Drawings
The drawings are objected to under 37 CFR 1.83(a). The drawings must show every feature of the invention specified in the claims. Therefore, the “removing a first SMD component reel from an exchange magazine of an SMD assembly machine using a robot arm”, “first SMD tape carried on the first SMD component reel continues to run into the SMD assembly machine during the removing of the first SMD component reel”, threading an end section of the first SMD tape into an automatic belt connector using the robot arm”, “separating the first SMD component reel from the first SMD tape”, “depositing the first SMD component reel in an intermediate storage magazine using the robot arm”, “picking up a second SMD component reel that carries a second SMD tape from a pick-up magazine using the robot arm”, “threading a start section of the second SMD tape into the automatic belt connector using the robot arm”, “inserting the second SMD component reel into the exchange magazine after a start section of the second SMD tape has been automatically connected to the end section of the first SMD tape”, and the second SMD component reel is inserted into the exchange magazine by the robot arm” of Claim 20; “the first SMD component reel is guided between the exchange magazine and the belt connector on a movement path that lies at least substantially in a plane that runs parallel to a feed direction of the first SMD tape into the SMD assembly machine”, and “the second SMD component reel is guided between the belt connector and the exchange magazine on a movement path that lies at least substantially in a plane that runs parallel to a feed direction of the second SMD tape into the SMD assembly machine” of Claim 21; “the component reel is guided by the robot arm between the exchange magazine and the belt connector along a movement path on which the first SMD component reel does not perform a rotation, or only performs a rotation exclusively around its reel rotation axis” and “the second SMD component reel is guided by the robot arm between the belt connector and the exchange magazine along a movement path on which the second SMD component reel does not rotate, or only rotates exclusively around its reel rotation axis” of claim 22; “a movement path between the exchange magazine and the belt connector” and “a movement path between the belt connector and the exchange magazine” of Claim 23; “data carrier which, in addition to its function as a carrier of data, also forms a marking” of claim 26; “a supply station” and “loading of at least one provided SMD component reel into the exchange magazine” of claim 27; “turning the belt connector from a current orientation aligned with a first working side of the autonomous vehicle into an orientation rotated by 180 degrees and aligned with a second working side of the autonomous vehicle opposite the first working side” of claim 28 must be shown or the feature(s) canceled from the claim(s). No new matter should be entered.
Claim Objections
Claim 23 objected to because of the following informalities: in line 14 “A” should read “a”. Appropriate correction is required.
Claim 25 objected to because of the following informalities: in line 7 it appears there is a typographical error and “type of having” should read “type having”. Appropriate correction is required.
Claim 26 is objected to because of the following informalities:
it appears there is a typographical error and “includes data carrier” in line 2 should read “includes a data carrier”.
it appears there is a typographical error and “griping” should read “gripping” in line 7.
Appropriate correction is required.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claim 20-29 rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
Regarding claim 20, the limitation “a force/torque-controlled movement control mode” in lines 23-24 is vague and indefinite. It is unclear whether applicant intends to claim the same force/torque-controlled movement control mode of lines 4-5, or a different force/torque-controlled movement control mode.
Claims 21-29 are rejected because they depend from rejected claim 20.
Regarding claim 22, the second instance of the limitation “a rotation” in line 5 is vague and indefinite. It is unclear whether the “a rotation” is the same rotation as claimed in the first instance of “a rotation” in line 5, or if applicant intends to claim a different rotation.
Regarding claim 25 the limitation “each different than the size, reel width, reel diameter, or component type of the first SMD component reel type” of lines 8-10 is vague and indefinite. Claim 25 does not require the limitation a first SMD component reel type, however the limitation concerning a second component reel type requires the second component reel type to be different than the first SMD component reel type. It is unclear whether applicant intends to claim a first SMD component reel type AND a second component reel type, or one of a first SMD component reel type and a second component reel type.
Claim 26 is rejected because it depends from rejected claim 25.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 20-25, and 27 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Honsberg et al. US20190152067.
Regarding independent claim 20, Honsberg et al. discloses a method for automatically reloading SMD component reels on SMD assembly machines (Paragraph [0058], lines 5-11), the method comprising: automatically removing a first SMD component reel from an exchange magazine of an SMD assembly machine using a robot arm controlled by a robot controller in a force/torque controlled movement control mode of the robot arm (Paragraph [0011], lines 8-10), wherein a first SMD tape carried on the first SMD component reel continues to run into the SMD assembly machine during the removing of the first SMD component reel (Paragraph [0011], lines 8-10); automatically threading an end section of the first SMD tape into an automatic belt connector using the robot arm controlled by the robot controller and automatically separating the first SMD component reel from the first SMD tape (Paragraph [0011], lines 1-8); depositing the first SMD component reel in an intermediate storage magazine using the robot arm (Paragraph [0011], lines 8-10); picking up a second SMD component reel that carries a second SMD tape from a pick-up magazine using the robot arm controlled by the robot controller (Paragraph [0011], lines 8-10); automatically threading a start section of the second SMD tape into the automatic belt connector using the robot arm controlled by the robot controller (Paragraph [0011], lines 1- 8); and automatically inserting the second SMD component reel into the exchange magazine after a start section of the second SMD tape has been automatically connected to the end section of the first SMD tape in the belt connector, wherein the second SMD tape runs off the second SMD component reel in ongoing operation of the SMD assembly machine during the inserting of the second SMD component reel (Paragraph [0011], line 1- Paragraph [0012], line 9); wherein the second SMD component reel is inserted into the exchange magazine by the robot arm controlled by the robot controller in a force/torque-controlled movement control mode of the robot arm (Paragraph [0003]; Paragraph [0019], lines 3-5; Paragraph [0020]).
Regarding claim 21, Honsberg et al. discloses the limitations of claim 21, and the robot arm is controlled by the robot controller such that the first SMD component reel is guided between the exchange magazine and the belt connector on a movement path (Paragraph [0003]; Paragraph [0011], lines 8-10) that lies at least substantially in a plane that runs parallel to a feed direction of the first SMD tape into the SMD assembly machine (Paragraph [0016], lines 7-10).
Regarding claim 22, Honsberg et al. discloses the limitations of claim 20, and the robot arm is controlled by the robot controller such that the first SMD component reel is guided between the exchange magazine and the belt connector on a movement path (Paragraph [0003]; Paragraph [0011], lines 8-10) that lies at least substantially in a plane that runs parallel to a feed direction of the first SMD tape into the SMD assembly machine (Paragraph [0016], lines 7-10).
Regarding claim 23, Honsberg et al. discloses the limitations of claim 20, and the robot arm is controlled by the robot controller such that the first SMD component reel is guided by the robot arm between the exchange magazine and the belt connector along a movement path on which the first SMD component reel only performs a rotation exclusively around its reel rotation axis (Paragraph [0011], lines 4-8).
Regarding claim 24, Honsberg et al. discloses the limitations of claim 20, and the automatic threading of the end section of the first SMD tape into the automatic belt connector is carried out by the robot arm controlled by the robot controller in a force/torque-controlled movement control mode of the robot arm (Paragraph [0011], lines 4-8; Paragraph [0019], lines 1-5).
Regarding claim 25, Honsberg et al. discloses the limitations of claim 20, and the robot arm (1, Fig. 8) controlled by the robot controller (Paragraph [0019], lines 1-5) handles a standardized cassette (5, Fig. 9), wherein each standardized cassette has an identical design and size (5, Fig. 9); and the standardized cassette is designed and configured to store: a first SMD component reel (4, Fig. 9) type having at least one of a first component type (Paragraph [0036], lines 3-4).
Regarding claim 27, Honsberg et al. discloses the limitations of claim 20, and the robot arm is arranged on an autonomous vehicle (Paragraph [0058], lines 1-5); the method further comprising: automatically moving the robot arm using the autonomous vehicle between a supply station at which SMD component reels populated with SMD components are provided for transport to an SMD assembly machine, and the exchange magazine of the SMD assembly machine, and loading at least one provided SMD component reel into the exchange magazine (Paragraph [0058], lines 5-11).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 26 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Honsberg et al. US20190152067 in view of Iisaka, US9814168.
Regarding claim 26, Honsberg et al. discloses the limitations of claim 25, and approaching and griping the cassette with a gripper guided by the robot arm with precise positioning (Paragraph [0008]). Honsberg et al. does not disclose the standardized cassette includes data carrier which, in addition to its function as a carrier of data, also forms a marking by which the robot arm can automatically align itself with respect to the cassette in order to be gripped; and the method further comprises: detecting the marking of a cassette.
Iisaka teaches a method for automatically loading and reloading SMD component reels wherein the standardized cassette includes data carrier which, in addition to its function as a carrier of data, also forms a marking by which the robot arm can automatically align itself with respect to the cassette in order to be gripped (Column 3, lines 34-54); and the method further comprises: detecting the marking of a cassette (Column 3, lines 37-39).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to modify the cassette to have the data carrier where the method comprises detecting a marking of the cassette since it has been held that broadly providing a mechanical or automatic means to replace manual activity which has accomplished the same result involves only routine skill in the art. In re Venner, 120 USPQ 192. One would have been motivated to make this modification to easily identify cassettes carrying the same components and reliably grip and position the cassettes and reels for smooth operation.
Claim(s) 28 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Honsberg et al. US20190152067 in view of Chi, US9731922.
Regarding claim 28, Honsberg et al. discloses the limitations of claim 27, and an autonomous vehicle (Paragraph [0058], lines 1-5); a belt connector (Paragraph [0011], lines 4-8); the method comprising automatically inserting the second SMD component reel into an SMD assembly machine located on the second working side (4 inserted into assembly machine 31 from second working side, left side of 30, Fig. 8)). Honsberg et al. does not disclose the belt connector is arranged on the autonomous vehicle and is configured for automatic rotation by at least 180 degrees; and the method comprises: turning the belt connector from a current orientation aligned with a first working side of the autonomous vehicle into an orientation rotated by 180 degrees and aligned with a second working side of the autonomous vehicle opposite the first working side.
Chi teaches a method of loading and reloading SMD component reels comprising wherein the belt connector is configured for automatic rotation by at least 180 degrees (103 can rotate 180 degrees, Fig. 27; Column 12, lines 51-54); and the method comprises: turning the belt connector from a current orientation aligned with a first working side into an orientation rotated by 180 degrees and aligned with a second working side opposite the first working side (Column 12, lines 53-57).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to modify the method of Honsberg to et al. to have the belt connector be rotatable as taught by Chi in order to accommodate the orientation of the component reels as they are loaded and reloaded by the robot arm and fed into the belt connector.
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to modify the method of Honsberg to have the belt connector located on the autonomous vehicle, since it has been held that rearranging parts of an invention involves only routine skill in the art. In re Japikse, 86 USPQ 70. One would have been motivated to make such a modification to accommodate space constraints, and ensure access to the belt connector during loading and reloading of SMD component reels.
Claim(s) 29 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Honsberg et al. US20190152067.
Regarding claim 29, Honsberg et al. discloses the limitations of claim 27, and an intermediate storage magazine (Paragraph [0011], lines 8-10) and an autonomous vehicle (Paragraph [0058], lines 1-5). Honsberg does not disclose the intermediate storage magazine is located on the autonomous vehicle. However, It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to place the intermediate storage magazine on the autonomous vehicle, since it has been held that rearranging parts of an invention involves only routine skill in the art. In re Japikse, 86 USPQ 70. One would have been motivated to make such a modification to accommodate space constraints, and ensure easier access to the intermediate storage magazine during operation.
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure.
/K.R.B./ Examiner, Art Unit 3654
/Victoria P Augustine/ Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 3654