DETAILED ACTION
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 21-25, 30-33, and 36-37 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(2) as being anticipated by Park et al. (US 2023/0319822 A1).
Regarding claim 21, Park discloses One or more non-transitory, computer-readable media having instructions that, when executed, cause processing circuitry to (Fig. 22: memory unit 130):
identify a hybrid automatic repeat request (HARQ) feedback disable configuration for a HARQ process (Fig. 17, [0325]: the BS may transmit configuration information to the UE (M205). That is, the UE may receive the configuration information from the BS. For example, the configuration information may include configuration information related to … a HARQ process-related configuration (e.g., HARQ feedback-enabled/disabled and/or the number of HARQ processes));
process a transport block associated with the HARQ process (Fig. 17, [0330]: Next, the BS may transmit DL data/DL channels (or a PDSCH) to the UE (M215). That is, the UE may receive the DL data/DL channels from the BS. The DL data/DL channels may be transmitted/received based on the above-described configuration information. [0325]: the configuration information may include configuration information related to … configuration information for DL transmission and reception (e.g., PDCCH-config and/or PDSCH-config), a HARQ process-related configuration (e.g., HARQ feedback-enabled/disabled and/or the number of HARQ processes)); and
determine whether to generate HARQ feedback associated with the transport block in accordance with the HARQ feedback disable configuration (Fig. 17, [0331]: Next, the BS may receive HARQ-ACK feedback from the UE (M220). That is, the UE may transmit HARQ-ACK feedback to the BS. HARQ-ACK feedback may be enabled/disabled based on the above-described proposed methods (e.g., Proposal 1, Proposal 2, Proposal 3, Proposal 4, and/or Proposal 5). See dashed line with remarks about “HARQ-ACK feedback (if configured)” in step M220).
Regarding claim(s) 22, Park discloses all features of claim(s) 21 as outlined above.
Park discloses wherein the HARQ feedback disable configuration indicates that HARQ feedback is disabled for the HARQ process, and to determine whether to generate HARQ feedback includes to not generate HARQ feedback (Fig. 17, [0325]: the configuration information may include configuration information related to … a HARQ process-related configuration (e.g., HARQ feedback-enabled/disabled and/or the number of HARQ processes). [0331]: Next, the BS may receive HARQ-ACK feedback from the UE (M220). That is, the UE may transmit HARQ-ACK feedback to the BS. HARQ-ACK feedback may be enabled/disabled based on the above-described proposed methods (e.g., Proposal 1, Proposal 2, Proposal 3, Proposal 4, and/or Proposal 5). See dashed line with remarks about “HARQ-ACK feedback (if configured)” in step M220).
Regarding claim(s) 23, Park discloses all features of claim(s) 21 as outlined above.
Park discloses wherein the HARQ feedback disable configuration indicates that HARQ feedback is enabled for the HARQ process, and to determine whether to generate HARQ feedback includes to generate HARQ feedback (Fig. 17, [0325]: the configuration information may include configuration information related to … a HARQ process-related configuration (e.g., HARQ feedback-enabled/disabled and/or the number of HARQ processes). [0331]: Next, the BS may receive HARQ-ACK feedback from the UE (M220). That is, the UE may transmit HARQ-ACK feedback to the BS. HARQ-ACK feedback may be enabled/disabled based on the above-described proposed methods (e.g., Proposal 1, Proposal 2, Proposal 3, Proposal 4, and/or Proposal 5). See dashed line with remarks about “HARQ-ACK feedback (if configured)” in step M220).
Regarding claim(s) 24, Park discloses all features of claim(s) 21 as outlined above.
Park discloses wherein the HARQ feedback disable configuration is for a user equipment (UE) operating as part of a non-terrestrial network (NTN) (Fig. 17, [0325]: the configuration information may include configuration information related to an NTN, … a HARQ process-related configuration (e.g., HARQ feedback-enabled/disabled and/or the number of HARQ processes). [0148] Referring to FIG. 9, the NTN includes one or more satellites 410, one or more NTN gateways 420 capable of communicating with the satellites, and one or more UEs (/BSs) 430 capable of receiving mobile satellite services from the satellites).
Regarding claim(s) 25, Park discloses all features of claim(s) 21 as outlined above.
Park discloses wherein the instructions, when executed, further cause the processing circuitry to:
generate HARQ feedback for a first semi-persistent scheduling (SPS) physical downlink shared channel (PDSCH) after SPS activation ([0325]: the configuration information may include an SPS-related configuration (e.g., SPS-config). Alternatively, the SPS-related configuration may include information about HARQ feedback-enabled/disabled. [0326]: The configuration information may be transmitted/received through DCI. [0329]: Alternatively, as described in Proposal 5 above, activation/deactivation of an SPS PDSCH may be indicated/configured based on the DCI. For example, HARQ feedback-enabled/disabled may be configured through separate DCI different from the DCI related to the activation/deactivation of the SPS PDSCH. Alternatively, the DCI related to the activation/deactivation of the SPS PDSCH may include a field related to HARQ feedback-enabled/disabled. [0330]: Next, the BS may transmit DL data/DL channels (or a PDSCH) to the UE (M215). [0331]: Next, the BS may receive HARQ-ACK feedback from the UE (M220). That is, the UE may transmit HARQ-ACK feedback to the BS. HARQ-ACK feedback may be enabled/disabled based on the above-described proposed methods (e.g., Proposal 1, Proposal 2, Proposal 3, Proposal 4, and/or Proposal 5)).
Regarding claim 30, Park discloses A method, comprising:
identifying a hybrid automatic repeat request (HARQ) feedback disable configuration (Fig. 17, [0325]: the BS may transmit configuration information to the UE (M205). That is, the UE may receive the configuration information from the BS. For example, the configuration information may include configuration information related to … a HARQ process-related configuration (e.g., HARQ feedback-enabled/disabled and/or the number of HARQ processes));
determining whether a hybrid automatic repeat request (HARQ) process is configured with HARQ feedback enabled or disabled based at least in part on the HARQ feedback disable configuration for operation within a non-terrestrial network (NTN) (Fig. 17, [0325]: the BS may transmit configuration information to the UE (M205). That is, the UE may receive the configuration information from the BS. For example, the configuration information may include configuration information related to an NTN, … a HARQ process-related configuration (e.g., HARQ feedback-enabled/disabled and/or the number of HARQ processes));
processing a transport block associated with the HARQ process (Fig. 17, [0330]: Next, the BS may transmit DL data/DL channels (or a PDSCH) to the UE (M215). That is, the UE may receive the DL data/DL channels from the BS. The DL data/DL channels may be transmitted/received based on the above-described configuration information. [0325]: the configuration information may include configuration information related to … configuration information for DL transmission and reception (e.g., PDCCH-config and/or PDSCH-config), a HARQ process-related configuration (e.g., HARQ feedback-enabled/disabled and/or the number of HARQ processes)); and
determining whether to generate HARQ feedback for the transport block based at least in part on whether the HARQ process is configured with HARQ feedback enabled or disabled (Fig. 17, [0331]: Next, the BS may receive HARQ-ACK feedback from the UE (M220). That is, the UE may transmit HARQ-ACK feedback to the BS. HARQ-ACK feedback may be enabled/disabled based on the above-described proposed methods (e.g., Proposal 1, Proposal 2, Proposal 3, Proposal 4, and/or Proposal 5). See dashed line with remarks about “HARQ-ACK feedback (if configured)” in step M220).
Regarding claim(s) 31, Park discloses all features of claim(s) 30 as outlined above.
Park discloses wherein determining whether the HARQ process is configured with HARQ feedback enabled or disabled includes determining that HARQ feedback is disabled for the HARQ process, and wherein determining whether to generate HARQ feedback for the transport block includes determining not to generate HARQ feedback for the transport block (Fig. 17, [0325]: the configuration information may include configuration information related to … a HARQ process-related configuration (e.g., HARQ feedback-enabled/disabled and/or the number of HARQ processes). [0331]: Next, the BS may receive HARQ-ACK feedback from the UE (M220). That is, the UE may transmit HARQ-ACK feedback to the BS. HARQ-ACK feedback may be enabled/disabled based on the above-described proposed methods (e.g., Proposal 1, Proposal 2, Proposal 3, Proposal 4, and/or Proposal 5). See dashed line with remarks about “HARQ-ACK feedback (if configured)” in step M220).
Regarding claim(s) 32, Park discloses all features of claim(s) 30 as outlined above.
Park discloses wherein determining whether the HARQ process is configured with HARQ feedback enabled or disabled includes determining that HARQ feedback is enabled for the HARQ process, and wherein the method further comprises generating HARQ feedback for the transport block (Fig. 17, [0325]: the configuration information may include configuration information related to … a HARQ process-related configuration (e.g., HARQ feedback-enabled/disabled and/or the number of HARQ processes). [0331]: Next, the BS may receive HARQ-ACK feedback from the UE (M220). That is, the UE may transmit HARQ-ACK feedback to the BS. HARQ-ACK feedback may be enabled/disabled based on the above-described proposed methods (e.g., Proposal 1, Proposal 2, Proposal 3, Proposal 4, and/or Proposal 5). See dashed line with remarks about “HARQ-ACK feedback (if configured)” in step M220).
Regarding claim(s) 33, Park discloses all features of claim(s) 30 as outlined above.
Park discloses wherein the transport block corresponds to a first semi-persistent scheduling (SPS) physical downlink shared channel (PDSCH) after SPS activation, wherein the method further comprises:
generating HARQ feedback for the transport block based at least in part on the transport block corresponding to the first SPS PDSCH after the SPS activation ([0325]: the configuration information may include an SPS-related configuration (e.g., SPS-config). Alternatively, the SPS-related configuration may include information about HARQ feedback-enabled/disabled. [0326]: The configuration information may be transmitted/received through DCI. [0329]: Alternatively, as described in Proposal 5 above, activation/deactivation of an SPS PDSCH may be indicated/configured based on the DCI. For example, HARQ feedback-enabled/disabled may be configured through separate DCI different from the DCI related to the activation/deactivation of the SPS PDSCH. Alternatively, the DCI related to the activation/deactivation of the SPS PDSCH may include a field related to HARQ feedback-enabled/disabled. [0330]: Next, the BS may transmit DL data/DL channels (or a PDSCH) to the UE (M215). [0331]: Next, the BS may receive HARQ-ACK feedback from the UE (M220). That is, the UE may transmit HARQ-ACK feedback to the BS. HARQ-ACK feedback may be enabled/disabled based on the above-described proposed methods (e.g., Proposal 1, Proposal 2, Proposal 3, Proposal 4, and/or Proposal 5)).
Regarding claim(s) 36, Park discloses all features of claim(s) 30 as outlined above.
Park discloses wherein the HARQ process is a first HARQ process bundled with one or more other HARQ processes, and wherein the method further comprises:
determining whether at least one HARQ process of the one or more other HARQ processes is configured with HARQ feedback enabled, wherein determining whether to generate HARQ feedback for the transport block is further determined based at least in part on whether the at least one HARQ process is configured with HARQ feedback enabled (Fig. 17, [0325]: the configuration information may include configuration information related to … a HARQ process-related configuration (e.g., HARQ feedback-enabled/disabled and/or the number of HARQ processes). [0331]: Next, the BS may receive HARQ-ACK feedback from the UE (M220). That is, the UE may transmit HARQ-ACK feedback to the BS. HARQ-ACK feedback may be enabled/disabled based on the above-described proposed methods (e.g., Proposal 1, Proposal 2, Proposal 3, Proposal 4, and/or Proposal 5). See dashed line with remarks about “HARQ-ACK feedback (if configured)” in step M220).
Regarding claim 37, Park discloses An apparatus comprising (Fig. 22: device (200)):
processing circuitry to (Fig. 22: control unit 120):
generate a control transmission that indicates whether hybrid automatic repeat request (HARQ) feedback is to be enabled or disabled for a HARQ process during non-terrestrial network (NTN) operation (Fig. 17, [0325]: the BS may transmit configuration information to the UE (M205). That is, the UE may receive the configuration information from the BS. For example, the configuration information may include configuration information related to … a HARQ process-related configuration (e.g., HARQ feedback-enabled/disabled and/or the number of HARQ processes)); and
generate a transport block associated with the HARQ process for transmission during NTN operation (Fig. 17, [0330]: Next, the BS may transmit DL data/DL channels (or a PDSCH) to the UE (M215). That is, the UE may receive the DL data/DL channels from the BS. The DL data/DL channels may be transmitted/received based on the above-described configuration information. [0325]: the configuration information may include configuration information related to … configuration information for DL transmission and reception (e.g., PDCCH-config and/or PDSCH-config), a HARQ process-related configuration (e.g., HARQ feedback-enabled/disabled and/or the number of HARQ processes)); and
interface circuitry coupled with the processing circuitry, the interface circuitry to enable communication (Fig. 22: transceiver(s) 114. [0377]: the transceiver(s) 114 may include the one or more transceivers 106 and 206 and/or the one or more antennas 108 and 208 of FIG. 2).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 26, 34-35, and 38 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Park et al. (US 2023/0319822 A1) in view of Zhou et al. (US 2023/0337233 A1).
Regarding claim(s) 26, Park discloses all features of claim(s) 21 as outlined above.
Park discloses wherein the HARQ feedback disable configuration indicates that HARQ-acknowledgement (ACK) is disabled for the HARQ process (Fig. 17, [0325]: the BS may transmit configuration information to the UE (M205). That is, the UE may receive the configuration information from the BS. For example, the configuration information may include configuration information related to … a HARQ process-related configuration (e.g., HARQ feedback-enabled/disabled and/or the number of HARQ processes). [0331]: Next, the BS may receive HARQ-ACK feedback from the UE (M220). That is, the UE may transmit HARQ-ACK feedback to the BS. HARQ-ACK feedback may be enabled/disabled based on the above-described proposed methods (e.g., Proposal 1, Proposal 2, Proposal 3, Proposal 4, and/or Proposal 5). See dashed line with remarks about “HARQ-ACK feedback (if configured)” in step M220 indicating that the HARQ-ACK may be disabled), wherein the transport block is for a first physical downlink shared channel (PDSCH) (Fig. 17, [0330]: Next, the BS may transmit DL data/DL channels (or a PDSCH) to the UE (M215). That is, the UE may receive the DL data/DL channels from the BS. The DL data/DL channels may be transmitted/received based on the above-described configuration information. [0325]: the configuration information may include configuration information related to … configuration information for DL transmission and reception (e.g., PDCCH-config and/or PDSCH-config), a HARQ process-related configuration (e.g., HARQ feedback-enabled/disabled and/or the number of HARQ processes)),
Park does not disclose, but Zhou discloses wherein one or more subsequent PDSCHs are not received within a time period after the first PDSCH (Fig. 37, [0330]: a wireless device may receive a first DCI (1.sup.st DCI in FIG. 37) scheduling a TB via a PDSCH resource. [0331]: based on the first DCI, the wireless device may receive the first TB. [0332]: the wireless device may disable the HARQ-ACK feedback for the first TB based on the first DCI, e.g., when the PDSCH-to-HARQ_feedback timing indicator, of the first DCI, indicates an inapplicable value (e.g., −1). [0333]: the wireless device may receive a second DCI (e.g., 2.sup.nd DCI), after receiving the first TB. The second DCI may comprise a second PDSCH group indication field. The second DCI may comprise downlink assignment for a second TB (e.g., 2.sup.nd TB) via a second PDSCH in a second slot. The wireless device may receive the second TB and generate a second HARQ-ACK information for the second TB. Note: the second PDSCH is transmitted later in time and the period between the transmission of the first PDSCH and the second PDSCH is mapped to the claimed “time period”).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the BS, as taught by Park, to not transmit a second PDSCH within a time period until a second DCI is transmitted that comprises downlink assignment for a second TB via a second PDSCH in a second slot, as taught by Zhou.
Doing so allows the base station to later transmit a second DCI to request HARQ feedback for the TB in response to a second PDSCH group indication field indicating the PDSCH group associated with the TB which may enable a base station to flexibly control uplink HARQ-ACK transmission in an unlicensed band (Zhou: [0336]).
Regarding claim(s) 34, Park discloses all features of claim(s) 30 as outlined above.
Park discloses wherein the transport block corresponds to a first physical downlink shared channel (PDSCH) (Fig. 17, [0330]: Next, the BS may transmit DL data/DL channels (or a PDSCH) to the UE (M215). That is, the UE may receive the DL data/DL channels from the BS. The DL data/DL channels may be transmitted/received based on the above-described configuration information. [0325]: the configuration information may include configuration information related to … configuration information for DL transmission and reception (e.g., PDCCH-config and/or PDSCH-config), a HARQ process-related configuration (e.g., HARQ feedback-enabled/disabled and/or the number of HARQ processes)), wherein determining whether the HARQ process is configured with HARQ feedback enabled or disabled includes determined that the HARQ process is configured with HARQ feedback disabled (Fig. 17, [0325]: the BS may transmit configuration information to the UE (M205). That is, the UE may receive the configuration information from the BS. For example, the configuration information may include configuration information related to … a HARQ process-related configuration (e.g., HARQ feedback-enabled/disabled and/or the number of HARQ processes). [0331]: Next, the BS may receive HARQ-ACK feedback from the UE (M220). That is, the UE may transmit HARQ-ACK feedback to the BS. HARQ-ACK feedback may be enabled/disabled based on the above-described proposed methods (e.g., Proposal 1, Proposal 2, Proposal 3, Proposal 4, and/or Proposal 5). See dashed line with remarks about “HARQ-ACK feedback (if configured)” in step M220 indicating that the HARQ-ACK may be disabled),
Park does not disclose, but Zhou discloses wherein one or more subsequent PDSCHs are not to be received within a time period after the first PDSCH (Fig. 37, [0330]: a wireless device may receive a first DCI (1.sup.st DCI in FIG. 37) scheduling a TB via a PDSCH resource. [0331]: based on the first DCI, the wireless device may receive the first TB. [0332]: the wireless device may disable the HARQ-ACK feedback for the first TB based on the first DCI, e.g., when the PDSCH-to-HARQ_feedback timing indicator, of the first DCI, indicates an inapplicable value (e.g., −1). [0333]: the wireless device may receive a second DCI (e.g., 2.sup.nd DCI), after receiving the first TB. The second DCI may comprise a second PDSCH group indication field. The second DCI may comprise downlink assignment for a second TB (e.g., 2.sup.nd TB) via a second PDSCH in a second slot. The wireless device may receive the second TB and generate a second HARQ-ACK information for the second TB. Note: the second PDSCH is transmitted later in time and the period between the transmission of the first PDSCH and the second PDSCH is mapped to the claimed “time period”).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the BS, as taught by Park, to not transmit a second PDSCH within a time period until a second DCI is transmitted that comprises downlink assignment for a second TB via a second PDSCH in a second slot, as taught by Zhou.
Doing so allows the base station to later transmit a second DCI to request HARQ feedback for the TB in response to a second PDSCH group indication field indicating the PDSCH group associated with the TB which may enable a base station to flexibly control uplink HARQ-ACK transmission in an unlicensed band (Zhou: [0336]).
Regarding claim(s) 35, Park discloses all features of claim(s) 30 as outlined above.
Park discloses wherein determining whether the HARQ process is configured with HARQ feedback enabled or disabled includes determining that the HARQ process is configured with HARQ feedback disabled (Fig. 17, [0325]: the BS may transmit configuration information to the UE (M205). That is, the UE may receive the configuration information from the BS. For example, the configuration information may include configuration information related to … a HARQ process-related configuration (e.g., HARQ feedback-enabled/disabled and/or the number of HARQ processes). [0331]: Next, the BS may receive HARQ-ACK feedback from the UE (M220). That is, the UE may transmit HARQ-ACK feedback to the BS. HARQ-ACK feedback may be enabled/disabled based on the above-described proposed methods (e.g., Proposal 1, Proposal 2, Proposal 3, Proposal 4, and/or Proposal 5). See dashed line with remarks about “HARQ-ACK feedback (if configured)” in step M220 indicating that the HARQ-ACK may be disabled), wherein the HARQ process corresponds to a first transmission (Fig. 17, [0325]: the BS may transmit configuration information to the UE (M205). That is, the UE may receive the configuration information from the BS. For example, the configuration information may include configuration information related to … a HARQ process-related configuration (e.g., HARQ feedback-enabled/disabled and/or the number of HARQ processes). [0331]: Next, the BS may receive HARQ-ACK feedback from the UE (M220). That is, the UE may transmit HARQ-ACK feedback to the BS. HARQ-ACK feedback may be enabled/disabled based on the above-described proposed methods (e.g., Proposal 1, Proposal 2, Proposal 3, Proposal 4, and/or Proposal 5). See dashed line with remarks about “HARQ-ACK feedback (if configured)” in step M220 indicating that the HARQ-ACK may be disabled),
Park does not disclose, but Zhou discloses wherein a physical downlink control channel (PDCCH) is not to be received within a time period after the first transmission (Fig. 37, [0330]: a wireless device may receive a first DCI (1.sup.st DCI in FIG. 37) scheduling a TB via a PDSCH resource. [0331]: based on the first DCI, the wireless device may receive the first TB. [0332]: the wireless device may disable the HARQ-ACK feedback for the first TB based on the first DCI, e.g., when the PDSCH-to-HARQ_feedback timing indicator, of the first DCI, indicates an inapplicable value (e.g., −1). [0333]: the wireless device may receive a second DCI (e.g., 2.sup.nd DCI), after receiving the first TB. The second DCI may comprise a second PDSCH group indication field. The second DCI may comprise downlink assignment for a second TB (e.g., 2.sup.nd TB) via a second PDSCH in a second slot. The wireless device may receive the second TB and generate a second HARQ-ACK information for the second TB. Note: the second PDSCH is transmitted later in time and the period between the transmission of the first PDSCH and the second PDSCH is mapped to the claimed “time period”).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the BS, as taught by Park, to not transmit a second PDSCH within a time period until a second DCI is transmitted that comprises downlink assignment for a second TB via a second PDSCH in a second slot, as taught by Zhou.
Doing so allows the base station to later transmit a second DCI to request HARQ feedback for the TB in response to a second PDSCH group indication field indicating the PDSCH group associated with the TB which may enable a base station to flexibly control uplink HARQ-ACK transmission in an unlicensed band (Zhou: [0336]).
Regarding claim(s) 38, Park discloses all features of claim(s) 37 as outlined above.
Park discloses wherein the control transmission indicates that HARQ feedback is to be disabled for the HARQ process process (Fig. 17, [0325]: the BS may transmit configuration information to the UE (M205). That is, the UE may receive the configuration information from the BS. For example, the configuration information may include configuration information related to … a HARQ process-related configuration (e.g., HARQ feedback-enabled/disabled and/or the number of HARQ processes). [0331]: Next, the BS may receive HARQ-ACK feedback from the UE (M220). That is, the UE may transmit HARQ-ACK feedback to the BS. HARQ-ACK feedback may be enabled/disabled based on the above-described proposed methods (e.g., Proposal 1, Proposal 2, Proposal 3, Proposal 4, and/or Proposal 5). See dashed line with remarks about “HARQ-ACK feedback (if configured)” in step M220 indicating that the HARQ-ACK may be disabled), wherein the transport block is included in a first physical downlink shared channel (PDSCH) (Fig. 17, [0330]: Next, the BS may transmit DL data/DL channels (or a PDSCH) to the UE (M215). That is, the UE may receive the DL data/DL channels from the BS. The DL data/DL channels may be transmitted/received based on the above-described configuration information. [0325]: the configuration information may include configuration information related to … configuration information for DL transmission and reception (e.g., PDCCH-config and/or PDSCH-config), a HARQ process-related configuration (e.g., HARQ feedback-enabled/disabled and/or the number of HARQ processes)), and
Park does not disclose, but Zhou discloses wherein the processing circuitry is further to not generate further PDSCH for transmission within a time period after the first PDSCH (Fig. 37, [0330]: a wireless device may receive a first DCI (1.sup.st DCI in FIG. 37) scheduling a TB via a PDSCH resource. [0331]: based on the first DCI, the wireless device may receive the first TB. [0332]: the wireless device may disable the HARQ-ACK feedback for the first TB based on the first DCI, e.g., when the PDSCH-to-HARQ_feedback timing indicator, of the first DCI, indicates an inapplicable value (e.g., −1). [0333]: the wireless device may receive a second DCI (e.g., 2.sup.nd DCI), after receiving the first TB. The second DCI may comprise a second PDSCH group indication field. The second DCI may comprise downlink assignment for a second TB (e.g., 2.sup.nd TB) via a second PDSCH in a second slot. The wireless device may receive the second TB and generate a second HARQ-ACK information for the second TB. Note: the second PDSCH is transmitted later in time and the period between the transmission of the first PDSCH and the second PDSCH is mapped to the claimed “time period” that the processing circuitry is not generating further PDSCH).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the BS, as taught by Park, to not transmit a second PDSCH within a time period until a second DCI is transmitted that comprises downlink assignment for a second TB via a second PDSCH in a second slot, as taught by Zhou.
Doing so allows the base station to later transmit a second DCI to request HARQ feedback for the TB in response to a second PDSCH group indication field indicating the PDSCH group associated with the TB which may enable a base station to flexibly control uplink HARQ-ACK transmission in an unlicensed band (Zhou: [0336]).
Claim(s) 27-28 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Park et al. (US 2023/0319822 A1) in view of Zhou et al. (US 2021/0037484 A1).
Regarding claim(s) 27, Park discloses all features of claim(s) 21 as outlined above.
Park does not disclose, but Zhou discloses wherein physical downlink control channel (PDCCH) is not monitored within a time period after the transport block (Fig. 24, [0289]: After receiving a transmission block (TB) when the drx-InactivityTimer is running, the UE may start a HARQ RTT Timer (e.g., drx-HARQ-RTT-TimerDL), during which, the UE may stop monitoring the PDCCH).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to program the UE, as taught by Park, after receiving a TB, to start a HARQ RTT Timer (e.g., drx-HARQ-RTT-TimerDL), during which, the UE may stop monitoring the PDCCH, as taught by Zhou.
Doing so may be beneficial to the base station because if DRX is not configured, the wireless device may be transmitting periodic CSI and/or SRS frequently (e.g., based on the configuration). However, with DRX, during DRX OFF periods, the UE may not transmit periodic CSI and/or SRS. The base station may assign these resources to the other UEs to improve resource utilization efficiency (Zhou: [0275]).
Regarding claim(s) 28, Park in view of Zhou discloses all features of claim(s) 27 as outlined above.
Park discloses wherein the HARQ feedback disable configuration indicates that HARQ feedback is disabled ([0325]: the configuration information may include configuration information related to … a HARQ process-related configuration (e.g., HARQ feedback-enabled/disabled and/or the number of HARQ processes)).
Claim(s) 29 and 40 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Park et al. (US 2023/0319822 A1) in view of Zeng et al. (US 2024/0357592 A1).
Regarding claim(s) 29, Park discloses all features of claim(s) 21 as outlined above.
Park does not disclose, but Zeng discloses wherein the HARQ process is a first HARQ process bundled with one or more other HARQ processes ([0168]: when the bundling group(s) includes at least one valid PDSCH, [0169]: if the valid PDSCH(s) included in the bundling group(s) has a second target TB disabled…; and/or [0170] if at least one valid PDSCH in the valid PDSCH(s) included in the bundling group(s) has a second target TB enabled), wherein the HARQ feedback disable configuration indicates that HARQ feedback is disabled for the first HARQ process ([0169] if the valid PDSCH(s) included in the bundling group(s) has a second target TB disabled), wherein HARQ feedback is enabled for at least one of the one or more other HARQ processes ([0170] if at least one valid PDSCH in the valid PDSCH(s) included in the bundling group(s) has a second target TB enabled), and wherein the instructions, when executed, further cause the processing circuitry to generate a HARQ-acknowledgement (ACK) for the first HARQ process ([0169] if the valid PDSCH(s) included in the bundling group(s) has a second target TB disabled, the HARQ-ACK bit of the second target TB of the bundling group(s) is determined as a negative acknowledgement).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the HARQ process-related configuration, as taught by Park, to include bundling group(s) of at least one valid PDSCH that has a second target TB disabled and at least one valid PDSCH that has a second target Tb enabled, and the HARQ-ACK bit of the second target TB disabled is determined as a negative acknowledgement, as taught by Zeng.
Doing so improves HARQ-ACK feedback performance and consistent processing on both sides of the terminal and the network side device can be ensured (Zeng: [0164]).
Regarding claim(s) 40, Park discloses all features of claim(s) 37 as outlined above.
Park discloses wherein the control transmission is a first control transmission (Fig. 17, [0325]: the BS may transmit configuration information to the UE (M205)), wherein the HARQ process is a first HARQ process (Fig. 17, [0325]: the configuration information may include configuration information related to … a HARQ process-related configuration (e.g., HARQ feedback-enabled/disabled and/or the number of HARQ processes)), wherein the first control transmission indicates that HARQ feedback is to be disabled for the first HARQ process (Fig. 17, [0325]: the configuration information may include configuration information related to … a HARQ process-related configuration (e.g., HARQ feedback-enabled/disabled and/or the number of HARQ processes). See dashed line with remarks about “HARQ-ACK feedback (if configured)” in step M220),
Park does not disclose, but Zeng discloses generate a second control transmission that indicates that HARQ feedback is to be enabled for a second HARQ process, the second HARQ process being bundled with the first HARQ process for HARQ bundling ([0168]: when the bundling group(s) includes at least one valid PDSCH, [0169]: if the valid PDSCH(s) included in the bundling group(s) has a second target TB disabled…; and/or [0170] if at least one valid PDSCH in the valid PDSCH(s) included in the bundling group(s) has a second target TB enabled); and
monitor for HARQ feedback for the transport block based at least in part on HARQ feedback being enabled for the second HARQ process ([0169] if the valid PDSCH(s) included in the bundling group(s) has a second target TB disabled, the HARQ-ACK bit of the second target TB of the bundling group(s) is determined as a negative acknowledgement. [0170] if at least one valid PDSCH in the valid PDSCH(s) included in the bundling group(s) has a second target TB enabled, the first operation is uniformly performed based on a decoding result of the second target TB enabled of the at least one valid PDSCH, and the HARQ-ACK bit of the second target TB of the bundling group(s) is determined based on an operation result; or if at least one valid PDSCH in the valid PDSCH(s) included in the bundling group(s) has a second target TB enabled, a decoding result of the second target TB of a valid PDSCH having the second target TB disabled is set to a preset value, the first operation is uniformly performed based on the decoding result of the second target TB of the valid PDSCH(s) included in the bundling group(s), and the HARQ-ACK bit of the second target TB of the bundling group(s) is determined based on an operation result).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the HARQ process-related configuration, as taught by Park, to include bundling group(s) of at least one valid PDSCH that has a second target TB disabled and at least one valid PDSCH that has a second target Tb enabled, and the HARQ-ACK bit of the second target TB disabled is determined as a negative acknowledgement, as taught by Zeng.
Doing so improves HARQ-ACK feedback performance and consistent processing on both sides of the terminal and the network side device can be ensured (Zeng: [0164]).
Claim(s) 39 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Park et al. (US 2023/0319822 A1) in view of Wu et al. (US 2023/0231661 A1).
Regarding claim(s) 39, Park discloses all features of claim(s) 37 as outlined above.
Park discloses wherein the control transmission indicates that HARQ feedback is to be disabled for the HARQ process (Fig. 17, [0325]: the BS may transmit configuration information to the UE (M205). That is, the UE may receive the configuration information from the BS. For example, the configuration information may include configuration information related to … a HARQ process-related configuration (e.g., HARQ feedback-enabled/disabled and/or the number of HARQ processes). [0331]: Next, the BS may receive HARQ-ACK feedback from the UE (M220). That is, the UE may transmit HARQ-ACK feedback to the BS. HARQ-ACK feedback may be enabled/disabled based on the above-described proposed methods (e.g., Proposal 1, Proposal 2, Proposal 3, Proposal 4, and/or Proposal 5). See dashed line with remarks about “HARQ-ACK feedback (if configured)” in step M220 indicating that the HARQ-ACK may be disabled),
Park does not disclose, but Zhou discloses wherein the processing circuitry is further to not generate physical downlink control channel (PDCCH) within a time period after transmission of the transport block (Fig. 12, [0226]: a terminal device receives a first PDSCH sent by a network device using HARQ y, as in case 1 in FIG. 12, after a third time length after a last symbol transmitted by the first PDSCH, it is the earliest time to send a PDCCH by which the HARQ y may be rescheduled, that is to say, the terminal device receives or decodes a second PDSCH in a case where the terminal device is scheduled to receive, after the third time length after the last symbol transmitted by the first PDSCH, a second PDCCH for the network device scheduling the HARQ y to transmit the second PDSCH).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to program the BS, as taught by Park, to not generate and transmit a PDCCH for a time length after transmitting PDSCH, as taught by Wu.
Doing so enhances downlink HARQ scheduling restrictions which ensures that a problem of out of order of a processing timing of a terminal device will not occur (Wu: [0258]).
Conclusion
/THE HY NGUYEN/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2478
TheHy.Nguyen@USPTO.gov