DETAILED ACTION
Election/Restrictions
Applicant's election with traverse of Group I (claims 20-23 and 31) in the reply filed on 09/08/2026 is acknowledged. The traversal is on the ground(s) of the following reasons:
On pg 11-12, Applicant argues the restriction by pointing to specific embodiments of Dicarlo, while not considering the broader teachings of Dicarlo (e.g., “Dicarlo describes cavities and opening merely as optional additional structures”), as read onto claim 20, in terms of obviousness. Note that specific embodiments do not define the teachings: “Applicants erroneously point to specific embodiments expressly disclosed within the prior art reference as representing the sum total of information conveyed by each. Art is art, not only for what it expressly teaches, but also for what it would reasonably suggest to the skilled artisan, including alternative or non-preferred embodiments. Merck & Co. v. Biocraft Laboratories, 874 F.2d 804, 10 USPQ2d 1843 (Fed. Cir.), cert. denied, 493 U.S. 975 (1989).” A PHOSITA would understand that given DiCarlo’s teaching of an opening 55 ([0080], Figure 20) and/or a cavity 72, whereby the cavity is optionally sealed and/or loaded with a therapeutic ([0076], Figure 16), that a cavity and/or cavity-opening could be placed at the center of a spherical particle, in which DiCarlo teaches spherical particles [0004-0010, 0078].
On pg 12, Applicant argues DiCarlo’s thermally responsive deformable polymers are incompatible with Applicant’s claim scope. However, Applicant has not adequately explained how the suitable shape memory polymers for in vivo use, that include “elastomers” [0040] are different from the instant “biocompatible polymer material with viscoelasticity” (instant claim 20). Further note Dicarlo teaches some embodiments where the particle is formed entirely of materials that do no exhibit shape memory characteristics (“a non-shape memory material”) [0063], including absorbable polymers such as hyaluronic acid and hydrogels generally [0064] (i.e., recited in instant claim 42), further comprising natural materials such as alginate [0066] (i.e., recited in instant claim 42).
On pg 12-13, Applicant argues that DiCarlo’s preparation method is fundamentally different than the instant Application. Even if this were the case, the restriction is based on a fundamental shared technical element between all claims, which in this case, is the instantly claimed composition of claim 20 (i.e., the restriction itself is based on the composition structure, and regardless of the process of making, and there is no product-by-process language in claim 20), that is found obvious based on Dicarlo alone.
Thus collectively, the arguments are not found persuasive. Furthermore, see the related Prior Art of the 103 below that further demonstrates claim 1 to contain a shared technical element.
The requirement is still deemed proper and is therefore made FINAL.
Claims 24-30 and 32-37 are withdrawn from further consideration pursuant to 37 CFR 1.142(b), as being drawn to a nonelected Group II-VII, there being no allowable generic or linking claim. Applicant timely traversed the restriction (election) requirement in the reply filed on 07/07/2026.
Priority
The present application is a National Stage entry of International application PCT/CN2023/091079 filed 04/27/2023, which claims the benefit of Foreign application CN202210478407.X filed 04/28/2022. Receipt is acknowledged of certified copies of papers required by 37 CFR 1.55, although it is noted that no English translation was provided.
Status of the Application
Receipt is acknowledged of Applicant’s claimed invention, filed 10/28/2024, in the matter of Application N° 18/860,999. Said documents have been entered on the record. New claims 38-46 have been added to the claims. The Examiner further acknowledges the following:
Claims 20-46 are pending.
Claims 24-30 and 32-37 are withdrawn from consideration as directed to non-elected inventions.
Claims 20-23, 31, and 38-46 are presented for examination and rejected as set forth below.
Drawings
The drawings are objected to because there is poor resolution and/or small illegible font in Fig 26, 27, 31-32, 36 38-39, 41, 46, 49, 53. Applicant is recommended to amend the drawings to improve overall resolution (i.e., at Applicant’s discretion).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claim 46 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
Claim 46 recites “virus-like”, which is language that is subjective in nature, depending on what is considered “virus-like” (i.e., whole virus, inactivated virus, virus mimic, polynucleotide and/or polypeptide portion of a virus, etc., and there is no further defining of “virus-like” within the Specification). Further clarification and/or amendment is required.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 20-23, 31, 38-42, and 44-46, are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Dicarlo (US20050095428A1).
Applicant’s claims are directed to a hollow embolic microsphere, wherein: the hollow embolic microsphere has a spheroidal or hemispheroidal shape, an internal cavity and an opening structure, and the material of the hollow embolic microsphere is biocompatible polymer material with viscoelasticity. Furthermore, hemispheroidal shape is a broad definition of shape, and is interpreted of having at least half or more of the particle with a sphere shape.
Note, for example, independent claim 20 does not have a typical transitional phrase, and therefore, the Examiner interprets the “hollow embolic microsphere” to “consist of “ (i.e., “is”) the additional structural limitations of the claim scope.
Dicarlo teaches embolic compositions made of polymers (abstract, Dicarlo – claims 1-3 and 27) for the use to prevent or treat certain conditions in the body (e.g., deprive tumors, block hemorrhage, etc.) [0003]. Furthermore, the compositions comprise cross-linked polymers [0069].
Regarding claim 20 and 38: Dicarlo teaches embolic particles for use in the body [0003] made form shape memory material comprising polymers (Dicarlo – claims 1-2), whereby the final particle shape is non-limiting (e.g., spherical or non-spherical; see Fig 1B, including drawn structures 22) [0004-0010, 0078].
Further there is the obviousness of providing an opening 55 ([0080], Figure 20) and/or a cavity 72, whereby the cavity is optionally sealed and/or loaded with a therapeutic ([0076], Figure 16). See Figures below.
Thus, a PHOSITA would understand that given Dicarlo’s teaching of an opening 55 ([0080], Figure 20) and/or a cavity 72, whereby the cavity is optionally sealed and/or loaded with a therapeutic ([0076], Figure 16), that a cavity and/or cavity-opening could be placed at the center of a spherical particle [0004-0010, 0078].
Regarding claim 21: Dicarlo teaches structural projections/bumps [0067] (e.g., projection 59 or Fig 20) and indentations/concavity [0060, 0080] (reads on bulge toward the opening structure or cavity center of instant claim 21).
Regarding claim 22 and 41: Dicarlo shows a cylindrical object in Figure 16: a ratio of width to height of about 1:1; a ratio of inner diameter to outer diameter of about 1:2 (i.e., also about 50 % compared to the instant range of 1 to 95% of claim 41); a ratio of wall thickness to particle size of about 1:10 (reads on the structural parameters of instant claim 22), whereby it would be obvious to a PHOSITA to develop a spherical variant of this based on DiCarlo’s teaching of a non-limiting particle shape (e.g., spherical or non-spherical; see Fig 1B) [0004-0010, 0078]. Note that non-limiting variability of shape is built into Dicarlo’s design and is optimized based on intended use and outcome (i.e., including the obvious limitations of spherical structures, hollow features, etc. [0004-0010, 0078] or different sizes [0079-0080]).
Regarding claim 23: Dicarlo teaches that the microsphere incorporates polyester (Dicarlo – claim 27).
Regarding claim 31: Dicarlo teaches incorporation of active agents [0071].
Regarding claim 39-40: Dicarlo teaches a particle size diameter of 1000 micron (reads on “50 to 2000 um” of instant claim 39 and “one or a combination of two or more groups of…particle size of 900 to 1200 um” of instant claim 40) [0049], whereby the final particle shape is non-limiting, including different varieties of particles in a given compositional mixture (e.g., spherical or non-spherical; see Fig 1B) [0004-0010, 0078] or different sizes [0079-0080], and may contain openings and cavities, in which an embodiment is considered where a material sealant degrades or dissolves to release a therapeutic agent ([0080], Figure 20; [0076], Figure 16).
Regarding claim 42: Dicarlo teaches some embodiments where the particle is formed entirely of materials that do no exhibit shape memory characteristics (“a non-shape memory material”) [0063], including absorbable polymers such as hyaluronic acid and hydrogels generally [0064], further comprising natural materials such as alginate [0066].
Regarding claim 44: Dicarlo further teaches active agents such as the hemostatic agent Avitene® (a microfibrillar collagen (e.g., 40-60 micron particles) (reads on polymer micron particles of claim 44) [0083] or MRI-visible nanocrystalline metallic particles [0074].
Regarding claim 45: Dicarlo teaches nanocrystalline Fe3O4 (aka, Iron (II,III) Oxide or Magnetite)(reads on nano-iron oxide) [0074].
Regarding claim 46: Dicarlo teaches a non-limiting variety of therapeutic agents, including anti-cancer drugs such as paclitaxel, bifunctional molecules consisting of an antibody and a cytotoxin (reads on “antibody conjugated drug”), etc. [0070-0071].
In summary, Dicarlo teaches embolic particles made form shape memory material (Dicarlo – claims 1-2), whereby the final particle shape is non-limiting (e.g., spherical or non-spherical) [0004-0010], and further there is the obviousness of providing an opening 55 [0080]. It must be remembered that “[w]hen a patent simply arranges old elements with each performing the same function it had been known to perform and yields no more than one would expect from such an arrangement, the combination is obvious.” KSR v. Teleflex, 127 S.Ct. 1727, 1740 (2007) (quoting Sakraida v. A.G. Pro, 425 U.S. 273, 282 (1976)). “[W]hen the question is whether a patent claiming the combination of elements of prior art is obvious,” the relevant question is “whether the improvement is more than the predictable use of prior art elements according to their established functions.” (Id.). Thus, Dicarlo teaches the combination of art-known elements (i.e., spherical particles, surface holes, cavities, materials, active ingredients, etc.), according to their disclosed beneficial properties (i.e., embolic treatment and/or controlled drug delivery) with the resultant product nothing more than one would expect from their combination (i.e., resolution of embolic related conditions and/or disorders).
Claims 20-23, 31 and 38-46 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Dicarlo (US20050095428A1), as applied to claims 20-23, 31, 38-42, and 44-46, and in further view of Zhu (US20190231924A1).
As discussed above, the Dicarlo teaches nearly all of the elements and motivation for the obviousness of the instant claim scope (i.e., spherical particles, surface holes, cavities, polymeric materials, active ingredients, cross-linked polymers, etc.). However, DiCarlo does not teach the crosslinking agent and amount/ratio (instant claim 43).
Zhu teaches microspherical embolic agent comprising crosslinked hyaluronic acid (abstract), that employs crosslinkers such as divinyl sulfone, 1,4-butanediol diglycidyl ether, etc. [0017]. The amount of crosslinker used is 0.2-2 vol %, with an example of 0.1 g/mL sodium hyaluronate (100 mg/mL = about 10 v/v%) reacting with 1% 1,4-butanediol diglycidyl ether [0027], providing a ratio of crosslinking agent to polymer material ratio of 1:10 (or 0.1:10) (reading on the range of 0.0001:1 to 10:1 of instant claim 43). Zhu teaches beneficial characteristics of chemically-modified polymers, as embolic agents [0005-0006]: “Chemically modified hyaluronic acid has improved anti-degradation capability and retains the unique properties of hyaluronic acid such as biocompatibility, high viscoelasticity, and being free of side effect.” Zhu further teaches the method produces embolic spheres that are uniform and smooth [0007], which can better occlude distal blood vessels and can greatly decrease the coefficient of friction in the blood vessel during the embolization [0005].
It would have been prima facie obvious for one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the broader teachings of Dicarlo that describe embolic particles of a non-limiting shape (e.g. spherical) and made of polymer (e.g. hyaluronic acid), to incorporate the crosslinking agents of Zhu, because Zhu teaches microspherical embolic agents comprising crosslinked hyaluronic acid that employs crosslinkers such as divinyl sulfone, 1,4-butanediol diglycidyl ether, etc. [0017], whereby Dicarlo teaches embolic particles, where the particle is formed entirely of materials that do no exhibit shape memory characteristics (“a non-shape memory material”) [0063], including absorbable polymers such as hyaluronic acid and hydrogels generally [0064], further comprising natural materials such as alginate [0066], and also cross-linked polymers [0069]. Furthermore, the chemical modifying cross-linking approach by Zhu improves anti-degradation capability, retains the beneficial polymeric properties, is free of side effect, and produces uniform/smooth embolic spherical particles, which demonstrates better performance during the embolization [0005-0007], providing explicit motivation for this modification.
Claims 20-23, 31, 38-42, and 44-46, are further rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Dicarlo (US20050095428A1), and in further view of Mu (CN112023115A – machine translation provided; published 12-04-2020, as compared to the instant priority date of 04/28/2022; provided in IDS filed 10/28/2024).
As discussed above, the Dicarlo teaches nearly all of the elements and motivation for the obviousness of the instant claim scope (i.e., spherical particles, surface holes, cavities, materials, active ingredients, cross-linked polymers etc.). Mu further explicitly provides a more visually similar structural embodiment (i.e., compared to the intended structure of the instant claim scope, as described by the Figure 1 of the Drawings).
Mu teaches the obviousness of hollow particle forms (abstract) based on crosslinked polymers [0056-0057] such as chitosan [0028]. Mu shows that different payloads (e.g., Bletilla striata polysaccharide granules [0011, 0021], that improve anti-tumor therapeutic effect on the lesion site, via slow release [0011]) can be carried within the spherical particle. See Figure 3 below.
Mu teaches matrix 11 is a polymer-based material [0027] (e.g., albumin, gum, chitosan), without any general limiting restrictions of polymer type [0028].
It would have been prima facie obvious for one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the broader teachings of Dicarlo that narrow the specific particle shape to a hollow sphere of Mu because Mu teaches hollow spherical particles as suitable vehicles for delivery of anti-cancer drugs, whereas Dicarlo teaches the structural elements of spherical particles, surface holes, cavities. Furthermore, application of a hole to the surface of the spherical shell, as taught by Dicarlo, would provide an exit for active ingredient into the desired location of the body, because Dicarlo teaches an embodiment that is considered where a material sealant degrades or dissolves to release a therapeutic agent ([0080], Figure 20; [0076], Figure 16).
Correspondence
/R.P./Examiner, Art Unit 1614 10/1/2026
/SEAN M BASQUILL/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 1614