DETAILED ACTION
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 1-7, 21-27, 32 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Hurd et al (US 20200159220, hereinafter Hurd).
Regarding Claim 1, Hurd teaches:
a management system for a plurality of working machines to coordinate automated interactive operations (see at least "As noted above with respect to FIG. 1, the various components of the common software structural architecture 100 enable several operational outputs and specific use cases in one or more applications 170, and these may be managed via the user interface 180. One such use case, referred to above as “AutoCart™”, is an application 172 that relies on all elements of the technology stack comprising the present invention. FIG. 3 is a system diagram of a basic grain cart operation 300 according to one exemplary implementation of the common software structural architecture 100 for performing the AutoCart™ application 172." in par. 0044) , comprising:
a networked server system (see at least "This includes communicating messages between machines and between machines and the cloud-based network within the common software structural architecture 100 is implemented, and occurs using a plurality of messaging protocols, the use of which may be selected by network availability. As noted above, an available network may include one or more of radio (RF), Wi-Fi, broadband, or cellular networks such as 4G LTE or 5G." in par. 0051) , comprising:
a server memory drive, and a server controller configured to manage the server memory drive (see at least "A cloud-based protocol 220 (using for example the MQTT (Message Queuing Telemetry Transport) protocol, is used to communicate data between agricultural machinery and vehicles 102 and the cloud-side elements of the common software structural architecture 100, such as the AAVI component subsystem 150 and machine control elements 250, such as a controller and a server, responsible for managing configuration and performance of equipment within the common software structural architecture 100. The AAVI subsystem 150 may include one or more APIs 230, through which additional elements may provide and store data within the communications framework 200 and the common software structural architecture 100, such as a database 240." in par. 0033) ;
a first working machine (see at least " tractor” in par. 0037) , comprising:
a first application gateway configured to communicate over a communication network with the networked server system (see at least " In such a framework 200, agricultural machinery and vehicles include receiver hardware 210 and telemetry hardware 290, which are installed on such machinery and vehicles 102 to effectively turn any piece of agricultural equipment into one capable of autonomous operation. The receiver hardware 210 and telemetry hardware 290 are configured to communicate, either over a cloud-based protocol 220 or a localized protocol 222, with the components of the common software structural architecture 100 responsible for such account, data, and configuration management aspects of the present invention." in par. 0031) ,
a first machine control unit comprising a first processor and a first memory, which stores first machine characteristics and first machine operations (see at least "This hardware 210 executes those commands by translating the information therein for the specific piece of equipment on which the receiver hardware 210 is installed, and communicates with controller hardware 260." in par. 0032 and “In FIG. 3, the components 310 communicate with hardware equipment 320 configured with equipment such as a tractor or combine 102.” In par. 0045) ,
a first machine actuator system having a first machine control actuator (see at least "For example, one subsystem may need to control actuators or receive feedback from sensors" in par. 0024 ) , and
a first automation sensor (see at least "The perception system 160 is responsible for intake and analysis of data (such as images and reflected signals) from an array of sensors (such as cameras, radar systems and Lidar systems), and may include one or more machine learning and artificial intelligence subsystems configured to fuse data collected from multiple sensors together to provide the autonomously-operated machinery and vehicles 102 with situational awareness to avoid obstacles and other terrain characteristics during the performance of agricultural activities 104." in par. 0040);
a second working machine (see at least "combine" in par. 0045) , comprising:
a second application gateway configured to communicate over the communication network with the networked server system (see at least " In such a framework 200, agricultural machinery and vehicles include receiver hardware 210 and telemetry hardware 290, which are installed on such machinery and vehicles 102 to effectively turn any piece of agricultural equipment into one capable of autonomous operation. The receiver hardware 210 and telemetry hardware 290 are configured to communicate, either over a cloud-based protocol 220 or a localized protocol 222, with the components of the common software structural architecture 100 responsible for such account, data, and configuration management aspects of the present invention." in par. 0031),
a second machine control unit comprising a second processor and a second memory, which stores second machine characteristics and second machine operations (see at least "This hardware 210 executes those commands by translating the information therein for the specific piece of equipment on which the receiver hardware 210 is installed, and communicates with controller hardware 260." in par. 0032 and “In FIG. 3, the components 310 communicate with hardware equipment 320 configured with equipment such as a tractor or combine 102.” In par. 0045),
a second machine actuator system having a second machine control actuator (see at least "a combine harvester via specific hardware 280 installed thereon." in par. 0032 and “At step 440, the process 200 continues by integrating physical interfaces for additional operational functions for the one or more machines 102, such as controlling movement and speed, within the common operating system. This is accomplished within the vehicle interface system 120. These additional operational functions include steering, braking, changing a speed, changing a gear, and other characteristics of movement and speed of the one or more machines 102.” In par. 0050) , and
a second automation sensor (see at least "The perception system 160 is responsible for intake and analysis of data (such as images and reflected signals) from an array of sensors (such as cameras, radar systems and Lidar systems), and may include one or more machine learning and artificial intelligence subsystems configured to fuse data collected from multiple sensors together to provide the autonomously-operated machinery and vehicles 102 with situational awareness to avoid obstacles and other terrain characteristics during the performance of agricultural activities 104." in par. 0040); ; and
wherein the first working machine sends the first machine characteristics to the networked server system (see at least "For example, this component enables the “AutoCart™” application 172 to operate by configuring and initializing tractor-to-grain cart integration. The AAVI system 150 performs field, location, and machine setup functions, and enables users to configure performance elements such as selecting maximum and minimum gears, turn angle, combine head selection, and row width." in par. 0038 ) ;
wherein the server controller analyzes the first machine characteristics to determine attributes of the first working machine and creates a first machine profile, wherein the first machine profile is created by the server controller converting the first machine characteristics into a standard framework for a mission planning system of the networked server; (see at least "The executive control layer 140 is a software subsystem that coordinates control of autonomously-operated equipment, and is responsible for micro-services that may include command messaging, safety supervision, in-field mission control, path planning, and machine configuration." In par. 0026 and “The executive control layer 140 sits on top of the vehicle interface system 120 and enables any software in the autonomous operating environment to which the format is applied to work with any piece of hardware. The executive control layer 140 enables the common software structural architecture 100 to effectively act as a common operating system as noted above for all autonomous operation of machines and vehicles 102 in an off-road or in-field setting, providing a secure format between all equipment and protocols.” In par. 0027)
wherein the mission planning system generates a mission plan for the first working machine and the second working machine, using the standard framework, and wherein the mission plan includes operation instructions for the first working machine and the second working machine ( see at least “The executive control layer 140 is a software subsystem that coordinates control of autonomously-operated equipment, and is responsible for micro-services that may include command messaging, safety supervision, in-field mission control, path planning, and machine configuration.” in par. 0026) ;
wherein the server controller translates the operation instructions for the first working machine from the standard framework into the first machine operations and translates the operation instructions for the second working machine from the standard framework into the second machine operations. (see at least "The executive control layer 140 sits on top of the vehicle interface system 120 and enables any software in the autonomous operating environment to which the format is applied to work with any piece of hardware. The executive control layer 140 enables the common software structural architecture 100 to effectively act as a common operating system as noted above for all autonomous operation of machines and vehicles 102 in an off-road or in-field setting, providing a secure format between all equipment and protocols.” In par. 0027)
Regarding Claim 2, Hurd teaches:
2. The management system according to claim 1,
wherein the first working machine further comprises an obstacle safety system to keep the first working machine a safe distance from a detected obstacle, wherein the first machine control unit manages operations of the first working machine to maintain the safe distance from the detected obstacle. (see at least " The common software structural architecture 100 also includes a safety system 160 which is responsible for analyzing specific operational parameters of autonomous vehicle activity. This module, referred to in FIG. 1 as a “perception” system 160, recognizes and distinguishes terrain to be covered by autonomously-operated equipment, and performs tasks such as identification of obstacles and other characteristics that enable safe, efficient, and confident performance of machines and vehicles 102 in such an operating environment. The perception system 160 is responsible for intake and analysis of data (such as images and reflected signals) from an array of sensors (such as cameras, radar systems and Lidar systems), and may include one or more machine learning and artificial intelligence subsystems configured to fuse data collected from multiple sensors together to provide the autonomously-operated machinery and vehicles 102 with situational awareness to avoid obstacles and other terrain characteristics during the performance of agricultural activities 104." in par. 0040)
Regarding Claim 3, Hurd teaches:
The management system according to claim 1,
wherein the first application gateway is further configured to communicate over a short-range communication network, which is different from the communication network (see at least " A more localized approach may also be used via a local protocol 222, which is capable of enabling communications between the agricultural machinery and vehicles 102 and the machine control elements 250 directly." in par. 0033) .
Regarding Claim 4, Hurd teaches:
4. The management system according to claim 3, wherein the first machine control unit controls the first working machine to interact with the second working machine within a distance based on a real-time information exchange with the second working machine over the short-range communication network (see at least " A more localized approach may also be used via a local protocol 222, which is capable of enabling communications between the agricultural machinery and vehicles 102 and the machine control elements 250 directly." in par. 0033 and “The AutoCart™ application 172 is, for example, capable of safely moving a tractor between waypoints in a field, and syncing with a combine during harvest operation, to fill and empty grain carts as the equipment moves through a field to be harvested.” In par. 0045).
Regarding Claim 5, Hurd teaches:
the management system according to claim 4,
wherein the mission plan instructs the first machine control unit to interact with the second working machine, and the first machine control unit uses the real-time information exchange to manage the interaction (see at least " A more localized approach may also be used via a local protocol 222, which is capable of enabling communications between the agricultural machinery and vehicles 102 and the machine control elements 250 directly." in par. 0033 and “For example, this aspect of the present invention creates a configuration file during the syncing operation which may be updated as the performance of the agricultural activity progress, which enables the various functions to be implemented.” In par. 0036 “The AutoCart™ application 172 is, for example, capable of safely moving a tractor between waypoints in a field, and syncing with a combine during harvest operation, to fill and empty grain carts as the equipment moves through a field to be harvested.” In par. 0045).
Regarding Claim 6, Hurd teaches:
6. The management system according to claim 3, wherein the first application gateway is further configured to communicate over an intermediate-range communication network, which is different from the communication network and the short-range communication network, and wherein the intermediate-range communication network operates on a lower bandwidth than the communication network and the short-range communication network. (see at least " This data processing module 112 includes telematics hardware, such as an embedded server, and enables multi-channel capabilities that permit transmission using radio (RF), Wi-Fi, broadband, and cellular networks such as 4G LTE or 5G, as well as a host of input/output (I/O) options allowing for autonomous vehicle operations and expandability and scaling of the common operating system as a whole." in par. 0029 and “rules for prioritizing messages and a filtering system for managing duplicate messages such as those sent over both Wi-Fi and the local/nearest cellular network. The communications system 130 may utilize many different protocols, such as for example the MQTT protocol, which is a lightweight messaging protocol for small sensors and mobile devices, optimized for high-latency or unreliable networks. This is especially useful for rural areas (such as where agricultural activity often takes place), where cellular and/or Wi-Fi or broadband coverage is not as robust or reliable as in urbanized areas. Nonetheless, it is to be understood that any other messaging protocol may also be incorporated into the present invention, including but not limited to Advanced Message Queuing Protocol (AMQP), Streaming Text Oriented Messaging Protocol (STOMP), Web Application Messaging Protocol (WAMP), and any other protocol now known or to be developed.” and “The communications system 130 is therefore a hardware and software subsystem which enables reliable in-field communications through cell-denied operations and other challenging operating environments. The hardware portion of the communications system 130 may comprise, in one embodiment thereof, a ruggedized server with 4G LTE/5G cellular capabilities, and a ruggedized pseudo-mesh long range radio system. It is to be understood however that many other physical implementations of hardware within the communications system 130 may be utilized.” In par. 0035)
Regarding Claim 7, Hurd teaches:
7. The management system according to claim 1, wherein the mission plan instructs the first machine control unit to interact with the plurality of working machines using real-time information from each of the plurality of working machines. (see at least "A more localized approach may also be used via a local protocol 222, which is capable of enabling communications between the agricultural machinery and vehicles 102 and the machine control elements 250 directly." in par. 0033 and “For example, this aspect of the present invention creates a configuration file during the syncing operation which may be updated as the performance of the agricultural activity progress, which enables the various functions to be implemented.” In par. 0036)
Regarding Claim 21, Hurd teaches:
the management system according to claim 1, wherein the first machine operations are different from the second machine operations, and the server controller develops compatible machine profiles for the first working machine and the second working machine. (see at least “The executive control layer 140 is a software subsystem that coordinates control of autonomously-operated equipment, and is responsible for micro-services that may include command messaging, safety supervision, in-field mission control, path planning, and machine configuration.” In par. 0026 and "The executive control layer 140 sits on top of the vehicle interface system 120 and enables any software in the autonomous operating environment to which the format is applied to work with any piece of hardware. The executive control layer 140 enables the common software structural architecture 100 to effectively act as a common operating system as noted above for all autonomous operation of machines and vehicles 102 in an off-road or in-field setting, providing a secure format between all equipment and protocols.” In par. 0027)
Regarding Claim 22, Hurd teaches:
the management system according to claim 1,
wherein the first working machine and the second working machine are autonomous machines. (see at least "The executive control layer 140 is a software subsystem that coordinates control of autonomously-operated equipment, and is responsible for micro-services that may include command messaging, safety supervision, in-field mission control, path planning, and machine configuration." in par. 0026)
Regarding Claim 23, Hurd teaches:
the management system according to claim 2,
wherein the first working machine is configured to interact with the second working machine within the safe distance based on a real-time information exchange. (see at least " A more localized approach may also be used via a local protocol 222, which is capable of enabling communications between the agricultural machinery and vehicles 102 and the machine control elements 250 directly." in par. 0033 and “For example, this aspect of the present invention creates a configuration file during the syncing operation which may be updated as the performance of the agricultural activity progress, which enables the various functions to be implemented.” In par. 0036 “The AutoCart™ application 172 is, for example, capable of safely moving a tractor between waypoints in a field, and syncing with a combine during harvest operation, to fill and empty grain carts as the equipment moves through a field to be harvested.” In par. 0045).
Regarding Claim 24, Hurd teaches:
the management system according to claim 1,
wherein the first working machine includes a first communication device and the second working machine includes a second communication device, each of the first communication device and the second communication device is configured to provide multi-channel communication, including communication over the communication network and a short-range communication network. (see at least " This data processing module 112 includes telematics hardware, such as an embedded server, and enables multi-channel capabilities that permit transmission using radio (RF), Wi-Fi, broadband, and cellular networks such as 4G LTE or 5G, as well as a host of input/output (I/O) options allowing for autonomous vehicle operations and expandability and scaling of the common operating system as a whole." in par. 0029 and “The communications system 130 is therefore a hardware and software subsystem which enables reliable in-field communications through cell-denied operations and other challenging operating environments. The hardware portion of the communications system 130 may comprise, in one embodiment thereof, a ruggedized server with 4G LTE/5G cellular capabilities, and a ruggedized pseudo-mesh long range radio system. It is to be understood however that many other physical implementations of hardware within the communications system 130 may be utilized.” In par. 0035)
Regarding Claim 25, Hurd teaches:
25. The management system according to claim 24, wherein the communication network is a cellular communication network. (see at least " This data processing module 112 includes telematics hardware, such as an embedded server, and enables multi-channel capabilities that permit transmission using radio (RF), Wi-Fi, broadband, and cellular networks such as 4G LTE or 5G, as well as a host of input/output (I/O) options allowing for autonomous vehicle operations and expandability and scaling of the common operating system as a whole." in par. 0029)
Regarding Claim 26, Hurd teaches:
the management system according to claim 24,
wherein the first communication device is configured to transmit first machine status information of the first working machine, receive operation instructions for mission plans from the mission planning system, and receive second machine status information from the second working machine. (see at least " The receiver hardware 210 is configured to enable receipt of commands from cloud-side elements of the common software structural architecture 100, or from an operator. This hardware 210 executes those commands by translating the information therein for the specific piece of equipment on which the receiver hardware 210 is installed, and communicates with controller hardware 260. This in turn executes the commands via equipment hardware 270. The telemetry hardware 290 is a telemetry device that is configured to collect and transmit data from equipment, such as for example a combine harvester via specific hardware 280 installed thereon." in par. 0032 and "A more localized approach may also be used via a local protocol 222, which is capable of enabling communications between the agricultural machinery and vehicles 102 and the machine control elements 250 directly." in par. 0033)
Regarding Claim 27, Hurd teaches:
27. The management system according to claim 26, wherein the second machine status information is received by the first working machine during non-interactive operations and collaborative operations. (see at least "A more localized approach may also be used via a local protocol 222, which is capable of enabling communications between the agricultural machinery and vehicles 102 and the machine control elements 250 directly." in par. 0033 and “In this step, the common software structural architecture 100 is configured to perform several high-level system functions, such as one account management, arrange for centralized data storage for information such as field data and sensor data collected by the plurality of sensors coupled to the one or more machines 102, a pairing of the one or more machines 102 to be used in the autonomous performance of the agricultural activity 104, and machine configuration management” in par. 0049)
Regarding Claim 32, Hurd teaches:
32. The management system according to claim 24,
wherein the short-range communication network is utilized by the first working machine and the second working machine to find and initiate direct communication with each other and other machines within an area. (see at least "A more localized approach may also be used via a local protocol 222, which is capable of enabling communications between the agricultural machinery and vehicles 102 and the machine control elements 250 directly." in par. 0033 and “For example, this aspect of the present invention creates a configuration file during the syncing operation which may be updated as the performance of the agricultural activity progress, which enables the various functions to be implemented.” In par. 0036)
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 28-29 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Hurd et al (US 20200159220, hereinafter Hurd) in view of Natarajan et al (US 20220114301, hereinafter Natarajan).
Regarding Claim 28, Hurd teaches:
the management system according to claim 24,
Hurd does not appear to explicitly teach all of the following, but Natarajan does teach:
wherein, when the first working machine receives a ping from the second working machine in an area, the first working machine is configured to determine if the second working machine is an interactive machine identified in the operation instructions. (see at least “The automated machine may be configured to broadcast the message to all members of the group, and/or a member identifier or topical filter may route the message to individual members of the group. For example, the autonomous machine may be configured to manage the task performance in accordance with the task management protocol, e.g., synchronizing task data and/or the status (e.g., the progress and/or accomplishment) of one or more tasks.” In par. 0046 and " Such data transmissions (e.g., exchange) may also include communications (e.g., one-way or two-way) between the machine 150 and one or more other (target) machines in an environment of the machine 150 (e.g., to facilitate coordination of the task performance by, e.g., including the navigation of, the machine 150 in view of or together with other (e.g., target) machines in the environment of the machine 150), or even a broadcast transmission to unspecified recipients in a vicinity of the transmitting machine 150." in par. 0077)
It would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified the system taught by Hurd to incorporate the teachings of Natarajan wherein an automated machine broadcasts a message to specific nearby automated machines to start a coordinated group task. The motivation to incorporate the teachings of Natarajan would be to improve coordination between groups of autonomous machines (see par. 0182-0183)
Regarding Claim 29, Hurd as modified by Natarajan teaches:
29. The management system according to claim 28,
Hurd does not appear to explicitly teach all of the following, but Natarajan does teach:
wherein, if the first working machine determines that the second working machine is the interactive machine, the first working machines confirms that a time for interaction is appropriate before entering an interaction protocol defined in the operation instructions. (see at least " Exemplary components of managing task may include: managing one or more physical tasks (also referred to as task management), planning the task performance, organizing the task performance, scheduling the task performance, switching between two tasks, competing for one or more task, assigning one or more tasks, completing one or more tasks, reporting about completion of the one or more tasks, negotiation of the allocation of one or more tasks (e.g., between multiple autonomous machines), monitoring the progress of one or more tasks, navigate the autonomous machine to one or more positions of one or more tasks (e.g., at which the one or more task require a physical manipulation), etc." in par. 0035 and “Generally, a protocol may define rules that indicate the format, syntax, semantics and/or synchronization of information, e.g., of information transfer (e.g., exchange), information storage, information processing, and the like. For example, the autonomous machine may form, join and/or leave a group in accordance with the group management protocol.” In par. 0045 and “One of the aspects that inter-cluster coordination may target is scheduling between each autonomous machine cluster, and also between groups of autonomous machines working cooperatively in autonomous machine clusters (i.e. inter-cluster group). For example, a task for an autonomous machine of an autonomous machine cluster may include bringing the workpiece to a designated point so that another autonomous machine of another autonomous machine cluster may take the workpiece to perform its task. In other words, an output of a task of an autonomous machine of a first autonomous machine cluster may be an input of a task of another autonomous machine of a second autonomous machine cluster.” In par. 0183)
It would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified the system taught by Hurd to incorporate the teachings of Natarajan wherein automated machines join and leave task groups based on a schedule for when the specific tasks should be performed in groups defined by a protocol. The motivation to incorporate the teachings of Natarajan would be to improve coordination between groups of autonomous machines (see par. 0182-0183)
Claim(s) 30-31 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Hurd et al (US 20200159220, hereinafter Hurd) in view of Natarajan et al (US 20220114301, hereinafter Natarajan) and Rusciolelli et al (US 20170311534, hereinafter Ruscolelli)
Regarding Claim 30, Hurd as modified by Natarajan teaches:
30. The management system according to claim 29,
Hurd and Natarajan does not appear to explicitly teach all of the following, but Rusciolelli does teach:
wherein, if the first working machine determines that the time for interaction is not appropriate, the second working machine is considered an obstacle. (see at least " As the mission is updated and re-optimized due to deviations, the collision avoidance process may be executed again. To avoid a collision, the collision avoidance process may analyze a current pass of each vehicle and a next planned pass of each vehicle, and may compare this analysis to the current pass and next planned passes of all vehicles performing operations in the same field. If it discovers that any vehicles may pass in opposite directions on the same or adjacent paths, the collision avoidance process may re-plan the path for one of the vehicles involved in the potential collision." in par. 0011)
It would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified the system taught by Hurd as modified by Natarajan to incorporate the teachings of Rusciolelli wherein agricultural vehicle routes are modified to avoid each other, in order to arrive at vehicles avoiding each other when they are not scheduled to perform a group task. The motivation to incorporate the teachings of Rusciolelli would be to improve coordination between groups of autonomous machines (see par. 0182-0183)
Regarding Claim 31, Hurd as modified by Natarajan teaches:
31. The management system according to claim 28,
Hurd and Natarajan does not appear to explicitly teach all of the following, but Rusciolelli does teach:
wherein, if the first working machine determines that the second working machine is not the interactive machine, the second machine is considered an obstacle, and the first working machine and the second working machine communicate over the short-range communication channel to coordinate operations to avoid interfering with each other's operation. (see at least “If there are multiple vehicles in the system, they may also be interconnected via a short range communication system (which may allow communication<1 mile). A localized base station might also be located in the field which could also connect to the short range communication system.” In par. 0005 and "As the mission is updated and re-optimized due to deviations, the collision avoidance process may be executed again. To avoid a collision, the collision avoidance process may analyze a current pass of each vehicle and a next planned pass of each vehicle, and may compare this analysis to the current pass and next planned passes of all vehicles performing operations in the same field. If it discovers that any vehicles may pass in opposite directions on the same or adjacent paths, the collision avoidance process may re-plan the path for one of the vehicles involved in the potential collision." in par. 0011)
It would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified the system taught by Hurd as modified by Natarajan to incorporate the teachings of Rusciolelli wherein agricultural vehicles communicate over a short range communication network and routes are modified to avoid each other, in order to arrive at vehicles avoiding each other when they are not scheduled to perform a group task. The motivation to incorporate the teachings of Rusciolelli would be to improve coordination between groups of autonomous machines (see par. 0182-0183)
Conclusion
/DYLAN M KATZ/Examiner, Art Unit 3657