DETAILED ACTION
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 1, 2, 4-14 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(2) as being anticipated by Benfold et al. (US 2023/0116001) .
The applied reference has a common assignee with the instant application. Based upon the earlier effectively filed date of the reference, it constitutes prior art under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(2). This rejection under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(2) might be overcome by: (1) a showing under 37 CFR 1.130(a) that the subject matter disclosed in the reference was obtained directly or indirectly from the inventor or a joint inventor of this application and is thus not prior art in accordance with 35 U.S.C. 102(b)(2)(A); (2) a showing under 37 CFR 1.130(b) of a prior public disclosure under 35 U.S.C. 102(b)(2)(B) if the same invention is not being claimed; or (3) a statement pursuant to 35 U.S.C. 102(b)(2)(C) establishing that, not later than the effective filing date of the claimed invention, the subject matter disclosed in the reference and the claimed invention were either owned by the same person or subject to an obligation of assignment to the same person or subject to a joint research agreement.
Regarding claim 1, Benfold et al. teaches a robotic load-handling device, 31, for lifting and moving containers stacked in stacks in a grid framework structure, 1, see figure 3, the grid framework work including, above the stacks of containers, a first set of tracks, 17, extending in a first direction, x, and a second set of tracks, 19, extending in a second direction, y, which is transverse to the first direction, see figure 2, the load-handling device being configured to move on tracks above the stacks, the load-handling device comprising:
a wheel assembly, 35 and 37, including a first set of wheels, 35, configured for engaging with the first set of tracks to guide movement of the load-handling device in the first direction and a second set of wheels, 37, configured for engaging with the second set of tracks to guide movement of the load-handling device in the second direction;
a wheel-positioning mechanism configured for selectively engaging either the first set of wheels with the first set of tracks or the second set of wheels with the second set of tracks, the wheel-positioning mechanism being configured to raise or lower the first set of wheels or the second set of wheels relative to the body, thereby enabling the load-handling device to selectively move in either the first direction or the second direction across -tracks grid framework structure, see claim 1; and
a container-lifting mechanism, 39, including a container-gripping assembly, 43, configured to releasably grip a container and a lifting drive assembly, 51, 70, 80, 90, 100, configured to raise and lower the container-gripping assembly;
wherein the lifting drive includes a single motor, 52, see figure 6a, configured to raise the container-gripping assembly in a first rotational direction and lower the container-gripping assembly in a second rotational direction;
a first set of spools, 57 and 67, and a second set second of spools, 62 and 68, each spool of the first and second sets of spools carrying a lifting tether, 41, having a first end anchored to the container gripping assembly and a second end anchored to its respective spool, see figures 4 and 6a;
a drive pulley, 53, connected for rotation with the single motor;
a plurality of timing pulleys, 55, 61, 63, and 65, connected for rotation with the first and second set of spools, see figure 6a, and the drive pulley such that the single motor is configured to rotate the first and second set of spools to raise and lower the container-gripping assembly;
wherein the plurality of timing pulleys a first timing pulley, 55, and a second timing pulley, 61, the first and second timing pulleys being connected for rotation to the drive pulley by a single timing belt, 54, forming a closed loop around the first and second timing pulleys and the drive pulley such that the drive pulley will drive rotation of the first and second timing pulleys in the same rotational direction; and
wherein the first timing pulley, 51, is disposed between the drive pulley, 53, and the second timing pulley, 61, see figure 6a, and wherein the lifting drive assembly includes a belt tensioner wheel, 66, arranged between the first timing pulley and the second timing pulley, the belt tensioning wheel being configured and arranged to urge the single timing belt against the first timing pulley, see figure 6a, such that the tension in a first section of the single timing belt between the first timing pulley and the drive pulley, moving in a direction towards the drive pulley, in use will be greater than tension in a second section of the single timing belt between the first timing pulley and the second timing pulley when the single motor rotates in the first rotational direction.
While the Benfold et al. reference does not specifically teach the relationship between the tension in the different sections of the timing belt, as claimed, the structure and arrangement of the various pulleys and tensioner is the exact same in the Benfold et al. reference as that of the claimed invention, therefore the function of the tensioner would have the same effect on the belt as the claimed invention.
Regarding claim 2, Benfold et al. teaches a length of the first section of the single timing belt is smaller than a length of the second section of the single timing belt, see figure 6a.
Regarding claim 4, Benfold et al. teaches the belt tensioning wheel is configured an arranged to urge the single timing belt against an upper side of the first timing pulley when the first rotational direction is in a clockwise direction and the second rotational direction is in an anti-clockwise direction, see figure 6a.
Regarding claim 5, Benfold et al. teaches the first timing pulley and the first set of spools are mounted for rotation on a lifting shaft, 56, such that the lifting shaft is common to the first set of spools and the first timing pulley, see figure 6a.
Regarding claim 6, Benfold et al. teaches at least one of the second set of spools driven by the single motor by being connected to the shaft by a second timing belt, 64.
Regarding claim 7, Benfold et al. teaches the lifting drive assembly further comprises a third pulley, 63, mounted for rotation on the lifting shaft, 56, and a fourth pulley, 65, connected for rotation to the at least one of the second set of spools, the second timing belt, 64, forming a closed loop around the third pulley and fourth pulley such that lifting shaft will drive rotation of the at least one of the second set of spools, see figure 6a.
Regarding claim 8, Benfold et al. teaches the lifting drive assembly further comprises a second belt tensioner wheel configured and arranged to urge the second belt against the third pulley, see figure 6a.
` Regarding claim 9, Benfold et al. teaches the lifting drive assembly comprises:
a second lifting shaft, the lifting shaft defining a first lifting shaft, the second lifting shaft being substantially parallel to the first lifting shaft, and wherein the second set of spools and second timing pulley are mounted for rotation on the second lifting shaft, the second lifting shaft being configured and arranged to be rotated by the single motor by being connected to the first lifting shaft by the single timing belt, see figure 6a.
Regarding claim 10, Benfold et al. teaches the belt tensioner wheel is adjustable so as to adjust a force of the single timing belt against the first timing pulley, see paragraph 0119.
Regarding claim 11, Benfold et al. teaches the container lifting mechanism comprises:
a communications spool carrying a communication cable configured for sending and/or receiving communication signals to and from the container gripping assembly, the communication cable having a first end connected to the communication spool and a second end connected to the container-gripping assembly, the communication spool being mounted for rotation on the lifting shaft such that single motor is configured to raise and lower the second end of the communication cable with the container gripping assembly, see paragraph 0125.
Regarding claim 12, Benfold et al. teaches a vehicle body having an upper portion and a lower portion, the upper portion being configured to house one or more operation components, the lower portion being arranged beneath the upper portion, the lower portion ga container-receiving space for accommodating at least part of a container, see abstract.
Regarding claim 13, Benfold et al. teaches the single motor is configured to drive the first set of spools and the second set of spools in synchronization, see figure 6a.
Regarding claim 14, Benfold et al. teaches the container-gripping assembly comprises a frame structure, see figure 4.
Regarding claim 15, Benfold et al. teaches a storage and retrieval system comprising:
a grid framework structure including:
a track system including a first set of parallel tracks and a second set of parallel tracks arranged in a grid pattern including a plurality of grid spaces or grid cells;
a plurality of stacks of containers located beneath the track system, wherein each of the stacks of containers occupies a single grid space or grid cell;
the load handling device configured and arranged to traverse along the track system over the plurality of grid spaces or grid cells such that when positioned above a stack of containers occupying a grid space or grid cell, the container-lifting mechanism is configured to lift at least one container from said stack of containers, see figure 3.
Allowable Subject Matter
Claim 3 is objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
The Benfold et al. reference is considered to be the best prior art but does not teach the configuration claimed in claim 3. There is no motivation to modify the arrangement of the belt tensioning wheel of Benfold et al. to teach the claimed configuration in claim 3.
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure. The Benfold et al. reference is considered to be the best prior art. Some additional examples of robotic load-handling device for lifting containers are cited on the PTO-892. For example, US 2021/0086993 and US 2020/003446864 show robotic devices for lifting containers with a lifting device controlled by a motor and timing pulleys and a belt.
/KAITLIN S JOERGER/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 3655
7 August 2026