DETAILED ACTION
Claim Status
This Office action is in response to the Response to the Response to Election/Restriction filed 10/27/2025. Claims 4-24 are currently pending.
Election/Restrictions
Claims 4-18, and 24 have been withdrawn from further consideration pursuant to 37 CFR 1.142(b), as being drawn to a nonelected invention, there being no allowable generic or linking claim. Applicant timely traversed the restriction (election) requirement in the reply filed on 10/27/2025.
Applicant's election with traverse of Group III, claims 19-23 in the reply filed on 10/27/2025 is acknowledged. The traversal is on the ground(s) that there would not be a burden to include the claims of Group II in the search. This is not found persuasive because the restriction requirement is based on unity of invention which does not consider search burden.
The requirement is still deemed proper and is therefore made FINAL.
Drawings
The drawings are objected to under 37 CFR 1.83(a). The drawings must show every feature of the invention specified in the claims. Therefore, the magazine from which a folded bag is fed of claim 19, a conveyor means of claim 19, a folding means of claim 19, a means for erecting of claim 20, a means for bringing together and securing base sections of claim 20, means for closing of claim 20, means for bringing together and securing lid sections of claim 20, sealing means of claim 20, conveyor means for conveying the closed shipping pack for shipping and storage of claim 20, the means for bringing the portions together under applied pressure of claim 22, and a dispenser of claim 23 must be shown or the feature(s) canceled from the claim(s). No new matter should be entered.
Claim Interpretation
In this case, the following claim limitations that that use the word “means” are being interpreted under 35 U.S.C. 112(f): “a conveyor means” of claim 19, “a folding means” of claim 19, “means for erecting” of claim 20, “means for bringing together and securing base sections” of claim 20, “means for placing” of claim 20, “means for closing” of claim 20, “means for bringing together and closing lid sections” of claim 20, “sealing means” of claim 20, “conveyor means for conveying the closed shipping pack for dispatch or storage” of claim 20, and “means for bringing the portions together under applied pressure” of claim 22.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claims 19-23 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention. Note that claims 19, 20, and 22 include indefinite language but claims 21 and 23 are rejected based on their dependency from claim 20.
Claim limitations “a folding means” of claim 19, “means for erecting” of claim 20, “means for bringing together and securing base sections” of claim 20, “means for placing” of claim 20, “means for closing” of claim 20, “means for bringing together and closing lid sections” of claim 20, “sealing means” of claim 20, “conveyor means for conveying the closed shipping pack for dispatch or storage” of claim 20, and “means for bringing the portion together under applied pressure” of claim 22 invokes 35 U.S.C. 112(f) or pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, sixth paragraph. However, the written description fails to disclose the corresponding structure, material, or acts for performing the entire claimed function and to clearly link the structure, material, or acts to the function. In each case, the written description simply uses the same language as the claim to describe the elements and does not disclose any specific structure. Therefore, the claim is indefinite and is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, second paragraph.
Applicant may:
(a) Amend the claim so that the claim limitation will no longer be interpreted as a limitation under 35 U.S.C. 112(f) or pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, sixth paragraph;
(b) Amend the written description of the specification such that it expressly recites what structure, material, or acts perform the entire claimed function, without introducing any new matter (35 U.S.C. 132(a)); or
(c) Amend the written description of the specification such that it clearly links the structure, material, or acts disclosed therein to the function recited in the claim, without introducing any new matter (35 U.S.C. 132(a)).
If applicant is of the opinion that the written description of the specification already implicitly or inherently discloses the corresponding structure, material, or acts and clearly links them to the function so that one of ordinary skill in the art would recognize what structure, material, or acts perform the claimed function, applicant should clarify the record by either:
(a) Amending the written description of the specification such that it expressly recites the corresponding structure, material, or acts for performing the claimed function and clearly links or associates the structure, material, or acts to the claimed function, without introducing any new matter (35 U.S.C. 132(a)); or
(b) Stating on the record what the corresponding structure, material, or acts, which are implicitly or inherently set forth in the written description of the specification, perform the claimed function. For more information, see 37 CFR 1.75(d) and MPEP §§ 608.01(o) and 2181.
Note that claims 20-23 have not been further treated under prior art due to the 112 rejections.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim 19 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Bergstein (US 2095910).
Regarding claim 19, Bergstein discloses an apparatus for forming a shipping pack from a container blank having attached therein a deployable interior open-mouthed bag adapted to deploy from a folded configuration to align with and conform to the inner volume of an erected pack formed from said blank, the apparatus comprising: a conveyor (pg. 2, first col., lines 29-30) on which which a container blank (1 – Fig. 1) is fed (pg. 2, first col., lines 29-30); an adhesive application station (at the glue wheels, pg. 2, first col., lines 70-73); a web (9 – Fig. 1) or individual bags (pg. 3, col. 1, lines 5-9) from which a folded bag is made and fed onto a selected inner face of a first major surface (panels 2, 3 – Fig. 1) of the container blank (pg. 2, col. 1); a conveyor means (the conveyor, pg.2, first col., lines 29-30); a folding station (at the location described in pg. 2, col. 2, lines 29-39 and depicted in Fig. 2) where the blank is folded around a primary fold line (the dotted line between panels 2 and 4 – Fig. 1) to bring the inner surface of a second major (2 – Fig. 1) surface into alignment with said first surface between which the folded bag is disposed and to bring an end closing tab (6 – Fig. 1) adjacent a second primary fold line (the dotted line between panels 3 and 5 – Fig. 1); wherein a free side wall element (5 – Fig. 1) is folded around said second primary fold line to overlie the closing tab (compare Figs. 2 and 3); and applying pressure to the major faces and the side wall element to ensure adequate adhesion to retain the folded shipping pack thus formed in its storage or transport configuration (pg. 2, col. 2, lines 33-36; though not expressly mentioning “pressure” it is clear that pressure must necessarily be applied in or to adhesively secure the bag and the walls).
However, Bergstein does not expressly disclose a magazine from which the container is fed; a magazine from which a folded bag is fed; a folding means adapted to fold the free side element; or a forming station where pressure is applied.
In this case, the examiner takes Official Notice that each of those elements, the container magazine, the bag magazine, the folding means, and the forming station, are each old and well-known within the art of forming a shipping pack and thus do not patentably distinguish the claimed invention from Bergstrom.
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of applicant’s claimed invention, to have provided each of those elements since Bergstein discloses the process that each of those elements perform and is simply silent with respect to the exact machinery and these elements are a known solution.
Conclusion
/THOMAS M WITTENSCHLAEGER/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 3731
11/11/2025