DETAILED ACTION
Information Disclosure Statement
The information disclosure statement (IDS) submitted on 10/28/24 & 06/24/26 has been considered by the examiner.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 1, 4-5, 8 and 12 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over SEOK et al. (US Patent Publication 2023/0247680 herein after referenced as Seok).
Regarding claim 1 and claim 8, Seok discloses:
A method comprising: and A user equipment (UE) comprising: at least one transceiver for transmitting and receiving a wireless signal; and at least one processor for controlling the at least one transceiver, wherein the at least one processor configured to: receiving, by a user equipment (UE), from a base station, configuration information related to configured grant (CG) configuration; (Seok, [0148] discloses The uplink shared channel transmission method based on a configured grant (i.e. reads on CG configuration) may be a method in which, if the base station (i.e. reads from a base station) configures, for the terminal (i.e. reads on by a UE), available resources for uplink transmission (i.e. reads on configuration information related to) via a higher layer i.e., RRC signaling (i.e. reads on receiving), the terminal (i.e. reads on by the UE) may transmit (i.e. reads on transmitting) an uplink shared channel by using the configured resources; Seok, [0058] discloses Furthermore, unless otherwise specified, a terminal may refer to a user equipment UE; Seok, Fig. 11 & [0122] discloses a UE 100 according to an embodiment of the present disclosure may include a processor 110, a communication module 120, a memory 130, a user interface 140, and a display unit 150; Seok, [0124]-[0125] discloses For this, the communication module 120 may include a plurality of network interface cards NICs such as cellular communication interface cards 121 and 122 and an unlicensed band communication interface card 123 in an internal or external form and discloses The cellular communication interface card 121 may transmit or receive a radio signal with at least one of the base station 200, an external device, and a server by using a mobile communication network and provide a cellular communication service in a first frequency band based on the instructions from the processor 110. One of ordinary skill in the art would recognize that it is inherent for a complex device such as a UE terminal to include a processor and transceiver in order to perform the disclosed functionalities).
Seok discloses in one embodiment that the terminal transmits an uplink shared channel using configured resources signaled by the base station but fails to explicitly recite within the same embodiment that said uplink shared channel is a physical uplink shared channel and the use of an uplink control information and therefore fails to disclose in the same embodiment, the limitations of “and based on uplink control information (UCI) within a plurality of CG PUSCH (physical uplink shared channel) transmission occasions (TOs) for the CG configuration, transmitting, by the UE, to the base station, a CG PUSCH for the CG configuration in one or more CG PUSCH TOs among the plurality of CG PUSCH TOs, wherein the UCI indicates whether the CG PUSCH is transmitted in each of the plurality of CG PUSCH TOs by using 1 bit corresponding to each of the plurality of CG PUSCH TOs.”
In a different embodiment, Seok discloses:
and based on uplink control information (UCI) within a plurality of CG PUSCH (physical uplink shared channel) transmission occasions (TOs) for the CG configuration, transmitting, by the UE, to the base station, a CG PUSCH for the CG configuration in one or more CG PUSCH TOs among the plurality of CG PUSCH TOs, (Seok, Fig. 24 & [0269] discloses Referring to FIG. 24, a terminal may multiplex a UCI bit value of “0” or “1” (i.e. reads on based on the UCI) having a 1-bit size in a Msg3 PUSCH on each slot (i.e. reads on within a plurality of CG PUSCH TOs) and transmit the Msg3 PUSCH. The UCI bit value of “0” may imply that a Msg3 PUSCH is repeatedly transmitted (i.e. reads on transmitting a CG PUSCH) in slots after the slot (i.e. reads on in one or more CG PUSCH TOs among the plurality of CG PUSCH TOs) in which a Msg3 PUSCH in which the UCI bit value of “0” is multiplexed is transmitted. The UCI bit value of “1” may imply that the slot in which a Msg3 PUSCH in which the UCI bit value of “1” is multiplexed is transmitted is the last slot in which a Msg3 PUSCH is transmitted; Seok, [0139] discloses A terminal may transmit uplink data to a base station (i.e. reads on to the base station) through a PUSCH. The base station may schedule PUSCH scheduling, for the terminal, to transmit uplink data through the PUSCH. ii) in a configured grant CG method, the terminal may transmit uplink data to the base station through a PUSCH according to a resource and a transmission method preconfigured (i.e. reads on for the CG configuration) for the terminal by the base station; Seok, [0152] discloses the terminal may repeatedly transmit a PUSCH on K consecutive slots. In this case, if the K2 value is 2 and the K value is 4, the terminal may start repeated PUSCH transmission in slot n+K2, and may repeatedly transmit a PUSCH until slot n+K2+K−1. That is, the terminal starts repeated PUSCH transmission in slot n+2 and repeatedly transmits a PUSCH until slot n+5. In this case, time and frequency domain resources in which the PUSCH is transmitted in each slot may be the same as those indicated in the DCI; Seok, [0271] discloses As another example, a terminal may multiplex UCI in a Msg3 PUSCH every particular slot and transmit the Msg3 PUSCH. For example, a terminal may make slots in which a Msg3 PUSCH is repeatedly transmitted, into bundles of N slots, and multiplex UCI in the first slot in each bundle of N slots and transmit the Msg3 PUSCH. The bundle of N slots may be referred to as a slot bundle. If a Msg3 PUSCH is repeatedly transmitted in slot bundles after the first slot bundle, a terminal may multiplex the UCI bit value of “0” in the Msg3 PUSCH transmitted on a first slot included in the first slot bundle; Seok, [0123] discloses First, the processor 110 may execute various instructions or programs and process data within the UE 100. For example, the processor 110 may receive slot configuration information, determine a slot configuration based on the slot configuration information, and perform communication according to the determined slot configuration).
wherein the UCI indicates whether the CG PUSCH is transmitted in each of the plurality of CG PUSCH TOs by using 1 bit corresponding to each of the plurality of CG PUSCH TOs (Seok, Fig. 24 & [0269] discloses Referring to FIG. 24, a terminal may multiplex a UCI bit value of “0” or “1” having a 1-bit size (i.e. reads on by using 1 bit) in a Msg3 PUSCH on each slot and transmit the Msg3 PUSCH. The UCI bit value of “0” may imply (i.e. reads on wherein the UCI indicates) that a Msg3 PUSCH is repeatedly transmitted (i.e. reads on whether the CG PUSCH is transmitted) in slots after (i.e. reads on corresponding to each of the plurality of CG PUSCH TOs) the slot in which a Msg3 PUSCH in which the UCI bit value of “0” is multiplexed is transmitted. The UCI bit value of “1” may imply that the slot in which a Msg3 PUSCH in which the UCI bit value of “1” is multiplexed is transmitted is the last slot in which a Msg3 PUSCH is transmitted).
Therefore, at the time before the effective filing date of the invention, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to modify the invention of Seok to incorporate the teachings of the different embodiments for the purpose of conforming to the intent of the invention to modify and combine the various different embodiment (Seok, [0058]) to make the system more dynamic and adaptable by providing the system with various different alternatives in design and functionality, thereby allowing the system to handle a number of various different combination of specific design structure and scenarios and preventing the system from being limited to a single specific design structure and scenario and furthermore, one of ordinary skill in the art would recognize based on the guidelines to rationales supporting a conclusion of obviousness seen on MPEP 2143, that the modification would involve use of a simple substitution of one known element and base device (i.e. performing a process of an embodiment of a terminal transmitting an uplink shared channel using configured resources signaled by the base station as taught by Seok) with another known element and comparable device utilizing a known technique (i.e. performing a process of a similar embodiment of a terminal transmitting an uplink shared channel using configured resources signaled by the base station with additional and/or alternative features and functionalities of the other embodiments as taught by Seok) to improve the similar devices in the same way and to obtain the predictable result of the system performing a process of an embodiment of a terminal transmitting an uplink shared channel using configured resources signaled by the base station (i.e. as taught by Seok) and is dependent upon the specific intended use, design incentives, needs and requirements (i.e. such as due to teachings of a known standard, current technology, conservation of resources, personal preferences, economic considerations, etc.) of the user and the system as has been established in MPEP 2144.04.
Regarding claim 4, Seok discloses:
The method of claim 1, (see claim 1).
wherein the UCI indicates a CG PUSCH TO where transmission of the CG PUSCH starts, (Seok, Fig. 24 & [0269] discloses Referring to FIG. 24, a terminal may multiplex a UCI bit value of “0” or “1” having a 1-bit size in a Msg3 PUSCH on each slot and transmit the Msg3 PUSCH. The UCI bit value of “0” may imply that a Msg3 PUSCH is repeatedly transmitted in slots after the slot in which a Msg3 PUSCH in which the UCI bit value of “0” is multiplexed is transmitted. The UCI bit value of “1” may imply that the slot in which a Msg3 PUSCH in which the UCI bit value of “1” is multiplexed is transmitted is the last slot in which a Msg3 PUSCH is transmitted. EXAMINER’S NOTE: The examiner notes that the claims are written in an alternative limitation format requiring and contingent on the selection of only one of various alternative options presented and as such the non-selected alternative options are crossed out (i.e. the limitations reciting “or indicates an offset value from a CG PUSCH TO where transmission of the CG PUSCH starts”) and are not given patentable weight as being directed towards limitations that are not required to be performed as is indicated in MPEP 2143.03 that recites “Language that suggests or makes a feature or step optional but does not require that feature or step does not limit the scope of a claim under the broadest reasonable claim interpretation. In addition, when a claim requires selection of an element from a list of alternatives, the prior art teaches the element if one of the alternatives is taught by the prior art” and in MPEP 2111.04, Section ll that recites “The broadest reasonable interpretation of a claim having contingent limitations requires only those steps that must be performed and does not include steps that are not required to be performed because the condition precedent are not met”).
Regarding claim 5, Seok discloses:
The method of claim 1, (see claim 1).
wherein the UCI is transmitted multiplexed with the CG PUSCH for the CG configuration related to transmission of the UCI (Seok, Fig. 24 & [0269] discloses Referring to FIG. 24, a terminal may multiplex a UCI bit value of “0” or “1” having a 1-bit size in a Msg3 PUSCH on each slot and transmit the Msg3 PUSCH. The UCI bit value of “0” may imply that a Msg3 PUSCH is repeatedly transmitted in slots after the slot in which a Msg3 PUSCH in which the UCI bit value of “0” is multiplexed is transmitted. The UCI bit value of “1” may imply that the slot in which a Msg3 PUSCH in which the UCI bit value of “1” is multiplexed is transmitted is the last slot in which a Msg3 PUSCH is transmitted; Seok, [0139] discloses A terminal may transmit uplink data to a base station through a PUSCH. The base station may schedule PUSCH scheduling, for the terminal, to transmit uplink data through the PUSCH. ii) in a configured grant CG method, the terminal may transmit uplink data to the base station through a PUSCH according to a resource and a transmission method preconfigured for the terminal by the base station).
Regarding claim 12, Seok discloses:
A base station comprising: at least one transceiver for transmitting and receiving a wireless signal; and at least one processor for controlling the at least one transceiver, wherein the at least one processor configured to: transmit, to a user equipment (UE), configuration information related to configured grant (CG) configuration; (Seok, [0148] discloses The uplink shared channel transmission method based on a configured grant (i.e. reads on CG configuration) may be a method in which, if the base station (i.e. reads a base station) configures, for the terminal (i.e. reads on to a UE), available resources for uplink transmission (i.e. reads on configuration information related to) via a higher layer i.e., RRC signaling (i.e. reads on transmit), the terminal may transmit an uplink shared channel by using the configured resources; Seok, [0058] discloses Furthermore, unless otherwise specified, a terminal may refer to a user equipment UE; Seok, Fig. 11 & [0131] discloses In addition, the base station 200 according to an embodiment of the present disclosure may include a processor 210, a communication module 220, and a memory 230; Seok, [0133]-[0134] discloses For this, the communication module 220 may include a plurality of network interface cards such as cellular communication interface cards 221 and 222 and an unlicensed band communication interface card 223 in an internal or external form and discloses The cellular communication interface card 221 may transmit or receive a radio signal with at least one of the UE 100, an external device, and a server by using a mobile communication network and provide a cellular communication service in the first frequency band based on the instructions from the processor 210. One of ordinary skill in the art would recognize that it is inherent for a complex device such as a base station to include a processor and transceiver in order to perform the disclosed functionalities).
Seok discloses in one embodiment that the terminal transmits an uplink shared channel using configured resources signaled by the base station but fails to explicitly recite within the same embodiment that said uplink shared channel is a physical uplink shared channel and the use of an uplink control information and therefore fails to disclose in the same embodiment, the limitations of “and based on uplink control information (UCI) within a plurality of CG PUSCH (physical uplink shared channel) transmission occasions (TOs) for the CG configuration, receive, from the UE, a CG PUSCH for the CG configuration in one or more CG PUSCH TOs among the plurality of CG PUSCH TOs, wherein the UCI indicates whether the CG PUSCH is transmitted in each of the plurality of CG PUSCH TOs by using 1 bit corresponding to each of the plurality of CG PUSCH TOs.”
In a different embodiment, Seok discloses:
and based on uplink control information (UCI) within a plurality of CG PUSCH (physical uplink shared channel) transmission occasions (TOs) for the CG configuration, receive, from the UE, a CG PUSCH for the CG configuration in one or more CG PUSCH TOs among the plurality of CG PUSCH TOs, (Seok, Fig. 24 & [0269] discloses Referring to FIG. 24, a terminal (i.e. reads on from the UE) may multiplex a UCI bit value of “0” or “1” (i.e. reads on based on the UCI) having a 1-bit size in a Msg3 PUSCH on each slot (i.e. reads on within a plurality of CG PUSCH TOs) and transmit the Msg3 PUSCH. The UCI bit value of “0” may imply that a Msg3 PUSCH is repeatedly transmitted (i.e. reads on receive a CG PUSCH) in slots after the slot (i.e. reads on in one or more CG PUSCH TOs among the plurality of CG PUSCH TOs) in which a Msg3 PUSCH in which the UCI bit value of “0” is multiplexed is transmitted. The UCI bit value of “1” may imply that the slot in which a Msg3 PUSCH in which the UCI bit value of “1” is multiplexed is transmitted is the last slot in which a Msg3 PUSCH is transmitted; Seok, [0139] discloses A terminal may transmit uplink data to a base station through a PUSCH. The base station may schedule PUSCH scheduling, for the terminal, to transmit uplink data through the PUSCH. ii) in a configured grant CG method, the terminal may transmit uplink data to the base station through a PUSCH according to a resource and a transmission method preconfigured (i.e. reads on for the CG configuration) for the terminal by the base station; Seok, [0152] discloses the terminal may repeatedly transmit a PUSCH on K consecutive slots. In this case, if the K2 value is 2 and the K value is 4, the terminal may start repeated PUSCH transmission in slot n+K2, and may repeatedly transmit a PUSCH until slot n+K2+K−1. That is, the terminal starts repeated PUSCH transmission in slot n+2 and repeatedly transmits a PUSCH until slot n+5. In this case, time and frequency domain resources in which the PUSCH is transmitted in each slot may be the same as those indicated in the DCI; Seok, [0271] discloses As another example, a terminal may multiplex UCI in a Msg3 PUSCH every particular slot and transmit the Msg3 PUSCH. For example, a terminal may make slots in which a Msg3 PUSCH is repeatedly transmitted, into bundles of N slots, and multiplex UCI in the first slot in each bundle of N slots and transmit the Msg3 PUSCH. The bundle of N slots may be referred to as a slot bundle. If a Msg3 PUSCH is repeatedly transmitted in slot bundles after the first slot bundle, a terminal may multiplex the UCI bit value of “0” in the Msg3 PUSCH transmitted on a first slot included in the first slot bundle; Seok, [0123] discloses First, the processor 110 may execute various instructions or programs and process data within the UE 100. For example, the processor 110 may receive slot configuration information, determine a slot configuration based on the slot configuration information, and perform communication according to the determined slot configuration).
wherein the UCI indicates whether the CG PUSCH is transmitted in each of the plurality of CG PUSCH TOs by using 1 bit corresponding to each of the plurality of CG PUSCH TOs (Seok, Fig. 24 & [0269] discloses Referring to FIG. 24, a terminal may multiplex a UCI bit value of “0” or “1” having a 1-bit size (i.e. reads on by using 1 bit) in a Msg3 PUSCH on each slot and transmit the Msg3 PUSCH. The UCI bit value of “0” may imply (i.e. reads on wherein the UCI indicates) that a Msg3 PUSCH is repeatedly transmitted (i.e. reads on whether the CG PUSCH is transmitted) in slots after (i.e. reads on corresponding to each of the plurality of CG PUSCH TOs) the slot in which a Msg3 PUSCH in which the UCI bit value of “0” is multiplexed is transmitted. The UCI bit value of “1” may imply that the slot in which a Msg3 PUSCH in which the UCI bit value of “1” is multiplexed is transmitted is the last slot in which a Msg3 PUSCH is transmitted).
Therefore, at the time before the effective filing date of the invention, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to modify the invention of Seok to incorporate the teachings of the different embodiments for the purpose of conforming to the intent of the invention to modify and combine the various different embodiment (Seok, [0058]) to make the system more dynamic and adaptable by providing the system with various different alternatives in design and functionality, thereby allowing the system to handle a number of various different combination of specific design structure and scenarios and preventing the system from being limited to a single specific design structure and scenario and furthermore, one of ordinary skill in the art would recognize based on the guidelines to rationales supporting a conclusion of obviousness seen on MPEP 2143, that the modification would involve use of a simple substitution of one known element and base device (i.e. performing a process of an embodiment of a terminal transmitting an uplink shared channel using configured resources signaled by the base station as taught by Seok) with another known element and comparable device utilizing a known technique (i.e. performing a process of a similar embodiment of a terminal transmitting an uplink shared channel using configured resources signaled by the base station with additional and/or alternative features and functionalities of the other embodiments as taught by Seok) to improve the similar devices in the same way and to obtain the predictable result of the system performing a process of an embodiment of a terminal transmitting an uplink shared channel using configured resources signaled by the base station (i.e. as taught by Seok) and is dependent upon the specific intended use, design incentives, needs and requirements (i.e. such as due to teachings of a known standard, current technology, conservation of resources, personal preferences, economic considerations, etc.) of the user and the system as has been established in MPEP 2144.04.
Claim(s) 6 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over SEOK et al. (US Patent Publication 2023/0247680 herein after referenced as Seok) in view of LU et al. (US Patent Publication 2023/0024055 herein after referenced as Lu).
Regarding claim 6, Seok discloses:
The method of claim 5, (see claim 5).
Seok discloses a mobile device transmitting CG PUSCH but fails to explicitly recite that said CG PUSCH includes data for a logical channel and therefore fails to disclose “wherein the CG PUSCH includes only data for a specific logical channel mapped to the CG configuration.”
In a related field of endeavor, Lu discloses:
wherein the CG PUSCH includes only data for a specific logical channel mapped to the CG configuration (Lu, [0059] discloses Transmission conflicts within a terminal equipment may occur between resource grants of different physical uplink shared channels PUSCHs, such as occurring between PUSCHs of two semi-static configured grants CGs, or occurring between a configured grant and a dynamically scheduled PUSCH. A media access control MAC layer of the terminal equipment ensures the preferential transmission of the services of higher priorities by determining a preferentially transmitted PUSCH grant or SR according to a logical channel priority. When a PUSCH transport block multiplexes multiple logical channel data, the priority of the PUSCH grant is determined by a logical channel of a highest priority multiplexed in the transport block, and a priority of an SR transmission is determined by a logical channel priority to which the SR corresponds. In a case of conflicts between two or more resources, the PUSCH grant of the highest priority or the SR of the highest priority is determined as being of a high priority and is preferentially transmitted by the MAC layer, and other grants or SR transmissions are determined as being of low priorities and are preempted; Lu, [0061] discloses The network device configures a logical channel priority 1-16, a list of allowed CG configurations and a physical layer priority high or low for each logical channel, and uplink PUSCH permission of each CG configuration may multiplex multiple logical channel data allowed to be multiplexed).
Therefore, at the time before the effective filing date of the invention, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to modify the invention of Seok to incorporate the teachings of Lu for the purpose of providing the system with a means to resolve transmission conflicts according to specific priority (Lu, [0059]) and for the purpose of making the system more dynamic and adaptable by providing the system with added functionalities and various different alternatives in design, thereby allowing the system to handle a number of various different combination of specific design structure and scenarios and thereby, preventing the system from being limited to a single specific design structure and scenario (Seok, [0327]) and furthermore, one of ordinary skill in the art would recognize based on the guidelines to rationales supporting a conclusion of obviousness seen on MPEP 2143, that the modification would involve use of a simple substitution of one known element and base device (i.e. performing a process of transmitting multiplexed PUSCH by a mobile device as taught by Seok) with another known element and comparable device utilizing a known technique (i.e. performing a process of transmitting multiplexed PUSCH by a mobile device, wherein the transmission of the multiplexed PUSCH is based on the priority of the logical channel as taught by Lu) to improve the similar devices in the same way and to obtain the predictable result of the system performing a process of transmitting multiplexed PUSCH by a mobile device (i.e. as taught by both Seok & Lu) and is dependent upon the specific intended use, design incentives, needs and requirements (i.e. such as due to teachings of a known standard, current technology, conservation of resources, personal preferences, economic considerations, etc.) of the user and the system as has been established in MPEP 2144.04.
Conclusion
/MICHAEL Y MAPA/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2645