DETAILED ACTION
This communication is response to preliminary amendment filed on 10/31/24, Which is acknowledged by the examiner.
Claims 1-2, 4-6, 8-10, 13, 20-21, 23-25, 27-29, 32 & 40-41 are presented for examination.
Claims 1-2, 4-6, 8-10, 13, 20-21, 23-24, 27-29, 32 & 40-41 are amended.
Claims 3, 7, 11-12, 14-19, 22, 26, 30-31, 33-39 & 42-45 are canceled.
Information Disclosure Statement’s
6. The information disclosure statement(s) submitted on 10/28/24 & 08/09/25 have being considered by the examiner and made of record in the application file.
Drawing
7. The drawings filed on 10/28/24 & 10/31/24 are accepted by the examiner.
Specification
8. The title of the invention is not descriptive. A new title is required that is clearly indicative of the invention to which the claims are directed. Examiner suggested to change the title to “PROVIDING A SOURCE NODE FOR NEGOTIATING WITH A TARGET NODE USING A REQUEST MESSAGE”
Appropriate correction is required.
Claims Objections
9. Claim 20 is objected to because of minor informalities:
10. Claim 20, recites, “a target node, comprising: a processor; and a memory storing a computer program executable by the processor, wherein the processor is configured to perform the method according to claim 20”.
It’s suggested to amend it to: “a target node, comprising: a processor; and a memory storing a computer program executable by the processor, wherein the processor is configured to: receiving a request message sent by a source node, wherein the request message is used to request configuration information of at least one target cell or at least one target cell group for at least one mobility management operation; and sending a feedback message to the source node”.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
12. Claims 1-2, 4-6, 8-10, 20-21, 23-25, 27-29 & 40-41 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by MA et al. (hereinafter referred as MA) US Patent Application Publication No. 2021/0014758 A1.
Regarding claims 1 & 40: MA discloses a source node/method (See FIG. 2A & Para. 0079; Source Node), comprising:
a processor (See FIG. 5 & Para. 0170; Network device (i.e., Source Node) includes a processor); and
a memory (See FIG. 5 & Para. 0170; Network device (i.e., Source Node) includes a memory) storing a computer program executable by the processor, wherein the processor is configured to:
send a request message to a target node, wherein the request message is used to request configuration information of at least one target cell for at least one mobility management operation (See Para. 0005 & 0080-0081; The source node sends a condition-based cell change request 1 to a target node 1); and
receive a feedback message sent by the target node (See Para. 0005 & 0082; The target node 1 feeds back a condition-based cell change response 1 to the source node).
Regarding claim 2: MA discloses a method, wherein the request message comprises at least one of: a handover request message (See Para. 0074, 0085 & 0097; handover message).
Regarding claim 4: MA discloses a method, wherein the feedback message comprises at least one of: a response of the target node to the request message, wherein the response comprises a first rejection response or a first acceptance response (See Para. 0089, 0093 & 0114; the reconfiguration response includes at least one of: accepting change, not accepting change, accepting part of requested change); wherein the configuration information comprises at least one of: a configuration identifier of a target cell (See Para. 0016 & 0019; The reconfiguration message includes a cell identifier).
Regarding claim 5: MA discloses a method, wherein the first rejection response is used to indicate that the target node rejects part or all of a mobility management operation corresponding to the target cell or the target cell group requested by the source node (See Para. 0154; when the reconfiguration response includes accepting deletion or accepting part of requested deletion, send a reconfiguration message of cell change configuration information to the termina); and
the first acceptance response is used to indicate that the target node accepts part or all of the mobility management operation corresponding to the target cell or the target cell group requested by the source node (See Para. 0153; when the reconfiguration response includes accepting change or accepting part of requested change, send a reconfiguration message of cell change configuration information to the terminal).
Regarding claim 6: MA discloses a method, wherein in response to the feedback message comprising the first rejection response, a mobility management operation rejected by the target node is not comprised in a mobility management operation corresponding to configuration information of the target cell and a mobility management operation corresponding to configuration information of the target cell group in the feedback message (See Para. 0153-0154).
Regarding claim 8: MA discloses a method, wherein the request message further comprises recommendation information of at least one recommended cell or at least one recommended cell group for at least one mobility management operation that is recommended by the source node, and the recommendation information comprises at least one of: a cell identifier of a recommended cell; wherein the recommendation information further comprises at least one of: a cell type of the recommended cell;; wherein the cell type comprises any one of: a cell of a master cell group (MCG); wherein the cell group type comprises any one of: an MCG; or an SCG (See Para. 0003, 0062-0063 & 0181).
Regarding claim 9: MA discloses a method, wherein the feedback message further comprises a second rejection response or a second acceptance response, wherein the second rejection response is used to indicate that the target node rejects part or all of the recommended cell and rejects part or all of the recommended cell group (See Para. 0154; when the reconfiguration response includes accepting deletion or accepting part of requested deletion, send a reconfiguration message of cell change configuration information to the termina); and
the second acceptance response is used to indicate that the target node accepts part or all of the recommended cell and accepts part or all of the recommended cell group (See Para. 0153; when the reconfiguration response includes accepting change or accepting part of requested change, send a reconfiguration message of cell change configuration information to the terminal).
Regarding claim 10: MA discloses a method, wherein in response to the feedback message comprising the second rejection response, a recommended cell rejected by the target node is not comprised in the target cell in the feedback message, and a recommended cell group rejected by the target node is not comprised in the target cell group in the feedback message (See Para. 0153-0154).
Regarding claims 20 & 41: MA discloses a target node/method (See FIG. 2A & Para. 0079; Target Node), comprising:
a processor (See FIG. 5 & Para. 0170; Network device (i.e., Target Node) includes a processor); and
a memory (See FIG. 5 & Para. 0170; Network device (i.e., Target Node) includes a memory) storing a computer program executable by the processor, wherein the processor is configured to:
receiving a request message sent by a source node, wherein the request message is used to request configuration information of at least one target cell or at least one target cell group for at least one mobility management operation (See Para. 0005 & 0080-0081; The source node sends a condition-based cell change request 1 to a target node 1); and
sending a feedback message to the source node (See Para. 0005 & 0082; The target node 1 feeds back a condition-based cell change response 1 to the source node).
Regarding claim 21: MA discloses a method, wherein the request message comprises at least one of: a handover request message (See Para. 0074, 0085 & 0097; handover message).
Regarding claim 23: MA discloses a method, wherein the feedback message comprises at least one of: a response of the target node to the request message, wherein the response comprises a first rejection response or a first acceptance response (See Para. 0089, 0093 & 0114; the reconfiguration response includes at least one of: accepting change, not accepting change, accepting part of requested change); wherein the configuration information comprises at least one of: a configuration identifier of a target cell (See Para. 0016 & 0019; The reconfiguration message includes a cell identifier).
Regarding claim 24: MA discloses a method, wherein the feedback message comprises at least one of: a response of the target node to the request message, wherein the response comprises a first rejection response or a first acceptance response; the configuration information of at least one target cell or at least one target cell group for at least one mobility management operation; wherein the configuration information comprises at least one of: a configuration identifier of a target cell wherein the first rejection response is used to indicate that the target node rejects part or all of a mobility management operation corresponding to the target cell or the target cell group requested by the source node (See Para. 0154; when the reconfiguration response includes accepting deletion or accepting part of requested deletion, send a reconfiguration message of cell change configuration information to the termina); and
the first acceptance response is used to indicate that the target node accepts part or all of the mobility management operation corresponding to the target cell or the target cell group requested by the source node (See Para. 0153; when the reconfiguration response includes accepting change or accepting part of requested change, send a reconfiguration message of cell change configuration information to the terminal).
Regarding claim 25: MA discloses a method, wherein in response to the feedback message comprising the first rejection response, a mobility management operation rejected by the target node is not comprised in a mobility management operation corresponding to configuration information of the target cell and a mobility management operation corresponding to configuration information of the target cell group in the feedback message (See Para. 0153-0154).
Regarding claim 27: MA discloses a method, wherein the request message further comprises recommendation information of at least one recommended cell or at least one recommended cell group for at least one mobility management operation that is recommended by the source node, and the recommendation information comprises at least one of: a cell identifier of a recommended cell; wherein the recommendation information further comprises at least one of: a cell type of the recommended cell;; wherein the cell type comprises any one of: a cell of a master cell group (MCG); wherein the cell group type comprises any one of: an MCG; or an SCG (See Para. 0003, 0062-0063 & 0181).
Regarding claim 28: MA discloses a method, wherein the feedback message further comprises a second rejection response or a second acceptance response, wherein the second rejection response is used to indicate that the target node rejects part or all of the recommended cell and rejects part or all of the recommended cell group (See Para. 0154; when the reconfiguration response includes accepting deletion or accepting part of requested deletion, send a reconfiguration message of cell change configuration information to the termina); and
the second acceptance response is used to indicate that the target node accepts part or all of the recommended cell and accepts part or all of the recommended cell group (See Para. 0153; when the reconfiguration response includes accepting change or accepting part of requested change, send a reconfiguration message of cell change configuration information to the terminal).
Regarding claim 29: MA discloses a method, wherein in response to the feedback message comprising the second rejection response, a recommended cell rejected by the target node is not comprised in the target cell in the feedback message, and a recommended cell group rejected by the target node is not comprised in the target cell group in the feedback message (See Para. 0153-0154).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
14. Claims 23 & 32 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over MA, in view of Kim et al. (hereinafter referred as Kim) US International Publication No. WO 2021091248 (as disclosed in the IDS).
Regarding claim 23: MA discloses all the limitations of the claimed invention with an exception of receiving a deletion indication sent by the target node; and sending a deletion request to the target node, wherein the deletion indication comprises at least one of: a configuration identifier of at least one target cell to be deleted; wherein the deletion request comprises at least one of: a configuration identifier of at least one target cell that the source node expects to delete.
However, Kim from the same field of endeavor discloses receiving a deletion indication sent by the target node; and sending a deletion request to the target node, wherein the deletion indication comprises at least one of: a configuration identifier of at least one target cell to be deleted; wherein the deletion request comprises at least one of: a configuration identifier of at least one target cell that the source node expects to delete (See FIG. 1a, Page 6 & 7; instructing to release a connection with source bases station and identifier of the terminal and the reason for establishing a connection).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to include receiving a deletion indication sent by the target node; and sending a deletion request to the target node, wherein the deletion indication comprises at least one of: a configuration identifier of at least one target cell to be deleted; wherein the deletion request comprises at least one of: a configuration identifier of at least one target cell that the source node expects to delete as taught by Kim in the system of MA in order to establishing or configuring an SRB for the target base station (See abstract; lines 7-8).
Regarding claim 32: The combination of MA and Kim disclose a method.
Furthermore, Kim discloses sending a deletion indication to the target node; and receiving a deletion request sent by the source node, wherein the deletion indication comprises at least one of: a configuration identifier of at least one target cell to be deleted; a configuration identifier of at least one target cell group to be deleted, wherein the deletion request comprises at least one of: a configuration identifier of at least one target cell that the source node expects to delete (See FIG. 1a, Page 6 & 7; instructing to release a connection with source bases station and identifier of the terminal and the reason for establishing a connection).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to include sending a deletion indication to the target node; and receiving a deletion request sent by the source node, wherein the deletion indication comprises at least one of: a configuration identifier of at least one target cell to be deleted; a configuration identifier of at least one target cell group to be deleted, wherein the deletion request comprises at least one of: a configuration identifier of at least one target cell that the source node expects to delete as taught by Kim in the system of MA in order to establishing or configuring an SRB for the target base station (See abstract; lines 7-8).
Conclusion
15. The prior art of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant’s disclosure.
A. Kim et al. 2025/0301380 A1 (Title: Layer or layer 2 triggered mobility cancelation…) (See Abstract, Para. 0012 & 0037-0038).
B. da Silva et al. 2024/0056909 A1 (Title: Handling of inactive/idle measurement configurations and ..) (See abstract, Para. 0006 & 00813-0016).
C. Babaei et al. 2023/0389120 A1 (Title: Network energy saving ..) (See abstract, Para. 0006 & 00813-0016).
/MEWALE A AMBAYE/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2469