DETAILED ACTION
Acknowledgement is made of the preliminary amendment submitted on 08/05/2026. In virtue of this amendments:
Claims 1 and 7 are currently amended; and thus,
Claims 1-7 are pending;
Information Disclosure Statement
The information disclosure statement (IDS) submitted on 06/16/2026 has been considered by the examiner.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1-7 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over US2018/0134211A1 hereinafter “Aust” in view of US2008/0129206A1 hereinafter “Stam”
Regarding claim 1, Aust disclose a lighting device (abstract L1: a lighting system of a vehicle) comprising:
a first lighting circuit (¶16L16: a daytime running light) that turns on a first light source (¶20LDRL includes a light source) and changes a brightness of the first light source according to the state of the first signal (¶25L1-23: the controller fades in the DRL);
a second lighting circuit (¶16L5: a headlight) that turns on a second light source (¶20L8-10: each headlight may have its own dedicated LED array or other light source) changes a brightness of the second light source according to the state of the second signal (¶25L19-23: the controller may fade in the headlights during the activation sequence); and
a first output circuit that outputs, to the first lighting circuit, the first signal whose state changes from a first initial state satisfying the first condition such that the first light source is turned on and is gradually brightened (¶25L1-23: base on the state of the door, the controller implements an activation sequence, the controller fades in the DRL), and
outputs, to the second lighting circuit, the second signal whose state changes from a second initial state satisfying the second condition such that the second light source is turned on and is gradually brightened (¶25L1-23: base on the state of the door, the controller implements an activation sequence, the controller fades in the headlamp), based on an instruction signal (¶25L7: an activation sequence), wherein
the first output circuit outputs the first signal to the first lighting circuit and the second signal to the second lighting circuit (¶23L1-4: the controller generate PWM signal of varying duty cycle for controlling the light assemblies) at a time point after a predetermined first period of time has elapsed from a time point at which the instruction signal is input. (¶25L1-23: the controller fades in the DRL and headlamps based on the door being unlocked using key fob)
Aust does not explicitly disclose:
when a state of a first signal satisfies a first condition and a state of a second signal satisfies a second condition different from the first condition
Stam discloses a system for controlling vehicle illumination wherein,
the daytime running light is driven when activated when ambient light is a daytime one threshold, and headlights will be driven when ambient light level is below that threshold but above another lower threshold. (¶182L1-17)
It would have been obvious to one ordinarily skilled in the art prior to the effective filing date of the application to modify the lighting system disclosed by Aust to have the DRL turn on when the ambient light is at a daytime threshold, and have the headlight turn on when ambient light is at below the daytime threshold but above another lower threshold as disclosed by Stam during the activation sequence of unlocking the vehicle door.
One of ordinary skill in the art would’ve been motivated because this allow the vehicle to provide additional lighting when it is darker outside, so the user approaching the vehicle to unlock can have more light.
Regarding claim 2, Aust in view of Stam hereinafter “Aust/Stam” discloses in Aust the lighting device according to claim 1
the first lighting circuit performs PWM lighting of the first light source, and the second lighting circuit performs PWM lighting of the second light source. (¶23L1-4: the controller generates PWM signal of varying duty cycle for controlling the light assemblies)
Regarding claim 3, Aust/Stam discloses in Aust the lighting device according to claim 2, wherein
the first output circuit outputs, as the first signal, a first PWM signal whose first duty ratio changes from a first initial value satisfying the first condition, and outputs, as the second signal, a second PWM signal whose second duty ratio changes from a second initial value satisfying the second condition, based on the instruction signal (¶23L1-16),
the first lighting circuit performs the PWM lighting of the first light source in synchronization with the first PWM signal, and changes the brightness of the first light source according to the first duty ratio of the first PWM signal , and the second lighting circuit performs the PWM lighting of the second light source in synchronization with the second PWM signal, and changes the brightness of the second light source according to the second duty ratio of the second PWM signal. (¶23L1-4: the controller generates PWM signal of varying duty cycle for controlling the light assemblies)
Regarding claim 4, Aust/Stam discloses in Aust the lighting device according to claim 3, wherein
the first output circuit changes the first duty ratio and the second duty ratio such that the brightness of each of the first light source and the second light source reaches a predetermined brightness in a predetermined period after each of the first light source and the second light source has been turned on. (¶23L1-4: the controller generates PWM signal of varying duty cycle for controlling the light assemblies)
Regarding claim 5, Aust/Stam discloses in Aust the lighting device according to claim 1
a third lighting circuit (¶25L22: the puddle lamp) that turns on a third light source when a state of a third signal satisfies a third condition and changes a brightness of the third light source according to the state of the third signal (¶25L19-23: the controller may fade in the puddle lamp during the activation sequence); and
a second output circuit that outputs, to the third lighting circuit, the third signal whose state changes from a third initial state satisfying the third condition such that the third light source is turned on and is gradually brightened based on the instruction signal. (¶23L1-4: the controller generates PWM signal of varying duty cycle for controlling the light assemblies)
Regarding claim 6, Aust/Stam discloses in Aust the vehicle lamp comprising:
the lighting device according to claim 5 (as rejected above); and
the first to second light sources arranged at a front of the vehicle, (as shown in Fig.1 for example)
Aust/Stam does not explicitly disclose:
the third light source arranged at the front of the vehicle, wherein the second light source is disposed between the first light source and the third light source.
It would have been obvious to one ordinarily skilled in the art prior to the effective filing date of the application to rearrange the puddle lamp disclosed by Aust to be on the front of the vehicle.
One of ordinary skill in the art would’ve been motivated because this allow the vehicle to provide additional lighting in the front of the vehicle as well and it has been held that rearranging parts of an invention involves only routine skill in the art. In re Japiske, 86 USPQ 70.
Regarding claim 7, Aust disclose a lighting device (abstract L1: a lighting system of a vehicle) for turning on a first light source (¶16L16: a daytime running light) and a second light source (¶16L5: a headlight) attached to a vehicle, comprising:
a first lighting circuit (¶16L16: a daytime running light) that turns on the first light source (¶20LDRL includes a light source) and changes a brightness of the first light source according to the state of the first signal (¶25L1-23: the controller fades in the DRL);
a second lighting circuit (¶16L5: a headlight) that turns on the second light source (¶20L8-10: each headlight may have its own dedicated LED array or other light source) changes a brightness of the second light source according to the state of the second signal (¶25L19-23: the controller may fade in the headlights during the activation sequence); and
a first output circuit that outputs, to the first lighting circuit, the first signal whose state changes from a first initial state satisfying the first condition such that the first light source is turned on and is gradually brightened (¶25L1-23: base on the state of the door, the controller implements an activation sequence, the controller fades in the DRL), and
outputs, to the second lighting circuit, the second signal whose state changes from a second initial state satisfying the second condition such that the second light source is turned on and is gradually brightened (¶25L1-23: base on the state of the door, the controller implements an activation sequence, the controller fades in the headlamp), when a door of the vehicle is unlocked (¶25L1-23: the controller fades in the DRL and headlamps based on the door being unlocked using key fob), wherein
the first output circuit outputs the first signal to the first lighting circuit and the second signal to the second lighting circuit (¶23L1-4: the controller generate PWM signal of varying duty cycle for controlling the light assemblies) at a time point after a predetermined first period of time has elapsed from a time point at which the door of the vehicle is unlocked. (¶25L1-23: the controller fades in the DRL and headlamps based on the door being unlocked using key fob)
Aust does not explicitly disclose:
when a state of a first signal satisfies a first condition and a state of a second signal satisfies a second condition different from the first condition
Stam discloses a system for controlling vehicle illumination wherein,
the daytime running light is driven when activated when ambient light is a daytime one threshold, and headlights will be driven when ambient light level is below that threshold but above another lower threshold. (¶182L1-17)
It would have been obvious to one ordinarily skilled in the art prior to the effective filing date of the application to modify the lighting system disclosed by Aust to have the DRL turn on when the ambient light is at a daytime threshold, and have the headlight turn on when ambient light is at below the daytime threshold but above another lower threshold as disclosed by Stam during the activation sequence of unlocking the vehicle door.
One of ordinary skill in the art would’ve been motivated because this allows the vehicle to provide additional lighting when it is darker outside, so the user approaching the vehicle to unlock can have more light.
Response to Arguments
Applicants’ arguments have been considered but are moot because the new ground of rejection does not rely on any reference applied in the prior rejection of record for any teaching or matter specifically challenged in the argument.
Conclusion
Applicants’ amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/Raymond R Chai/ Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2845