DETAILED ACTION
Priority
Acknowledgment is made of applicant’s claim for foreign priority under 35 U.S.C. 119 (a)-(d).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 25-45 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Liu (US Patent Publication No. 2021/0366366) in view of Cohen (US Patent Publication No. 2020/0225903).
With reference to claim 25, Liu discloses method for mapping a display wall (10) comprising a plurality of display modules (10a-i) (see paragraphs 15-16; Figs. 1-2), each display module (10a-i) comprising a display module controller (102, 104) and a port (110, 112a-d) on each side of the module (10) connected to the controller (102, 104) (see paragraphs 17-18, 20-21; Fig. 3), each display module (10) further being connected to a at least one direct neighbor display module through a respective side port (see paragraphs 16, 21; Figs. 3-4), the display wall having a reference display module (10a) with reference coordinates and an incremental direction for the coordinates of the display modules (in teaching layout table; see paragraphs 27, 31; Table 1; Fig. 4), the method comprising the steps of:
powering up the display wall such that all display module controllers are turned on (see paragraph 29; Fig. 6),
each display module continuously communicating with its direct neighbor display module via a corresponding side port (110) by sending tile-to-tile packets comprising information on at least the coordinates of said display module, and by receiving tile-to-tile packets from each direct neighbor display module comprising information on at least the coordinates of said direct neighbor display module (see paragraphs 20, 27-28, Table 1-2, Figs. 4, 8),
wherein the continuous communication is initiated upon power up independently of an external processor (in teaching power source connected via port (108_d) to power unit (106) of each display module (10); see paragraphs 22, 29 (Figs. 1-3, 6).
While Liu discloses continuously communicating with neighboring display modules, there fails to be specific disclosure of continuously updating the display modules as recited.
Cohen discloses a display system comprising a display tiles array wherein each display tile is connected electrically to at least one other of the plurality of display tiles (see abstract; Figs. 1-3), wherein after sending and receiving the tile-to-tile packets, for each display module, continuously updating the display module coordinates by comparing its coordinates to the coordinates of each of its neighbors and following the incremental direction with respect to the coordinates of each of its neighbors (see paragraphs 167, 173, 175; Figs. 14, 17, 18B).
Therefore it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to allow the usage of continuously updating the display module coordinates similar to that which is taught by Cohen to be carried out in a system similar to that which is taught by Liu such that particular display tiles may receive and display information intended by the respective tile (see Cohen; abstract).
While Liu discloses a local controller (102, 014) for each display module (10n) and Cohen discloses continuous communication as explained above, there fails to be specific disclosure of all the display module controllers supplying initial setting and continuous communication from a local processor as recited.
Furuhashi discloses a method for mapping a display wall (Fig. 4) comprising a plurality of display modules (401) (see column 7, lines 41-46; Fig. 4), the method comprising setting, by all the display module controllers (131) (see column 5, line-column 6, line 3), all display module coordinates to an initial setting wherein all display module coordinates have a same default value coordinate corresponding to the coordinates of the reference display module (101) (when the multi-display has four display panels having the same display screens, display data of the position coordinate registers have the same horizontal and vertical start positions stored in each register of the display panel; see column 7, line 23-46; column 19, lines 54-63, Fig. 3-4), each display module controller (131) communicating with its direct neighbor display module (101_2) (see column 5, line 63-65), and for each display module (101), the respective display module controller (131) updating the display module (see column 5, lines 58-65; Fig. 1).
Therefore it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to allow the usage of a display module controller similar to that which is taught by Furuhashi to be carried out in a system similar to that which is taught by Liu and Cohen for controlling the data output to the display unit.
With reference to claim 26, Liu, Cohen, and Furuhashi disclose the method according to claim 25, wherein Cohen further discloses that the step of updating the coordinates by comparing the coordinates of the two neighboring display modules (see paragraphs 167, 173, 175; Figs. 14, 17, 18B) is performed as follows: if the coordinate of a first display module of the two neighboring display modules is higher than, lower than, or equal to the coordinate of a second display module of the two neighboring display modules, incrementing, decrementing, or keeping as is the coordinate of the first display module as a function of the coordinate of the second display module and incremental direction of the display wall (in teaching display tile (DT) ID request “DT IDReq” queue, wherein the ID may be a unique string of numbers and/or characters; see paragraphs 167-168; Fig. 14).
With reference to claim 27, Liu, Cohen, and Furuhashi disclose the method according to claim 25, wherein Cohen further discloses that the default value of the coordinates of the plurality of display modules are coordinate of a reference position in the display wall (see paragraph 167; Fig. 14).
With reference to claim 28, Liu, Cohen, and Furuhashi disclose the method according to claim 25, wherein Cohen further discloses that wherein tile to tile packets further comprise information on the display module unique ID of said display module (see paragraph 167; Fig. 14).
With reference to claim 29, Liu, Cohen, and Furuhashi disclose the method according to claim 25, wherein Cohen further discloses wherein the step of continuously communicating with a direct neighbor display module is performed at a bandwidth which is compatible with the bandwidth of the link cable connecting two display modules (see paragraph 152).
With reference to claim 30, Liu, Cohen, and Furuhashi disclose the method according to claim 25, wherein Liu further discloses that the method further comprising the step of dividing the display wall into at least one section, or at least two sections (D1-D3) and/or further comprising the step of connecting at least one display module of a section to a display wall processor (104) (see paragraphs 31-32; Fig. 7).
With reference to claim 31, Liu, Cohen, and Furuhashi disclose the method according to claim 25, wherein Cohen further discloses that further comprising, for each display module, the step of: a display module receiving a packet from a corresponding display wall processor and selecting a port receiving the packet as upstream port (1416) (see paragraph 167; Fig. 14), setting the other ports to downstream ports (1430) (see paragraph 167; Fig. 14); the corresponding display wall processor receiving a reply packet (1424) from the display module comprising information on the display module (see paragraph 167; Fig. 14), the display module is a connected display module (DT), further comprising, for the display wall, the step of; when all the display modules of that section are connected to the display wall processor, the display wall processor completing a list of connected display modules with their information (1432) (see paragraph 167; Fig. 14); each of the connected display modules forwarding said packet on at least one downstream port when available (see paragraph 168; Fig. 15).
With reference to claim 32, Liu, Cohen, and Furuhashi disclose the method according to claim 30, wherein Liu further disclosing for each display module (10) belonging to a same section when the display wall have at least two sections (D1-D3), and each section having a corresponding display wall processor (102, 104) (see paragraphs 17-18, 31; Fig. 3), the step of, the display wall processor of said section receiving a packet from a display module to connect containing its information, thereby adding said display module to the list of connected display modules of said section (see paragraph 27-28; Table 1; Fig. 2), the display wall processor sending a section packet to the connected display module in said section, comprising information on the display module and the information of the other display modules of said section (see paragraphs 31-33, Table 2; Figs. 6-7).
While disclosing transmitting data information, Liu fails to specifically teach sending packets and verifying a connection list as recited.
Cohen further discloses that the display module receiving the section packet from the display wall processor and verifying if display module information is connected and is in the list (1422, 1506) (see Figs. 14-15), if in the list, the display module selecting a port of the display module receiving the section packet as upstream port (1412) (see paragraph 167; Fig. 14), and the remaining ports as downstream ports (1430) (see paragraph 167; Fig. 14), the display wall processor receiving a reply packet (1424) from each connected display modules containing the display module information and neighbor display module information, further comprising, for each section (see paragraph 167; Fig. 14), the step of, when all the display modules have been connected, completing the list of connected display modules with their information (see paragraph 167; Fig. 14), each of the connected display modules forwarding said section packet on at least one downstream port when available (see paragraph 168; Fig. 15).
With reference to claim 33, Liu, Cohen, and Furuhashi disclose the method according to claim 31, wherein Liu further discloses that wherein the display module information comprises at least the display module coordinates (see paragraphs 27-28; Table 1; Fig. 2).
With reference to claim 34, Liu, Cohen, and Furuhashi disclose the method according to claim 31, wherein Cohen further discloses that the step of selecting the upstream port for each display module is based on selecting the port having the highest priority which is operable (in teaching first display tile connected to the MPU; see paragraph 167).
With reference to claim 35, Liu, Cohen, and Furuhashi disclose the method according to claim 25, wherein Liu further discloses that the step of defining, by the display wall processor, the coordinate of a display module to a predefined coordinate (see paragraphs 27-28; Table 1; Fig. 2).
While disclosing coordinates of the display module, there fails to be disclosure of updating as recited.
Cohen discloses that the step of updating the coordinates of the display modules (DT) of the display wall other than the display module having the predefined coordinate with respect to the predefined coordinate (see paragraphs 171-172; Figs. 16A-B).
With reference to claim 36, Liu, Cohen, and Furuhashi disclose the method according to claim 25, wherein a display module autonomously selects a new upstream port when its current upstream port fails (see paragraph 171; Fig. 16A).
With reference to claim 37, Liu, Cohen, and Furuhashi disclose the method according to claim 25, wherein further comprising the step of connecting the same or a second display wall processor to the first or to a second display module of the at least one section (1610-1612) (see paragraphs 171; Fig. 16A).
With reference to claim 38, Liu, Cohen, and Furuhashi disclose the method according to claim 25, wherein the display modules are at least one of rectangular, hexagonal, and wherein the display wall follows a matrix arrangement, honeycomb arrangement, accordingly (see paragraph 76).
With reference to claim 39, Liu, Cohen, and Furuhashi disclose the method according to claim 25, wherein Liu further discloses that the display modules are LED, OLED, micro-LED, LCD, e-Ink, display modules, or (rear) projection display (see paragraph 15). Cohen further discloses the usage of micro-LED (see paragraph 116).
With reference to claim 40, Liu, Cohen, and Furuhashi disclose the method according to claim 25, wherein Cohen further discloses that wherein each display module (1200) comprises a controller (1210) and a port (1215, 1231) on each side of the module (see paragraph 148, 152; Fig. 12), each port comprising a port ID specifying the location of the port on the display module (see paragraphs 110, 167).
With reference to claim 41, Liu, Cohen, and Furuhashi disclose the method according to claim 25, wherein Cohen further comprising the step of using a Port ID to detect a wrong cabling connection (see paragraph 167).
With reference to claim 42, Liu, Cohen, and Furuhashi disclose the method of claim 25, wherein Cohen further disclose a method for installing a display wall comprising a plurality of display modules to generate a display wall having the desired configuration, each display module comprising a display module controller and a port on each side of the module connected to the controller (see paragraph 148, 152; Fig. 12), the method further comprising the steps of: installing each display module until the display wall has the desired configuration (see paragraph 78; Figs. 2-3), connecting each display module to its direct neighbor at each side port (see paragraph 167), performing the method of such that the display module coordinates are updated (see paragraphs 173-174).
With reference to claim 43, Liu, Cohen, and Furuhashi disclose the method of claim 42, wherein Cohen further disclose further comprising the step of: adding, removing, or replacing display modules in the display wall, repeating the step of performing the method for mapping a display wall comprising a plurality of display modules such that the display module coordinates are updated (see paragraphs 167-168, 171-173; Figs. 14-16).
With reference to claim 44, Liu, Cohen, and Furuhashi disclose the method according to claim 43, wherein Liu further discloses that further comprising the step of dividing the display wall into at least one or a plurality of sections (D1-D3) (see paragraphs 31-32; Fig. 7), and/or further comprising the step of providing at least one display wall controller (104) and connecting at least one display module (10) per section to the at least one display wall controller (see paragraphs 31-32).
With reference to claim 45, Liu, Cohen, and Furuhashi disclose the method according to claim 44, wherein Liu further discloses that further comprising the step of performing the method for mapping a display wall comprising a plurality of display modules (10), further comprising the step of dividing the display wall into at least one section, or at least two sections (D1-D3), and further comprising the step of the display wall processor to send video packets to each display module of each section, to display images with the display wall, wherein the video packets comprise for each display module its video data and corresponding display module unique ID (see paragraphs 31-32; Fig. 7).
Response to Arguments
Applicant’s arguments with respect to claims 25-45 have been considered but are moot because the new ground of rejection does not rely on any reference applied in the prior rejection of record for any teaching or matter specifically challenged in the argument.
Pertinent Prior Art
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure.
HOCHMAN et al. (USPub 2022/0254317) discloses displaying video content on video walls in which a controller can tell the tile which stream is of higher priority for transmitting packet streams (see abstract; paragraphs 27-44; Figs. 1-3).
OGINO et al. (US6,593,902) discloses an extending type display by connecting a plurality of display units, wherein each display unit includes a controller that executes, when a plurality of display units are connected to each other, signal transaction with controllers of any other display units adjacent to the controller through signal transmitting sections to recognize size of the screen as well as a position of the screen (see abstract; column 3, line 61-column 5, line 36; Figs. 1-2).
Conclusion
/Alecia D English/Examiner, Art Unit 2625 571-270-1595