DETAILED ACTION
The amendment filed on 05/14/2026 has been entered. Applicant amended claims 1, 3-6, 9-11, 26, 28, and 33 in the amendment. Claims 12-25, and 30-32 are cancelled. Claims 34-37 are newly added.
Claims 1-11, 26-29, and 33-37 remain pending.
Response to Arguments
Applicant’s arguments with respect to claims 1-11, 26-29, and 33-37 filed on 05/14/2026 have been considered but they are deemed to be moot in view of new grounds of rejection.
Further, applicant argued Sutherland does not describe “determining whether the at least one indicator matches at least one parameter, wherein the at least one parameter is selected based on one or more policies being enforced by the processing hardware”.
In response, Sutherland discloses determining whether the at least one indicator matches at least one parameter, wherein the at least one parameter is selected based on one or more policies being enforced by the tag processing hardware (page 5, lines 34 – page 6, line 2: depending on a policy to be enforced, any suitable metadata relevant for the policy may be associated with a piece of application data; & page 20, lines 22-30: metadata may be classified based on how the metadata is created; for instance, a binary representation of a metadata label may be augmented with one or more designated bits to indicate whether the metadata label is dynamically created (e.g., as a result of enforcing one or more policies); metadata may be classified based on a type of metadata processing that uses the metadata; a binary representation of a metadata label may be augmented with one or more designated bits to indicate whether a comparison (e.g., equal to, less than, less than or equal to, greater than, greater than or equal to, partially equal to, ones’ complement of, etc.) is to be performed on the metadata label; & page 19, lines 10-14: the metadata label RED is associated with the address register R0, but the metadata label GREEN is associated with the application memory address 0x1234; because of this mismatch, the tag processing hardware may indicate to the host processor that the store instruction violates the access control policy and therefore should not be allowed; & page 21, line 34 – page 22, line 4: the hardware accelerator 500 may compare selected portions of the metadata inputs (e.g., <<RED>> and <<GREEN>>) to determine if there is a match, and may provide a comparison output accordingly; if at least one of the comparison bits is not set to 1, then the hardware accelerator 500 may forward the metadata inputs (or selected portions thereof, e.g., <<RED>> and <<GREEN>>, without comparison bits) to the rule cache 144 for further processing; metadata corresponds to indicator and metadata relevant for the policy corresponds to parameter). Therefore, the applicant’s argument is not persuasive.
Claim Objections
Claim 9 is objected to because of the following informalities:
Claim 9 recites the limitation "one or more binary representation A0, …, AM-1" in lines 7-8. Please define.
Appropriate correction is required.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claims 4, 5, 9-11, and 36-37 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
Regarding claim 4, claim limitation recites “<C0,j, …, CM-1,j>” in line 3, which renders the claim vague and indefinite. Please define “<C0,j, …, CM-1,j>”. Same rejection applies to claim 36.
Claim 9 recites the limitation "the one or more binary representations C0, …, CM-1" in lines 3-4. There is insufficient antecedent basis for this limitation in the claim.
Claim 9 recites the limitation "the one or more binary representations O0, …, OM-1" in lines 4-5. There is insufficient antecedent basis for this limitation in the claim.
All dependent claims are rejected as having the same deficiencies as the claims they depend from.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 1-11, 26-29, and 33 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Sutherland (WO 2020/150351 A1).
Regarding claim 1, Sutherland discloses
A method implemented by processing hardware (tag processing hardware 140, page 5), the method comprising acts of:
receiving information relating to one or more instructions executed by a target system (page 5, lines 3-10: tag processing hardware 140 may be provided to ensure that instructions being executed by the host processor 110 comply with one or more policies; the tag processing hardware 140 may include any suitable circuit component or combination of circuit components);
using the information relating to the one or more instructions to construct an input pattern (page 19, lines 4-7: the tag processing hardware 140 may construct an input metadata pattern; & page 53, lines 3-5: processing the metadata input based on the one or more classification bits comprises: using the metadata input to construct an input for looking up a rule cache storing one or more allowed metadata input patterns);
processing, in hardware, the input pattern to obtain at least one indicator (page 18, lines 6-12: classifying metadata based on processing patterns; a binary representation of a metadata label may be augmented with one or more designated bits to indicate a metadata class to which the metadata label belongs; & page 21, lines 4-7: the tag register corresponding to the address register R0 stores a binary representation of the metadata label RED, augmented with a comparison bit that is set to 1; this is shown in FIG. 4 as <<RED>>*1, and may indicate that a comparison (e.g., equality checking) is to be performed on the metadata symbol RED);
determining whether the at least one indicator matches at least one parameter, wherein the at least one parameter is selected based on one or more policies being enforced by the tag processing hardware (page 19, lines 10-14: the metadata label RED is associated with the address register R0, but the metadata label GREEN is associated with the application memory address 0x1234; because of this mismatch, the tag processing hardware may indicate to the host processor that the store instruction violates the access control policy and therefore should not be allowed; & page 21, line 34 – page 22, line 4: the hardware accelerator 500 may compare selected portions of the metadata inputs (e.g., <<RED>> and <<GREEN>>) to determine if there is a match, and may provide a comparison output accordingly; if at least one of the comparison bits is not set to 1, then the hardware accelerator 500 may forward the metadata inputs (or selected portions thereof, e.g., <<RED>> and <<GREEN>>, without comparison bits) to the rule cache 144 for further processing; & page 5, lines 34 – page 6, line 2: depending on a policy to be enforced, any suitable metadata relevant for the policy may be associated with a piece of application data; & page 20, lines 22-30: metadata may be classified based on how the metadata is created; for instance, a binary representation of a metadata label may be augmented with one or more designated bits to indicate whether the metadata label is dynamically created (e.g., as a result of enforcing one or more policies); metadata may be classified based on a type of metadata processing that uses the metadata; a binary representation of a metadata label may be augmented with one or more designated bits to indicate whether a comparison (e.g., equal to, less than, less than or equal to, greater than, greater than or equal to, partially equal to, ones’ complement of, etc.) is to be performed on the metadata label); and
in response to determining that the at least one indicator does not match the at least one parameter, sending a signal to the target system to indicate a violation of the one or more polices (page 19, lines 10-14: the metadata label RED is associated with the address register R0, but the metadata label GREEN is associated with the application memory address 0x1234; because of this mismatch, the tag processing hardware may indicate to the host processor that the store instruction violates the access control policy and therefore should not be allowed).
Regarding claim 2, Sutherland discloses the method as described in claim 1. Sutherland further discloses
the input pattern comprises M input slots, where M>=1 (page 21, lines 4-7: the tag register corresponding to the address register R0 stores a binary representation of the metadata label RED, augmented with a comparison bit that is set to 1; this is shown in FIG. 4 as <<RED>>*1, and may indicate that a comparison (e.g., equality checking) is to be performed on the metadata symbol RED; & page 53, lines 3-5: processing the metadata input based on the one or more classification bits comprises: using the metadata input to construct an input for looking up a rule cache storing one or more allowed metadata input patterns);
for each I = 0, …, M-1:
the i-th input slot comprises a binary representation Ci of a metadata label Li (page 21, lines 4-7: the tag register corresponding to the address register R0 stores a binary representation of the metadata label RED, augmented with a comparison bit that is set to 1; this is shown in FIG. 4 as <<RED>>*1, and may indicate that a comparison (e.g., equality checking) is to be performed on the metadata symbol RED); and
the binary representation Ci comprises a bit string of length N, where N >= 1 (page 21, lines 4-7: the tag register corresponding to the address register R0 stores a binary representation of the metadata label RED, augmented with a comparison bit that is set to 1; this is shown in FIG. 4 as <<RED>>*1, and may indicate that a comparison (e.g., equality checking) is to be performed on the metadata symbol RED).
Regarding claim 3, Sutherland discloses the method as described in claim 2. Sutherland further discloses
for each i= 0, …, M-1 and j = 0, …, N-1, Ci,j comprises a j-th bit of the binary representation Ci; and
the at least one indicator comprises an indicator computed based at least in part on C0,j, …, CM-1,j for some j = 0, …, N-1 (page 19, lines 10-14: the metadata label RED is associated with the address register R0, but the metadata label GREEN is associated with the application memory address 0x1234; because of this mismatch, the tag processing hardware may indicate to the host processor that the store instruction violates the access control policy and therefore should not be allowed; & page 21, lines 4-7: the tag register corresponding to the address register R0 stores a binary representation of the metadata label RED, augmented with a comparison bit that is set to 1; this is shown in FIG. 4 as <<RED>>*1, and may indicate that a comparison (e.g., equality checking) is to be performed on the metadata symbol RED).
Regarding claim 4, Sutherland discloses the method as described in claim 3. Sutherland further discloses
the processing hardware is configured to multiply an VxM matrix H with a result of transposing <C0,j, …, CM-1,j>, where V >= 1 (page 34, line 30 – page 35, line 22: by contract, with M separate rules each involving just one variable, M x N rule cache entries may be sufficient; the inventors have recognized and appreciated that, where M is constant (e.g., two variables, one for access control and the other for information flow), M x N grows more slowly than NM as N (the number of distinct color values) grows).
Regarding claim 5, Sutherland discloses the method as described in claim 4. Sutherland further discloses
the matrix H is selected based on the one or more policies being enforced by the processing hardware (page 34, line 30 – page 35, line 22: by contract, with M separate rules each involving just one variable, M x N rule cache entries may be sufficient; the inventors have recognized and appreciated that, where M is constant (e.g., two variables, one for access control and the other for information flow), M x N grows more slowly than NM as N (the number of distinct color values) grows; for instance, a composite rule cache entry may be constructed as a matrix of M rows, where each row corresponds to a respective policy rule and stores a constituent rule cache entry for that policy rule).
Regarding claim 6, Sutherland discloses the method as described in claim 1. Sutherland further discloses
processing, in hardware, the input pattern to obtain an output pattern (page 15, lines 29-32: rule cache 144 in the example of FIG. 1 may map input tags to output tags; & page 53, lines 10-13: using the metadata input to construct an input for looking up a rule cache storing one or more entries that map metadata input patterns to metadata output patterns).
Regarding claim 7, Sutherland discloses the method as described in claim 6. Sutherland further discloses
the input pattern comprises M input slots, where M>=1 (page 21, lines 4-7: the tag register corresponding to the address register R0 stores a binary representation of the metadata label RED, augmented with a comparison bit that is set to 1; this is shown in FIG. 4 as <<RED>>*1, and may indicate that a comparison (e.g., equality checking) is to be performed on the metadata symbol RED; & page 53, lines 3-5: processing the metadata input based on the one or more classification bits comprises: using the metadata input to construct an input for looking up a rule cache storing one or more allowed metadata input patterns);
for each I = 0, …, M-1:
the i-th input slot comprises a binary representation Ci of a metadata label Li (page 21, lines 4-7: the tag register corresponding to the address register R0 stores a binary representation of the metadata label RED, augmented with a comparison bit that is set to 1; this is shown in FIG. 4 as <<RED>>*1, and may indicate that a comparison (e.g., equality checking) is to be performed on the metadata symbol RED); and
the binary representation Ci comprises a bit string of length N, where N>= 1 (page 21, lines 4-7: the tag register corresponding to the address register R0 stores a binary representation of the metadata label RED, augmented with a comparison bit that is set to 1; this is shown in FIG. 4 as <<RED>>*1, and may indicate that a comparison (e.g., equality checking) is to be performed on the metadata symbol RED); and
the output pattern comprises K output slows, where K >= 1 (page 15, lines 29-32: map input tags to output tags, and, in some embodiments, the input tags may be metadata memory addresses where binary representations of metadata are stored, as opposed to the binary representations themselves);
for each k = 0, …, K-1:
the k-th output slot comprises a binary representation Ok of a metadata label Uk (page 15, lines 29-32: map input tags to output tags, and, in some embodiments, the input tags may be metadata memory addresses where binary representations of metadata are stored, as opposed to the binary representations themselves; & page 21, lines 4-7: the tag register corresponding to the address register R0 stores a binary representation of the metadata label RED, augmented with a comparison bit that is set to 1; this is shown in FIG. 4 as <<RED>>*1, and may indicate that a comparison (e.g., equality checking) is to be performed on the metadata symbol RED); and
the binary representation Ok comprises a bit string of length N’, where N’>= 1 (page 15, lines 29-32: map input tags to output tags, and, in some embodiments, the input tags may be metadata memory addresses where binary representations of metadata are stored, as opposed to the binary representations themselves; & page 21, lines 4-7: the tag register corresponding to the address register R0 stores a binary representation of the metadata label RED, augmented with a comparison bit that is set to 1; this is shown in FIG. 4 as <<RED>>*1, and may indicate that a comparison (e.g., equality checking) is to be performed on the metadata symbol RED).
Regarding claim 8, Sutherland discloses the method as described in claim 7. Sutherland further discloses
N’ is different from N (page 15, lines 29-32: map input tags to output tags, and, in some embodiments, the input tags may be metadata memory addresses where binary representations of metadata are stored, as opposed to the binary representations themselves; & page 21, lines 4-7: the tag register corresponding to the address register R0 stores a binary representation of the metadata label RED, augmented with a comparison bit that is set to 1; this is shown in FIG. 4 as <<RED>>*1, and may indicate that a comparison (e.g., equality checking) is to be performed on the metadata symbol RED).
Regarding claim 9, Sutherland discloses the method as described in claim 7. Sutherland further discloses
the processing hardware comprises an output function block configured to process the one or more binary representations C0, …, CM-1 to obtain the one or more binary representations O0, …, Ok-1 (page 38, lines 3-34: a tag map table may be configured to allow multiple fetches of metadata on a single input application memory address; the fetched metadata may then be used to perform multiple lookups in a rule cache; the tag map table entry 1000A stores, in an “Offset” field, a first offset value to be added to an input address in an application memory to obtain a first address in a metadata memory);
the processing hardware further comprises a conversion block configured to process one or more binary representations A0, …, AM-1 to obtain the one or more binary representations C-, …, CM-1 (page 38, lines 3-34: a tag map table may be configured to allow multiple fetches of metadata on a single input application memory address; the fetched metadata may then be used to perform multiple lookups in a rule cache; the tag map table entry 1000A stores, in an “Offset” field, a first offset value to be added to an input address in an application memory to obtain a first address in a metadata memory); and
for each i = 0, …, M-1:
the binary representation Ai comprises a bit string of length N’ (page 38, lines 3-34: a tag map table may be configured to allow multiple fetches of metadata on a single input application memory address; the fetched metadata may then be used to perform multiple lookups in a rule cache; the tag map table entry 1000A stores, in an “Offset” field, a first offset value to be added to an input address in an application memory to obtain a first address in a metadata memory).
Regarding claim 10, Sutherland discloses the method as described in claim 9. Sutherland further discloses
the conversion block comprises a first conversion table and a second conversion table different from the first conversion table (page 38, lines 3-34: a tag map table may be configured to allow multiple fetches of metadata on a single input application memory address; the fetched metadata may then be used to perform multiple lookups in a rule cache; the tag map table entry 1000A stores, in an “Offset” field, a first offset value to be added to an input address in an application memory to obtain a first address in a metadata memory);
the first conversion table is configured to map the binary representation Ai to the binary representation Ci for some i = 0, …, M-1 (page 38, lines 3-34: a tag map table may be configured to allow multiple fetches of metadata on a single input application memory address; the fetched metadata may then be used to perform multiple lookups in a rule cache; the tag map table entry 1000A stores, in an “Offset” field, a first offset value to be added to an input address in an application memory to obtain a first address in a metadata memory); and
the second conversion table is configured to map the binary representation Ai’ to the binary representation Ci’ for some i’ = 0, …, M-1 that is different from i (page 38, lines 3-34: a tag map table may be configured to allow multiple fetches of metadata on a single input application memory address; the fetched metadata may then be used to perform multiple lookups in a rule cache; the tag map table entry 1000A stores, in an “Offset” field, a first offset value to be added to an input address in an application memory to obtain a first address in a metadata memory).
Regarding claim 11, Sutherland discloses the method as described in claim 10. Sutherland further discloses
the conversion block further comprises a third conversion table (page 38, lines 3-34: a tag map table may be configured to allow multiple fetches of metadata on a single input application memory address; the fetched metadata may then be used to perform multiple lookups in a rule cache; the tag map table entry 1000A stores, in an “Offset” field, a first offset value to be added to an input address in an application memory to obtain a first address in a metadata memory); and
the third conversion table is configured to map a binary representation C’i to the binary representation Ai for each i = 0, …, M-1 (page 38, lines 3-34: a tag map table may be configured to allow multiple fetches of metadata on a single input application memory address; the fetched metadata may then be used to perform multiple lookups in a rule cache; the tag map table entry 1000A stores, in an “Offset” field, a first offset value to be added to an input address in an application memory to obtain a first address in a metadata memory).
Regarding claims 26 and 33, the limitations of claims 26 and 33 are rejected in the analysis of claim 1 above and these claims are rejected on that basis.
Regarding claim 27, Sutherland discloses the system as described in claim 26. Sutherland further discloses
the processing hardware comprises one or more processors programmed by executable instructions (page 2, lines 20-23: a system is provided, comprising circuitry and/or one or more processors programmed by executable instructions).
Regarding claim 28, Sutherland discloses the system as described in claim 26. Sutherland further discloses
the processing hardware comprises one or more programmable logic devices programmed by bitstreams (page 8, lines 24-26: the policy processor 150 may include configurable processing unit, such as a microprocessor, a field-programmable gate array (FPGA), and/or any other suitable circuitry).
Regarding claim 29, Sutherland discloses the system as described in claim 26. Sutherland further discloses
the processing hardware comprises one or more logic circuits fabricated into semiconductors (page 58, lines 10-16: circuit configurations in Field Programmable Gate Arrays or other semiconductor devices).
Regarding claims 34-37, the limitations of claims 34-37 are rejected in the analysis of claims 2-5 respectively and these claims are rejected on that basis.
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure.
DeHon et al. (US 2020/0089500 A1). Perform metadata tag compression in security policy enforcement system; send a set of data elements along with an index element that identifies one or more metadata tags, and send one or more of the metadata tags identified by the index element.
Kennedy (US 2011/0209196 A1). A policy tag is used for policy enforcement; a policy measure is used to address an actual or potential policy or rule violation.
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
Kaylee Huang
07/29/2026
/KAYLEE J HUANG/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2447