Priority
This Application is a 371 of PCT/EP2023/068167 filed on 07/03/2023, and claims priority to EP 22182915.3 filed on 07/04/2022.
Information Disclosure Statement
The information disclosure statement(s) (IDS) filed 10/28/2024 and 11/10/25 is in compliance with the provisions of 37 CFR 1.97. Accordingly, the IDS is being considered by the Examiner.
The rejections are as below:
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 16-30 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Hoeng et al. (WO2020260392A1l- IDS) in view of Ding et al. (CN 106490050 A).
Hoeng et al. teaches a formulation comprising an extract of a tobacco plant and/or a formulation comprising a compound of Formula I as provided herein, in particular anatabine, and corresponding uses thereof for the reduction of infestation with ectoparasites, in particular insects, as an ectoparasiticide or repellent. Embodiment 6 and aspect 8 mention insects. The definition of insects includes Heteroptera and homoptera (page 25, lines 31-33), which is a suborder of Hemiptera. The compound of formula I may be present in the formulation at a concentration ranging from about 0.2 wt.% to 50 wt.% (page 33, lines 20-31; c.f. claim 11). The compound is anatabine, S-(-) anatabine, R-(+) anatabine, a mixture of S-(-) anatabine and R-(+) anatabine, or a racemate of S-(-) anatabine and R-(+) anatabine. (Aspect 20) Hoeng et al. teaches the use of water as a carrier (page 32, lines 19-26 c.f. claim 12). The topical formulation, shampoo composition, cleansing composition or treatment composition is in the form of a lotion, cream, ointment, gel, foam, patch, powder, solid, sponge, tape, vapor, paste, tincture, or spray. The formulations are diluted.
The reference describes treatment of skin, fabrics, and generally objects, the reference fails to specify application to the crop or plant, nor the treatment of whitefly.
Ding et al. teaches a homoptera agricultural pests pesticide, belonging to the technical field of farm chemical. A homoptera agricultural insect pesticide, comprising the following raw materials based on parts by weight: 10 to 30 parts of chinese torreya, 10 to 30 parts of red amaranth, 5 to 20 parts of butter, 5 to 20 parts of megranate skin, 5 to 20 parts of Ailanthus altissima, 5 to 20 parts of twig and leaf of Manyflower Supplejack, 3 to 12 parts of wild tobacco leaf, 3 to 12 parts of hellebore, 3 to 12 parts of radix rhapontici seu radix echinopsis, 1 to 10 parts of verbena, 1 to 5 parts of microbial agent, the microbial inoculum is composed of mass percentage 15 to 25% trichodermas, 35 to 45% beauveryia and 40 to 50% of bacillus subtilis. The reference teaches providing a pesticide used for preventing and treating homoptera agricultural pests, especially turnip aphid, cabbage aphid, bean aphid and tobacco whitefly, high control rate, stable effect and is non-harmful product, tree fruits and vegetables and grain, cotton and oil crop. The reference further teaches spraying.
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to apply an extract of a tobacco plant to agriculture crop for treatment of whitefly. The motivation to apply an extract of a tobacco plant to agriculture crop for treatment of whitefly is because Ding et al. teaches a homoptera agricultural pests pesticide, belonging to the technical field of farm chemical comprising tobacco leaf used in spraying to treat homoptera agricultural pests, especially tobacco whitefly. A skilled artisan would have had reasonable expectation of successfully achieving similar efficacy and results.
Claims 16-30 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Zeng et al. (CN105394103 A) in view of Ding et al. (CN 106490050 A).
Zeng et al. teaches an environment-friendly pesticide, which mainly consists of: isopropanol 15-30 parts; limonene 15-30 parts; salicylic acid 5-10 parts; anatabine 5-10 parts; aloe powder 5-10 parts; prallethrin 5-10 parts; water 20-40 parts. The pesticide is safe and harmless with good insecticidal effects and low cost. (abstract)
The reference describes a pesticide, the reference fails to specify application to the crop or plant, nor the treatment of whitefly.
Ding et al. teaches a homoptera agricultural pests pesticide, belonging to the technical field of farm chemical. A homoptera agricultural insect pesticide, comprising the following raw materials based on parts by weight: 10 to 30 parts of chinese torreya, 10 to 30 parts of red amaranth, 5 to 20 parts of butter, 5 to 20 parts of megranate skin, 5 to 20 parts of Ailanthus altissima, 5 to 20 parts of twig and leaf of Manyflower Supplejack, 3 to 12 parts of wild tobacco leaf, 3 to 12 parts of hellebore, 3 to 12 parts of radix rhapontici seu radix echinopsis, 1 to 10 parts of verbena, 1 to 5 parts of microbial agent, the microbial inoculum is composed of mass percentage 15 to 25% trichodermas, 35 to 45% beauveryia and 40 to 50% of bacillus subtilis. The reference teaches providing a pesticide used for preventing and treating homoptera agricultural pests, especially turnip aphid, cabbage aphid, bean aphid and tobacco whitefly, high control rate, stable effect and is non-harmful product, tree fruits and vegetables and grain, cotton and oil crop. The reference further teaches spraying.
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to apply an extract of a tobacco plant to agriculture crop for treatment of whitefly. The motivation to apply an extract of a tobacco plant to agriculture crop for treatment of whitefly is because Ding et al. teaches a homoptera agricultural pests pesticide, belonging to the technical field of farm chemical comprising tobacco leaf used in spraying to treat homoptera agricultural pests, especially tobacco whitefly. A skilled artisan would have had reasonable expectation of successfully achieving similar efficacy and results.
Conclusion
No claims allowed.
/LAYLA SOROUSH/ Primary Examiner, Art Unit 1622