DETAILED ACTION
Claim(s) 1-15 are presented for examination.
Priority
As required by M.P.E.P.201.14(c), acknowledgement is made to applicant’s claim for priority based on application(s) KR10-2022-0060249 submitted on May 17th, 2022.
Receipt is acknowledged of certified copies of papers required by 37 CFR 1.55.
Information Disclosure Statement
The information disclosure statement(s) (IDS) submitted on October 28th, 2024 follow the provisions of 37 CFR 1.97. Accordingly, the information disclosure statement is being considered by the examiner.
Specification
The abstract of the disclosure is objected to because it contains a legal phraseology “comprises …” in lines 3 and 7. The form and legal phraseology often used in patent claims, such as "means" and "said," should be avoided. Correction is required. See MPEP § 608.01(b).
Claim Rejections - 35 U.S.C. § 103
Claim(s) 1-3, 5, 6, 8-10 and 12-14 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. § 103 as being unpatentable over TANG (US 2019/0379483 A1) in view of KIM et al. (US 2023/0246781 A1) hereinafter “Kim”.
Regarding Claims 1 and 8,
Tang discloses a terminal of a wireless communication system [see fig(s). 2 & 4, pg. 7, ¶160 lines 1-4, a terminal device “400”], the terminal [see fig(s). 2 & 4, pg. 7, ¶160 lines 1-4, the terminal device “400”] comprising:
a transceiver [see fig(s). 2 & 4, pg. 7, ¶160 lines 1-4, a transceiver unit “410”]; and
a controller connected to the transceiver [see fig(s). 2 & 4, pg. 7, ¶160 lines 1-4, a processing unit “420”], wherein the controller is configured to [see fig(s). 2 & 4, pg. 7, ¶160 lines 1-4, the processing unit “420” implemented to]:
receive [see fig. 2: Step “210”, pg. 4, ¶83 lines 1-4, receive], from a base station [see fig. 2: Step “210”, pg. 4, ¶83 lines 1-4, from a network device], first information for dynamically changing ports or beams of a channel state information reference signal (CSI-RS) [see fig. 2: Step “210”, pg. 4, ¶83 lines 1-4, a trigger signaling used to activate an aperiodic channel state information reference signal CSI-RS resource of the terminal device];
receive [see fig. 2: Step “220”, pg. 4, ¶85 lines 1-3, after receiving the trigger signaling, obtaining, by the terminal device], second information indicating a CSI-RS resource [see fig. 2: Step “220”, pg. 4, ¶85 lines 1-3, a first CSI by performing CSI measurement on the aperiodic CSI-RS resource];
transmit [see fig. 2: Step “240”, pg. 6, ¶139 lines 1-2, the terminal device sends], to the base station [see fig. 2: Step “240”, pg. 6, ¶139 lines 1-2, to the network device], channel state information (CSI) comprising a measurement result regarding the CSI-RS [see fig. 2: Step “240”, pg. 6, ¶139 lines 1-2, the first CSI using the time domain resource].
Although Tang discloses receiving second information indicating a CSI-RS resource, Tang does not explicitly teach “receive a CSI-RS in the CSI-RS resource, based on the first information and the second information”.
However Kim discloses receiving [see fig. 14: Step “1403”, pg. 19, ¶341 lines 1-14, the UE receives], from a base station [see fig. 14: Step “1403”, pg. 19, ¶341 lines 1-14, from a base station], first information for dynamically changing ports or beams of a channel state information reference signal (CSI-RS) [see fig. 14: Step “1403”, pg. 19, ¶341 lines 1-14, configuration including system information (SI) and/or scheduling information and/or BM-related configuration (e.g., DL BM related CSI-ResourceConfig IE/NZP CSI-RS resource set IE, etc.) … etc.)];
receiving [see fig. 14: Step “1404”, pg. 19, ¶344 lines 1-20, the UE receives], from the base station [see fig. 14: Step “1404”, pg. 19, ¶344 lines 1-20, from the base station], second information indicating a CSI-RS resource [see fig. 14: Step “1404”, pg. 19, ¶344 lines 1-20, a reference signal for CSI measurement (e.g., CSI-RS)];
receiving a CSI-RS in the CSI-RS resource [see fig. 14: Step “1405”, pg. 19, ¶346 lines 1-3, the UE performs CSI measurement], based on the first information and the second information [see fig. 14: Step “1405”, pg. 19, ¶346 lines 1-3, based on the received reference signal (e.g., CSI-RS) and a previously configured/indicated value (e.g., configuration)]; and
transmitting [see fig. 14: Step “1406”, pg. 20, ¶348 lines 1-3, the UE transmits], to the base station [see fig. 14: Step “1406”, pg. 20, ¶348 lines 1-3, to the base station], channel state information (CSI) comprising a measurement result regarding the CSI-RS [see fig. 14: Step “1406”, pg. 20, ¶348 lines 1-3, a channel state information (CSI) report through an uplink channel (e.g., PUCCH/PUSCH)].
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to provide “receive a CSI-RS in the CSI-RS resource, based on the first information and the second information” as taught by Kim in the system of Tang for reducing signaling overhead and latency when changing the reception/transmission beam of the terminal [see Kim, pg. 17, ¶324 lines 1-7].
Regarding Claims 2 and 9,
The combined system of Tang and Kim discloses the terminal of claim 8.
Tang further discloses wherein the first information is received through a medium access control (MAC) control element (CE) or downlink control information (DCI) [see pg. 4, ¶85 lines 1-3, the trigger signaling is Downlink Control Information (DCI) signaling or Media Access Control (MAC) signaling], and the first information is received in case that measurement restriction is preconfigured through radio resource control (RRC) signaling [see pg. 4, ¶90 lines 1-7, one CSI-RS resource is indicated from multiple CSI-RS resources configured by a MAC layer message or an RRC message by using the DCI signaling as the resource for aperiodic CSI-RS transmission, etc.].
Regarding Claims 3 and 10,
The combined system of Tang and Kim discloses the terminal of claim 8.
Tang further discloses wherein the CSI-RS resource is the most recently received resource no later than a CSI reference resource [see pg. 4, ¶87 lines 1-6, the resource for aperiodic CSI-RS transmission refers to a resource for measurement based on aperiodic CSI-RS], and the measurement result is generated only with regard to the CSI-RS received in the CSI-RS resource [see pg. 4, ¶87 lines 1-6, the resource used for aperiodic CSI-RS transmission is a periodic resource, but aperiodic CSI-RS transmission is implemented on the resource, that is, the measurement based on aperiodic CSI-RS].
Regarding Claims 5 and 12,
Tang discloses a base station of a wireless communication system [see fig(s). 2 & 5, pg. 8, ¶196 lines 1-4, a network device “500”], the base station [see fig(s). 2 & 5, pg. 8, ¶196 lines 1-4, the network device “500”] comprising:
a transceiver [see fig(s). 2 & 5, pg. 8, ¶196 lines 1-4, a transceiver unit “510”]; and
a controller connected to the transceiver [see fig(s). 2 & 5, pg. 8, ¶196 lines 1-4, a processing unit “520”], wherein the controller is configured to [see fig(s). 2 & 5, pg. 8, ¶196 lines 1-4, the processing unit “520” implemented to]:
transmit [see fig. 2: Step “210”, pg. 4, ¶83 lines 1-4, transmit], to a terminal [see fig. 2: Step “210”, pg. 4, ¶83 lines 1-4, to a terminal device], first information for dynamically changing ports or beams of a channel state information reference signal (CSI-RS) [see fig. 2: Step “210”, pg. 4, ¶83 lines 1-4, a trigger signaling used to activate an aperiodic channel state information reference signal CSI-RS resource of the terminal device];
transmit [see fig. 2: Step “220”, pg. 4, ¶85 lines 1-3, after transmitting the trigger signaling], to the terminal [see fig. 2: Step “220”, pg. 4, ¶85 lines 1-3, to the terminal device], second information indicating a CSI-RS resource [see fig. 2: Step “220”, pg. 4, ¶85 lines 1-3, the terminal device performs CSI measurement on the aperiodic CSI-RS resource to obtain a first CSI]; and
receive [see fig. 2: Step “240”, pg. 6, ¶139 lines 1-2, receiving], from the terminal [see fig. 2: Step “240”, pg. 6, ¶139 lines 1-2, from the terminal device], channel state information (CSI) comprising a measurement result regarding the CSI-RS [see fig. 2: Step “240”, pg. 6, ¶139 lines 1-2, the first CSI using the time domain resource].
Although Tang discloses transmitting second information indicating a CSI-RS resource, Tang does not explicitly teach “transmit a CSI-RS in the CSI-RS resource, based on the first information and the second information”.
However Kim discloses transmitting [see fig. 14: Step “1403”, pg. 19, ¶341 lines 1-14, sending], to a terminal [see fig. 14: Step “1403”, pg. 19, ¶341 lines 1-14, to the UE], first information for dynamically changing ports or beams of a channel state information reference signal (CSI-RS) [see fig. 14: Step “1403”, pg. 19, ¶341 lines 1-14, configuration including system information (SI) and/or scheduling information and/or BM-related configuration (e.g., DL BM related CSI-ResourceConfig IE/NZP CSI-RS resource set IE, etc.) … etc.)];
transmitting [see fig. 14: Step “1404”, pg. 19, ¶344 lines 1-20, sending], to the terminal [see fig. 14: Step “1404”, pg. 19, ¶344 lines 1-20, to the UE], second information indicating a CSI-RS resource [see fig. 14: Step “1404”, pg. 19, ¶344 lines 1-20, a reference signal for CSI measurement (e.g., CSI-RS)];
transmitting a CSI-RS in the CSI-RS resource [see fig. 14: Step “1405”, pg. 19, ¶346 lines 1-3, UE performs CSI measurement], based on the first information and the second information [see fig. 14: Step “1405”, pg. 19, ¶346 lines 1-3, based on the received reference signal (e.g., CSI-RS) and a previously configured/indicated value (e.g., configuration)]; and
receiving [see fig. 14: Step “1406”, pg. 20, ¶348 lines 1-3, receiving], from the terminal [see fig. 14: Step “1406”, pg. 20, ¶348 lines 1-3, from the UE], channel state information (CSI) comprising a measurement result regarding the CSI-RS [see fig. 14: Step “1406”, pg. 20, ¶348 lines 1-3, a channel state information (CSI) report through an uplink channel (e.g., PUCCH/PUSCH)].
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to provide “transmit a CSI-RS in the CSI-RS resource, based on the first information and the second information” as taught by Kim in the system of Tang for reducing signaling overhead and latency when changing the reception/transmission beam of the terminal [see Kim, pg. 17, ¶324 lines 1-7].
Regarding Claims 6 and 13,
The combined system of Tang and Kim discloses the base station of claim 12.
Tang further discloses wherein the first information is transmitted through a medium access control (MAC) control element (CE) or downlink control information (DCI) [see pg. 4, ¶85 lines 1-3, the trigger signaling is Downlink Control Information (DCI) signaling or Media Access Control (MAC) signaling], and the first information is transmitted in case that measurement restriction is preconfigured through radio resource control (RRC) signaling [see pg. 4, ¶90 lines 1-7, one CSI-RS resource is indicated from multiple CSI-RS resources configured by a MAC layer message or an RRC message by using the DCI signaling as the resource for aperiodic CSI-RS transmission, etc.].
Regarding Claim 14,
The combined system of Tang and Kim discloses the base station of claim 12.
Tang further discloses wherein the CSI-RS resource is the most recently transmitted resource no later than a CSI reference resource [see pg. 4, ¶87 lines 1-6, the resource for aperiodic CSI-RS transmission refers to a resource for measurement based on aperiodic CSI-RS], and the measurement result is generated only with regard to the CSI-RS received in the CSI-RS resource [see pg. 4, ¶87 lines 1-6, the resource used for aperiodic CSI-RS transmission is a periodic resource, but aperiodic CSI-RS transmission is implemented on the resource, that is, the measurement based on aperiodic CSI-RS].
Allowable Subject Matter
Claims 4, 7, 11 and 15 is/are objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure.
United States Patent Application Publication: GO et al. (US 2024/0380460 A1); see fig(s). 15 and 16, pgs. 25-28, ¶430-¶472.
/RUSHIL P. SAMPAT/Primary Examiner- TC 2400, Art Unit 2469