Detailed Action
Claims 46, and 49 - 56 are currently pending in the instant application.
Restriction/Election
Applicants’ election without traverse , in the reply filed September 4, 2026 of Group V, claims 46, drawn to a method of preparing a dosage form
Applicant has canceled claims 1 – 45, and 47 – 48 in the response filed on September 4, 2026. Applicant has added claims 49 – 56 by Applicants’ amendment filed on September 4, 2026.
The restriction requirement is still deemed proper and is therefore made FINAL.
Therefore, claims 46, and 49 - 56 are under consideration to which the following grounds of rejection are applicable.
Information Disclosure Statement
The information disclosure statements (IDS) submitted on October 28, 2024, and October 10, 2025 has been considered. An initiated copy of the IDS accompanies this Office Action.
Priority
The present application filed October 28, 2024, is a 35 U.S.C. 371 national stage filing of International Application No. PCT/US2023/066350, filed April 28, 2023, which claims the benefit of Provisional Application 63/336,635, filed April 29, 2022.
Therefore, the earliest priority date is April 29, 2022.
Provisional Nonstatutory Double Patenting
Claims 46, and 49 - 56 are rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claims copending Application No. 18/003980, as per claims filed on 12/24/2025 and hereinafter referred to as ‘980. Although the claims at issue are not identical, they are not patentably distinct from each other because the instant claims are wholly encompassed by, and significantly overlap in scope with claims 115- 126 of the copending application.
Claims 115 of the copending application teaches A composition comprising: (i) the polynucleotide encoding the human Ins protein of claim 1 and (ii) a polynucleotide comprising a nucleic acid encoding a human glucokinase (Gck) protein, wherein the nucleic acid encoding the human Gck protein comprises a sequence at least 85%, 90%, 95%,96%, 97%,98%, 99%, or 100% identical to any one of:SEQ ID NOs: 61-80 and 162, or any combination thereof.
Claim 119 of the copending application teaches the composition of claim 118, wherein the human Ins protein comprises the amino acid sequence of any of amino acids 25-110 of SEQ ID NO: 41, amino acids 25-110 of SEQ ID NO: 144, amino acids 25-110 of SEQ ID NO: 145, SEQ ID NO: 41, SEQ ID NO: 144, or SEQ ID NO: 145.
Claim 123 of the copending application teaches that the composition of claim 122, wherein the AAV capsid serotype of the rAAV particle and/or the second rAAV particle is selected from AAV1, AAV2, AAV3, AAV4,AAV5, AAV6, AAV7, AAV8, AAVRH8, AAVrh9, AAV9, AAVrh10, AAV10,AAVRH10, AAV11, or AAV12.
Claim 46 of the instant invention is directed to a method of preparing a dosage form comprising combining:(a) a first composition comprising a first recombinant AAV (rAAV) particle comprising a first AAV vector genome comprising an insulin expression cassette comprising a first promoter operably linked to a polynucleotide encoding a human insulin (hlns) protein, wherein the insulin expression cassette is flanked by inverted terminal repeats (ITRs); andb) a second composition comprising a second recombinant AAV (rAAV) particle comprising a second AAV vector genome comprising a glucokinase expression cassette comprising a second promoter operably linked to a polynucleotide encoding a human glucokinase (hGck) protein, wherein the glucokinase expression cassette is flanked by inverted terminal repeats (ITRs);wherein each composition is in an amount sufficient to provide a vector ratio selected from the group consisting of 1:0.25-0.75, 1:1.75-2.25, and 1:3.75-4.25.
Claim 51 teaches that the method of claim 46, wherein the hIns protein comprises the amino acid sequence of any one of amino acids 25-110 of SEQ ID NO: 41, amino acids 25-110 of SEQ ID NO:144, amino acids 25-110 of SEQ ID NO: 145, SEQ ID NO: 41, SEQ ID NO: 144, or SEQ ID NO: 145.
The ‘980 applications claims compositions, but double-patenting rejections of claims to a method of use based on a claimed composition are proper. This rejection is necessitated by the decision of the Court of Appeals for the Federal Circuit in Pfizer Inc. v Teva pharmaceuticals USA Inc., 86 USPQ2d 1001, at page 1008 (March 2008), which indicates that there is no patentable distinction between claims to a product and a method of using that product disclosed in the specification of the application and that the preclusion of such a double patenting rejection under 35 USC 121 does not apply where the present application is other than a divisional application of the patent application containing such patentably indistinct claims.
This is a provisional nonstatutory double patenting rejection because the patentably indistinct claims have not in fact been patented.
Claim Rejection - 35 USC § 112(b)
Claims 46, and 49 – 56 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
Claim 46 is indefinite for the recitation of “each composition is in an amount sufficient to provide a vector ratio selected from the group consisting of 1:0.25-0.75, 1:1.75-2.25, and 1:3.75-4.25” in lines 11 – 12. It is unclear which composition corresponds to which part of the ratio, i.e. whether the ratio is first composition: second composition, or second composition: first composition. Thus, the metes and bounds of the claim cannot be determined.
Claim 49 – 56 are indefinite insofar as they ultimately depend from claim 46.
Claim Rejection - 35 USC § 103
Claims 46 and 49 - 56 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Gupta et al. (hereinafter referred to as “Gupta”) (WO/2022/006551, published January 6, 2022), as evidenced by Chavez et al. (US 10584328 B2, published March 10, 2020). (Please note: Gupta is listed in the IDS filed November 28, 2024).
Regarding claim 46, Gupta teaches administering to the subject a plurality of rAAV particles comprising a first rAAV particle comprising an expression cassette comprising a polynucleotide encoding human insulin and a second rAAV particle comprising an expression cassette comprising a polynucleotide encoding human Gck (Paragraph [0025]) (interpreted as preparing a dosage form) Gupta teaches that the regulatory element (i.e. promoter and modified nucleic acid sequence(s) are inserted between the two ITRs (Paragraph [0183]).
Regarding claim 46 (in part), and 49, Gupta does not specifically exemplify that that each composition is in an amount sufficient to provide a vector ratio. However, one of ordinary skill in the would know the how much of each vector to use to yield the desired vector, as evidenced by Chavez et al. Chavez et al. teaches that a plurality of eukaryotic cells are transfected with the first vector and the second vector at a vector ratio of the first vector to the second vector of about 1:50 (claim 20).
MPEP 2144 states that: “The rationale to modify or combine the prior art does not have to be expressly stated in the prior art; the rationale may be expressly or impliedly contained in the prior art or it may be reasoned from knowledge generally available to one of ordinary skill in the art, established scientific principles, or legal precedent established by prior case law. In re Fine, 837 F.2d 1071, 5 USPQ2d 1596 (Fed. Cir. 1988); In re Jones, 958 F.2d 347, 21 USPQ2d 1941 (Fed. Cir. 1992); see also In re Kotzab, 217 F.3d 1365, 1370, 55 USPQ2d 1313, 1317 (Fed. Cir. 2000) (setting forth test for implicit teachings); In re Eli Lilly & Co., 902 F.2d 943, 14 USPQ2d 1741 (Fed. Cir. 1990) (discussion of reliance on legal precedent); In re Nilssen, 851 F.2d 1401, 1403, 7 USPQ2d 1500, 1502 (Fed. Cir. 1988) (references do not have to explicitly suggest combining teachings); Ex parte Clapp, 227 USPQ 972 (Bd. Pat. App. & Inter. 1985) (examiner must present convincing line of reasoning supporting rejection); and Ex parte Levengood, 28 USPQ2d 1300 (Bd. Pat. App. & Inter. 1993) (reliance on logic and sound scientific reasoning).”
Regarding claim 50, Gupta teaches that the encoded human Gck protein comprises the amino acid sequence of SEQ ID NO: 82 (Paragraph [0234]).
Regarding claim 51, Gupta teaches that the hIns protein comprises amino acids 25-110 of SEQ ID NO: 145 (Paragraph [0233]).
Regarding claim 52, Gupta teaches that the polynucleotide encoding a human insulin (Ins) protein comprises a nucleotide sequence encoding a signal peptide (Paragraph [0010]).
Regarding claim 53 – 56, Gupta teaches that AAV serotype is AAV1 (Paragraph [0023]).
Conclusion
Claims 46, and 49 – 56 are rejected.
/VYOMA SHUBHAM TIWARI/ Examiner, Art Unit 1634
/MARIA G LEAVITT/ Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 1634