DETAILED ACTION
Claims 2-27 are amended, claims 28-30 are cancelled, by preliminary amendments. Claims 1-27 are pending.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 1-6, 10-20, 25-26 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over WANG et al(WO 2022071993 A1: IDS supplied) in view of Simmons et al(US 20200082117 A1).
With regards to claim 1, 11, 17 WANG discloses, A computer-implemented method comprising: receiving, by a first trusted content platform and from a client device of a user, a first digital component request (FIG 2 202 and associated text; [0033] The user group request system 130 enables the use of user group membership in selecting content for providing to the client devices 110 while maintaining the privacy of this membership data and protecting access to the data of the DSPs 150 and SSPs 170. The user group request system 130 can be implemented using one or more computing systems maintained by a trusted party, e.g., a trusted third party different from the users, SSPs 170, DSPs 150, the publishers 140, and the digital component providers 160. For example, an industry group, governmental group, or browser developer may maintain and operate the user group request system 130.) comprising (i) sensitive data comprising encrypted user data for the user and (ii) non-sensitive data comprising contextual data related to a resource with which a selected digital component will be presented at the client device ([0052] In this example process 200, the application 112 can transmit two separate content requests. The application 112 can first transmit a user group-based content request to request one or more digital components based on one or more user groups to which the user of the client device 110 is assigned, e.g., the groups that include the user as a member. The application 112 can then send a contextual content request that requests a digital component based on additional contextual information and, if one is obtained using the user-group based content request, the selection parameter of the digital component selected based on the one or more user groups, and optionally data identifying the DSP that submitted the selection parameter for the digital component (e.g., without information identifying the digital component or the digital component itself). [0055] The user group-based content request can include encrypted user group identifiers to protect user privacy. The application 112 can encrypt each user group identifier in such a way that only the intended DSP 150 can decrypt the user group identifier. That is, only the DSP 150 for the digital component provider 160 that generated the user group and that assigns users to the user group can decrypt the user group identifier. For example, the application can encrypt each user group identifier using a public key of the intended DSP 150. Pls see [0053]);
sending, by the first trusted content platform, a second digital component request comprising the encrypted user data to one or more second trusted content platforms (FIG 2 208 and associated text; [0064] The user group request system 130 transmits a selection parameter request to one or more DSPs 150 (208). For each user group identifier that satisfies k-anonymity, the user group request system 130 can send a selection parameter request to the DSP 150 for the user group identifier. However, if there is already a creative element and selection parameter in the cache for a given user group identifier and applicable request signals, a selection parameter request may not be sent for that user group identifier. The selection parameter request sent to a given DSP 150 can include the user group identifier for that DSP 150 and the request signals that satisfy k-anonymity.[0033]);
receiving, by the first trusted content platform and from each second trusted content platform, one or more first candidate digital components (FIG 2 222-224 and associated text; );
sending, [[by the first trusted content platform,]] a third digital component request to each of one or more second untrusted content platforms, wherein the third digital component request sent to each second untrusted content platform comprises the contextual data (FIG 2 228 and associated text; ); each second untrusted content platform comprises the non-sensitive data ([0093] The contextual data of the contextual content request can include the same contextual data as the user group-based content request plus additional contextual data, such as the number of digital component slots included in the resource, the location of the digital component slots within the resource (e.g., above the fold, below the fold, side of page, etc.), the size of the digital component slots, the type of digital component slots, etc. )
receiving, [[by the first trusted content platform and]] from each second untrusted content platform, one or more second candidate digital components (FIG 2 230 and associated text;);
selecting, [[by the first trusted content platform,]] a given digital component from a set of candidate digital components comprising the one or more first candidate digital components received from each second trusted content platform and the one or more second candidate digital components received from each second untrusted content platform (FIG 2 232 and associated text;);
selecting, [[by the first trusted content platform,]] a given digital component from a set of candidate digital components comprising the one or more first candidate digital components received from untrusted content platform and the one or more encrypted trusted candidate digital components received from each first trusted content platform for presentation with the resource (FIG 2 232 and associated text; [0073] In some implementations, the selection parameter element sent by each DSP 150 can include additional information to verify the authenticity of the selection parameter and provide better security and privacy protection. For example, the selection parameter request sent by a DSP 150 can include the creative element for the digital component, the encrypted quantiled selection parameter, the user group identifier used to select the digital component and any contextual signals received with the user group identifier, a timestamp, and a nonce.) and
sending the given digital component to the client device of the user for presentation with the resource (FIG 2 236 and associated text;);
sending one or more of the encrypted trusted candidate digital components([0070] The DSPs 150 transmit a selection parameter element to the user group request system 130 (214). The selection parameter request sent by a DSP 150 can include a creative element that identifies the selected digital component and the selection parameter, which can be quantiled and/or encrypted.) and the candidate digital components to the client device of the user for presentation with the resource (FIG 2 236 and associated text;)
WANG does not exclusively but Simmons teaches, sending, by the first trusted content platform ([0041]; Further still, the ledger 210 may be used to record access permission parameters that a user may apply to data at varying levels of granularity and detail as described below. In this regard, the ledger 210 may be used to provide an auditable record for every transaction processed by the trusted platform 206.), receiving, by the first trusted content platform (FIG 5 504 and associated text; ) and selecting, by the first trusted content platform ([0031] In contrast, using the secure communication system 100, user data may be securely stored in secure storage 112 of the trusted platform 106. Rather than directly providing data to third parties, a user may direct all requests for user data to the trusted platform 106 that may be used to determine whether and/or to what extent to provide access to user data in storage 112 of the trusted platform 106.) It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention was made to modify WANG’s method with teaching of Simmons in order for securing user data and managing manifestation of user data to third parties in response to requests (Simmons abstract)
With regards to claim 2, WANG further discloses, wherein the second digital component request comprises first-party data related user actions of a user of the client device with respect to one or more resources of a publisher of the resource ([0009] In some aspects, each selection parameter element includes a creative element that includes the data indicating the respective digital component of the selection parameter element. Each creative element can include one or more categories for content of the respective digital component, a unique identifier for a digital component provider that publishes the respective digital component, and a digital signature generated for the creative element by the second content platform. Transmitting at least a portion of the selection parameters to a second content platform can include selecting a set of digital components based on the one or more categories of each creative element and transmitting as at least a portion of the selection parameters, the selection parameters for the selected set of digital components. Selecting a set of digital components based on the one or more categories of each creative element can include comparing the one or more categories of each creative element to a set of excluded categories for an electronic resource of a publisher for which content is being requested and selecting,).
With regards to claim 3, WANG further discloses, wherein at least part of the first trusted content platform or at least a part of the one or more second trusted content platforms is implemented on the client device ([0031] To protect user privacy, a user’s group membership can be maintained at the user’s client device 110, e.g., by one of the applications 112 (or the device operating system or another trusted program), rather than by a digital component provider, content platform, or other party.).
With regards to claim 4, WANG further discloses, wherein the one or more first candidate digital components are selected from one or more second trusted repositories of digital components, wherein each of the one or more second trusted repositories is maintained by a corresponding second trusted content platform ([0033] The user group request system 130 enables the use of user group membership in selecting content for providing to the client devices 110 while maintaining the privacy of this membership data and protecting access to the data of the DSPs 150 and SSPs 170. The user group request system 130 can be implemented using one or more computing systems maintained by a trusted party, e.g., a trusted third party different from the users, SSPs 170, DSPs 150, the publishers 140, and the digital component providers 160. For example, an industry group, governmental group, or browser developer may maintain and operate the user group request system 130.).
With regards to claim 5, WANG further discloses, wherein the one or more second candidate digital components are selected from one or more second untrusted repositories of digital components, wherein each of the one or more second untrusted repositories is maintained by a corresponding second untrusted content platform ([0038] The SSP 170 can use its content selection logic to select the digital component for the application 112 from a set of digital components that includes the one or more digital components selected based on the user group identifiers in response to the first content request and the digital components selected in response to the second content request based on the contextual signals. The SSP 170 can then provide the selected digital component (or data identifying the digital component or that can be used to obtain and present the digital component) to the application 112 for presentation to the user.).
With regards to claim 6, WANG further discloses, wherein each second trusted content platform is configured to send the non-sensitive data to a corresponding second untrusted content platform operated by a same entity that operates the second trusted content platform ([0039] In some implementations, an application 112 can provide a user interface that enables a user to manage the user groups to which the user is assigned. For example, the user interface can enable the user to remove user group identifiers, prevent all or particular resources, publishers, digital component providers, digital component exchanges, and/or DSPs 150 from adding the user to a user group (e.g., prevent the entity from adding user group identifiers to the list of user group identifiers maintained by the application 112). This provides better transparency and control for the user. [0040] Further to the descriptions throughout this document, a user may be provided with controls allowing the user to make an election as to both if and when systems, programs, or features described herein may enable collection of user information (e.g., information about a user's social network, social actions, or activities, profession, a user's preferences, or a user's current location), and if the user is sent content or communications from a server. In addition, certain data may be treated in one or more ways before it is stored or used, so that personally identifiable information is removed. For example, a user's identity may be treated so that no personally identifiable information can be determined for the user, or a user's geographic location may be generalized where location information is obtained (such as to a city, ZIP code, or state level), so that a particular location of a user cannot be determined. Thus, the user may have control over what information is collected about the user, how that information is used, and what information is provided to the user.).
With regards to claim 10, WANG further discloses, wherein selecting, by the first trusted content platform, a given digital component from a set of candidate digital components comprises:
receiving, from each second trusted content platform and each of the one or more second untrusted content platform, a selection value for each candidate digital component (FIG 2 218 and associated text; ); and
selecting the given digital component based on the selection values (FIG 2 220 and associated text; ).
With regards to claim 12, WANG further discloses, wherein the first trusted content platform is configured to send the encrypted user data to one or more second trusted content platforms (FIG 2 204, and associated text; ), and receive one or more trusted candidate digital components from each of the second trusted content platforms (FIG 2 222 and associated text;).
With regards to claim 13, WANG further discloses, wherein at least one of the one or more second trusted content platforms is configured to send first-party data to a corresponding second untrusted content platform (FIG 2 234 and associated text; ).
With regards to claim 14, WANG further discloses,, wherein the corresponding second untrusted content platform is configured to select candidate digital components based on the first-party data (FIG 2 232 and associated text; [0097] The SSP 170 selects content (232). The SSP 170 can select content based at least in part on the selection parameters received from the DSPs 150 and the selection parameter for the digital component selected by the user group request system 130, i.e., the selection parameter of the contextual content request. As the selection parameters may be encrypted, the SSP 170 can decrypt the selection parameters using the encryption keys shared with the DSPs 150.), and wherein the corresponding second untrusted content platform is configured to send the selected candidate digital components to the second trusted content platform (FIG 2 234 and associated text;).
With regards to claim 15, WANG further discloses, wherein the second trusted content platform is configured to select one or more of the selected candidate digital components to send to the first trusted content platform as trusted candidate digital components based on the encrypted user data (FIG 2 210 and associated text; [0079] The user group request system 130 transmits at least a portion of the selection parameters received for the user group-based content request to the SSP 170 (218). The user group request system 130 may only transmit the selection parameters that satisfy k-anonymity and correspond to a creative element that also satisfies k-anonymity. For each selection parameter, the user group request system 130 can also transmit data identifying the DSP 150 that submitted the selection parameter. In some implementations, the user group request system 130 also sends, with the selection parameter, the creative element corresponding to the selection parameter.).
With regards to claim 16, WANG further discloses, wherein the first trusted content platform is configured to select one or more of the trusted candidate digital components received from the second trusted content platforms to send as encrypted trusted candidate digital components to the first untrusted content platform ([0080] The SSP 170 can select content based on the received selection parameters (220). As described above, the selection parameters can be encrypted by the DSPs 150 using encryption keys shared with the SSP 170. The SSP 170 can use the corresponding encryption keys to decrypt the selection parameters. The SSP 170 can identify the highest selection parameter and select the digital component corresponding to the highest selection parameter.).
With regards to claim 18, WANG further discloses, wherein each trusted candidate digital component is encrypted (FIG 2 204 and associated text; 0033] The user group request system 130 enables the use of user group membership in selecting content for providing to the client devices 110 while maintaining the privacy of this membership data and protecting access to the data of the DSPs 150 and SSPs 170. The user group request system 130 can be implemented using one or more computing systems maintained by a trusted party, e.g., a trusted third party different from the users, SSPs 170, DSPs 150, the publishers 140, and the digital component providers 160. For example, an industry group, governmental group, or browser developer may maintain and operate the user group request system 130.), the method further comprising presenting a trusted candidate digital component in a fenced frame ([0034] The user group request system 130 can perform several functions to preserve privacy and protect access to information of the entities. For example, the user group request system 130 can interact with the DSPs 150 and the SSPs 170 to select digital components based on user group identifiers using techniques that prevent the DSPs 150 and SSPs 170 from being able to correlate users with their user group membership.).
With regards to claim 19, WANG further discloses, wherein each first untrusted content platform is configured to: send a third digital component request to one or more second untrusted content platforms, the third digital component request comprising the non-sensitive data and first-party data related user actions of a user of the client device with respect to one or more resources of a publisher of the resource ([0092] The application 112 transmits a contextual content request to the SSP 170 (226). The contextual content request can include at least a portion of the information in the user group content response and contextual data. For example, the contextual content request can include, from the user group content response, the encrypted selection parameter and the identifier of the DSP 150 that submitted the highest selection parameter, i.e., the DSP 150 for which the creative element was provided to the application 112. In some implementations, the contextual content request does not include data identifying the selected content or any of the user group identifiers of the user. Instead, the SSP 170 would only have access to the highest selection parameter and optionally the DSP 150 that submitted the highest selected parameter in this example.); and receive one or more untrusted candidate digital components from the one or more second untrusted content platforms (FIG 2 234 and associated text;).
With regards to claim 20, WANG further discloses, wherein the first trusted content platform is configured to send a fourth digital component request comprising encrypted user data to one or more second trusted content platforms (FIG 2 208 and associated text; ), and receive one or more trusted candidate digital components from each of the second trusted content platforms (FIG 2 214 and associated text;).
With regards to claim 24, WANG further discloses, wherein the first trusted content platform is configured to send, to each of the second trusted content platforms, the encrypted user data and the non-sensitive data for the second trusted content platform ([0064] The user group request system 130 transmits a selection parameter request to one or more DSPs 150 (208). For each user group identifier that satisfies k-anonymity, the user group request system 130 can send a selection parameter request to the DSP 150 for the user group identifier. However, if there is already a creative element and selection parameter in the cache for a given user group identifier and applicable request signals, a selection parameter request may not be sent for that user group identifier. The selection parameter request sent to a given DSP 150 can include the user group identifier for that DSP 150 and the request signals that satisfy k-anonymity.).
With regards to claim 26, WANG further discloses, wherein selecting, by the client device, a given digital component from a set of candidate digital components comprises : receiving, from each first untrusted content platform and each first trusted content platform, a selection value for each of the candidate digital components in the set of candidate digital components (FIG 2 2218 and associated text;); and selecting the given digital component based on the selection values (FIG 2 222 and associated text; ).
Allowable Subject Matter
Claim 7-9, 21-24, 27 are objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure. US 20220398345 A1.
E8065h5/MOHAMMED WALIULLAH/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2498