DETAILED ACTION
Information Disclosure Statement
The information disclosure statements (IDSs) submitted on December 24, 2024 and June 27, 2025 are in compliance with the provisions of 37 CFR 1.97. Accordingly, the information disclosure statements are being considered by the examiner.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 1-3, 5-8, 11, 18-20 and 22-26 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(2) as being anticipated by Manolakos et al (Manolakos), U.S. Patent Pub. No. 2021/0297206.
Regarding claims 1, 18 and 23, Manolakos discloses a first terminal (assisting UE) (note that the first and second terminals are interchangeable), comprising: an integrated circuit (see figure 4) including a receiver (see figure 4) that receives, from a second terminal (target UE), configuration parameters for a Sidelink (SL) localization procedure in which positioning information of the first terminal is obtained (In a second scenario for sidelink-assisted positioning, none of the target UE and the assisting UEs may have cellular coverage. In this case, the target UE transmits the location request to the assisting UEs over sidelinks established with the respective assisting UEs, and the assisting UEs can select ranging signal (e.g., SL-PRS) time/frequency resources without coordinating with the network.) (0128; see also 0127)); and a processor (see figure 4) configured to: determine, based on the configuration parameters, a resource allocation pattern to be used in an SL transmission procedure, and implement the resource allocation pattern in accordance with the SL transmission procedure to obtain the positioning information (The assisting UEs then send sidelink transmissions to the target UE that include the selected ranging signal configuration in the chosen subchannel. Specifically, unlike the first option, the assisting UEs transmit SCI-2 that includes the ranging signal configurations selected without network involvement. In addition, the assisting UEs first transmit SCI-1 that enables the target UE to decode the subsequent SCI-2, as discussed above with reference to FIG. 9. Once the target UE has the allocated ranging signal configuration to use for the positioning procedure with each assisting UE, it can transmit and receive ranging signals on those resources as discussed above with reference to FIGS. 10 and 11.) (0128; see also 0127).
Regarding claims 2 and 19, Manolakos discloses the first terminal/method of claims 1 and 18, further comprising: a transmitter that transmits a broadcasting signal to the second terminal, the broadcasting signal including terminal information and a communication request, wherein the terminal information is information regarding one or more transmission and reception capabilities of the first terminal, and wherein the communication request is signaling requesting a start of the localization procedure (After receiving the connection request 315, the UE 304 may determine whether to accept or reject the connection request 315. The UE 304 may base this determination on a transmission/reception capability, an ability to accommodate the unicast connection over the sidelink, a particular service indicated for the unicast connection, the contents to be transmitted over the unicast connection, or a combination thereof.) (0079). (In a second scenario for sidelink-assisted positioning, none of the target UE and the assisting UEs may have cellular coverage. In this case, the target UE transmits the location request to the assisting UEs over sidelinks established with the respective assisting UEs, and the assisting UEs can select ranging signal (e.g., SL-PRS) time/frequency resources without coordinating with the network. The assisting UEs then send sidelink transmissions to the target UE that include the selected ranging signal configuration in the chosen subchannel.) (0128).
Regarding claims 3 and 20, Manolakos discloses the first terminal/method of claims 1 and 18, wherein: the processor is further configured to: identify an SL resources pool including a set of SL resources for communicating directly with the second terminal, determine the resource allocation pattern based on the SL resources pool identified, the resource allocation pattern allocating resources to at least a portion of the set of SL resources in the SL resources pool, and determine the positioning information after the resource allocation pattern is implemented, the positioning information including an absolute location of the first terminal or a relative location of the first terminal with respect to the second terminal (In a second scenario for sidelink-assisted positioning, none of the target UE and the assisting UEs may have cellular coverage. In this case, the target UE transmits the location request to the assisting UEs over sidelinks established with the respective assisting UEs, and the assisting UEs can select ranging signal (e.g., SL-PRS) time/frequency resources without coordinating with the network. The assisting UEs then send sidelink transmissions to the target UE that include the selected ranging signal configuration in the chosen subchannel…Once the target UE has the allocated ranging signal configuration to use for the positioning procedure with each assisting UE, it can transmit and receive ranging signals on those resources as discussed above with reference to FIGS. 10 and 11.) (0128).
Regarding claims 5 and 22, Manolakos discloses the first terminal/method of claims 3 and 20, wherein the SL resources pool is an independent SL resources pool selected for the SL localization procedure (the target UE transmits the location request to the assisting UEs over sidelinks established with the respective assisting UEs, and the assisting UEs can select ranging signal (e.g., SL-PRS) time/frequency resources without coordinating with the network. The assisting UEs then send sidelink transmissions to the target UE that include the selected ranging signal configuration in the chosen subchannel.) (0128).
Regarding claims 6 and 24, Manolakos discloses the first terminal/method of claims 1 and 23, wherein the processor is further configured to: identify, based on the configuration parameters, an SL reference signal that is used in the Sidelink (SL) localization procedure to obtain the positioning information, and determine the resource allocation pattern based on the SL reference signal identified, the resource allocation pattern allocating resources to include the SL reference signal (In this case, the target UE transmits the location request to the assisting UEs over sidelinks established with the respective assisting UEs, and the assisting UEs can select ranging signal (e.g., SL-PRS) time/frequency resources without coordinating with the network. The assisting UEs then send sidelink transmissions to the target UE that include the selected ranging signal configuration in the chosen subchannel. Specifically, unlike the first option, the assisting UEs transmit SCI-2 that includes the ranging signal configurations selected without network involvement. In addition, the assisting UEs first transmit SCI-1 that enables the target UE to decode the subsequent SCI-2, as discussed above with reference to FIG. 9. Once the target UE has the allocated ranging signal configuration to use for the positioning procedure with each assisting UE, it can transmit and receive ranging signals on those resources as discussed above with reference to FIGS. 10 and 11.) (0128).
Regarding claims 7 and 25, Manolakos discloses the first terminal/method of claims 6 and 24, wherein the SL reference signal: an SL-Positioning Reference Signal (PRS) configured to be implemented in a first resource allocation pattern, an SL-Positioning Sounding Reference Signal (PSRS) configured to be implemented in a second resource allocation pattern, or an SL-joint PRS/PSRS (P(S) RS) configured to be implemented in the first resource allocation pattern, the second resource allocation pattern, or a combination of the first resource allocation pattern and the second resource allocation pattern based on terminal information of the first terminal (“positioning reference signal” and “PRS” generally refer to specific reference signals that are used for positioning in NR and LTE systems. .. the terms “positioning reference signal” and “PRS” refer to any type of reference signal that can be used for positioning, such as but not limited to… sounding reference signals (SRS)) (0104)) (0104; see also 0105).
Regarding claims 8 and 26, Manolakos discloses the first terminal/method of claims 6 and 24, wherein the resource allocation pattern includes the SL reference signal allocated: in a first slot in which resources for a Physical Sidelink Shared Channel (PSSCH) are allocated, in a second slot in which resources for a Physical Sidelink Feedback Channel (PSFCH) are allocated, or in a third slot in which channel resources are not allocated (Various sidelink physical channels can be transmitted on the resource elements of a slot of a radio frame. A sidelink physical channel corresponds to a set of resource elements carrying information originating from higher layers. The following sidelink physical channels are defined for NR sidelinks: a physical sidelink shared channel (PSSCH), a physical sidelink broadcast channel (PSBCH), a physical sidelink control channel (PSCCH), and a physical sidelink feedback channel (PSFCH). These channels are described in 3GPP Technical Specification (TS) 38.211, which is publicly available and is incorporated by reference herein in its entirety.) (0101).
Regarding claim 11, Manolakos discloses the first terminal of claim 6, wherein the resource allocation pattern includes: in a first slot in which a plurality of resources allocated for the SL reference signal are interposed with a plurality of unused resources, or in a second slot in which the plurality of resources allocated for the SL reference signal are interposed (shared) with a plurality of resources allocated for a Physical Sidelink Shared Channel (PSSCH) (the time domain resources for SL-PRS transmissions may be derived based on a deterministic function of the subchannel of the PSCCH or PSSCH associated with the location request. One PSCCH can schedule multiple PSSCHs.) (0131).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 4, 9, 10 and 21 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Manolakos.
Regarding claims 4 and 21, Manolakos discloses the first terminal/method of claims 3 and 20 as described above. Manolakos, however, fails to specifically disclose wherein the SL resources pool is an existing SL resources pool previously configured for the SL transmission.
The examiner contends, however, that using existing resources from previously configured transmissions is well-known in the art and the examiner takes official notice as such.
Therefore, before the effective filing date, it would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art to implement such a method to help preserve system resources and help reduce the load of the system.
Regarding claim 9, Manolakos discloses the first terminal of claim 6 as described above. Manolakos, however, fails to disclose wherein the processor is further configured to: implement a first collision protocol when resources allocated for the SL reference signal interact with resources allocated for a Demodulation Reference Signal (DMRS) in the resource allocation pattern, implement a second collision protocol when resources allocated for the SL reference signal interact with resources allocated for a Physical Sidelink Control Chanel (PSCCH) in the resource allocation pattern, and implement a third collision protocol when resources allocated for the SL reference signal interact with resources allocated for a Phase Tracking Reference Signal (PT-RS) in the resource allocation pattern.
It should be noted that Manolakos does provide techniques for avoiding positioning reference signals collisions based on a deterministic function of various parameters derived relative to either the time/frequency resources carrying the SCI-1/SCI-2 that contains the assisting UE's response to a location request, or the time/frequency resources of the PSCCH and/or the PSSCH that included the location request (0130).
Therefore, before the effective filing date, it would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art to modify Manolakos with the collision protocols described as such would have been a system design choice that would require only routine skill in the art to implement.
Regarding claim 10, Manolakos discloses the first terminal of claim 6 as described above and further discloses wherein the processor is further configured to implement the resource allocation pattern inherently in a specific sub-channel with an inherent sub-channel size based on the configuration parameters (the time domain resources for SL-PRS transmissions may be derived based on a deterministic function of the subchannel of the PSCCH or PSSCH associated with the location request. One PSCCH can schedule multiple PSSCHs.) (0131).
Manolakos is, however, silent to a specific sub-channel size being equal or greater than a Physical Sidelink Shared Channel (PSSCH) sub-channel size.
However, before the effective filing date, it would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art to modify Manolakos with the sub-channel sizing as described as such modification would have been a system design choice that would require only routine skill in the art to implement.
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure.
Yerramalli et al. U.S. Patent Pub. No. 2024/0406913 discloses a sidelink position estimation procedure coordinated via a relay wireless node.
Manolakos et al. U.S. Patent Pub. No. 2024/0098683 discloses management of resource pools for positioning in sidelink.
Keating et al. U.S. Patent Pub. No. 2024/0022375 discloses coordinated positioning via sidelink resource.
Balasubramanian et al. U.S. Patent Pub. No. 2022/0014872 discloses vehicle-to-pedestrian positioning with user equipment and network assistance.
/TEMICA M BEAMER/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2646