DETAILED ACTION
The Examiner acknowledges Claim 1 has been amended and Claims 9-12 have been added.
Response to Arguments
Applicant’s arguments and amendments with respect to the Prior Art rejections have been considered but are moot because the amendment(s) have necessitated a new ground(s) of rejection.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1-12 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(2) as being anticipated by German Patent DE 44 12 505 to Nyhuis.
Regarding claim 1, Nyhuis teaches in Figures 1-3, a mounting element [device for fastening (Page 1)] comprising: a mounting plate (21) and a mounting angle (1); wherein the mounting plate (21) has a first raster profile (23) and the mounting angle (1) has a second raster profile (16) complementary [grooves bear against mating flanges (Abstract)] to the first rater profile (23); and wherein the second raster profile (16) of the mounting angle is configured to be interlocked [bear against (Abstract)] with the first raster profile (23) of the mounting plate (21) in different relative vertical positions [grooves that extend in the longitudinal direction (Page 2)] of the mounting angle (1) with respect to the mounting plate (21) to allow for the mounting angle (1) to be adjustably fastened (Page 2) to the mounting plate (21).
Regarding claim 2, Nyhuis teaches in Figures 1-3, the mounting plate (21) is configured as a U-shaped mounting bracket (3) (Page 2), wherein a first side element (4) and a second side element (5) of the U-shaped mounting bracket (3) comprise female joint elements [because of the holes through them].
Regarding claim 3, Nyhuis teaches in Figures 1-3, the mounting plate (21) has at least one guiding element (26), which is formed in such a way as to guide a sliding movement (Page 3) of the mounting angle (1) along the mounting plate (21).
Regarding claim 4, Nyhuis teaches in Figures 1-3, the mounting plate (21) has two guiding elements [top and bottom edges] that are configured as abutting edges aligned in parallel.
Regarding claim 5, Nyhuis teaches in Figures 1-3, the mounting plate (21) comprises height indication means [the upper edge of the mounting plate] capable of indicating the relative vertical position of the mounting angle (1) with the mounting plate (21) [the upper edge would correspond to one of the grooves in the mounting angle].
Regarding claim 6, Nyhuis teaches in Figures 1-3, the mounting angle (1) comprises at least one slit (12) designed to fit a screw (25) for vertically adjustable connection (Page 3) of the mounting angle (1) to the mounting plate (21).
Regarding claim 7, Nyhuis teaches in Figures 1-3, the mounting angle (1) comprises at least one hole (12) designed to fit a screw (25) for additionally fixing the mounting angle (1) to the mounting plate (21).
Regarding claim 8, Nyhuis teaches in Figures 1-3, the first raster profile (23) and the second raster profile (16) is formed as a triangular-shaped profile [V-shaped (Page 3)].
Regarding claim 9, Nyhuis teaches in Figures 1-3, the first raster profile (23) and the second raster profile (16) are configured such that engagement between the first raster profile (23) and the second raster profile (16) defines discrete relative vertical positions [due to the longitudinal grooves (Page 2)] of the mounting angle (1) with respect to the mounting plate (21).
Regarding claim 10, Nyhuis teaches in Figures 1-3, the discrete relative positions are defined by regularly spaced raster steps [as seen by the grooves 16 and 23].
Regarding claim 11, Nyhuis teaches in Figures 1-3, engagement of the first raster profile (23) with the second raster profile (16) provides predefined adjustment steps (Page 3) between the mounting angle (1) and the mounting plate (21).
Regarding claim 12, Nyhuis teaches in Figures 1-3, relative vertical adjustment (Page 3) of the mounting angle (1) with respect to the mounting plate (21) is achieved through engagement of the first raster profile (23) with the second raster profile (16).
Conclusion
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/ANDREW J TRIGGS/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 3635