DETAILED ACTION
This communication is responsive to Application No. #18/860,904 filed on October 28, 2024. Claims 1-15 are subject to examination.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claims 3, 6, 11, and 13 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor, or for pre-AIA the applicant regards as the invention.
Regarding claims 3, 6, 11, and 13, the claims recite the limitations "… wherein the wireless communication …”. There is insufficient antecedent basis for this limitation in the claims.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1-8 and 14-15 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Zhang et.al. (US Patent Application Publication, 20220039161, hereinafter, “Zhang”) in view of Huang; Chun-Wei et.al. (US Patent Application Publication, 20230064680, hereinafter, “Huang”).
Regarding claim 1, Zhang teaches:
A method comprising (Zhang: [0075] FIG. 3B illustrates a Mode 2 physical-layer procedure flow (procedure flow 550) for sidelink resource grants in accordance with the above mentioned V2X interface. Procedure flow 550 of FIG. 3B is described with reference to a V2X mesh network between UEs 115j and 115k ... Fig. 3B):
receiving, from a second device, sidelink control information (SCI) related to a channel occupancy time (COT) (Zhang: [0076] In the second mode (Mode 2), the TX UE 115k performs channel sensing by blindly decoding all PSCCH channels and identifies reserved resources by other sidelink transmissions. The TX UE 115k reports available resources to an upper layer (of the TX UE 115k) and the upper layer decides resource usage. [0077] In procedure flow 550 of FIG. 3B, after a decision of the resource usage, the TX UE 115k [i.e., claimed second device] transmits a PSCCH 560. The PSCCH 560 may also include sidelink control information (SCI), such as SCI 0_1. The SCI may include information about a bandwidth, one or more resource reservations, COT information, COT sharing information, a source ID of TX UE 115k, or a combination thereof. Fig. 3B);
determining to use the COT, based on a first destination identifier (ID) included in the SCI and a first ID of a first device (Zhang: [0078] Additionally, in the procedure flow 550, the RX UE 115j [i.e., claimed first device] performs blind decoding of one or more subchannels to detect the PSCCH 560. In the procedure flow 550, after transmitting the PSCCH 560, the TX UE 115k may transmit a PSSCH (not shown) to the RX UE 115j. In some implementations, the PSCCH 560 and PSSCH are transmitted within a same slot. The PSSCH may include SCI that includes or indicates a source ID (associated with the TX UE 115k) and a destination ID [destination ID/first ID] (associated with the RX UE 115j), which are used to distinguish whether the packet is for the RX UE 115j [i.e., claimed first device] and coming from which TX UE [i.e., claimed second device]. After transmission of the PSSCH by the TX UE 115k, the RX UE 115j may transmit PSFCH to the TX UE 115k. Fig. 3B).
Although Zhang teaches the transmit UE transmitting, to a receiving UE, sidelink control information that includes resource reservation information, channel occupancy time (COT) information and COT sharing information, and destination ID; Zhang does not explicitly teach:
performing channel sensing for a first resource within the COT; and transmitting, to the second device, SL data using the first resource, based on a result of the channel sensing being IDLE.
However, in the same field of endeavor, Huang teaches:
performing channel sensing for a first resource within the COT; and transmitting, to the second device, SL data using the first resource, based on a result of the channel sensing being IDLE (Huang: [0613] In some examples, based on (e.g., in response to) structure of the COT initiated by the first UE [i.e., claimed second device] comprising at least one gap (e.g., at least one pause), the first UE may determine (e.g., set and/or generate) the LBT type/CP extension information to correspond to (e.g., to be indicative of) long LBT and/or to correspond to (e.g., to be indicative of) being with CP extension or being without CP extension (and/or the first UE may indicate the LBT type/CP extension information as corresponding to long LBT and/or as corresponding to being with CP extension or being without CP extension) ... In some examples, the first sidelink transmission is associated with (e.g., is in) a first sidelink resource pool. The second sidelink transmission is associated with (e.g., is in) a second sidelink resource pool … In some examples, the second UE may perform LBT based on the LBT type/CP extension information. In some examples, if the gap (e.g., the pause) is sensed as idle (according to the LBT, for example), the second UE may perform the second sidelink transmission …).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the invention of Zhang to include the features as taught by Huang above in order to provide increased efficiency of communication between devices. (Huang, ¶ [0775, 0882]).
Regarding claim 2, Zhang-Huang discloses on the features with respect to claim 1 as outlined above.
Huang further teaches:
wherein the COT is related to a first resource block (RB) set, and
wherein the first resource is included in the first RB set (Huang: [0621] FIG. 7 illustrates a scenario 700 associated with sidelink slots and/or initiation of a COT. Each square of a slot diagram 710 is representative of a physical slot (e.g., one physical slot) comprising DL, UL, SL, reserved, and/or gap symbols. Gray-filled squares in the slot diagram 710 are representative of slots that are associated with (e.g., that are in) one or more sidelink resource pools. For clarity, the slots shown in the slot diagram 710 are labeled S1 (Slot 1), S2 (Slot 2), . . . , S15 (Slot 15). In the example shown in FIG. 7, a periodicity of PSFCH resources in the sidelink resource pool is assumed to be 4 slots (e.g., a period of 4 slots may separate a first PSFCH resource 704 from a second PSFCH resource 706), and a time relation between 4 slots comprising PSSCH and 1 slot comprising PSFCH may have a sidelink slot offset equal to 2. In other words, the 1st through 4th slots comprising PSSCH may be associated with PSFCH (e.g., PSFCH resource 706) in the 6th sidelink slot while the 5th through 8th slots comprising PSSCH may be associated with PSFCH in the 10th sidelink slot (the 10th sidelink slot is not shown in FIG. 7). In the example shown in FIG. 7, the 1st through 4th slots comprising PSSCH correspond to slots S3˜S6, wherein the 6th sidelink slot (comprising the PSFCH resource 706) corresponds to slot S8. The 1st through 4th slots comprising PSSCH may be mapped to the PSFCH in the 6th sidelink slot (via 4-to-1 mapping, for example). A first UE initiates a COT 712 comprising the 3rd through 9th slots (e.g., physical slots S3˜S9), (e.g., the COT 712 comprises the 1st through 7th sidelink slots). The first UE may perform sidelink transmission D1 to a second UE in the COT 712. The first UE may perform sidelink transmission D2 to the second UE in the COT 712.. Fig. 7).
The rationale and motivation for adding this teaching of Huang is the same as the rationale and motivation for Claim 1.
Regarding claim 3, Zhang-Huang discloses on the features with respect to claim 1 as outlined above.
Huang further teaches:
wherein the wireless communication is unicast communication, and
wherein the first ID is a first partial ID that is 16 least significant bits (LSBs) of a first source ID of the first device (Huang: [0266] 3> if this TB is associated to unicast, the DST field of the decoded MAC PDU subheader is equal to the 8 MSB of any of the Source Layer-2 ID(s) of the UE for which the 16 LSB are equal to the Destination ID in the corresponding SCI ...).
The rationale and motivation for adding this teaching of Huang is the same as the rationale and motivation for Claim 1.
Regarding claim 4, Zhang-Huang discloses on the features with respect to claim 3 as outlined above.
Huang further teaches:
wherein the COT is determined to be used, based on
i) the first destination ID and the first partial ID being the same (Huang: [0266] 3> if this TB is associated to unicast, the DST field of the decoded MAC PDU subheader is equal to the 8 MSB of any of the Source Layer-2 ID(s) of the UE for which the 16 LSB are equal to the Destination ID in the corresponding SCI …) and
ii) a second source ID included in the SCI and a second partial ID that is 8 LSBs of a second destination ID of the first device being the same (Huang: [0266] … the SRC field of the decoded MAC PDU subheader is equal to the 16 MSB of any of the Destination Layer-2 ID(s) of the UE for which the 8 LSB are equal to the Source ID in the corresponding SCI.).
The rationale and motivation for adding this teaching of Huang is the same as the rationale and motivation for Claim 1.
Regarding claim 5, Zhang-Huang discloses on the features with respect to claim 4 as outlined above.
Huang further teaches:
receiving, from the second device, a medium access control (MAC) protocol data unit (PDU) related to the COT, wherein the COT is determined to be used (Huang: [0751] With respect to one or more embodiments herein, in some examples, the second UE may transmit unicast sidelink transmission on the shared COT (e.g., the shared COT initiated by the first UE) if the unicast sidelink transmission is targeted to the first UE.), based on
i) the first destination ID and the first partial ID being the same (Huang: [0266] 3> if this TB is associated to unicast, the DST field of the decoded MAC PDU subheader is equal to the 8 MSB of any of the Source Layer-2 ID(s) of the UE for which the 16 LSB are equal to the Destination ID in the corresponding SCI …),
ii) the second source ID and the second partial ID being the same (Huang: [0266] … the SRC field of the decoded MAC PDU subheader is equal to the 16 MSB of any of the Destination Layer-2 ID(s) of the UE for which the 8 LSB are equal to the Source ID in the corresponding SCI.),
iii) a third destination ID included in a MAC subheader of the MAC PDU and a third partial ID that is remaining 8 bits after excluding the first partial ID from the first source ID being the same (Huang: [0266] 3> if this TB is associated to unicast, the DST field of the decoded MAC PDU subheader is equal to the 8 MSB of any of the Source Layer-2 ID(s) of the UE …), and
iv) a third source ID included in the MAC subheader and a fourth partial ID that is remaining 16 bits after excluding the second partial ID from the second destination ID being the same (Huang: [0266] … the SRC field of the decoded MAC PDU subheader is equal to the 16 MSB of any of the Destination Layer-2 ID(s) of the UE for which the 8 LSB are equal to the Source ID in the corresponding SCI.).
The rationale and motivation for adding this teaching of Huang is the same as the rationale and motivation for Claim 1.
Regarding claim 6, Zhang-Huang discloses on the features with respect to claim 1 as outlined above.
Huang further teaches:
wherein the wireless communication is groupcast communication or broadcast communication, and
wherein the first ID is a first partial ID that is 16 LSBs of a second destination ID related to the SL data (Huang: [0267] 3> if this TB is associated to groupcast or broadcast and the DST field of the decoded MAC PDU subheader is equal to the 8 MSB of any of the Destination Layer-2 ID(s) of the UE for which the 16 LSB are equal to the Destination ID in the corresponding SCI.).
The rationale and motivation for adding this teaching of Huang is the same as the rationale and motivation for Claim 1.
Regarding claim 7, Zhang-Huang discloses on the features with respect to claim 6 as outlined above.
Huang further teaches:
wherein the COT is determined to be used based on the first destination ID and the first partial ID being the same (Huang: [0267] 3> if this TB is associated to groupcast or broadcast and the DST field of the decoded MAC PDU subheader is equal to the 8 MSB of any of the Destination Layer-2 ID(s) of the UE for which the 16 LSB are equal to the Destination ID in the corresponding SCI.).
The rationale and motivation for adding this teaching of Huang is the same as the rationale and motivation for Claim 1.
Regarding claim 8, Zhang-Huang discloses on the features with respect to claim 7 as outlined above.
Huang further teaches:
receiving, from the second device, a MAC PDU related to the COT, wherein the COT is determined to be used (Huang: [0752] With respect to one or more embodiments herein, in some examples, the second UE may transmit broadcast sidelink transmission or groupcast sidelink transmission on the shared COT (e.g., the shared COT initiated by the first UE) if the broadcast sidelink transmission or the groupcast sidelink transmission includes a target UE as the first UE …), based on
i) the first destination ID and the first partial ID being the same (Huang: [0267] 3> if this TB is associated to groupcast or broadcast and the DST field of the decoded MAC PDU subheader is equal to the 8 MSB of any of the Destination Layer-2 ID(s) of the UE for which the 16 LSB are equal to the Destination ID in the corresponding SCI.) and
ii) a third destination ID included in a MAC subheader of the MAC PDU and a second partial ID that is remaining 8 bits after excluding the first partial ID from the second destination ID being the same (Huang: [0267] 3> if this TB is associated to groupcast or broadcast and the DST field of the decoded MAC PDU subheader is equal to the 8 MSB of any of the Destination Layer-2 ID(s) of the UE for which the 16 LSB are equal to the Destination ID in the corresponding SCI.).
The rationale and motivation for adding this teaching of Huang is the same as the rationale and motivation for Claim 1.
Regarding claim 14, Zhang teaches:
A first device comprising (Zhang: [0075] FIG. 3B illustrates a Mode 2 physical-layer procedure flow (procedure flow 550) for sidelink resource grants in accordance with the above mentioned V2X interface. Procedure flow 550 of FIG. 3B is described with reference to a V2X mesh network between UEs 115j and 115k ... Fig. 3B):
at least one transceiver; at least one processor; and at least one memory operably connected to the at least one processor, and storing instructions, wherein the instructions, based on being executed by the at least one processor, cause the first device to (Zhang: [0086] The UE 115 … can include one or more processors 302 (hereinafter referred to collectively as “processor 302”), one or more memory devices 304 (hereinafter referred to collectively as “memory 304”), one or more transmitters 316 (hereinafter referred to collectively as “transmitter 316”), and one or more receivers 318 (hereinafter referred to collectively as “receiver 318”) ... The processor 302 may be configured to execute instructions stored in the memory 304 to perform the operations described herein ... Figs. 3B, 4):
receive, from a second device, sidelink control information (SCI) related to a channel occupancy time (COT) (Zhang: [0076] In the second mode (Mode 2), the TX UE 115k performs channel sensing by blindly decoding all PSCCH channels and identifies reserved resources by other sidelink transmissions. The TX UE 115k reports available resources to an upper layer (of the TX UE 115k) and the upper layer decides resource usage. [0077] In procedure flow 550 of FIG. 3B, after a decision of the resource usage, the TX UE 115k [i.e., claimed second device] transmits a PSCCH 560. The PSCCH 560 may also include sidelink control information (SCI), such as SCI 0_1. The SCI may include information about a bandwidth, one or more resource reservations, COT information, COT sharing information, a source ID of TX UE 115k, or a combination thereof. Fig. 3B);
determine to use the COT, based on a first destination identifier (ID) included in the SCI and a first ID of the first device (Zhang: [0078] Additionally, in the procedure flow 550, the RX UE 115j [i.e., claimed first device] performs blind decoding of one or more subchannels to detect the PSCCH 560. In the procedure flow 550, after transmitting the PSCCH 560, the TX UE 115k may transmit a PSSCH (not shown) to the RX UE 115j. In some implementations, the PSCCH 560 and PSSCH are transmitted within a same slot. The PSSCH may include SCI that includes or indicates a source ID (associated with the TX UE 115k) and a destination ID [destination ID/first ID] (associated with the RX UE 115j), which are used to distinguish whether the packet is for the RX UE 115j [i.e., claimed first device] and coming from which TX UE [i.e., claimed second device]. After transmission of the PSSCH by the TX UE 115k, the RX UE 115j may transmit PSFCH to the TX UE 115k. Fig. 3B).
Although Zhang teaches the transmit UE transmitting, to a receiving UE, sidelink control information that includes resource reservation information, channel occupancy time (COT) information and COT sharing information, and destination ID; Zhang does not explicitly teach:
perform channel sensing for a first resource within the COT; and transmit, to the second device, SL data using the first resource, based on a result of the channel sensing being IDLE.
However, in the same field of endeavor, Huang teaches:
perform channel sensing for a first resource within the COT; and transmit, to the second device, SL data using the first resource, based on a result of the channel sensing being IDLE (Huang: [0613] In some examples, based on (e.g., in response to) structure of the COT initiated by the first UE [i.e., claimed second device] comprising at least one gap (e.g., at least one pause), the first UE may determine (e.g., set and/or generate) the LBT type/CP extension information to correspond to (e.g., to be indicative of) long LBT and/or to correspond to (e.g., to be indicative of) being with CP extension or being without CP extension (and/or the first UE may indicate the LBT type/CP extension information as corresponding to long LBT and/or as corresponding to being with CP extension or being without CP extension) ... In some examples, the first sidelink transmission is associated with (e.g., is in) a first sidelink resource pool. The second sidelink transmission is associated with (e.g., is in) a second sidelink resource pool … In some examples, the second UE may perform LBT based on the LBT type/CP extension information. In some examples, if the gap (e.g., the pause) is sensed as idle (according to the LBT, for example), the second UE may perform the second sidelink transmission …).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the invention of Zhang to include the features as taught by Huang above in order to provide increased efficiency of communication between devices. (Huang, ¶ [0775, 0882]).
Regarding claim 15, Zhang teaches:
A processing device adapted to control a first device, the processing device comprising (Zhang: [0075] FIG. 3B illustrates a Mode 2 physical-layer procedure flow (procedure flow 550) for sidelink resource grants in accordance with the above mentioned V2X interface. Procedure flow 550 of FIG. 3B is described with reference to a V2X mesh network between UEs 115j and 115k ... Fig. 3B):
at least one processor; and at least one memory operably connected to the at least one processor and storing instructions, wherein the instruction, based on being executed by the at least one processor, cause the first device to (Zhang: [0086] The UE 115 … can include one or more processors 302 (hereinafter referred to collectively as “processor 302”), one or more memory devices 304 (hereinafter referred to collectively as “memory 304”), one or more transmitters 316 (hereinafter referred to collectively as “transmitter 316”), and one or more receivers 318 (hereinafter referred to collectively as “receiver 318”) ... The processor 302 may be configured to execute instructions stored in the memory 304 to perform the operations described herein ... Figs. 3B, 4):
receive, from a second device, sidelink control information (SCI) related to a channel occupancy time (COT) (Zhang: [0076] In the second mode (Mode 2), the TX UE 115k performs channel sensing by blindly decoding all PSCCH channels and identifies reserved resources by other sidelink transmissions. The TX UE 115k reports available resources to an upper layer (of the TX UE 115k) and the upper layer decides resource usage. [0077] In procedure flow 550 of FIG. 3B, after a decision of the resource usage, the TX UE 115k [i.e., claimed second device] transmits a PSCCH 560. The PSCCH 560 may also include sidelink control information (SCI), such as SCI 0_1. The SCI may include information about a bandwidth, one or more resource reservations, COT information, COT sharing information, a source ID of TX UE 115k, or a combination thereof. Fig. 3B);
determine to use the COT, based on a first destination identifier (ID) included in the SCI and a first ID of the first device (Zhang: [0078] Additionally, in the procedure flow 550, the RX UE 115j [i.e., claimed first device] performs blind decoding of one or more subchannels to detect the PSCCH 560. In the procedure flow 550, after transmitting the PSCCH 560, the TX UE 115k may transmit a PSSCH (not shown) to the RX UE 115j. In some implementations, the PSCCH 560 and PSSCH are transmitted within a same slot. The PSSCH may include SCI that includes or indicates a source ID (associated with the TX UE 115k) and a destination ID [destination ID/first ID] (associated with the RX UE 115j), which are used to distinguish whether the packet is for the RX UE 115j [i.e., claimed first device] and coming from which TX UE [i.e., claimed second device]. After transmission of the PSSCH by the TX UE 115k, the RX UE 115j may transmit PSFCH to the TX UE 115k. Fig. 3B).
Although Zhang teaches the transmit UE transmitting, to a receiving UE, sidelink control information that includes resource reservation information, channel occupancy time (COT) information and COT sharing information, and destination ID; Zhang does not explicitly teach:
perform channel sensing for a first resource within the COT; and transmit, to the second device, SL data using the first resource, based on a result of the channel sensing being IDLE.
However, in the same field of endeavor, Huang teaches:
perform channel sensing for a first resource within the COT; and transmit, to the second device, SL data using the first resource, based on a result of the channel sensing being IDLE (Huang: [0613] In some examples, based on (e.g., in response to) structure of the COT initiated by the first UE [i.e., claimed second device] comprising at least one gap (e.g., at least one pause), the first UE may determine (e.g., set and/or generate) the LBT type/CP extension information to correspond to (e.g., to be indicative of) long LBT and/or to correspond to (e.g., to be indicative of) being with CP extension or being without CP extension (and/or the first UE may indicate the LBT type/CP extension information as corresponding to long LBT and/or as corresponding to being with CP extension or being without CP extension) ... In some examples, the first sidelink transmission is associated with (e.g., is in) a first sidelink resource pool. The second sidelink transmission is associated with (e.g., is in) a second sidelink resource pool … In some examples, the second UE may perform LBT based on the LBT type/CP extension information. In some examples, if the gap (e.g., the pause) is sensed as idle (according to the LBT, for example), the second UE may perform the second sidelink transmission …).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the invention of Zhang to include the features as taught by Huang above in order to provide increased efficiency of communication between devices. (Huang, ¶ [0775, 0882]).
Claims 9-13 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Zhang-Huang in view of Wang et.al. (US Patent Application Publication, 20250008558, hereinafter, “Wang”).
Regarding claim 9, Zhang-Huang discloses on the features with respect to claim 1 as outlined above.
Zhang-Huang does not explicitly teach:
wherein the SCI includes information related to a frame based equipment (FBE).
However, in the same field of endeavor, Wang teaches:
wherein the SCI includes information related to a frame based equipment (FBE) (Wang: [0199] Upon reception of the configuration information, the second UEs in the proximity learn about the channel access type that will be used by the upcoming transmission by the first UE. COT sharing related information may also be carried in the signaling in the SL link (e.g., SCI) … [0201] Where the first and/or second UE are frame-based equipment (FBE) or operating in FBE mode for channel access, the configuration information transmitted … from the first UE to the one or more second UEs, may additionally or alternatively include an indication of the fixed frame period (FFP) …).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the invention of Zhang-Huang to include the features as taught by Wang above in order to provide sidelink transmissions using unlicensed spectrum. (Wang, ¶ [0001]).
Regarding claim 10, Zhang-Huang-Wang discloses on the features with respect to claim 9 as outlined above.
Wang further teaches:
determining to use the information related to the FBE, based on the first destination ID and the first ID (Wang: [0067] Another new feature is the two-stage sidelink control information (SCI). This a version of the DCI for SL … only part (first stage) of the SCI is sent on the PSCCH. This part is used for channel sensing purposes (including the reserved time-frequency resources for transmissions, demodulation reference signal (DMRS) pattern and antenna port, etc.) and can be read by all UEs while the remaining (second stage) scheduling and control information such as a 8-bits source identity (ID) and a 16-bits destination ID, NDI, RV and HARQ process ID is sent on the PSSCH to be decoded by the receiver UEU.).
The rationale and motivation for adding this teaching of Wang is the same as the rationale and motivation for Claim 9.
Regarding claim 11, Zhang-Huang-Wang discloses on the features with respect to claim 10 as outlined above.
Huang further teaches:
wherein the wireless communication is unicast communication, and
wherein the first ID is a first partial ID that is 16 LSBs of a first source ID of the first device (Huang: [0266] 3> if this TB is associated to unicast, the DST field of the decoded MAC PDU subheader is equal to the 8 MSB of any of the Source Layer-2 ID(s) of the UE for which the 16 LSB are equal to the Destination ID in the corresponding SCI …).
The rationale and motivation for adding this teaching of Huang is the same as the rationale and motivation for Claim 1.
Regarding claim 12, Zhang-Huang-Wang discloses on the features with respect to claim 11 as outlined above.
Huang further teaches:
wherein the information related to the FBE is determined to be used, based on
i) the first destination ID and the first partial ID being the same (Huang: [0266] 3> if this TB is associated to unicast, the DST field of the decoded MAC PDU subheader is equal to the 8 MSB of any of the Source Layer-2 ID(s) of the UE for which the 16 LSB are equal to the Destination ID in the corresponding SCI …) and
ii) a second source ID included in the SCI and a second partial ID that is 8 LSBs of a second destination ID of the first device being the same (Huang: [0266] … the SRC field of the decoded MAC PDU subheader is equal to the 16 MSB of any of the Destination Layer-2 ID(s) of the UE for which the 8 LSB are equal to the Source ID in the corresponding SCI.).
The rationale and motivation for adding this teaching of Huang is the same as the rationale and motivation for Claim 1.
Regarding claim 13, Zhang-Huang-Wang discloses on the features with respect to claim 10 as outlined above.
Huang further teaches:
, wherein the wireless communication is groupcast communication or broadcast communication, and
wherein the first ID is a first partial ID that is 16 LSBs of a second destination ID related to the SL data (Huang: [0267] 3> if this TB is associated to groupcast or broadcast and the DST field of the decoded MAC PDU subheader is equal to the 8 MSB of any of the Destination Layer-2 ID(s) of the UE for which the 16 LSB are equal to the Destination ID in the corresponding SCI.).
The rationale and motivation for adding this teaching of Huang is the same as the rationale and motivation for Claim 1.
Conclusion
/LIEM H. NGUYEN/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2416