Specification
The lengthy specification has not been checked to the extent necessary to determine the presence of all possible minor errors. Applicant’s cooperation is requested in correcting any errors of which applicant may become aware in the specification.
Claim Objections
Claim 6 is objected to because of the following informality:
On line 3 of claim 6, “chose” should be “choose.”
Appropriate correction is required.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Regarding claim 11, the phrase "e.g." renders the claim indefinite because it is unclear whether the limitation(s) following the phrase are part of the claimed invention. See MPEP § 2173.05(d). For purposes of examination, the phrase “sampled into a sampled sensor signal, e.g. by coherent sampling, and the sampled sensor signal…” is being understood as if “, e.g.” were removed.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1-6, 8, and 10-14 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) and 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(2) as being anticipated by de Mersseman et al. (US 2017/0343671- cited by Applicant).
With respect to independent claim 1, de Mersseman discloses a proximity sensor system (Abstract and [0020]), comprising:
a light emitter and a driver circuit configured to drive the light emitter such that the light emitter emits a sequence of pulses towards an external target ([0020]-[0022], [0025], and Fig. 1)
a light detector operable to generate a time-dependent sensor signal which is indicative of light reflected off of the external target ([0020]-[0022]), and
a processing unit operable to convert the sensor signal to frequency-dependent converted sensor signal, wherein the converted sensor signal is a representation of the sensor signal in the frequency domain ([0020]-[0022], [0026], and Fig. 1).
With respect to independent claim 10, de Mersseman discloses a method of operating a proximity sensor system (Abstract and [0020]), comprising:
using a light emitter, emitting a sequence of pulses towards an external target ([0020]-[0022], [0025], and Fig. 1)
using a light detector, generating a time-dependent sensor signal, which is indicative of light reflected off of the external target ([0020]-[0022]), and
using a processing unit, converting the sensor signal into a representation in the frequency domain ([0020]-[0022], [0026], and Fig. 1).
With respect to depending claims 2, 3, and 11, de Mersseman discloses wherein the processing unit is operable to sample the time-dependent sensor signal into a sampled sensor signal and convert the sampled sensor signal into the converted sensor signal ([0021]), and wherein the processing unit is operable to sample the time-dependent sensor signal by means of coherent sampling ([0037]).
With respect to depending claims 4 and 12, de Mersseman discloses wherein the processing unit is operable to convert the sensor signal by means of a Fast Fourier Transformation or a Goertzel Fast Fourier Transformation ([0030]).
With respect to depending claims 5 and 13, de Mersseman discloses wherein the processing unit is operable to:
group samples of the converted sensor signal into a number of frequency bins ([0023] and [0030]), and
determine a proximity event and/or distance information associated with the external target based on samples of one or more frequency bins ([0043] and [0049]).
With respect to depending claim 6, which is dependent upon claim 5, and depending claim 14, which is dependent upon claim 13, de Messerman discloses wherein the processing unit is operable to:
choose a frequency bin from the number of frequency bins ([0023], [0030], and [0041]), and
determine the proximity event and/or distance information associated with the external target based on samples from the chosen frequency bin only ([0023], [0030], and [0041]).
With respect to depending claim 8, de Mersseman discloses further comprising an ambient light sensor ([0020]-[0022] and [0049]).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 7, 9, and 15 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over de Mersseman et al. (US 2017/0343671- cited above).
With respect to depending claims 7 and 15, de Mersseman discloses wherein the processing unit is operable to:
adjust a proximity pulse frequency of the sequence of pulses to a value of the chosen frequency bin ([0020]-[0022] and [0049]), and
adjust the driver circuit to drive the light emitter to emit the sequence of pulses towards an external target with pulses having the adjust proximity pulse frequency ([0020]-[0022] and [0049]).
Although de Mersseman fails to expressly disclose wherein the interference is identified, e.g. determining a disturbance value of frequency bins and choosing a frequency bin which meets the disturbance criterion, the Office considers it standard and well known in the art when changing inter-pulse frequency to avoid interference includes identifying the interference, such as the manner instantly claimed, and as such, it would have been obvious for a person having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to consider incorporating this application into the method disclosed by de Mersseman.
With respect to depending claim 9, de Mersseman discloses a system comprising a processing unit, a light detector, a driver circuit, and a light emitter (Abstract, [0020]-[0022], and Fig. 1). However, de Mersseman fails to expressly disclose wherein each component is “integrated into a common integrated circuit,” as instantly claimed. The Office considers it standard and well known in the art involving electrical components that they be integrated together into a common integrated circuit. It would have been obvious for a person having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to consider combining each component into a common integrated circuit in order to minimize wiring and component connections, improve efficiency, and simplify the system.
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure.
Trattler et al. (US 2020/0178865) teaches a circuit arrangement for an optical monitoring system.
/AVI T SKAIST/Examiner, Art Unit 3674
/WILLIAM D HUTTON JR/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 3674