Priority
Applicant cannot rely upon the certified copy of the foreign priority application to overcome this rejection because a translation of said application has not been made of record in accordance with 37 CFR 1.55. When an English language translation of a non-English language foreign application is required, the translation must be that of the certified copy (of the foreign application as filed) submitted together with a statement that the translation of the certified copy is accurate. See MPEP §§ 215 and 216.
Drawings
The drawings are objected to under 37 CFR 1.83(a). The drawings must show every feature of the invention specified in the claims. Therefore, the “ detecting radio link failure (RLF) in either of the first path and the second path “ , “ , the remote UE reports the RLF to the BS through a message “, “ a Sidelink Signaling Radio Bearer through a path in which the RLF is not detected “ , “ SRB is SRB 1 and the message is SidelinUEInformation “, “ a cause value of the RRCReconfigurationRequest message is Uu link RLF “, “ both the first path and the second path are activated“ , “ remote UE transmits all subsequent data of the different data through the path in which the RLF is not detected “ , “ detecting the RLF of Uu link related to the first path, the remote UE reports the RLF of the Uu link to the BS through the second path”, “ detecting the RLF of sidelink related to the second path, the remote UE reports the RLF of the sidelink to the BS through the first path ” , ” remote UE receives a notification message related to the RLF of the Uu link from the relay UE”, “ based on reception of the notification message, the remote UE transmits a message notifying the RLF of the Uu link to the BS through the first path” , “ the remote UE triggers relay re-selection based on reception of the notification message” must be shown or the feature(s) canceled from the claim(s). No new matter should be entered.
Specification
The title of the invention is not descriptive. A new title is required that is clearly indicative of the invention to which the claims are directed.
The following title is suggested: A method and device for operating a remote user equipment (UE) or a relay UE when radio link failure (RLF) is detected in a multi-path relay.
Claim Objections
Claim 14 is objected to because of the following informalities:
Claims 8-10 recite “wherein,” which should be “wherein”.
Claim 14 is missing “:” after the word “following”. Thus, claim 14 should be changed to: A non-transitory computer readable medium comprising program instructions stored thereon for performing the following:
Appropriate correction is required.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claims 2-4 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
Claim 1 recites the limitation " the remote UE " in line 2. There is insufficient antecedent basis for this limitation in the claim.
Claim 2 recites the limitation "the SRB" in line 1. There is insufficient antecedent basis for this limitation in the claim.
Claim 3 recites the limitation "the SRB" in line 1. There is insufficient antecedent basis for this limitation in the claim.
Claim 4-12 are rejected since they are either directly or indirectly dependent on a rejected claims 1-3.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1-14 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1)/102(a)( 2) as being anticipated by PALADUGU (US 20240205764 A1, PCT filing date 6/7/2021).
With respect to claims 14, 13, 1, PALADUGU discloses claim 14, A non-transitory computer readable medium comprising program instructions stored thereon for performing the following: (See e.g. [0056]- a UE 350 in an access network. .. a controller/processor 375. 0059] The controller/processor 359 can be associated with a memory 360 that stores program codes and data. The memory 360 may be referred to as a computer-readable medium.) / claim 13, A remote user equipment (UE) comprising: at least one processor; and at least one computer memory operably connected to the at least one processor and configured to store instructions that, when executed, cause the at least one processor to perform operations including (See e.g. [0056]- a UE 350 in an access network. .. a controller/processor 375. 0059] The controller/processor 359 can be associated with a memory 360 that stores program codes and data. The memory 360 may be referred to as a computer-readable medium.) / and Claim 1, A method (See e.g. Figs, 4A-4B and 5, [0066]) comprising: establishing a radio resource control (RRC) connection with a base station (BS) by the remote user equipment (UE) (See 402 of Figs, 4A-4B and 502 of Fig. 5) and [0067]-UE 504 in an RRC Reconfiguration message. At 518, the remote UE 502 may inform the MN 506 about the local connection that is available using an RRC message.); establishing a PC5 RRC connection with a relay UE by the remote UE (See e.g. [0067]- The RRC message may be a sidelinkUEInformationNR message (in case the local link is a PC5 link) ; transmitting data to the BS (See e.g. [0067]- the remote UE 502 may transmit to the MN 506…. the remote UE 502 and the network 510 via the MN 506 to carry data traffic 536.) via one path of i) a first path for transmitting data directly to the BS (See e.g. [0067]- The data traffic 536 may include a first leg 536a transmitted between the remote UE 502 and the MN 506 and a second leg 536b transmitted between the MN 506 and the network 510.) or ii) a second path for transmitting data to the BS via the relay UE, by the remote UE (See e.g. or split bearers may be configured between the remote UE 502 and the network 510 via the relay & See e.g. [0066]- at the remote UE 402 including one direct Uu link to the network and one relayed link to the network via a relay UE 404. The base station involved in the direct Uu link and the base station involved in the relayed link may be the same or may be different. FIG. 4B illustrates a dual connectivity configuration at the remote UE 402 including a first relayed link to the network via a first relay UE 404a and a second relayed link to the network via a second relay UE 404b. The base station involved in the first relayed link and the base station involved in the second relayed link may be the same or may be different.) , wherein, based on detecting radio link failure (RLF) in either of the first path and the second path (See e.g. [0080]- upon detecting Uu radio link failure (RLF) (for the direct Uu link) or PC5/non-3GPP RAT RLF (for the relayed link)) , the remote UE reports the RLF to the BS through a message based on a Sidelink Signaling Radio Bearer through a path in which the RLF is not detected (See e.g. [0080]- but may transmit a failure indication to the network via the non-RLF (i.e., working) path… The failure information may include available Uu measurements, available PC5/non-3GPP RAT measurements on the serving relay path (e.g., the sidelink discovery (SD)—reference signal received power (RSRP) (SD-RSRP)), and/or the failure cause. For MCG RLF, either the split signaling radio bearer (SRB) 1 (SRB1) or the SRB3 (if available) may be used to transmit the failure indication. For SCG RLF, the SRB1 may be used to transmit the failure indication.).
Regarding claim 2, PALADUGU discloses the SRB is SRB 1 and the message is SidelinUEInformation. (See e.g. [0080]- path (e.g., the sidelink discovery (SD)—reference signal received power (RSRP) (SD-RSRP)), and/or the failure cause. For MCG RLF, either the split signaling radio bearer (SRB) 1 (SRB1) or the SRB3 (if available) may be used to transmit the failure indication. For SCG RLF, the SRB1 may be used to transmit the failure indication. Upon receiving the failure indication, the network may perform one of an inter-MN change (from a source MN to a target MN) in case an MCG failure indication is received, or an inter-SN change (from a source SN to a target SN) in case an SCG failure indication is received. The network may also provide the target relay UE information when a relay path is present in the target connection and [0075]- the remote UE 1102 may transmit the role switch request in a sidelinkUEInformationNR message).
Regarding claim 3, PALADUGU discloses the SRB is SRB 3 and the message is RRCReconfigurationRequest (See e.g. [0080]- the split signaling radio bearer (SRB) 1 (SRB1) or the SRB3 (if available) may be used to transmit the failure indication. & [0075]- the remote UE 1102 may transmit the role switch request in a sidelinkUEInformationNR message or a non-3GPPConnectionInformation message).
Regarding claim 4, PALADUGU discloses a cause value of the RRCReconfigurationRequest message is Uu link RLF (See e.g. [0080]- the transmission of the failure indication may be associated with a timer. The failure information may include available Uu measurements, available PC5/non-3GPP RAT measurements on the serving relay path (e.g., the sidelink discovery (SD)—reference signal received power (RSRP) (SD-RSRP)), and/or the failure cause. For MCG RLF, either the split signaling radio bearer (SRB) 1 (SRB1) or the SRB3 (if available) may be used to transmit the failure indication. For SCG RLF, the SRB1 may be used to transmit the failure indication. & [0075]- 0075]- the remote UE 1102 may transmit the role switch request in a sidelinkUEInformationNR message or a non-3GPPConnectionInformation message).
Regarding claim 5, PALADUGU discloses both the first path and the second path are activated (See e.g. FIG. 4A illustrates a dual connectivity configuration at the remote UE 402 including one direct Uu link to the network and one relayed link to the network via a relay UE 404).
Regarding claim 6, PALADUGU discloses the remote UE transmits different data on the first path and the second path before detecting the RLF (See e.g. [0067]- MCG bearers or split bearers may be configured between the remote UE 502 and the network 510 via the MN 506 to carry data traffic 536. The data traffic 536 may include a first leg 536a transmitted between the remote UE 502 and the MN 506).
Regarding claim 7, PALADUGU discloses the remote UE transmits all subsequent data of the different data through the path in which the RLF is not detected (See e.g. [0067]- SCG bearers or split bearers may be configured between the remote UE 502 and the network 510 via the relay UE 504 and the SN 508 to carry data traffic 538. In particular, the MN 506 may transmit the relaying configuration for SCG bearers or split bearers to the relay UE 504.).
Regarding claim 8, PALADUGU discloses based on detecting the RLF of Uu link related to the first path, the remote UE reports the RLF of the Uu link to the BS through the second path (See e.g. [0080]- upon detecting Uu radio link failure (RLF) (for the direct Uu link) or PC5/non-3GPP RAT RLF (for the relayed link), the remote UE may not initiate the RRC reestablishment procedure, but may transmit a failure indication to the network via the non-RLF (i.e., working) path (either the PC5/non-3GPP RAT link or the direct Uu link). In one configuration, the transmission of the failure indication may be associated with a timer. The failure information may include available Uu measurements, available PC5/non-3GPP RAT measurements on the serving relay path (e.g., the sidelink discovery (SD)—reference signal received power (RSRP) (SD-RSRP)), and/or the failure cause. For MCG RLF, either the split signaling radio bearer (SRB) 1 (SRB1) or the SRB3 (if available) may be used to transmit the failure indication. For SCG RLF, the SRB1 may be used to transmit the failure indication.).
Regarding claim 9, PALADUGU discloses based on detecting the RLF of sidelink related to the second path, the remote UE reports the RLF of the sidelink to the BS through the first path (See e.g. [0080]- upon detecting Uu radio link failure (RLF) (for the direct Uu link) or PC5/non-3GPP RAT RLF (for the relayed link), the remote UE may not initiate the RRC reestablishment procedure, but may transmit a failure indication to the network via the non-RLF (i.e., working) path (either the PC5/non-3GPP RAT link or the direct Uu link). In one configuration, the transmission of the failure indication may be associated with a timer. The failure information may include available Uu measurements, available PC5/non-3GPP RAT measurements on the serving relay path (e.g., the sidelink discovery (SD)—reference signal received power (RSRP) (SD-RSRP)), and/or the failure cause. For MCG RLF, either the split signaling radio bearer (SRB) 1 (SRB1) or the SRB3 (if available) may be used to transmit the failure indication. For SCG RLF, the SRB1 may be used to transmit the failure indication.).
Regarding claim 10, PALADUGU discloses based on the relay UE detecting the RLF of the Uu link, the remote UE receives a notification message related to the RLF of the Uu link from the relay UE (See e.g. [0080]- upon detecting Uu radio link failure (RLF) (for the direct Uu link) or PC5/non-3GPP RAT RLF (for the relayed link), the remote UE may not initiate the RRC reestablishment procedure, but may transmit a failure indication to the network via the non-RLF (i.e., working) path (either the PC5/non-3GPP RAT link or the direct Uu link). In one configuration, the transmission of the failure indication may be associated with a timer. The failure information may include available Uu measurements, available PC5/non-3GPP RAT measurements on the serving relay path (e.g., the sidelink discovery (SD)—reference signal received power (RSRP) (SD-RSRP)), and/or the failure cause. For MCG RLF, either the split signaling radio bearer (SRB) 1 (SRB1) or the SRB3 (if available) may be used to transmit the failure indication. For SCG RLF, the SRB1 may be used to transmit the failure indication.).
Regarding claim 11, PALADUGU discloses based on reception of the notification message, the remote UE transmits a message notifying the RLF of the Uu link to the BS through the first path (See e.g. [0080]- upon detecting Uu radio link failure (RLF) (for the direct Uu link) or PC5/non-3GPP RAT RLF (for the relayed link), the remote UE may not initiate the RRC reestablishment procedure, but may transmit a failure indication to the network via the non-RLF (i.e., working) path (either the PC5/non-3GPP RAT link or the direct Uu link). In one configuration, the transmission of the failure indication may be associated with a timer. The failure information may include available Uu measurements, available PC5/non-3GPP RAT measurements on the serving relay path (e.g., the sidelink discovery (SD)—reference signal received power (RSRP) (SD-RSRP)), and/or the failure cause. For MCG RLF, either the split signaling radio bearer (SRB) 1 (SRB1) or the SRB3 (if available) may be used to transmit the failure indication. For SCG RLF, the SRB1 may be used to transmit the failure indication.).
Regarding claim 12, PALADUGU discloses the remote UE triggers relay re-selection based on reception of the notification message (See e.g. [0073]- The remote UE 902 may report the measurements of the suitable target relay UEs, identities of the target relay UEs, and/or identities of target relay UE serving cells. The remote UE 902 may report the selected target relay UE and the target MN to initiate a handover procedure to the cell associated with the target MN.).
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure.
Kuo (US 11838964 B2) discloses Method And Apparatus For RRC Connection Establishment To Support UE-to-network Relaying In A Wireless Communication System
/KAMRAN AFSHAR/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 2125