DETAILED ACTION
Status of Claims
Claim(s) 1-15 is/are pending in the application.
Claim(s) 1-15 is/are examined on the merits.
Priority
Applicant’s claim for the benefit of a prior-filed application under 35 U.S.C. 119(e) or under 35 U.S.C. 120, 121, or 365(c) is acknowledged.
Information Disclosure Statement
The information disclosure statement(s) (IDS) submitted on 10/28/2024 in compliance with the provisions of 37 CFR 1.97. Accordingly, the information disclosure statement(s) has/have been considered by the examiner.
Claim Objections
Claim(s) 8 is/are objected to because of the following informalities:
Claim 8, “a distance between the first and the second embossed element in a rear third of the absorbent core” should read -- a distance between the first and the second outer embossed element in a rear third of the absorbent core --.
Appropriate correction is required.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claim(s) 5, 8, 10, and 14 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
Claim 5 recites the limitation “the outer embossed shaping element further comprises an arc-shaped embossed front portion arranged frontwards of the central embossed shaping element and substantially following the contour of the V-shaped or modified V-shaped portion of the central embossed shaping element” which is indefinite. There is insufficient antecedent basis for “contour” and “V-shaped” in the claim. The limitation has been examined below as if it read -- the outer embossed shaping element further comprises an arc-shaped embossed front portion arranged frontwards of the central embossed shaping element and substantially following [[a contour of [[a V-shaped or modified V-shaped portion of the central embossed shaping element --.
Claim 8 recites the limitation “a distance between the first and the second outer embossed element in a rear third of the absorbent core is within the range of from 0.5 to 20 mm” which is indefinite. It is unclear which part/section of the absorbent core is a rear third of the absorbent core and the drawings also do not show the “rear third of the absorbent core”. According to ¶0036 and Fig. 1 of Applicant’s published application, the absorbent core comprises a front part 20, a rear part 22 and an intermediate part 21 located between the front part 20 and the rear part 22. Furthermore, there is not sufficient antecedent basis for “range” in the claim. The limitation has been examined below as if it read -- a distance between the first and the second outer embossed element in a rear [[third]] part of the absorbent core is within [[a range of [[
Claim 10 recites the limitation “the second absorbent structure comprises superabsorbent polymers in an amount of from 30 wt.%” which is indefinite. The claimed range does not have lower and upper limits. According to ¶0017 of Applicant’s published application, the second absorbent structure comprises superabsorbent polymers in an amount of 30 wt.% to 80 wt.%. The limitation has been examined below as if it read -- the second absorbent structure comprises superabsorbent polymers in an amount of [[to 80 wt.% --.
Claim 14 recites the limitation “the first and the second side cuts are arranged on either side of and aligned with a conveying point of the V-shaped portion first leg and the V-shaped portion second leg or of an extension of a non-intersecting V-shaped portion first leg and the V-shaped portion second leg” which is indefinite. It is unclear if the claimed “conveying point” same or different from the “conveying point” introduced in claim 2. The limitation has been examined below as if it read -- the first and the second side cuts are arranged on either side of and aligned with [[the conveying point of the V-shaped portion first leg and the V-shaped portion second leg or of an extension of a non-intersecting V-shaped portion first leg and the V-shaped portion second leg --.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 1 and 9 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Bianchi (US PGPUB 20190000687).
Regarding claim 1, Bianchi discloses an absorbent article for a female user in the form of a sanitary napkin, incontinence pad or liner (an absorbent article 20: ¶0025 and Figs. 1-3) having a first and a second longitudinal side edge (side edges 13 and 14: ¶0026 and Fig. 1) and a front and rear end edge (a front edge 10 and a back edge 12: ¶0026 and Fig. 1), and comprising a fluid permeable topsheet (a liquid permeable topsheet 24: ¶0028 and Figs. 2-3), a backsheet (a liquid impermeable backsheet 25: ¶0028 and Figs. 2-3) and an absorbent core being located between the topsheet and the backsheet ((28+54): ¶0028-0029 and Figs. 2-3), the absorbent article is extending in a longitudinal direction (Fig. 1), a transverse direction (Fig. 1) and a thickness direction (thickness of the absorbent article: Fig. 3), the absorbent core being divided in a front half and a rear half (a front half and a rear half of the absorbent core: Fig. 1) and comprising a first absorbent structure (a distribution layer 54: ¶0029 and Figs. 2-3) and a second absorbent structure (a layer 28: ¶0029 and Figs. 2-3), the first absorbent structure is located between the topsheet and the second absorbent structure (Figs. 2-3), and the second absorbent structure is located between the first absorbent structure and the backsheet (Figs. 2-3), the second absorbent structure comprises a central embossed shaping element (channel-forming areas 26: ¶0093 and Figs. 2-3) comprises a first central embossed shaping portion (26a: ¶0093 and Figs. 2-3) and a second central embossed shaping portion extending in the longitudinal direction in the front half of the absorbent core (26b: ¶0093 and Figs. 2-3), the first central embossed shaping portion extending between a longitudinal centerline and the first longitudinal side edge (Fig. 2) and the second central embossed shaping portion extending between a longitudinal centerline and the second longitudinal side edge (Fig. 2), the first and second central embossed shaping portions converging in the direction from the front end towards the rear end (Fig. 2), and an outer embossed shaping element is provided in topsheet and/or the first absorbent structure (channels (86a+86b): ¶0029 and Figs. 2-3), the outer embossed shaping element comprising a first outer embossed shaping portion (86a: ¶0029 and Figs. 2-3) and a second outer embossed shaping portion (86b: ¶0029 and Figs. 2-3) extending in the longitudinal direction of the absorbent article (Figs. 2-3), and the first outer embossed shaping portion (86a) is, in the transversal direction, provided outwards with respect to the first central embossed shaping portion (Fig. 2), and the second outer embossed shaping portion (86b) is, in the transversal direction, provided outwards with respect to the second central embossed shaping portion (Fig. 2).
Regarding claim 9, Bianchi further discloses the first outer embossed shaping portion of the outer embossed shaping element is concave as seen from the longitudinal centerline (Fig. 2) and the second outer embossed shaping portion of the outer embossed element is concave as seen from the longitudinal centerline (Fig. 2).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 1, 8, and 11-13 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C 103 as being unpatentable over Hanson (US PGPUB 20200138643) in view of Katsuhiko (JP 2018198950).
Regarding claim 1, Hanson discloses an absorbent article for a female user in the form of a sanitary napkin, incontinence pad or liner (an absorbent article 1: ¶0002, 0050, and Figs. 1-5) having a first and a second longitudinal side edge (Fig. 1) and a front and rear end edge (Fig. 1), and comprising a fluid permeable topsheet (a liquid permeable topsheet 30: ¶0115 and Fig. 1), a backsheet (a liquid impermeable backsheet 31: ¶0116 and Fig. 1) and an absorbent core being located between the topsheet and the backsheet (an absorbent core 6: ¶0009, 0057, and Figs. 1-4), the absorbent article is extending in a longitudinal direction (y direction: ¶0050 and Fig. 1), a transverse direction (x direction: ¶0050 and Fig. 1) and a thickness direction (thickness of the absorbent article: Fig. 5), the absorbent core being divided in a front half and a rear half (a front half and a rear half of the absorbent core 6 in y direction: Fig. 1) and comprising a first absorbent structure (a first region 12: ¶0058 and Figs. 1-5) and a second absorbent structure (a second region 24: ¶0060 and Figs. 1-5), the first absorbent structure is located between the topsheet and the second absorbent structure (the first region 12 is located between the topsheet 30 and the second region 24: Figs. 1-5), and the second absorbent structure is located between the first absorbent structure and the backsheet (the second region 24 is located between the first region 12 and the backsheet 31: Figs. 1-5), the second absorbent structure comprises a central embossed shaping element (a weakening compression line 250: ¶0077 and Fig. 2), and an outer embossed shaping element is provided in topsheet and/or the first absorbent structure (rear and front compression lines (71+51+73+53+61+63): ¶0072 and Fig.3), the outer embossed shaping element comprising a first outer embossed shaping portion ((71+51+61): ¶0072 and Figs. 1-3) and a second outer embossed shaping portion ((73+53+63): ¶0072 and Figs. 1-3) extending in the longitudinal direction of the absorbent article (Figs. 1-3).
Hanson does not disclose the second absorbent structure comprises a first central embossed shaping portion and a second central embossed shaping portion extending in the longitudinal direction in the front half of the absorbent core, the first central embossed shaping portion extending between a longitudinal centerline and the first longitudinal side edge and the second central embossed shaping portion extending between a longitudinal centerline and the second longitudinal side edge, the first and second central embossed shaping portions converging in the direction from the front end towards the rear end and the first outer embossed shaping portion is, in the transversal direction, provided outwards with respect to the first central embossed shaping portion, and the second outer embossed shaping portion is, in the transversal direction, provided outwards with respect to the second central embossed shaping portion.
In the same field of endeavor, absorbent articles, Katsuhiko discloses an absorbent article comprising topsheet 10, a backsheet 20, an absorbent core comprising a first absorbent structure 30, and a second absorbent structure 40 (last paragraph of pg. 2 and Figs. 1-2). Katsuhiko further discloses the second absorbent structure 40 comprising a first central embossed shaping portion and a second central embossed shaping portion extending in the longitudinal direction in the front half of the absorbent core (pressing lines 41: ¶5 of pg. 5 and see annotated Fig. 3 below), the first central embossed shaping portion extending between a longitudinal centerline and the first longitudinal side edge (Fig. 3) and the second central embossed shaping portion extending between a longitudinal centerline and the second longitudinal side edge (Fig. 3), and the first and second central embossed shaping portions converging in the direction from the front end towards the rear end (Fig. 3) for the benefits of improving diffusibility while increasing absorption of body fluid and preventing leakage of body fluid without impairing wearing feeling of the absorbent article (¶1 of pg. 3).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filling date of the claimed invention to have modified the absorbent article of Hanson in view of Katsuhiko by incorporating a first central embossed shaping portion and a second central embossed shaping portion extending in the longitudinal direction in the front half of the absorbent core and arranging the first central embossed shaping portion extending between a longitudinal centerline and the first longitudinal side edge and the second central embossed shaping portion extending between a longitudinal centerline and the second longitudinal side edge, in order to improve diffusibility while increasing absorption of body fluid and prevent leakage of body fluid without impairing wearing feeling of the absorbent article, as suggested in ¶1 of pg. 3 of Katsuhiko. Thus, the first outer embossed shaping portion of Hanson in view of Katsuhiko is, in the transversal direction, provided outwards with respect to the first central embossed shaping portion, and the second outer embossed shaping portion is, in the transversal direction, provided outwards with respect to the second central embossed shaping portion.
Regarding claim 8, Hanson further discloses the first and the second outer embossed shaping portions of the outer embossed element extend on a respective side of a longitudinal centerline of the absorbent article (Fig. 3) and a distance between the first and the second outer embossed element in a rear part of the absorbent core is within a range of 0.5 to 20 mm (a minimum distance between the first and the second outer embossed element in a rear part of the absorbent core is 5-30 mm; thus, the taught distance range overlaps the claimed distance range).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filling date of the claimed invention to have further modified the absorbent article of Hanson by having a distance between the first and the second outer embossed element in a rear part of the absorbent core within a range of 0.5 to 20 mm, in order to improve the fit and the absorbent properties in the absorbent article, as suggested in ¶0062 of Hanson and as it has been held that a prima facie case of obviousness exists when the claimed ranges overlap with ranges disclosed by the prior art (See MPEP 2144.05 (I)).
Regarding claim 11, Hanson further discloses the absorbent core has a front part, a rear part and an intermediate part located between the front part and the rear part (Figs. 1-3), wherein the widest transversal width of the absorbent core (8) is in the front part (Figs. 1-3).
Regarding claim 12, Hanson further discloses a transition width between the front part and the intermediate part of the absorbent core being narrower than the transversal width of the rest of the absorbent core (Figs. 1-3).
Regarding claim 13, Hanson further discloses a transition width of the second absorbent structure between the front part and the intermediate part of the absorbent core is narrower than a transition width of the absorbent core between the front part and the intermediate part of the absorbent core (Figs. 1-3).
Claim(s) 3-4 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C 103 as being unpatentable over Hanson (US PGPUB 20200138643) in view of Katsuhiko (JP 2018198950), as applied to claim 1 above, and further in view of Matsunaga (US PGPUB 20200383849).
Regarding claim 3, Hanson discloses the outer embossed shaping element (compression lines (71+51+73+53)) is provided in the first absorbent structure (¶0065 and Figs. 1-3).
Hanson/Katsuhiko does not disclose the outer embossed shaping element is provided in the topsheet.
In the same field of endeavor, absorbent articles, Matsunaga discloses an absorbent article 101 comprising a topsheet 102, a backsheet 103 and absorbent member 104 including an absorbent core 110 (¶0024 and Figs. 3-4). Matsunaga further discloses a depression 108 formed in a manner that the topsheet 102 and the absorbent member 104 are integrally depressed toward the backsheet 103 side (¶0026, 0030, and Fig. 4) for the benefit of improving liquid capturability (¶0030).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filling date of the claimed invention to have further modified the absorbent article of Hanson in view of Matsunaga by providing the outer embossed shaping element in the topsheet and the first absorbent structure, in order to improve liquid capturability, as suggested in ¶0030 of Matsunaga.
Regarding claim 4, Hanson further discloses the first absorbent structure comprising a fluid control layer and/or a first absorbent layer (liquid acquisition layer 36: ¶0075 and 0078) and the outer embossed shaping element is provided in the fluid control layer and/or the first absorbent layer (¶0075).
Hanson/Katsuhiko does not disclose the outer embossed shaping element is provided in the topsheet.
Matsunaga further discloses a depression 108 formed in a manner that the topsheet 102 and the absorbent member 104 are integrally depressed toward the backsheet 103 side (¶0026, 0030, and Fig. 4) for the benefit of improving liquid capturability (¶0030).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filling date of the claimed invention to have further modified the absorbent article of Hanson in view of Matsunaga by providing the outer embossed shaping element in the topsheet and the fluid control layer and/or the first absorbent layer, in order to improve liquid capturability, as suggested in ¶0030 of Matsunaga.
Claim(s) 2 and 6-7 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C 103 as being unpatentable over Hanson (US PGPUB 20200138643) in view of Katsuhiko (JP 2018198950), as applied to claim 1 above, and further in view of Chen (US PGPUB 20030083631).
Regarding claim 2, Hanson/Katsuhiko does not disclose the central embossed shaping element has a V-shape wherein the first central embossed shaping portion is a V-shaped portion first leg and the second central embossed shaping portion is a V-shaped portion second leg, and the V-shaped portion first leg and the V-shaped portion second leg is converging in a converging point.
In the same field of endeavor, absorbent articles, Chen discloses an absorbent article comprising a topsheet, a backsheet 26, and an absorbent core 12 (¶0089 and Figs. 1-4). Chen further discloses the absorbent core 12 comprising spanning lines 24 having V-shape with a V-shaped portion first leg and a V-shaped portion second leg (¶0090 and Fig. 1) and the V-shaped portion first leg and the V-shaped portion second leg is converging in a converging point (Fig. 1) for the benefits of reducing the bending stiffness or tensile strength of the central absorbent member and assisting in the shaping of the central absorbent member (¶0052 and 0096).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filling date of the claimed invention to have further modified the absorbent article of Hanson in view of Chen by incorporating a central embossed shaping element having a V-shape as claimed, in order to reduce the bending stiffness or tensile strength of the central absorbent member and assist in the shaping of the central absorbent member, as suggested in ¶0052 and 0096 of Chen.
Regarding claim 6, Hanson in view of Chen further discloses the central embossed shaping element comprising an I-shaped portion (Fig. 2 of Hanson), the I-shaped portion extending along the central longitudinal axis from the converging point towards the rear end (see rejection of claim 2 above).
Regarding claim 7, Hanson further discloses the first outer embossed shaping portion and the second outer embossed shaping portion (Fig. 2), each extend in the longitudinal direction on a respective side of the I-shaped portion of the central embossed shaping element (Fig. 2).
Claim(s) 5 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C 103 as being unpatentable over Bianchi (US PGPUB 20190000687) in view of Weber (US PGPUB 20230240913) and Chen (US PGPUB 20030083631).
Regarding claim 5, Bianchi does not disclose the outer embossed shaping element further comprises an arc-shaped embossed front portion arranged frontwards of the central embossed shaping element and substantially following a contour of a V-shaped or modified V-shaped portion of the central embossed shaping element.
Weber further discloses the absorbent core 4 comprising an arc-shaped embossed front portion (a first terminal edge cluster 12: ¶0083 and Fig. 1C) for the benefits of assisting in absorbing liquid before reaching the edge and reducing leakage (¶0083).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filling date of the claimed invention to have further modified the absorbent article of Bianchi in view of Weber by incorporating an arc-shaped embossed front portion arranged frontwards of the central embossed shaping element, in order to assist in absorbing liquid before reaching the edge and reduce leakage, as suggested in ¶0083 of Weber.
Chen further discloses the absorbent core 12 comprising spanning lines 24 having V-shape with a V-shaped portion first leg and a V-shaped portion second leg (¶0090 and Fig. 1) and the V-shaped portion first leg and the V-shaped portion second leg is converging in a converging point (Fig. 1) for the benefits of reducing the bending stiffness or tensile strength of the central absorbent member and assisting in the shaping of the central absorbent member (¶0052 and 0096).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filling date of the claimed invention to have further modified the absorbent article of Bianchi in view of Chen by incorporating a central embossed shaping element having a V-shape as claimed, in order to reduce the bending stiffness or tensile strength of the central absorbent member and assist in the shaping of the central absorbent member, as suggested in ¶0052 and 0096 of Chen.
Claim(s) 10 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C 103 as being unpatentable over Hanson (US PGPUB 20200138643) in view of Katsuhiko (JP 2018198950), as applied to claim 1 above, and further in view of Weber (US PGPUB 20200383849).
Regarding claim 10, Hanson further discloses the second absorbent structure comprising superabsorbent polymers (¶0055: the absorbent core comprises SAPs; thus, the second absorbent structure of the absorbent core also comprises SAPs), but does not disclose SAPs in an amount of 30 wt% to 80 wt%.
In the same field of endeavor, absorbent articles, Weber discloses an absorbent article 1 comprising a liquid permeable topsheet 2, a liquid impermeable backsheet 3, and an absorbent core 4 positioned between said topsheet 2 and backsheet 3, wherein the absorbent core 4 comprises an absorbent material 5 (¶0065). Weber further discloses the absorbent material is superabsorbent polymer in an amount up to 90% by weight (¶0056; thus, the taught weight percent range overlaps the claimed weight percent range) for the benefit of providing an appointed storage or retention portion of an absorbent system (¶0056).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filling date of the claimed invention to have further modified the absorbent article of Hanson in view of Weber by selecting the weight percent of the superabsorbent polymers as claimed, in order to increase liquid absorption and retention capacity of the absorbent core, as suggested in ¶0056 of Weber and as it has been held that a prima facie case of obviousness exists when the claimed ranges overlap with ranges disclosed by the prior art (See MPEP 2144.05 (I)).
Claim(s) 14 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C 103 as being unpatentable over Hanson (US PGPUB 20200138643) in view of Katsuhiko (JP 2018198950) and Chen (US PGPUB 20030083631), as applied to claim 2 above, and further in view of Kudo (US PGPUB 20060189954).
Regarding claim 14, Hanson/Katsuhiko/Chen does not disclose the second absorbent structure comprises a first side cut along the first longitudinal side edge and a second side cut along the second longitudinal side edge and wherein the first and the second side cuts are arranged on either side of and aligned with the conveying point of the V-shaped portion first leg and the V-shaped portion second leg or of an extension of a non-intersecting V-shaped portion first leg and the V-shaped portion second leg.
In the same field of endeavor, absorbent articles, Kudo discloses an absorbent article 1 comprising a liquid-permeable topsheet 11 lying on the body surface side, a liquid-impermeable backsheet 12 lying on the garment surface side, and a liquid-absorbent layer 20 comprising a lower absorbent core 21 and an upper absorbent core 22 (¶0061, 0064, and Figs. 2-3). Kudo further discloses a first side cut along the first longitudinal side edge and a second side cut along the second longitudinal side edge (cuts 23a-b: ¶0095 and Figs. 3-4) for the benefit of facilitating folding of side regions of the absorbent article (¶0075).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filling date of the claimed invention to have further modified the absorbent article of Hanson in view of Kudo by incorporating a first side cut and a second side cut as claimed, in order to facilitate folding of side regions of the absorbent article, as suggested in ¶0075 of Kudo. Thus, the first and the second side cuts of Hanson in view of Kudo are arranged on either side of and aligned with the conveying point of the V-shaped portion first leg and the V-shaped portion second leg.
Claim(s) 15 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C 103 as being unpatentable over Hanson (US PGPUB 20200138643) in view of Katsuhiko (JP 2018198950), as applied to claim 1 above, and further in view of Bianchi (US PGPUB 20190000687).
Regarding claim 15, Hanson does not disclose the second absorbent structure is wrapped in a core wrap.
In the same field of endeavor, absorbent articles, Bianchi discloses an absorbent article 20 comprises a liquid-permeable topsheet 24, a liquid-impermeable backsheet 25 and an absorbent core 28 between the topsheet and the backsheet (¶0028 and Figs. 1-2). Bianchi further discloses the absorbent core 28 comprises an absorbent material 60 enclosed in a core wrap 16/16′ (¶0028 and Figs. 2-3) for the benefits of containing and supporting absorbent material of the absorbent core (¶0106).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filling date of the claimed invention to have further modified the absorbent article of Hanson in view of Bianchi by incorporating a core wrap to wrap the second absorbent structure, in order to contain and support absorbent material of the second absorbent structure, as suggested in ¶0106 of Bianchi.
Conclusion
/NHU Q. TRAN/Examiner, Art Unit 3781
/JACQUELINE F STEPHENS/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 3781