Allowable Subject Matter
Claims 4-9,17-19,21 are objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claims 9,19 recites the limitation " the N frequency-domain resource units in the candidate resource belong to the same LBT subband". There is insufficient antecedent basis for this limitation in the claim.
Claim 9 depends from claim 1 and claim 19 depends from Claim 14 and claim 1 and claim 14 never introduces “same LBT subband”.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim 1,10,14,11,20,22 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(2) as being anticipated by
Wu et al.( US20230389053A1)
Regarding Claim 1, Wu teaches, A method for transmitting sidelink data, performed by user equipment, the method comprising: [76]- a communication manager 101 may determine a resource selection configuration that indicates a set of CCs for sidelink communications within a shared radio frequency spectrum band (e.g., an unlicensed band).
determining a value of N configured to indicate a number of frequency-domain resource units to be determined by the user equipment within a transmission band, wherein the transmission band is located within an unlicensed frequency band, and comprises M Listen Before Talk (LBT) subbands, where N and M are integers greater than 1;[95]- . The transmitting UE 115 may, for example, transmit the sidelink message 305 using a selected resource on one CC 310 of the subset of CCs that passes the channel access procedure or using a respective selected resource on multiple CCs 310 that pass the channel access procedure
[109]- For example, the first UE 115 may indicate a frequency allocation or index for the frequency location, where the frequency allocation or index may indicate a number of subcarriers or subchannels, a number of resource elements, a number of resource blocks, (=frequency domain resource units)
[93]- unlicensed spectrum may be configured with a set of defined frequencies (e.g., a set of defined candidate CCs 310) (=wherein the transmission band is located within an unlicensed frequency band)
The set of frequencies may be channelized to a number of CCs (e.g., the set of candidate CCs), and each CC 310 may have a defined bandwidth (e.g., 20 MHz).(=comprises M Listen Before Talk (LBT) subbands,)
[102]- As described herein, the first UE 115 may select resources 405 and 410 in multiple CCs (e.g., in N CCs, where N>1). In some cases, the first UE 115 may determine a successful channel access in two or more CCs (e.g., M CCs, where 1<M≤N). (=where N and M are integers greater than 1)
determining a frequency-domain resource within the transmission band based on a position of the frequency-domain resource located within at least one of the LBT sub-bands, [94]- resources that are available at a same relative frequency location 330 (e.g., a same subchannel index) on two or more CCs 310 of the set of CCs.
wherein the frequency-domain resource comprises N frequency-domain resource units, [102]- As described herein, the first UE 115 may select resources 405 and 410 in multiple CCs (e.g., in N CCs, where N>1).
and a number of LBT sub-bands occupied by the frequency-domain resource is less than or equal to M; and [94]- select resources that are available on all or a subset of CCs 310 of the set of CCs (e.g., multiple CCs of the set of CCs),
transmitting the sidelink data over the frequency-domain resource.[95]- may transmit a sidelink message 305
Regarding Claim 10, Wu teaches, The method according to claim 1, wherein determining the frequency-domain resource within the transmission band based on the position of the frequency-domain resource located within the at least one of the LBT subbands, comprises:
determining a seventh set, wherein the seventh set comprises multiple candidate resources,[82]- For example, the first UE 115 may identify available resources for a sidelink transmission
each candidate resource comprises N frequency-domain resource units, and [114]- s described with reference to FIG. 3 , the first UE 115 may select a number of resources 505 for a sidelink message, where the resources may be available in a same transmission time occasion
the N frequency-domain resource units in each candidate resource belong to K LBT subbands, where K is an integer less than M, and [116]- resources 505 may be available at different relative frequency locations in CC0, CC1, CC2, and CC3
wherein a time-frequency resource corresponding to SCI does not have overlapping regions with any candidate resource in the seventh set; and [114]- The first UE 115 may use information received from one or more second UEs 115 (e.g., via SCI) to select the resources 505, which information may indicate reserved or busy resources 510 within the set of CCs
determining one or more of the multiple candidate resources resources in the seventh set as the frequency-domain resource.[114]- the first UE 115 may select a number of resources 505 for a sidelink message, where the resources may be available in a same transmission time occasion (e.g., slot) on multiple CCs of a set of candidate CCs.
Regarding Claim 11, The method according to claim 10, further comprising: determining K based on a protocol; or receiving downlink control signaling sent by a network device, wherein the downlink control signaling comprises information indicating K. [94]- The transmitting UE 115 may select the resources according to a resource selection configuration (e.g., defined by a wireless communications standard)
Regarding Claim 14, Wu teaches,User equipment, comprising; a processor; and
a memory storing a computer program executable by the processor; wherein the processor is configured to;
determine a value of N configured to indicate a number of frequency-domain resource units to be determined by the user equipment within a transmission band, wherein the transmission band is located within an unlicensed frequency band, and comprises M Listen Before Talk (LBT) subbands, where N and M are integers greater than 1; [95] - The transmitting UE 115 may, for example, transmit the sidelink message 305 using a selected resource on one CC 310 of the subset of CCs that passes the channel access procedure or using a respective selected resource on multiple CCs 310 that pass the channel access procedure
[109]- For example, the first UE 115 may indicate a frequency allocation or index for the frequency location, where the frequency allocation or index may indicate a number of subcarriers or subchannels, a number of resource elements, a number of resource blocks, (=frequency domain resource units)
[93]- unlicensed spectrum may be configured with a set of defined frequencies (e.g., a set of defined candidate CCs 310) (=wherein the transmission band is located within an unlicensed frequency band)
The set of frequencies may be channelized to a number of CCs (e.g., the set of candidate CCs), and each CC 310 may have a defined bandwidth (e.g., 20 MHz).(=comprises M Listen Before Talk (LBT) subbands,)
[102]- As described herein, the first UE 115 may select resources 405 and 410 in multiple CCs (e.g., in N CCs, where N>1). In some cases, the first UE 115 may determine a successful channel access in two or more CCs (e.g., M CCs, where 1<M≤N). (=where N and M are integers greater than 1)
determine a frequency-domain resource within the transmission band based on a position of the frequency-domain resource located within at least one of the LBT subbands, [94]- resources that are available at a same relative frequency location 330 (e.g., a same subchannel index) on two or more CCs 310 of the set of CCs.
wherein the frequency-domain resource comprises N frequency-domain resource units, [102]- As described herein, the first UE 115 may select resources 405 and 410 in multiple CCs (e.g., in N CCs, where N>1).
and a number of LBT subbands occupied by the frequency-domain resource is less than or equal to M; and [94]- select resources that are available on all or a subset of CCs 310 of the set of CCs (e.g., multiple CCs of the set of CCs),
transmit the sidelink data over the frequency-domain resource. [95]- may transmit a sidelink message 305
Regarding Claim 20, Wu teaches, The method according to claim 14, wherein determining the frequency-domain resource within the transmission band based on the position of the frequency-domain resource located within the at least one of the LBT subbands, comprises:
determining a seventh set, wherein the seventh set comprises multiple candidate resources,[82]- For example, the first UE 115 may identify available resources for a sidelink transmission
each candidate resource comprises N frequency-domain resource units, and [114]- s described with reference to FIG. 3 , the first UE 115 may select a number of resources 505 for a sidelink message, where the resources may be available in a same transmission time occasion
the N frequency-domain resource units in each candidate resource belong to K LBT subbands, where K is an integer less than M, and [116]- resources 505 may be available at different relative frequency locations in CC0, CC1, CC2, and CC3
wherein a time-frequency resource corresponding to SCI does not have overlapping regions with any candidate resource in the seventh set; and [114]- The first UE 115 may use information received from one or more second UEs 115 (e.g., via SCI) to select the resources 505, which information may indicate reserved or busy resources 510 within the set of CCs
determining one or more of the multiple candidate resources resources in the seventh set as the frequency-domain resource.[114]- the first UE 115 may select a number of resources 505 for a sidelink message, where the resources may be available in a same transmission time occasion (e.g., slot) on multiple CCs of a set of candidate CCs.
Regarding Claim 11, Wu teaches, The method according to claim 10, further comprising: determining K based on a protocol; or receiving downlink control signaling sent by a network device, wherein the downlink control signaling comprises information indicating K. [94]- The transmitting UE 115 may select the resources according to a resource selection configuration (e.g., defined by a wireless communications standard).
Regarding Claim 22, Wu teaches, The user equipment according to claim 20, wherein the processor is further configured to determine K based on at least one of a protocol or downlink control signaling sent by a network device, wherein the downlink control signaling comprises information indicating K. [94]- The transmitting UE 115 may select the resources according to a resource selection configuration (e.g., defined by a wireless communications standard).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 2,3,12,16 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over
Wu et al.( US20230389053A1) in view of Xue et al.( US20210195637A1)
Regarding Claim 2, Wu teaches, The method according to claim 1, wherein determining the frequency- domain resource within the transmission band based on the position of the frequency- domain resource [114]- the first UE 115 may select a number of resources 505 for a sidelink message,
transmission band, as the frequency-domain resource. [95]- 310 of the subset of CCs prior to the transmission time occasion and may transmit a sidelink message 305.
Wu does not teach, located within the at least one of the LBT subbands, comprises; determining N frequency-domain resource units, located within a same LBT subband within
Xue teaches, located within the at least one of the LBT subbands, comprises: [70]- the frequency band 301 is a 20 MHz band in a 5 GHz unlicensed spectrum and may be partitioned into about four 5 MHz frequency subbands 302.
determining N frequency-domain resource units, located within a same LBT subband within the [41]- the sidelink UE may perform the LBT in units of a LBT subband size within the share radio frequency band,[84]- the sidelink UE A may perform a CAT4 LBT over a 20 MHz band (e.g., including about 4 subbands 302)
It would have been obvious to a person having an ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the system of Wu, located within the at least one of the LBT subbands, comprises; determining N frequency-domain resource units, located within a same LBT subband within as taught by Xue to use location within subbands.
Regarding Claim 3, Wu teaches, The method according to claim 2, wherein determining N frequency- domain resource units, located within the same LBT subband within the transmission band, as the frequency-domain resource, comprises:
determining a first set, wherein the first set comprises multiple candidate resources, [82]- For example, the first UE 115 may identify available resources for a sidelink transmission (e.g., sidelink message), which may be referred to as candidate resources
a candidate resource comprises N frequency-domain resource units, and [94]- A transmitting UE 115 (e.g., UE 115-a) may select a number of resources for a sidelink transmission
and determining one or more of the multiple candidate resources in the first set as the frequency-domain resource. [82]- The first UE 115 may select one or more resources 205 for the sidelink transmission from the candidate resources.
Wu does not teach, the N frequency-domain resource units in the candidate resource belong to the same LBT subband;
Xue teaches, the N frequency-domain resource units in the candidate resource belong to the same LBT subband; [71]- Each sidelink frame 304 includes a sidelink resource 306 in each frequency subband 302.
It would have been obvious to a person having an ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the system of Wu, the N frequency-domain resource units in the candidate resource belong to the same LBT subband as taught by Xue to use location within subbands.
Regarding Claim 12, Wu does not teach, The method according to claim 1,further comprising: receiving high-level signaling sent by a network device, wherein the high-level signaling comprises information indicating N..
Xue teaches, The method according to claim 1,further comprising: receiving high-level signaling sent by a network device, [83]- r instance, a BS (e.g., the BSs 105 and/or 205) may configure the sidelink UE with an LBT configuration for sidelink communication as shown in scheme 400.
wherein the high-level signaling comprises information indicating N. [83]- plurality of frequency subbands 302 and may include a sidelink resource 306 in each frequency subband 302. However, the sidelink frames 404.
It would have been obvious to a person having an ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the system of Wu, The method according to claim 1,further comprising: receiving high-level signaling sent by a network device;
wherein the high-level signaling comprises information indicating N as taught by Xue to use location within subbands.
Regarding Claim 16, Wu teaches, The user equipment according to claim 14, wherein the processor is further configured to: determine a first set, wherein the first set comprises multiple candidate resources, [82]- For example, the first UE 115 may identify available resources for a sidelink transmission (e.g., sidelink message), which may be referred to as candidate resources
a candidate resource comprises N frequency-domain resource units, and [94]- A transmitting UE 115 (e.g., UE 115-a) may select a number of resources for a sidelink transmission
and determining one or more of the multiple candidate resources in the first set as the frequency-domain resource. [82]- The first UE 115 may select one or more resources 205 for the sidelink transmission from the candidate resources.
Wu does not teach, the N frequency-domain resource units in the candidate resource belong to the same LBT subband;
Xue teaches, the N frequency-domain resource units in the candidate resource belong to the same LBT subband; [71]- Each sidelink frame 304 includes a sidelink resource 306 in each frequency subband 302.
It would have been obvious to a person having an ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the system of Wu, the N frequency-domain resource units in the candidate resource belong to the same LBT subband as taught by Xue to use location within subbands.
Conclusion
/ANINDITA SEN/Examiner, Art Unit 2478
/JOSEPH E AVELLINO/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 2478