswie teaches claim 1 and further teaches further comprising apply with user equipment a time gap between the paging message and scheduling of downlink data transmission (FIG. 6, [0201] “Based on the DL SDT paging (e.g., the current EPI DCI 604), the WTRU may sleep 608 (e.g., deep sleep) up until a time associated with the configured DL SDT PDSCH resources 602… the DL SDT payload may be accommodated by the SDT PDSCH resource set (e.g., SDT PDSCH sets i and/or j)”).
Regarding claim 8, Esswie teaches claim 1 and further teaches further comprising configuring with the base-station a timer value in the system information message or dedicated message (FIG. 6, [0200] “The RAN may configure one or more DL SDT configurations at 508, such as by using higher layer signaling, as described herein. For example, the WTRU may receive one or more DL SDT configurations, each configuration may include any of a DL SDT PDSCH resource set”. [0201] “Based on the DL SDT paging (e.g., the current EPI DCI 604), the WTRU may sleep 608 (e.g., deep sleep) up until a time associated with the configured DL SDT PDSCH resources 602… the DL SDT payload may be accommodated by the SDT PDSCH resource set (e.g., SDT PDSCH sets i and/or j)”).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim 3 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Esswie in view of Shih et al (US 2022/0022276, “Shih”).
Regarding claim 3, Esswie teaches claim 1 but does not teach receiving with user equipment information regarding list of cells in the paging message or dedicated RRC message
Shih teaches receiving with user equipment information regarding list of cells in the paging message or dedicated RRC message ([0457] “the network may provide, in a dedicated RRC message to the UE (e.g., in the RRCRelease message), the configuration of the set of UL BWPs for SDT for a list of Cells. For example, the configuration of the UL BWP for SDT for the list of Cells may be applicable for Cells of the list of Cells. Accordingly, the UE may be able to use a UL BWP among the set of UL BWPs for SDT when initiating SDT on a Cell (e.g., any one cell) among the list of Cells.”)
It would have been obvious before the effective filing date of the claimed invention for a person having ordinary skill in the art to include the feature receiving with user equipment information regarding list of cells in the paging message or dedicated RRC message as taught by Shih in Esswie for increased efficiency of communication.
Claim 9 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Esswie in view of
Ma et al (US 2023/0020986, “Ma”).
Regarding claim 9, Esswie teaches claim 8 but does not teach wherein the timer value configured by base-station is based on congestion.
However, Liu teaches wherein the timer value configured by base-station is based on congestion ([0114] “If the gNB-CU intends to configure the SDT resource for the UE, it can pre-acquire the information of available SDT resources in the gNB-DU (i.e., SDT resources can be used in the gNB-DU). Then, the gNB-CU can configure suitable SDT resource for the UE.” [0054] “SDT configuration: SDT configuration may include at least one of: at least one SDT resource; at least one SDT index; at least one SDT duration or SDT timer; or at least one SDT indicator”. Note: information of available SDT resources teaches level of congestion).
It would have been obvious before the effective filing date of the claimed invention for a person having ordinary skill in the art to include the feature wherein the timer value configured by base-station is based on congestion as taught by Ma in Esswie to ensure UE has available resource.
Claims 10 and 11 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Esswie.
Regarding claim 10, Esswie teaches claim 1 but fails to teach {starting} with the user equipment {a timer} upon receiving paging message after the reception of the predefined list of cells or beams ([0169] “The WTRU may receive and/or update one or more DL SDT configurations… A DL SDT configuration may include… a DL SDT PDSCH-beam association” [0419] “an association of the one or more PDSCH resource sets and one or more DL beams” FIG. 6 shows deep sleep mode between DCI 604 and SDT PDSCH set i.”)
However, Esswie teaches [0169] “The WTRU may receive and/or update one or more DL SDT configurations… A DL SDT configuration may include… a DL SDT PDSCH-beam association” [0419] “an association of the one or more PDSCH resource sets and one or more DL beams” FIG. 6 shows deep sleep mode between DCI 604 and SDT PDSCH set i.” [0201] “Based on the DL SDT paging (e.g., the current EPI DCI 604), the WTRU may sleep 608 (e.g., deep sleep) up until a time associated with the configured DL SDT PDSCH resources 602”. The Examiner submits It is well known in the art and obvious to use a timer so that “sleep.. up until a time” is accurately executed).
It would have been obvious before the effective filing date of the claimed invention for a person having ordinary skill in the art to include the feature starting with the user equipment a timer to ensure the UE wakes up on time for receiving an intended payload.
Regarding claim 11, Esswie teaches claim 1 and further teaches wherein user equipment expects downlink data transmission (FIG. 6 shows deep sleep mode between DCI 604 and SDT PDSCH set i. [0201] “Based on the DL SDT paging (e.g., the current EPI DCI 604), the WTRU may sleep 608 (e.g., deep sleep) up until a time associated with the configured DL SDT PDSCH resources 602”. It is understood “sleep.. up until a time” is determined by a timer [0101] “WTRU (e.g., an inactive WTRU) may be configured to decode one or more DL SDT payloads on (e.g., indicated) one or more PDSCH resource sets”) {after timer expires}
Esswie does not teach downlink data transmission after timer expires. However, as indicated above it is well known in the art and obvious to use a timer such that after the timer expires, the UE wakes up so that “sleep.. up until a time” is accurately executed.
It would have been obvious before the effective filing date of the claimed invention for a person having ordinary skill in the art to include the feature downlink data transmission after timer expire to ensure the UE wakes up on time for receiving an intended payload.
Claims 15-18 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Esswie in view of Huang et al. (US 2022/0086946, “Huang”).
Regarding claim 15, Esswie teaches a user equipment for wireless communication, comprising: a memory; and one or more processors coupled to the memory, the memory and the one or more processors (FIG. 1B, [0059]- WTRU 102 of FIG. 1B includes the claimed features) configured to:
receive, from a base-station, a paging communication while the user equipment is in an inactive mode or an idle mode ([0188] “that the inactive WTRU is being paged… One or more WTRUs may decode the paging DCI and/or paging record” [0250] “The DL SDT-capable WTRU (e.g., in inactive and/or idle mode) may monitor and blindly decode any of DL SDT EPI, DL SDT-specific paging DCI, regular (e.g., non-DL SDT specific) paging DCI, and/or a corresponding paging record to determine whether the WTRU is being DL SDT paged at 2004”);
transmit to the base-station and based at least in part on receiving the paging communication, a first communication as part of a random access channel procedure ([0252] “After decoding the DL SDT payload, the WTRU (e.g., in inactive and/or idle mode) may select a DL SDT-specific RACH preamble, … After, the WTRU (e.g., in inactive and/or idle mode) may transmit the selected DL SDT-specific RACH preamble over a corresponding RACH occasion (e.g., RACH resource opportunity) at 1818”); and
{receive, from base-station and based at least in part on transmitting the first communication, a second communication that includes: mobile-terminated downlink data, an indication of an uplink resource, and a radio resource control release message that causes the user equipment to remain in the inactive mode or the idle mode while receiving the mobile-terminated downlink data; and
transmit to a base-station while in the inactive mode or the idle mode, mobile-originated uplink data using the up link resource,}
wherein the memory stores computer program instructions which, when executed by the microprocessor, configure the user equipment
to receive the downlink data ([0188] “that the inactive WTRU is being paged… One or more WTRUs may decode the paging DCI and/or paging record”);
monitor the paging message ([0188] “that the inactive WTRU is being paged… One or more WTRUs may decode the paging DCI and/or paging record”), wherein the paging message comprises a cyclic redundancy check scrambled by a radio network with at least one base-station with paging-Radio Network Temporary Identifier ([0188] “the DL SDT indication may be scrambled by a paging-RNTI and/or paging-group-RNTI. For example, one or multiple WTRUs may decode the paging DCI when scrambling uses the paging-RNTI. One or more WTRUs may decode the paging DCI and/or paging record, such as by calculating the correct CRC using a (e.g., common) paging-RNTI”);
use the paging-Radio Network Temporary Identifier to decode reception of paging message ([0188] “For example, one or multiple WTRUs may decode the paging DCI when scrambling uses the paging-RNTI. One or more WTRUs may decode the paging DCI and/or paging record, such as by calculating the correct CRC using a (e.g., common) paging-RNTI”); and
receive indication of small data transmission and an identifier from radio network with at least one base-station ([0189] “In the paging record, the inactive WTRU can determines if it is own RNTI/ID is being DL SDT paged or not” [0248] “FIG. 19 is a diagram illustrating a representative paging record 1900. A SDT EPI DCI and/or other paging DCI may include a DL SDT paging indication for one or more of the DL SDT-capable WTRUs (e.g., using different scrambling RNTIs)… the paged WTRUs may be identified by their corresponding IDs, such as a temporary mobile subscription identifier (T-MSI)”).
Esswie does not teach
receive, from base-station and based at least in part on transmitting the first communication, a second communication that includes: mobile-terminated downlink data, an indication of an uplink resource, and a radio resource control release message that causes the user equipment to remain in the inactive mode or the idle mode while receiving the mobile-terminated downlink data; and
transmit to a base-station while in the inactive mode or the idle mode, mobile-originated uplink data using the up link resource,
However, Huang teaches receive, from base-station and based at least in part on transmitting the first communication, a second communication ([0277] “For example, the UE 1102 may transmit a MSGA 1106 (e.g., the first UL small data transmission) comprising a RA preamble …. In response to receiving the MSGA 1106, the NW (shown with reference number 1104) may transmit a MSGB 1110”) that includes: mobile-terminated downlink data ([0277] “In response to receiving the MSGA 1106, the NW (shown with reference number 1104) may transmit a MSGB 1110 (e.g., the first DL small data transmission)”), an indication of an uplink resource ([0277] “The NW 1104 may transmit a first dynamic UL grant to the UE 1002 along with the MSGB 1110”), and a radio resource control release message that causes the user equipment to remain in the inactive mode or the idle mode while receiving the mobile-terminated downlink data ([0277] “The NW 1104 may transmit a RRC release message (e.g., RRCRelease) in the MSGB 1110 (e.g., the first DL small data transmission) to complete the RRC Connection Resume procedure (e.g., the RRC release message may be included in the MSGB 1110 and/or the RRC release message may be indicative of completion of the RRC Connection Resume procedure). In some examples, the RRC release message is transmitted to the UE 1102 to keep the UE 1102 in RRC_INACTIVE state (e.g., the RRC release message is transmitted to the UE 1102 such that the UE 1102 stays in RRC_INACTIVE state)”); and
transmit to a base-station while in the inactive mode or the idle mode, mobile-originated uplink data using the up link resource ([0277] “The UE 1102 may use the first dynamic UL grant to transmit the subsequent small data via one or more subsequent transmissions 1118. In response to receiving the subsequent small data, the NW 1104 may transmit a feedback (e.g., an ACK, a UL grant for retransmission and/or a UL grant for another subsequent small data transmission) and/or one or more dynamic UL grants to the UE 1102 (e.g., the feedback may be transmitted via one or more subsequent DL small data transmissions of the one or more subsequent transmissions 1118)”).
It would have been obvious before the effective filing date of the claimed invention for a person having ordinary skill in the art to include the feature receive, from base-station and based at least in part on transmitting the first communication, a second communication that includes: mobile-terminated downlink data, an indication of an uplink resource, and a radio resource control release message that causes the user equipment to remain in the inactive mode or the idle mode while receiving the mobile-terminated downlink data; and transmit to a base-station while in the inactive mode or the idle mode, mobile-originated uplink data using the up link resource as taught by Huang in Esswie to reduce power consumption and signaling overhead.
Regarding claim 16, Esswie teaches a base-station for wireless communication, comprising: a memory; and one or more processors coupled to the memory, the memory and the one or more processors ([0442]) configured to:
transmit, to a user equipment, a paging communication while the user equipment is in an inactive mode or an idle mode ([0188] “that the inactive WTRU is being paged… One or more WTRUs may decode the paging DCI and/or paging record” [0250] “The DL SDT-capable WTRU (e.g., in inactive and/or idle mode) may monitor and blindly decode any of DL SDT EPI, DL SDT-specific paging DCI, regular (e.g., non-DL SDT specific) paging DCI, and/or a corresponding paging record to determine whether the WTRU is being DL SDT paged at 2004”);
receive, from the user equipment and based at least in part on transmitting the paging communication, a first communication as part of a random access channel procedure ([0252] “After decoding the DL SDT payload, the WTRU (e.g., in inactive and/or idle mode) may select a DL SDT-specific RACH preamble, … After, the WTRU (e.g., in inactive and/or idle mode) may transmit the selected DL SDT-specific RACH preamble over a corresponding RACH occasion (e.g., RACH resource opportunity) at 1818”); and
{transmit to the user equipment and based at least in part on transmitting the first communication, a second communication that includes: mobile-terminated downlink data, an uplink resource that the user equipment is to use to transmit mobile-originated uplink data while in the inactive mode or the idle mode, and a radio resource control release message that causes the user equipment receive the mobile-terminated downlink data while in the inactive mode or the idle mode; and
receive, from the user equipment and in the uplink resource, mobile-originated up link data, the user equipment is to transmit the mobile-originated uplink data while in the inactive mode or the idle mode},
wherein the memory stores computer program instructions which, when executed by the microprocessor ([0442]), configure the user equipment (FIG. 1B, [0059]- WTRU 102 of FIG. 1B) via the base-station to
receive the downlink data ([0188] “that the inactive WTRU is being paged… One or more WTRUs may decode the paging DCI and/or paging record”);
monitor the paging message ([0188] “that the inactive WTRU is being paged… One or more WTRUs may decode the paging DCI and/or paging record”), wherein the paging message comprises a cyclic redundancy check scrambled by a radio network with at least one base-station with paging-Radio Network Temporary Identifier ([0188] “the DL SDT indication may be scrambled by a paging-RNTI and/or paging-group-RNTI. For example, one or multiple WTRUs may decode the paging DCI when scrambling uses the paging-RNTI. One or more WTRUs may decode the paging DCI and/or paging record, such as by calculating the correct CRC using a (e.g., common) paging-RNTI”);
use the paging-Radio Network Temporary Identifier to decode reception of paging message ([0188] “For example, one or multiple WTRUs may decode the paging DCI when scrambling uses the paging-RNTI. One or more WTRUs may decode the paging DCI and/or paging record, such as by calculating the correct CRC using a (e.g., common) paging-RNTI”); and
receive indication of small data transmission and an identifier from radio network with at least one base-station ([0189] “In the paging record, the inactive WTRU can determines if it is own RNTI/ID is being DL SDT paged or not” [0248] “FIG. 19 is a diagram illustrating a representative paging record 1900. A SDT EPI DCI and/or other paging DCI may include a DL SDT paging indication for one or more of the DL SDT-capable WTRUs (e.g., using different scrambling RNTIs)… the paged WTRUs may be identified by their corresponding IDs, such as a temporary mobile subscription identifier (T-MSI)”).
Esswie does not teach
transmit to the user equipment and based at least in part on transmitting the first communication, a second communication that includes: mobile-terminated downlink data, an uplink resource that the user equipment is to use to transmit mobile-originated uplink data while in the inactive mode or the idle mode, and a radio resource control release message that causes the user equipment receive the mobile-terminated downlink data while in the inactive mode or the idle mode; and
receive, from the user equipment and in the uplink resource, mobile-originated up link data, the user equipment is to transmit the mobile-originated uplink data while in the inactive mode or the idle mode.
However, Huang teaches transmit to the user equipment and based at least in part on transmitting the first communication, a second communication ([0277] “For example, the UE 1102 may transmit a MSGA 1106 (e.g., the first UL small data transmission) comprising a RA preamble …. In response to receiving the MSGA 1106, the NW (shown with reference number 1104) may transmit a MSGB 1110”) that includes: mobile-terminated downlink data ([0277] “In response to receiving the MSGA 1106, the NW (shown with reference number 1104) may transmit a MSGB 1110 (e.g., the first DL small data transmission)”), an indication of an uplink resource that the user equipment is to use to transmit mobile-originated uplink data while in the inactive mode or the idle mode ([0277] “The NW 1104 may transmit a first dynamic UL grant to the UE 1002 along with the MSGB 1110… The UE 1102 may use the first dynamic UL grant to transmit the subsequent small data via one or more subsequent transmissions 1118”), and a radio resource control release message that causes the user equipment to remain in the inactive mode or the idle mode while receiving the mobile-terminated downlink data ([0277] “The NW 1104 may transmit a RRC release message (e.g., RRCRelease) in the MSGB 1110 (e.g., the first DL small data transmission) to complete the RRC Connection Resume procedure (e.g., the RRC release message may be included in the MSGB 1110 and/or the RRC release message may be indicative of completion of the RRC Connection Resume procedure). In some examples, the RRC release message is transmitted to the UE 1102 to keep the UE 1102 in RRC_INACTIVE state (e.g., the RRC release message is transmitted to the UE 1102 such that the UE 1102 stays in RRC_INACTIVE state)”); and
receive, from the user equipment and in the uplink resource, mobile-originated up link data, the user equipment is to transmit the mobile-originated uplink data while in the inactive mode or the idle mode ([0277] “The UE 1102 may use the first dynamic UL grant to transmit the subsequent small data via one or more subsequent transmissions 1118. In response to receiving the subsequent small data, the NW 1104 may transmit a feedback (e.g., an ACK, a UL grant for retransmission and/or a UL grant for another subsequent small data transmission) and/or one or more dynamic UL grants to the UE 1102 (e.g., the feedback may be transmitted via one or more subsequent DL small data transmissions of the one or more subsequent transmissions 1118)”).
It would have been obvious before the effective filing date of the claimed invention for a person having ordinary skill in the art to include the feature transmit to the user equipment and based at least in part on transmitting the first communication, a second communication that includes: mobile-terminated downlink data, an uplink resource that the user equipment is to use to transmit mobile-originated uplink data while in the inactive mode or the idle mode, and a radio resource control release message that causes the user equipment receive the mobile-terminated downlink data while in the inactive mode or the idle mode; and receive, from the user equipment and in the uplink resource, mobile-originated up link data, the user equipment is to transmit the mobile-originated uplink data while in the inactive mode or the idle mode as taught by Huang in Esswie to reduce power consumption and signaling overhead.
Regarding claim 17, Esswie teaches a non-transitory computer-readable medium storing one or more instructions for wireless communication, the one or more instructions comprising: one or more instructions that, when executed by one or more processors of a user equipment (FIG. 1B, [0059]- WTRU 102 of FIG. 1B includes the claimed features), cause the one or more processors to:
receive, from base-station, a paging communication while the user equipment is in inactive mode or the idle mode ([0188] “that the inactive WTRU is being paged… One or more WTRUs may decode the paging DCI and/or paging record” [0250] “The DL SDT-capable WTRU (e.g., in inactive and/or idle mode) may monitor and blindly decode any of DL SDT EPI, DL SDT-specific paging DCI, regular (e.g., non-DL SDT specific) paging DCI, and/or a corresponding paging record to determine whether the WTRU is being DL SDT paged at 2004”);
transmit, to the base-station and based at least in part on receiving the paging communication, a first communication as part of a random access channel procedure ([0252] “After decoding the DL SDT payload, the WTRU (e.g., in inactive and/or idle mode) may select a DL SDT-specific RACH preamble, … After, the WTRU (e.g., in inactive and/or idle mode) may transmit the selected DL SDT-specific RACH preamble over a corresponding RACH occasion (e.g., RACH resource opportunity) at 1818”); and
{receive, from the base-station and based at least in part on transmitting the first communication, a second communication that includes: mobile-terminated downlink data, an indication of an uplink resource, and a radio resource control release message that causes the user equipment to remain in the inactive mode or the idle mode, while receiving the mobile-terminated downlink data; and
transmit, to the base-station and while in inactive mode or the idle mode, mobile-originated uplink data using the uplink resource};
wherein the non-transitory computer-readable medium stores computer program instructions which, when executed by the microprocessor (FIG. 1B, [0059]), configure the user equipment
receive the downlink data ([0188] “that the inactive WTRU is being paged… One or more WTRUs may decode the paging DCI and/or paging record”);
monitor the paging message ([0188] “that the inactive WTRU is being paged… One or more WTRUs may decode the paging DCI and/or paging record”), wherein the paging message comprises a cyclic redundancy check scrambled by a radio network with at least one base-station with paging-Radio Network Temporary Identifier ([0188] “the DL SDT indication may be scrambled by a paging-RNTI and/or paging-group-RNTI. For example, one or multiple WTRUs may decode the paging DCI when scrambling uses the paging-RNTI. One or more WTRUs may decode the paging DCI and/or paging record, such as by calculating the correct CRC using a (e.g., common) paging-RNTI”);
use the paging-Radio Network Temporary Identifier to decode reception of paging message ([0188] “For example, one or multiple WTRUs may decode the paging DCI when scrambling uses the paging-RNTI. One or more WTRUs may decode the paging DCI and/or paging record, such as by calculating the correct CRC using a (e.g., common) paging-RNTI”); and
receive indication of small data transmission and an identifier from radio network with at least one base-station ([0189] “In the paging record, the inactive WTRU can determines if it is own RNTI/ID is being DL SDT paged or not” [0248] “FIG. 19 is a diagram illustrating a representative paging record 1900. A SDT EPI DCI and/or other paging DCI may include a DL SDT paging indication for one or more of the DL SDT-capable WTRUs (e.g., using different scrambling RNTIs)… the paged WTRUs may be identified by their corresponding IDs, such as a temporary mobile subscription identifier (T-MSI)”).
Esswie does not teach
receive, from the base-station and based at least in part on transmitting the first communication, a second communication that includes: mobile-terminated downlink data, an indication of an uplink resource, and a radio resource control release message that causes the user equipment to remain in the inactive mode or the idle mode, while receiving the mobile-terminated downlink data; and
transmit, to the base-station and while in inactive mode or the idle mode, mobile-originated uplink data using the uplink resource.
However, Huang teaches receive, from the base-station and based at least in part on transmitting the first communication ([0277] “For example, the UE 1102 may transmit a MSGA 1106 (e.g., the first UL small data transmission) comprising a RA preamble …. In response to receiving the MSGA 1106, the NW (shown with reference number 1104) may transmit a MSGB 1110”) that includes: mobile-terminated downlink data ([0277] “In response to receiving the MSGA 1106, the NW (shown with reference number 1104) may transmit a MSGB 1110 (e.g., the first DL small data transmission)”), an indication of an uplink resource ([0277] “The NW 1104 may transmit a first dynamic UL grant to the UE 1002 along with the MSGB 1110”), and a radio resource control release message that causes the user equipment to remain in the inactive mode or the idle mode, while receiving the mobile-terminated downlink data ([0277] “The NW 1104 may transmit a RRC release message (e.g., RRCRelease) in the MSGB 1110 (e.g., the first DL small data transmission) to complete the RRC Connection Resume procedure (e.g., the RRC release message may be included in the MSGB 1110 and/or the RRC release message may be indicative of completion of the RRC Connection Resume procedure). In some examples, the RRC release message is transmitted to the UE 1102 to keep the UE 1102 in RRC_INACTIVE state (e.g., the RRC release message is transmitted to the UE 1102 such that the UE 1102 stays in RRC_INACTIVE state)”); and
transmit to a base-station while in the inactive mode or the idle mode, mobile-originated uplink data using the up link resource ([0277] “The UE 1102 may use the first dynamic UL grant to transmit the subsequent small data via one or more subsequent transmissions 1118. In response to receiving the subsequent small data, the NW 1104 may transmit a feedback (e.g., an ACK, a UL grant for retransmission and/or a UL grant for another subsequent small data transmission) and/or one or more dynamic UL grants to the UE 1102 (e.g., the feedback may be transmitted via one or more subsequent DL small data transmissions of the one or more subsequent transmissions 1118)”).
It would have been obvious before the effective filing date of the claimed invention for a person having ordinary skill in the art to include the feature receive, from base-station and based at least in part on transmitting the first communication, a second communication that includes: mobile-terminated downlink data}, an indication of an uplink resource, and a radio resource control release message that causes the user equipment to remain in the inactive mode or the idle mode while receiving the mobile-terminated downlink data; and transmit to a base-station while in the inactive mode or the idle mode, mobile-originated uplink data using the up link resource as taught by Huang in Esswie to reduce power consumption and signaling overhead.
Regarding claim 18, Esswie teaches a non-transitory computer-read able medium storing one or more instructions for wireless communication, the one or more instructions comprising: one or more instructions that, when executed by one or more processors of a base-station ([0442]), cause the one or more processors to:
transmit, to a user equipment, a paging communication while the user equipment is in inactive mode or the idle mode ([0188] “that the inactive WTRU is being paged… One or more WTRUs may decode the paging DCI and/or paging record” [0250] “The DL SDT-capable WTRU (e.g., in inactive and/or idle mode) may monitor and blindly decode any of DL SDT EPI, DL SDT-specific paging DCI, regular (e.g., non-DL SDT specific) paging DCI, and/or a corresponding paging record to determine whether the WTRU is being DL SDT paged at 2004”);
receive, from the user equipment and based at least in part on transmitting the paging communication, a first communication as part of a random access channel procedure ([0252] “After decoding the DL SDT payload, the WTRU (e.g., in inactive and/or idle mode) may select a DL SDT-specific RACH preamble, … After, the WTRU (e.g., in inactive and/or idle mode) may transmit the selected DL SDT-specific RACH preamble over a corresponding RACH occasion (e.g., RACH resource opportunity) at 1818”); and
{transmit, to the user equipment based at least in part on transmitting the first communication, a second communication that includes: mobile-terminated downlink data, an uplink resource that the user equipment is to use to transmit mobile-originated uplink data while in inactive mode or the idle mode, and a radio resource control release message that causes the user equipment receive the mobile-terminated downlink (DL) data while in inactive mode or the idle mode, and
receive, from the user equipment and in the uplink resource, mobile-originated uplink data, the user equipment is to transmit the mobile-originated uplink data while in inactive mode or the idle mode},
wherein the non-transitory computer-readable medium stores computer program instructions which, when executed by the microprocessor ([0442]), configure the user equipment to (FIG. 1B, [0059]- WTRU 102 of FIG. 1B)
receive the downlink data([0188] “that the inactive WTRU is being paged… One or more WTRUs may decode the paging DCI and/or paging record”)
monitor the paging message([0188] “that the inactive WTRU is being paged… One or more WTRUs may decode the paging DCI and/or paging record”), wherein the paging message comprises a cyclic redundancy check scrambled by a radio network with at least one base-station with paging-Radio Network Temporary Identifier ([0188] “the DL SDT indication may be scrambled by a paging-RNTI and/or paging-group-RNTI. For example, one or multiple WTRUs may decode the paging DCI when scrambling uses the paging-RNTI. One or more WTRUs may decode the paging DCI and/or paging record, such as by calculating the correct CRC using a (e.g., common) paging-RNTI”);
use the paging-Radio Network Temporary Identifier to decode reception of paging message ([0188] “For example, one or multiple WTRUs may decode the paging DCI when scrambling uses the paging-RNTI. One or more WTRUs may decode the paging DCI and/or paging record, such as by calculating the correct CRC using a (e.g., common) paging-RNTI”); and
receive indication of small data transmission and an identifier from radio network with at least one base-station ([0189] “In the paging record, the inactive WTRU can determines if it is own RNTI/ID is being DL SDT paged or not” [0248] “FIG. 19 is a diagram illustrating a representative paging record 1900. A SDT EPI DCI and/or other paging DCI may include a DL SDT paging indication for one or more of the DL SDT-capable WTRUs (e.g., using different scrambling RNTIs)… the paged WTRUs may be identified by their corresponding IDs, such as a temporary mobile subscription identifier (T-MSI)”).
Esswie does not teach
transmit, to the user equipment based at least in part on transmitting the first communication, a second communication that includes: mobile-terminated downlink data, an uplink resource that the user equipment is to use to transmit mobile-originated uplink data while in inactive mode or the idle mode, and a radio resource control release message that causes the user equipment receive the mobile-terminated downlink (DL) data while in inactive mode or the idle mode, and
receive, from the user equipment and in the uplink resource, mobile-originated uplink data, the user equipment is to transmit the mobile-originated uplink data while in inactive mode or the idle mode.
However, Huang teaches transmit, to the user equipment based at least in part on transmitting the first communication, a second communication ([0277] “For example, the UE 1102 may transmit a MSGA 1106 (e.g., the first UL small data transmission) comprising a RA preamble …. In response to receiving the MSGA 1106, the NW (shown with reference number 1104) may transmit a MSGB 1110”) that includes: mobile-terminated downlink data ([0277] “In response to receiving the MSGA 1106, the NW (shown with reference number 1104) may transmit a MSGB 1110 (e.g., the first DL small data transmission)”), an uplink resource that the user equipment is to use to transmit mobile-originated uplink data while in inactive mode or the idle mode ([0277] “The NW 1104 may transmit a first dynamic UL grant to the UE 1002 along with the MSGB 1110… The UE 1102 may use the first dynamic UL grant to transmit the subsequent small data via one or more subsequent transmissions 1118”) and a radio resource control release message that causes the user equipment receive the mobile-terminated downlink (DL) data while in inactive mode or the idle mode ([0277] “The NW 1104 may transmit a first dynamic UL grant to the UE 1002 along with the MSGB 1110… The UE 1102 may use the first dynamic UL grant to transmit the subsequent small data via one or more subsequent transmissions 1118”); and
receive, from the user equipment and in the uplink resource, mobile-originated uplink data, the user equipment is to transmit the mobile-originated uplink data while in inactive mode or the idle mode ([0277] “The UE 1102 may use the first dynamic UL grant to transmit the subsequent small data via one or more subsequent transmissions 1118. In response to receiving the subsequent small data, the NW 1104 may transmit a feedback (e.g., an ACK, a UL grant for retransmission and/or a UL grant for another subsequent small data transmission) and/or one or more dynamic UL grants to the UE 1102 (e.g., the feedback may be transmitted via one or more subsequent DL small data transmissions of the one or more subsequent transmissions 1118)”).
It would have been obvious before the effective filing date of the claimed invention for a person having ordinary skill in the art to include the feature transmit, to the user equipment based at least in part on transmitting the first communication, a second communication that includes: mobile-terminated downlink data, an uplink resource that the user equipment is to use to transmit mobile-originated uplink data while in inactive mode or the idle mode, and a radio resource control release message that causes the user equipment receive the mobile-terminated downlink (DL) data while in inactive mode or the idle mode, and receive, from the user equipment and in the uplink resource, mobile-originated uplink data, the user equipment is to transmit the mobile-originated uplink data while in inactive mode or the idle mode. as taught by Huang in Esswie to reduce power consumption and signaling overhead.
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure.
Jeon et al. (US 2023/0413379) and Teo et al. (US 2025/0330951) teach paging for small data transmission.
/QUOC THAI N VU/ Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2642