DETAILED ACTION
Preliminary Remarks
This is a reply to the amendments filed on 04/15/2026, in which, claim 1 is amended. Claims 1-5 remain pending in the present application with claim 1 being independent claim.
When making claim amendments, the applicant is encouraged to consider the references in their entireties, including those portions that have not been cited by the examiner and their equivalents as they may most broadly and appropriately apply to any particular anticipated claim amendments.
Information Disclosure Statement
The information disclosure statement (IDS) submitted on February 4, 2026 is in compliance with the provisions of 37 CFR 1.97 and is being considered by the Examiner.
Response to Arguments
Applicant's arguments filed on 04/15/2026 with respect to amended claim 1 have been considered but are moot in view of the new ground(s) of rejection.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1, 2, and 5 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Englander et al. (US 20150085121 A1, hereinafter referred to as “Englander”) in view of Döring et al. (US 20210243423 A1, hereinafter referred to as “Döring”).
Regarding claim 1, Englander discloses a device configured to carry a camera installed on a vehicle, the device comprises:
a mount coupled to the housing and configured to secure the device to a sloped surface (see Englander, paragraph [0127]: “ Mount 210 may be adjusted to change the angle of the dual-vision system 200 with respect to, for example, windshields or dashboards with various slopes or angles while allowing the dual-vision system 200 to remain fixed in a vertical position”);
an adjusting pin coupled on one end to the mount and on another end to the housing (see Englander, paragraph [0123]: “camera unit 220 is fixed to one or both of housing back 207 and housing front 201 by screws or rivets”),
wherein said adjusting pin is configured to adjust an angle between the mount and the housing (see Englander, paragraph [0127]: “Mount 210 may be adjusted to change the angle of the dual-vision system 200 with respect to, for example, windshields or dashboards with various slopes or angles while allowing the dual-vision system 200 to remain fixed in a vertical position”).
Regarding claim 1, Englander discloses all the claimed limitations with the exception of a housing configured to accommodate a main camera and a second camera and comprising a front cover, the front cover comprising apertures for the main camera and the second camera, wherein the main camera and the second camera having a different optical focus.
Döring from the same or similar fields of endeavor discloses a housing configured to accommodate a main camera and a second camera and comprising a front cover, the front cover comprising apertures for the main camera and the second camera (see Döring, paragraph [0035]: “The two cameras 111 and 112 are arranged on the reverse side of the carrying structure 102 and fixed thereto, wherein the carrying structure 102 is provided with apertures through which the respective camera 111, 112 can acquire images through the front side of the carrying structure 102. The two cameras 111, 112 are preferably surrounded by the connecting means for the floating connection of the housing 104 with the carrying structure 102”), wherein the main camera and the second camera having a different optical focus (see Döring, paragraph [0072]: “Adjusting the depth of field can be useful in providing sharpness of an image at a selected focus distance. Thus, each camera has the ability to adjust its scanning range using the adjustable aperture”).
Therefore it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to utilize the teachings as in Döring with the teachings as in Englander. The motivation for doing so would ensure the system to have the ability to use the arrangement of the one or more cameras are located on a front side of the 3D measuring device that faces the environment and/or an object in the environment disclosed in Döring to arrange two cameras surrounding by the connecting structure of the housing on a carrying structure and fixed thereto wherein the carrying structure is provided with apertures through which the respective camera can acquire images through the front side of the carrying structure and each camera has the ability to adjust its focus distance using the adjustable aperture thus accommodating a main camera and a second camera in a housing; and comprising apertures for the main camera and the second camera in the front cover wherein the main camera and the second camera having a different optical focus in order to accommodate two cameras having different optical focus a single front-facing cover therefore the two cameras can be used for identifying/recognizing objects with different focal length.
Regarding claim 2, the combination teachings of Englander and Döring as discussed above also discloses the device of claim 1, wherein the adjusting pin is placed in an axis connecting the housing and the mount (see Englander, paragraph [0121]: “Mount 210 is optionally provided that connects dual-vision system 200 to a windshield, ceiling, mirror or dashboard. The housing attaches to the windshield/ceiling mount via tooth mesh (similar to gears, except there is no rotation permitted when the securing screw is tightened). The housing mount can be adjusted in reference to the mount by way of mount hinge 211 so that it always is in a vertical and/or predetermined position”).
The motivation for combining the references has been discussed in claim 1 above.
Regarding claim 5, the combination teachings of Englander and Döring as discussed above also disclose the device of claim 1, wherein a layer of adhesive materials covers a portion of the mount (see Englander, paragraph [0092]: “in place of a fastener, an adhesive or bond might be employed.”), for securing the mount to the sloped surface or to a ceiling of the vehicle (see Englander, paragraph [0127]: “windshields or dashboards with various slopes or angles while allowing the dual-vision system 200 to remain fixed in a vertical position”).
The motivation for combining the references has been discussed in claim 1 above.
Claims 3 and 4 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Englander and Döring as applied to claim 1, and further in view of Holop et al. (US 20110277775 A1, hereinafter referred to as “Holop”).
Regarding claim 3, the combination teachings of Englander and Döring as discussed above disclose all the claimed limitations with the exception of the device of claim 2, further comprising multiple housing loops coupled to the housing, wherein the multiple housing loops form parallel apertures located in a single plane, enabling insertion of the adjusting pin thereto.
Holop from the same or similar fields of endeavor discloses the device of claim 2, further comprising multiple housing loops coupled to the housing, wherein the multiple housing loops form parallel apertures located in a single plane, enabling insertion of the adjusting pin thereto (see Holop, paragraph [0202]: “Referring now to FIGS. 33-36C, adjusting movement of the adjustment pin 3106 relative to linear guide 3072 is described in greater detail. FIG. 33 illustrates a side view of the adjustment pin 3106 coupled to linear guide 3072, a circle 3114, and a circle center 3114 a about which adjustment pin 3106 may pivot when the adjustment pin is not fully locked in place relative to linear guide 3072. FIG. 34 illustrates linear guide markings 3072 b and adjustment pin markings 3106 c when a central longitudinal axis 3107 of adjustment pin 3106 is perpendicular to a central longitudinal axis 3097 of the linear guide 3072 or guide track 3096. The linear guide markings 3072 b and adjustment pin markings 3106 c may be used by an adjuster of the counterbalancing system (and in particular the plug orientation) to determine relative positions of the adjustment pin and linear guide”).
Therefore it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to utilize the teachings as in Holop with the teachings as in Englander and Döring. The motivation for doing so would ensure the system to have the mount mechanism disclosed in Holop to use adjustment pin to adjust movement relative to linear guide wherein the linear guide markings and adjustment pin markings when a central longitudinal axis of adjustment pin is perpendicular to a central longitudinal axis of the linear guide or guide track; to mount and rotate an instrument manipulator assembly roll axis wherein counterbalancing link includes a housing having a central longitudinal axis that runs between a housing proximal end and a housing distal end thus comprising multiple housing loops coupled to the housing wherein the multiple housing loops form parallel apertures located in a single plane enabling insertion of the adjusting pin thereto wherein the mount is coupled to mount loops wherein adjusting the angle between the mount and the housing is done by rotating the adjusting pin in order to couple adjustment pin on one end to the mount and on another end to the housing so that an angle can be adjusted between the housing and the mount.
Regarding claim 4, the combination teachings of Englander, Döring, and Holop as discussed above also disclose the device of claim 3, wherein the mount is coupled to mount loops, said mount loops are designed in a manner that enables placing the mount loops between the housing loops, wherein adjusting the angle between the mount and the housing is done by rotating the adjusting pin (see Holop, paragraphs [0193]-[0194]: “A cannula mount 3050 is movably coupled to the distal link 3028. In one embodiment, platform 3040 provides a rotatable base plate on which instrument manipulators may be mounted and rotated about an instrument manipulator assembly roll axis 3041. The intersection of yaw axis 3023, roll axis 3041, and an instrument manipulator assembly pitch axis 3039 form a remote center of motion … Referring now in particular to FIGS. 30B and 31, counterbalancing link 3026 includes a housing 3084 having a central longitudinal axis 3084 c that runs between a housing proximal end or first end 3084 a and a housing distal end or second end 3084 b. A compression spring 3080 is disposed along the longitudinal axis 3084 c and has a spring proximal end or first end 3080 a and a spring distal end or second end 3080 b. In one embodiment, the compression spring is comprised of silicon chrome alloy, but may be comprised of other materials. A base 3092 is disposed at the first end of the housing and is coupled to the first end 3080 a of the compression spring 3080 by an alignment ring 3090 therebetween. A plug 3074 is disposed at the second end of the housing and is coupled to the second end 3080 b of the compression spring 3080”).
The motivation for combining the references has been discussed in claim 3 above.
Conclusion
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
NIENRU YANG
Examiner
Art Unit 2484
/NIENRU YANG/Examiner, Art Unit 2484
/THAI Q TRAN/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 2484