DETAILED ACTION
This action is responsive to application filed October 28, 2024.
Acknowledgment is made of a claim for foreign priority under 35 USC §119(a)-(d) or (f).
Status of Claims
Preliminary amendment was filed on 10/28/24 which amended the claims and canceled claim 13, and added new claims 16-21.
Accordingly Claims 1-12,14-21 were presented, and are pending examination.
Drawings
Drawings filed on 10/28/24 are acknowledged.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 101
Claims 1-12,14-21 rejected under 35 U.S.C. 101 because the claimed invention is directed to non-statutory subject matter. The claims as a whole, considering all claim elements both individually and in combination, do not amount to significantly more than the judicial exception of an “abstract idea”, as outlined in the 2019 Revised Patent Subject Matter Eligibility Guidance. Under broadest reasonable interpretation, the terms of the claims are presumed to have their plain meaning consistent with the specification as it would be interpreted by one of ordinary skill in the art.
The claimed invention in general, and Claim 1 as a representative example, is deemed abstract because it relates to evaluating robustness of a service/model via a calculated analysis of data (see the instant specification: at least Abstract, Background and Summary).
According to Step 2A, Prong One of the eligibility analysis, the instant claims recite a judicial exception. See MPEP 2106.04 Claim 1, as the representative example, comprises functional limitations which are deemed to be abstract because they do not go beyond a broad type of data collection and data analysis, where:
The first functional limitation recites “… obtaining a forecasting result …”. At its face-value and based on broadest reasonable interpretation according to the specification, this is mere data collection in the form of collecting data that is representative of different values and information. This is a mental processes, since a person such as a manager or administrator can perform these data collecting functions in their mind (or on paper) using their own abilities of observation, memory and evaluation. Accordingly the limitation is abstract since it encompasses a mental process (and/or organizing human activity);
The second functional limitations are “calculating a first quantiles…” and “calculating a second quantiles…”. This is a basic type of data analysis or computation. In this case, the “calculating” may be practically performed in the human mind (or on paper) by simply observing and performing a mathematical analysis on data values. The limitation is abstract since it encompasses a mental process (and/or organizing human activity);
The final functional limitations are “determining respective forecasting errors…” and “determining a robustness score…”. As mentioned above, this is a type of data analysis or computation since values and conclusions can be determined in a person’s mind or on paper, and can be based on the collected or observed information. Accordingly drawing conclusions from collected data is deemed abstract since it encompasses a mental process (and/or organizing human activity).
It has been shown that the claim recites an abstract idea which is a judicial exception. According to Step 2A, Prong Two of the eligibility analysis, this judicial exception is not integrated into a practical application that would make it patent eligible. The recitation of additional claim elements such as “forecasting model” and “adversarial processing”, does not impose any meaningful limits on practicing the abstract idea. These elements are ancillary and inconsequential to a practical application. “Official Notice” is taken that the additional elements are recited at a high level of generality such that they amount to no more than mere generic type processing that apply the judicial exception. See MPEP 2106.05 (a) through (h).
Finally, according to Step 2B of the eligibility analysis, where the claims are taken as a whole, the additional elements are seen as extra-solution activity that do not add an inventive concept to the claims, and are insufficient to amount to significantly more than the judicial exception. Essentially, the claim limitations are neither a technical improvement of a computer or network itself, nor are they a transformative technological process of a computer, network, or other element, and are thus seen to fall within the “Mental Process” and/or “Organizing Human Activity” categories of abstract ideas. Therefore, the claims are not patent eligible.
Claims 14,15 are slight variations of claim 1 and thus rejected based upon the same rationale given above for claim 1.
Dependent claims are rejected based upon the same rationale given for the base claims which they depend from. Furthermore, the dependent claims fail to include additional elements that would be deemed sufficient to amount to significantly more than the judicial exception.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1-12,14-21 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Kar et al (US Publication 20210287050) in view of Cormode et al (US Publication 20070136285).
In reference to claim 1, Kar teaches a method for evaluating robustness of a service forecasting model, comprising:
for any first service object in a plurality of service objects, obtaining a forecasting result of the service forecasting model for a service label of a first service object, wherein the forecasting result comprises a first forecasting value obtained through forecasting based on a first service sample corresponding to the first service object and a second forecasting value obtained through forecasting based on a corresponding second service sample, and the second service sample is a sample obtained by performing adversarial processing on the first service sample; (see at least ¶s 25,28,29,38, which teaches testing model output comprising values obtained from a first data sample corresponding to a first object under test, and from a modified data sample which is obtained from performing a perturbation/adversarial processing procedure through a perturbation generation model)
calculating first quantiles respectively corresponding to the plurality of service objects based on a first forecasting value of each service object and a first set comprising each first forecasting value; calculating second quantiles respectively corresponding to the plurality of service objects based on a second forecasting value of each service object and the first set; (see at least ¶s 55,57,58, which teaches calculating first and second values corresponding to the first and modified data samples)
determining respective forecasting errors of service labels of the plurality of service objects based on the first quantiles and the second quantiles that respectively correspond to the plurality of service objects; and determining a robustness score of the service forecasting model against an adversarial attack based on the respective forecasting errors of the service labels of the plurality of service objects. (see at least ¶s 30,59, which teaches determining the respective probabilities of the calculated values, and determining how well trained/robust the model is based on the comparison)
Kar fails to explicitly teach calculating quantiles, and forecasting errors based on the quantiles. However, Cormode teaches determining quantiles and rankings based on prediction/forecasting models (see Cormode, at least Abstract & Background). And further discloses a quantile tracking system that determines error tolerances for respective calculated quantiles (see Cormode, at least ¶s 24-26,36). It would have been obvious for one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to modify the display interface of Kar based on the teachings of Cormode for the purpose of utilizing optimization techniques for approximating the quality of objects and models.
In reference to claim 2, this is taught by Cormode, see at least ¶s 48,51, which teaches ranking values based on the prediction model. One of ordinary skill in the art would be motivated to modify Kar based on the teachings of Cormode in accordance to the rationale given for claim 1.
In reference to claim 3, this is taught by Cormode, see at least ¶s 53,54, which teaches utilizing a same quantile for the determination. One of ordinary skill in the art would be motivated to modify Kar based on the teachings of Cormode in accordance to the rationale given for claim 1.
In reference to claim 4, this is taught by Cormode, see at least ¶s 48-51, which teaches calculating the quantiles according to the ranking values. One of ordinary skill in the art would be motivated to modify Kar based on the teachings of Cormode in accordance to the rationale given for claim 1.
In reference to claim 5, this is taught by Cormode, see at least ¶s 20,25-27, which teaches determining quantile error tolerance and approximating it with respect to quantile summaries. One of ordinary skill in the art would be motivated to modify Kar based on the teachings of Cormode in accordance to the rationale given for claim 1.
In reference to claim 6, this is taught by Cormode, see at least ¶ 36, which teaches error determination based on a difference of quantile values. One of ordinary skill in the art would be motivated to modify Kar based on the teachings of Cormode in accordance to the rationale given for claim 1.
In reference to claim 7, this is taught by Kar, see at least ¶s 30,53, which teaches a robustness result based on calculated average values.
In reference to claim 8, this is taught by Kar, see at least ¶s 38,54, which teaches a plurality of multiple alternate/modified objects that are used for generating probabilities related to the model.
In reference to claim 9, this is taught by Cormode, see at least ¶s 47,48,51, which teaches determining ranking numbers for each respective object. One of ordinary skill in the art would be motivated to modify Kar based on the teachings of Cormode in accordance to the rationale given for claim 1.
In reference to claim 10, this is taught by Cormode, see at least ¶s 47,48,51, which teaches determining ranking numbers for each respective object. One of ordinary skill in the art would be motivated to modify Kar based on the teachings of Cormode in accordance to the rationale given for claim 1.
In reference to claim 11, this is taught by Kar, see at least ¶s 28-30, which teaches different classification and probability values.
In reference to claim 12, this is taught by Kar, see at least ¶s 19-21, which teaches image recognition and sample data is a perturbed/adversarial image.
Claims 14-21 correspond to claims 1-12 and are slight variations thereof. Therefore claims 14-21 are rejected based upon the same rationale as given above.
Conclusion
For any subsequent response that contains new/amended claims, Applicant is required to cite its corresponding support in the specification. (See MPEP chapter 2163.03 section (I.) and chapter 2163.04 section (I.) and chapter 2163.06) Applicant may not introduce any new matter to the claims or to the specification.
In formulating a response/amendment, Applicant is encouraged to take into consideration the prior art made of record but not relied upon, as it is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure. See attached Form 892.
Contact & Status
To file and manage patent submissions in Patent Center, visit: https://patentcenter.uspto.gov.
Visit https://www.uspto.gov/patents/apply/patent-center for more information about Patent Center and
https://www.uspto.gov/patents/docx for information about filing in DOCX format.
For additional questions, contact the Electronic Business Center (EBC) at 866-217-9197 (toll-free). If you would like assistance from a USPTO Customer Service Representative, call 800-786-9199 (IN USA OR CANADA) or 571-272-1000.
/Ramy M Osman/
Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2457
January 9, 2026