DETAILED ACTION
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1, 2, 7, 8, 12, 13, 14, 15, 16, 17, 18, 19, 55 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Grossmann et al. (US20230209567A1) in view of Matsumura et al. (EP4057724A1).
Regarding claim 1, Grossman teaches a method for determining information, performed by a terminal, comprising: obtaining downlink control information (DCI) transmitted from a network side (Paragraph [0034]: When scheduling the PUSCH, various transmission parameters need to be indicated either in the higher layer grant or the DCI/PDCCH scheduling the PUSCH or via other higher layer signaling. Paragraph [0091]: According to some embodiments herein, the UE is configured, by a network node (or gNB), to receive a single PDCCH/DCI or a higher layer grant that schedules one or more PUSCH transmission occasions.)
and determining first information and/or second information based on a sounding reference signal resource indicator (SRI) field and/or a precoding information and number of layers (TPMI) field in the DCI (Paragraph [0180]: According to another embodiment, the UE is configured to receive…. via a single PDCCH…..wherein the antenna ports are indicated via an SRS resource indicator field (SRI) present in the scheduling DCI or the higher layer grant, or via a field that indicates up to n UL-TCI-states in the scheduling DCI or the higher layer grant. The precoding matrices may be indicated by the network node via the ‘Precoding and number of layers’ field in the scheduling DCI or the higher layer grant, where the codepoint of the field in the DCI or the value of the parameter in the higher layer grant may indicate up to n precoding matrices. For example, the first precoding matrix is associated with a first PUSCH (or PUSCH segment) transmission, the second precoding matrix with a second PUSCH (or PUSCH segment) transmission, and so on. In another example, the precoding matrices may be indicated by the network node via the ‘Precoding and number of layers’ field in the scheduling DCI. Paragraph [0232]: The SRS resources may be indicated, for example, via an existing field (e.g., the SRI field) or via a newly defined field in the DCI.)
wherein the first information comprises one or more of the following: a data layer for physical uplink shared channel (PUSCH) transmission, a transmission occasion (Paragraph [0034]: When scheduling the PUSCH, various transmission parameters need to be indicated either in the higher layer grant or the DCI/PDCCH scheduling the PUSCH or via other higher layer signaling. Paragraph [0037]: The DMRS ports at the UE are used to indicate the mapping of the data stream into data layers for the transmission, i.e., the number of DMRS ports used for a transmission denotes the spatial layers used for the transmission. The DMRS ports used for a PUSCH transmission are indicated by the ‘Antenna ports’ field in the scheduling DCI. Paragraph [0038]: The SRS ports associated with the indicated SRS resource(s) is/are the antenna ports that the data layers (data streams at the DMRS ports) are mapped to. Paragraph [0091]: According to some embodiments herein, the UE is configured, by a network node (or gNB), to receive a single PDCCH/DCI or a higher layer grant that schedules one or more PUSCH transmission occasions. Paragraph [0172]: According to another embodiment, the UE is configured to receive a single PDCCH, or configured with a higher layer grant, scheduling n (n ≥ 1) PUSCH transmission occasions.)
or a resource block (RB) set (Paragraph [0117]: According to an embodiment, the network node is configured to schedule to the UE at least two PUSCH segments or at least two PUSCH transmission occasions, wherein a set of PRBs on which at least one PUSCH segment or PUSCH transmission occasion is scheduled. Paragraph [0118]: According to an embodiment, the UE is configured to receive a single PDCCH or a higher layer grant scheduling n (n > 1) PUSCH transmissions, where the i-th PUSCH transmission is performed on the PRBs Ψi = {ai,1, ... ai,P} in a scheduled slot.)
or a PUSCH (Paragraph [0034]: When scheduling the PUSCH, various transmission parameters need to be indicated either in the higher layer grant or the DCI/PDCCH scheduling the PUSCH or via other higher layer signaling. Paragraph [0091]: According to some embodiments herein, the UE is configured, by a network node (or gNB), to receive a single PDCCH/DCI or a higher layer grant that schedules one or more PUSCH transmission occasions.)
and the second information comprises one or more of the following: a PUSCH port (Paragraph [0029]: When the PUSCH is scheduled with DCI format 0_0, the UE uses a single port for the PUSCH transmission. Paragraph [0211]: Each PUSCH transmission is performed using the transmission setting (which may include the antenna ports) provided in the associated UL-TCI-state.)
a sounding reference signal (SRS) port (Paragraph [0038]: The SRS ports associated with the indicated SRS resource(s) is/are the antenna ports that the data layers (data streams at the DMRS ports) are mapped to. Paragraph [0136]: According to an embodiment, the UE is configured, by the gNB, to receive a PDCCH or a higher layer grant that schedules n (n > 1) PUSCH transmissions using one of the multiplexing schemes proposed above. The single PDCCH or the higher layer grant indicates n different SRS resources, wherein each SRS resource may be associated with a PUSCH transmission occasion. Each PUSCH transmission occasion is carried out by the UE using the SRS port(s) which are associated with the corresponding SRS resource. The n SRS resources may be indicated via the SRS resource indicator, SRI field.)
or a demodulation reference signal (DMRS) port (Paragraph [0037]: The DMRS ports at the UE are used to indicate the mapping of the data stream into data layers for the transmission, i.e., the number of DMRS ports used for a transmission denotes the spatial layers used for the transmission. The DMRS ports used for a PUSCH transmission are indicated by the ‘Antenna ports’ field in the scheduling DCI.)
Grossmann does not explicitly teach (TPMI) field.
However, Matsumura teaches (TPMI) field (Paragraph [0013]: The UE may be notified of the SRI, the TRI, the TPMI, and the like by using downlink control information (DCI). The SRI may be specified through an SRS Resoruce Indicator field (SRI field) in the DCI. The TRI and the TPMI may each be specified by a "Precoding information and number of layers" field in the DCI.)
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to provide (TPMI) field as taught by Matsumura in the system of Grossmann, so that the UE may determine a precoding matrix corresponding to a TPMI index obtained from DCI for scheduling UL transmission (Matsumura: Paragraphs [0013], [0022]).
Regarding claim 2, the combination of Grossmann and Matsumura teaches the method of claim 1, wherein determining the first information and/or the second information based on the SRI field and/or the TPMI field in the DCI comprises: (see rejection for claim 1);
Grossmann further teaches determining third information based on the SRI field and/or the TPMI field, wherein the third information comprises at least one of the following: the first information (Paragraph [0034]: When scheduling the PUSCH, various transmission parameters need to be indicated either in the higher layer grant or the DCI/PDCCH scheduling the PUSCH or via other higher layer signaling. Paragraph [0037]: The DMRS ports at the UE are used to indicate the mapping of the data stream into data layers for the transmission, i.e., the number of DMRS ports used for a transmission denotes the spatial layers used for the transmission. The DMRS ports used for a PUSCH transmission are indicated by the ‘Antenna ports’ field in the scheduling DCI. Paragraph [0038]: The SRS ports associated with the indicated SRS resource(s) is/are the antenna ports that the data layers (data streams at the DMRS ports) are mapped to. Paragraph [0091]: According to some embodiments herein, the UE is configured, by a network node (or gNB), to receive a single PDCCH/DCI or a higher layer grant that schedules one or more PUSCH transmission occasions. Paragraph [0172]: According to another embodiment, the UE is configured to receive a single PDCCH, or configured with a higher layer grant, scheduling n (n ≥ 1) PUSCH transmission occasions. Paragraph [0180]: According to another embodiment, the UE is configured to receive…. via a single PDCCH…..wherein the antenna ports are indicated via an SRS resource indicator field (SRI) present in the scheduling DCI or the higher layer grant, or via a field that indicates up to n UL-TCI-states in the scheduling DCI or the higher layer grant. The precoding matrices may be indicated by the network node via the ‘Precoding and number of layers’ field in the scheduling DCI or the higher layer grant, where the codepoint of the field in the DCI or the value of the parameter in the higher layer grant may indicate up to n precoding matrices. For example, the first precoding matrix is associated with a first PUSCH (or PUSCH segment) transmission, the second precoding matrix with a second PUSCH (or PUSCH segment) transmission, and so on. In another example, the precoding matrices may be indicated by the network node via the ‘Precoding and number of layers’ field in the scheduling DCI. Paragraph [0232]: The SRS resources may be indicated, for example, via an existing field (e.g., the SRI field) or via a newly defined field in the DCI)
the second information (Paragraph [0037]: The DMRS ports at the UE are used to indicate the mapping of the data stream into data layers for the transmission, i.e., the number of DMRS ports used for a transmission denotes the spatial layers used for the transmission. The DMRS ports used for a PUSCH transmission are indicated by the ‘Antenna ports’ field in the scheduling DCI. Paragraph [0038]: The SRS ports associated with the indicated SRS resource(s) is/are the antenna ports that the data layers (data streams at the DMRS ports) are mapped to. Paragraph [0136]: According to an embodiment, the UE is configured, by the gNB, to receive a PDCCH or a higher layer grant that schedules n (n > 1) PUSCH transmissions using one of the multiplexing schemes proposed above. The single PDCCH or the higher layer grant indicates n different SRS resources, wherein each SRS resource may be associated with a PUSCH transmission occasion. Each PUSCH transmission occasion is carried out by the UE using the SRS port(s) which are associated with the corresponding SRS resource. The n SRS resources may be indicated via the SRS resource indicator, SRI field.)
Regarding claim 7, the combination of Grossmann and Matsumura teaches the method of claim 2, wherein the determining the third information based on the SRI field and/or the TPMI field comprises: (see rejection for claim 2);
Grossmann further teaches determining that a first SRI field or a first TPMI field or a precoder indicated by a first TPMI field corresponds to a first subgroup of the second information, and a second SRI field or a second TPMI field or a precoder indicated by a second TPMI field corresponds to a second subgroup of the second information (Paragraph [0034]: When scheduling the PUSCH, various transmission parameters need to be indicated either in the higher layer grant or the DCI/PDCCH scheduling the PUSCH or via other higher layer signaling. Paragraph [0037]: The DMRS ports at the UE are used to indicate the mapping of the data stream into data layers for the transmission, i.e., the number of DMRS ports used for a transmission denotes the spatial layers used for the transmission. The DMRS ports used for a PUSCH transmission are indicated by the ‘Antenna ports’ field in the scheduling DCI. Paragraph [0038]: The SRS ports associated with the indicated SRS resource(s) is/are the antenna ports that the data layers (data streams at the DMRS ports) are mapped to. Paragraph [0091]: According to some embodiments herein, the UE is configured, by a network node (or gNB), to receive a single PDCCH/DCI or a higher layer grant that schedules one or more PUSCH transmission occasions. Paragraph [0136]: According to an embodiment, the UE is configured, by the gNB, to receive a PDCCH or a higher layer grant that schedules n (n > 1) PUSCH transmissions using one of the multiplexing schemes proposed above. The single PDCCH or the higher layer grant indicates n different SRS resources, wherein each SRS resource may be associated with a PUSCH transmission occasion. Each PUSCH transmission occasion is carried out by the UE using the SRS port(s) which are associated with the corresponding SRS resource. The n SRS resources may be indicated via the SRS resource indicator, SRI field. Paragraph [0172]: According to another embodiment, the UE is configured to receive a single PDCCH, or configured with a higher layer grant, scheduling n (n ≥ 1) PUSCH transmission occasions. Paragraph [0180]: According to another embodiment, the UE is configured to receive…. via a single PDCCH…..wherein the antenna ports are indicated via an SRS resource indicator field (SRI) present in the scheduling DCI or the higher layer grant, or via a field that indicates up to n UL-TCI-states in the scheduling DCI or the higher layer grant. The precoding matrices may be indicated by the network node via the ‘Precoding and number of layers’ field in the scheduling DCI or the higher layer grant, where the codepoint of the field in the DCI or the value of the parameter in the higher layer grant may indicate up to n precoding matrices. For example, the first precoding matrix is associated with a first PUSCH (or PUSCH segment) transmission, the second precoding matrix with a second PUSCH (or PUSCH segment) transmission, and so on. In another example, the precoding matrices may be indicated by the network node via the ‘Precoding and number of layers’ field in the scheduling DCI. Paragraph [0232]: The SRS resources may be indicated, for example, via an existing field (e.g., the SRI field) or via a newly defined field in the DCI.)
Regarding claim 8, the combination of Grossmann and Matsumura teaches the method of claim 7 (see rejection for claim 7);
Grossmann further teaches wherein the first subgroup is first N1 ports or N1 ports with a lower number of layers among v ports indicated by an antenna port indicator field, and the second subgroup is v-N1 ports with a higher number of layers or last v-N1 ports among the v ports (Paragraph [0098]: In accordance with embodiments, a single PDCCH/DCI or a higher layer grant schedules n > 1 PUSCHs or PUSCH transmission occasions from a UE. For example, n′ < n transmissions of the n transmissions may be scheduled with a first set of antenna ports, pathloss reference RS, TPC command, etc. The remaining n - n′ transmissions are scheduled with a different set of antenna ports. Paragraph [0137]: For example, when two PUSCH transmission occasions of a PUSCH are scheduled via a PDCCH that indicates two SRS resources, where the first and second SRS resources are associated with antenna port(s) p1,0,..., p1,R1 and p2,0,..., p2,R 2, respectively, the first PUSCH occasion is transmitted using the ports p1,0,..., p1,R1 (which are associated with the first SRS resource) and the second PUSCH occasion is transmitted using the ports p2,0,..., p2,R2 (which are associated with the second SRS resource).
Regarding claim 12, the combination of Grossmann and Matsumura teaches the method of claim 2, wherein determining the third information based on the SRI field and/or the TPMI field further comprises: (see rejection for claim 2);
Grossmann further teaches determining a PUSCH port, wherein the PUSCH port comprises: PUSCH ports determined by the first subgroup of the first information and PUSCH ports determined by the second subgroup of the first information being the same or partially the same (Paragraph [0029]: When the PUSCH is scheduled with DCI format 0_0, the UE uses a single port for the PUSCH transmission. Paragraph [0037]: The DMRS ports at the UE are used to indicate the mapping of the data stream into data layers for the transmission, i.e., the number of DMRS ports used for a transmission denotes the spatial layers used for the transmission. The DMRS ports used for a PUSCH transmission are indicated by the ‘Antenna ports’ field in the scheduling DCI. Paragraph [0038]: The SRS ports associated with the indicated SRS resource(s) is/are the antenna ports that the data layers (data streams at the DMRS ports) are mapped to. Paragraph [0098]: In accordance with embodiments, a single PDCCH/DCI or a higher layer grant schedules n > 1 PUSCHs or PUSCH transmission occasions from a UE, wherein the same PUSCH transport block is scheduled to be transmitted n times by the UE as follows: n′ < n of the n transmissions are scheduled with a first set of uplink transmission parameters, and the remaining n - n′ transmissions are scheduled with at least one uplink transmission parameter different from the corresponding transmission parameter from the first set of transmission parameters used for the other n′ transmissions. For example, n′ < n transmissions of the n transmissions may be scheduled with a first set of antenna ports, pathloss reference RS, TPC command, etc. The remaining n - n′ transmissions are scheduled with a different set of antenna ports, pathloss reference RS and TPC command from the other n′ transmissions. The order in which the first set of n′ transmissions and the second set of n - n′ transmissions are scheduled among the n total transmissions may be indicated by the gNB or a network node or fixed in the specifications. An example use-case for this method would be the repetitions of the same PUSCH TB towards two different TRPs. The first n′ transmissions may be directed towards a first TRP and the rest n - n′ transmissions may be directed towards a second TRP. Paragraph [0136]: According to an embodiment, the UE is configured, by the gNB, to receive a PDCCH or a higher layer grant that schedules n (n > 1) PUSCH transmissions using one of the multiplexing schemes proposed above. The single PDCCH or the higher layer grant indicates n different SRS resources, wherein each SRS resource may be associated with a PUSCH transmission occasion. Each PUSCH transmission occasion is carried out by the UE using the SRS port(s) which are associated with the corresponding SRS resource. The n SRS resources may be indicated via the SRS resource indicator, SRI field. Paragraph [0211]: Each PUSCH transmission is performed using the transmission setting (which may include the antenna ports) provided in the associated UL-TCI-state.)
Regarding claim 13, the combination of Grossmann and Matsumura teaches the method of claim 1, wherein determining the first information and/or the second information based on the SRI field and/or the TPMI field in the DCI comprises: (see rejection for claim 1);
Grossmann further teaches determining that multiple subgroups of the first information use a same spatial relation or transmission configuration indication (TCI) state, wherein an SRS resource indicated by the SRI field has one spatial relation or TCI state, or an SRS resource indicated by the SRI field corresponds to one SRI field (Paragraph [0136]: According to an embodiment, the UE is configured, by the gNB, to receive a PDCCH or a higher layer grant that schedules n (n > 1) PUSCH transmissions using one of the multiplexing schemes proposed above. The single PDCCH or the higher layer grant indicates n different SRS resources, wherein each SRS resource may be associated with a PUSCH transmission occasion. Each PUSCH transmission occasion is carried out by the UE using the SRS port(s) which are associated with the corresponding SRS resource. The n SRS resources may be indicated via the SRS resource indicator, SRI field or a new field in the scheduling PDCCH or higher layer grant. The n SRS resources may be associated with the same SRS resource set or with different SRS resource sets. A special case of this method is the indication of up to n SRS resources. In a first example, a single PDCCH or higher layer grant may indicate 1 < n′ ≤ n different SRS resources wherein each PUSCH transmission occasion is associated with one of the n′ SRS resources. When n′ ≤ n, a single SRS resource may be associated with more than one PUSCH transmission occasion. In a second example, a single PDCCH or higher layer grant may indicate 1 < n′ ≤ n groups of SRS resources, wherein each group comprises one or more SRS resources and wherein each PUSCH transmission occasion is associated with one of the groups of one or more SRS resources. When n′ < n, a group of SRS resources may be associated with more than one PUSCH transmission occasion. Here, each group of SRS resources may belong to a different SRS resource set. In a special case, the SRS resources may be indicated via one or more SRI fields. Paragraph [0158]: In an alternative, a PDCCH or a higher layer grant that schedules n PUSCH transmissions (segmented or complete PUSCH transmission occasions) may indicate both the antenna port(s) and the spatial relation(s) to be used for the n PUSCH transmissions via the UL-TCI-field in the DCI or a parameter in the configuration of the higher layer grant that indicates the UL-TCI-states. The codepoints of the UL-TCI field in the DCI or the value of the parameter in the configuration of the higher layer grant may indicate/map up to n UL-TCI-states, wherein each UL-TCI-state indicates the port(s) and the spatial relation(s) to be used for the corresponding PUSCH transmission. This means that a first codepoint of said DCI field or a first value of said higher layer parameter may be associated with a first group of n1 ≤ n UL-TCI-states and n1 ≤ n SRS resources, a second codepoint of said DCI field or a second value of said higher layer parameter may be associated with a second group of n2 ≤ n UL-TCI-states and n2 ≤ n SRS resources, and so on.)
determining second information respectively corresponding to multiple spatial relations or transmission configuration indication (TCI) states (Paragraph [0153]: According to an embodiment, the UE is configured to receive a single PDCCH that schedules n (n > 1) PUSCH transmissions (segmented or complete PUSCH transmission occasions), wherein the scheduling PDCCH comprises an UL-TCI field (in the DCI), where each codepoint of the field maps to up to n UL-TCI-states, and wherein each UL-TCI-state indicates at least one of the following transmission parameters: DMRS port(s), antenna port(s), spatial relation, and pathloss reference RS. This means a first UL-TCI state indicated by the codepoint may be associated with a first PUSCH transmission, a second UL-TCI state indicated by the codepoint may be associated with a second PUSCH transmission, and so on. Each PUSCH transmission is performed using the transmission setting indicated in the associated UL-TCI-state. Paragraph [0158]: In an alternative, a PDCCH or a higher layer grant that schedules n PUSCH transmissions (segmented or complete PUSCH transmission occasions) may indicate both the antenna port(s) and the spatial relation(s) to be used for the n PUSCH transmissions via the UL-TCI-field in the DCI or a parameter in the configuration of the higher layer grant that indicates the UL-TCI-states. The codepoints of the UL-TCI field in the DCI or the value of the parameter in the configuration of the higher layer grant may indicate/map up to n UL-TCI-states, wherein each UL-TCI-state indicates the port(s) and the spatial relation(s) to be used for the corresponding PUSCH transmission. Paragraph [0322]: The PDCCH or the higher layer grant that schedules one or more PUSCH transmission occasions may indicate: ….and at least one spatial relation or beam direction to be used for the PUSCH(s) by an UL-TCI field that indicates one or more UL-TCI states.)
Regarding claim 14, the combination of Grossmann and Matsumura teaches the method of claim 13, wherein determining that the multiple subgroups of the first information use the same spatial relation or TCI state comprises: (see rejection for claim 14);
Grossmann further teaches determining that a first transmission occasion subgroup of transmission occasions and a second transmission occasion subgroup of transmission occasions use the same spatial relation or TCI state (Paragraph [0153]: According to an embodiment, the UE is configured to receive a single PDCCH that schedules n (n > 1) PUSCH transmissions (segmented or complete PUSCH transmission occasions), wherein the scheduling PDCCH comprises an UL-TCI field (in the DCI), where each codepoint of the field maps to up to n UL-TCI-states, and wherein each UL-TCI-state indicates at least one of the following transmission parameters: DMRS port(s), antenna port(s), spatial relation, and pathloss reference RS. This means a first UL-TCI state indicated by the codepoint may be associated with a first PUSCH transmission, a second UL-TCI state indicated by the codepoint may be associated with a second PUSCH transmission, and so on. Each PUSCH transmission is performed using the transmission setting indicated in the associated UL-TCI-state. Paragraph [0158]: In an alternative, a PDCCH or a higher layer grant that schedules n PUSCH transmissions (segmented or complete PUSCH transmission occasions) may indicate both the antenna port(s) and the spatial relation(s) to be used for the n PUSCH transmissions via the UL-TCI-field in the DCI or a parameter in the configuration of the higher layer grant that indicates the UL-TCI-states. The codepoints of the UL-TCI field in the DCI or the value of the parameter in the configuration of the higher layer grant may indicate/map up to n UL-TCI-states, wherein each UL-TCI-state indicates the port(s) and the spatial relation(s) to be used for the corresponding PUSCH transmission. Paragraph [0322]: The PDCCH or the higher layer grant that schedules one or more PUSCH transmission occasions may indicate: ….and at least one spatial relation or beam direction to be used for the PUSCH(s) by an UL-TCI field that indicates one or more UL-TCI states.)
Regarding claim 15, the combination of Grossmann and Matsumura teaches the method of claim 13, wherein determining second information respectively corresponding to multiple spatial relations or TCI states comprises (see rejection for claim 13);
Grossmann further teaches determining a number of data layers or a number of DMRS ports or a number of PUSCH ports corresponding to a spatial relation or TCI state based on an indicator from the network side (Paragraph [0037]: Different types of antenna ports are defined at the UE for PUSCH transmission. The DMRS ports at the UE are used to indicate the mapping of the data stream into data layers for the transmission, i.e., the number of DMRS ports used for a transmission denotes the spatial layers used for the transmission. The DMRS ports used for a PUSCH transmission are indicated by the ‘Antenna ports’ field in the scheduling DCI. The symbols in the DMRS resource elements corresponding to different ports can be code division multiplexed (CDM-ed). Each port belongs to a certain code-division-multiplexing group (CDM group) as specified in [1-4]. From the DMRS ports, the data layers are mapped to antenna ports (or SRS ports) by means of a precoder from which the PUSCH is transmitted. Paragraph [0152]: The UL TCI-states may be configured to the UE, and optionally, down-selected via a higher layer and indicated via the PDCCH. Hence, the PDCCH may comprise an UL-TCI-state indication field (in e.g. the DCI) to schedule one or more PUSCH transmission(s). Paragraph [0153]: According to an embodiment, the UE is configured to receive a single PDCCH that schedules n (n > 1) PUSCH transmissions (segmented or complete PUSCH transmission occasions), wherein the scheduling PDCCH comprises an UL-TCI field (in the DCI), where each codepoint of the field maps to up to n UL-TCI-states, and wherein each UL-TCI-state indicates at least one of the following transmission parameters: DMRS port(s), antenna port(s), spatial relation, and pathloss reference RS. This means a first UL-TCI state indicated by the codepoint may be associated with a first PUSCH transmission, a second UL-TCI state indicated by the codepoint may be associated with a second PUSCH transmission, and so on. Each PUSCH transmission is performed using the transmission setting indicated in the associated UL-TCI-state. Also see paragraph [0155], [0322].)
Grossmann does not explicitly teach k-th spatial relation.
However, Matsumura teaches k-th spatial relation (Paragraph [0100]: The UE may use, for layers 1, 2, ..., k among L layers, SRI (SRS #i) indicated first by the SRI field in DCI, as a spatial filter for UL transmission from panel 1. The UE may use, for remaining layers k+1, k+2, ..., L among the L layers, SRI (SRS #j) indicated second by the SRI field in DCI, as a spatial filter for UL transmission from panel 2. Paragraph [0101]: k may be in conformity with a predefined rule or may be explicitly indicated by DCI.)
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to provide k-th spatial relation as taught by Matsumura in the system of Grossmann, so that the UE may use the SRI indicated by the DCI as a spatial filter for uplink transmission (Matsumura: Paragraphs [0100], [0101]).
Regarding claim 16, the combination of Grossmann and Matsumura teaches the method of claim 1 (see rejection for claim 1);
Grossmann further teaches wherein a number of first SRS resource sets configured by the network side is greater than 1 (Paragraph [0017]: The UE is configured by the gNB via the RRC with one or more SRS resource sets, with each SRS resource set consisting of one or more SRS resources. Paragraph [0147]: According to another exemplary embodiment, if one or more SRS resource set(s) are associated with the PDCCH or higher layer grant scheduling the PUSCH transmission occasion(s) or if one or more SRS resource set(s) are associated with any of the PUSCH transmission occasion(s), the UE does not expect to be provided with one or more indicator(s) or one or more field(s) indicating in the scheduling PDCCH or higher layer grant an SRS resource from an associated SRS resource set that comprises just one SRS resource. Also see paragraph [0234].)
Regarding claim 17, the combination of Grossmann and Matsumura teaches the method of claim 1 (see rejection for claim 1);
Grossmann further teaches wherein a number of first SRS resource sets configured by the network side is 1 (Paragraph [0017]: The UE is configured by the gNB via the RRC with one or more SRS resource sets, with each SRS resource set consisting of one or more SRS resources. Paragraph [0254]: According to an embodiment, the UE is configured to receive a higher layer configuration of an SRS resource set, wherein the SRS resource set comprises one or more SRS resources. Each SRS resource is associated with one or more SRS ports. Paragraph [0255]: For example, the UE may be configured with one said SRS resource set via a higher layer comprising 4 SRS resources. The SRS resource set may be configured with 2 pathloss reference RSs, and each SRS resource in the set may be configured with 2 spatial relation parameters. When the SRS resource is triggered for transmission, the UE transmits the SRS resources in the SRS resource set on a first transmission occasion.)
Regarding claim 18, the combination of Grossmann and Matsumura teaches the method of claim 1, further comprising: (see rejection for claim 1);
Grossmann further teaches determining a target transmission mode; and performing transmission based on the target transmission mode, wherein the target transmission mode comprises any of the following: a space division multiplexing (SDM) transmission, a frequency division multiplexing (FDM) transmission, or a time division multiplexing (TDM) transmission (Paragraph [134]: According to an embodiment, the multiplexing scheme (e.g., a TDM- or FDM- or SDM-based scheme, or a combination of the TDM- or FDM- or SDM-based scheme) may be configured or indicated to the UE via one or more higher layer parameters. With such an indication, the UE may use an appropriate combination of the methods described above. For example, the UE may be indicated via a higher layer that the UE may transmit multiple PUSCHs or PUSCH segments that are multiplexed both in time and space. Paragraph [0171]: The above methods may be used to schedule PUSCH transmissions using any of the multiplexing techniques (TDM, FDM or SDM) discussed before.)
Regarding claim 19, Grossmann teaches a terminal, comprising a memory, a transceiver and a processor, wherein the memory is used for storing a computer program, the transceiver is used for receiving and transmitting data under control of the processor, and the processor is used for reading the computer program in the memory and performing the following operations: (Paragraph [0341]: FIG. 8 illustrates a block diagram depicting a UE. The UE 800 comprises a processor 810 or processing circuit or a processing module or a processor or means 810; a receiver circuit or receiver module 840; a transmitter circuit or transmitter module 850; a memory module 820 a transceiver circuit or transceiver module 830 which may include the transmitter circuit 850 and the receiver circuit 840. The UE 800 further comprises an antenna system 860 which includes antenna circuitry for transmitting and receiving signals to/from at least the network node. Paragraph [342]: The UE comprising the processor 810 and the memory contains instructions executable by the processor, whereby the UE 800 is operative/configured to perform at least the subject-matter disclosed herein.)
obtaining downlink control information (DCI) transmitted from a network side; and determining first information and/or second information based on a sounding reference signal resource indicator (SRI) field and/or a precoding information and number of layers (TPMI) field in the DCI, wherein the first information comprises one or more of the following: a data layer for physical uplink shared channel (PUSCH) transmission, a transmission occasion or a resource block (RB) set, or a PUSCH; and the second information comprises one or more of the following: a PUSCH port, a sounding reference signal (SRS) port, or a demodulation reference signal (DMRS) port (see rejection for claim 1);
Grossmann does not explicitly teach (TPMI) field.
However, Matsumura teaches (TPMI) field (see rejection for claim 1);
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to provide (TPMI) field as taught by Matsumura in the system of Grossmann, so that the UE may determine a precoding matrix corresponding to a TPMI index obtained from DCI for scheduling UL transmission (Matsumura: Paragraphs [0013], [0022]).
Regarding claim 55, Grossmann teaches a non-transitory processor-readable storage medium, wherein the processor-readable storage medium stores a computer program, and the computer program is used to cause a processor to perform the following operations: (Paragraph [342]: The UE comprising the processor 810 and the memory contains instructions executable by the processor, whereby the UE 800 is operative/configured to perform at least the subject-matter disclosed herein. Paragraph [0344]: In at least one such example, the processor 810 includes a microprocessor, microcontroller, DSP, ASIC, FPGA, or other processing circuitry that is configured to execute computer program instructions from a computer program stored in a non-transitory computer-readable medium that is in or is accessible to the processing circuitry.)
obtaining downlink control information (DCI) transmitted from a network side; and determining first information and/or second information based on a sounding reference signal resource indicator (SRI) field and/or a precoding information and number of layers (TPMI) field in the DCI, wherein the first information comprises one or more of the following: a data layer for physical uplink shared channel (PUSCH) transmission, a transmission occasion or a resource block (RB) set, or a PUSCH; and the second information comprises one or more of the following: a PUSCH port, a sounding reference signal (SRS) port, or a demodulation reference signal (DMRS) port (see rejection for claim 1);
Grossmann does not explicitly teach (TPMI) field.
However, Matsumura teaches (TPMI) field (see rejection for claim 1);
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to provide (TPMI) field as taught by Matsumura in the system of Grossmann, so that the UE may determine a precoding matrix corresponding to a TPMI index obtained from DCI for scheduling UL transmission (Matsumura: Paragraphs [0013], [0022]).
Claims 3, 4, 5, 6, 9, 10, 11 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Grossmann et al. (US20230209567A1) in view of Matsumura et al. (EP4057724A1), and further in view of Muruganathan et al. (WO2021161272A1).
Regarding claim 3, the combination of Grossmann and Matsumura teaches the method of claim 2, wherein determining the third information based on the SRI field and/or the TPMI field comprises (see rejection for claim 2);
Grossman further teaches: based on SRS resources indicated by multiple SRI fields corresponding to SRS resources indicated by multiple SRI fields, determining first information respectively corresponding to each SRS resource in the SRS resources indicated by the multiple SRI fields (Paragraph [0136]: According to an embodiment, the UE is configured, by the gNB, to receive a PDCCH or a higher layer grant that schedules n (n > 1) PUSCH transmissions using one of the multiplexing schemes proposed above. The single PDCCH or the higher layer grant indicates n different SRS resources, wherein each SRS resource may be associated with a PUSCH transmission occasion. Each PUSCH transmission occasion is carried out by the UE using the SRS port(s) which are associated with the corresponding SRS resource. The n SRS resources may be indicated via the SRS resource indicator, SRI field or a new field in the scheduling PDCCH or higher layer grant. The n SRS resources may be associated with the same SRS resource set or with different SRS resource sets. A special case of this method is the indication of up to n SRS resources. In a first example, a single PDCCH or higher layer grant may indicate 1 < n′ ≤ n different SRS resources wherein each PUSCH transmission occasion is associated with one of the n′ SRS resources. When n′ ≤ n, a single SRS resource may be associated with more than one PUSCH transmission occasion. In a second example, a single PDCCH or higher layer grant may indicate 1 < n′ ≤ n groups of SRS resources, wherein each group comprises one or more SRS resources and wherein each PUSCH transmission occasion is associated with one of the groups of one or more SRS resources. When n′ < n, a group of SRS resources may be associated with more than one PUSCH transmission occasion. Here, each group of SRS resources may belong to a different SRS resource set. In a special case, the SRS resources may be indicated via one or more SRI fields. Paragraph [0242]: The antenna port(s) associated with the SRS resource(s) indicated by one or more SRI field(s) are used for the transmission of the PUSCH in at least one of the n scheduled PUSCH occasions. The mapping of the SRI fields to the PUSCH transmission occasions may follow any of the related embodiments in this disclosure.)
or in case that the SRI field in the DCI indicates multiple SRS resource sets, determining first information respectively corresponding to each SRS resource set among the multiple SRS resource sets based on the multiple SRS resource sets; (Paragraph [0234]: In accordance with an embodiment, the UE is configured to receive a single PDCCH or a higher layer grant scheduling n (n > 1) PUSCH transmissions or n (n > 1) PUSCH segments, where the PDCCH indicates SRS resources from n′ ≤ n different SRS resource sets while selecting up to 1 ≤ li ≤ Ri resources from the i-th set. The SRS resources may be indicated, for example, via an existing field (e.g., the SRI field) or via a newly defined field in the DCI. Each indicated group of SRS resources from an SRS resource set is associated with a PUSCH transmission or PUSCH segment and its transmission is performed by the UE using the SRS/antenna port(s) associated with the group of SRS resource(s). In one example, a field that comprises n′ SRIs may be provided in the scheduling PDCCH or higher layer grant. ….wherein each SRI indicates one or more SRS resources from an SRS resource set that is different from the SRS resource sets associated with at least one other SRI. In a second example, a codepoint of the SRI field may map to n′ groups of SRS resources, wherein each group comprises of one or more SRS resources chosen from an SRS resource set that is different from the SRS resource sets associated with at least one other group of SRS resources. Paragraph [0239]: According to an embodiment, the UE is configured to receive a PDCCH or a higher layer grant scheduling n (n > 1) PUSCH transmissions wherein the scheduling PDCCH or higher layer grant indicates SRS resource(s) via one or more SRI fields in the scheduling PDCCH or higher layer grant. The antenna/SRS port(s) associated with one or more SRS resources indicated by the PDCCH or higher layer grant is/are used for at least one PUSCH transmission occasion scheduled by the PDCCH or higher layer grant. The UE may be indicated with up to n′ ≤ n groups of SRS resources wherein each group comprises one or more SRS resources and every group of SRS resource(s) is associated with a different SRS resource set. For an indicated group of one or more SRS resource(s) via the SRI field(s), the SRS resource set to which the SRS resource(s) belongs to or associated with can be determined based on at least one of the following methods.)
or based on multiple TCI states or spatial relations, determining first information respectively corresponding to each TCI state or spatial relation of the multiple TCI states or spatial relations (Paragraph [0153]: According to an embodiment, the UE is configured to receive a single PDCCH that schedules n (n > 1) PUSCH transmissions (segmented or complete PUSCH transmission occasions), wherein the scheduling PDCCH comprises an UL-TCI field (in the DCI), where each codepoint of the field maps to up to n UL-TCI-states, and wherein each UL-TCI-state indicates at least one of the following transmission parameters: DMRS port(s), antenna port(s), spatial relation, and pathloss reference RS. This means a first UL-TCI state indicated by the codepoint may be associated with a first PUSCH transmission, a second UL-TCI state indicated by the codepoint may be associated with a second PUSCH transmission, and so on. Each PUSCH transmission is performed using the transmission setting indicated in the associated UL-TCI-state. Paragraph [0158]: In an alternative, a PDCCH or a higher layer grant that schedules n PUSCH transmissions (segmented or complete PUSCH transmission occasions) may indicate both the antenna port(s) and the spatial relation(s) to be used for the n PUSCH transmissions via the UL-TCI-field in the DCI or a parameter in the configuration of the higher layer grant that indicates the UL-TCI-states. The codepoints of the UL-TCI field in the DCI or the value of the parameter in the configuration of the higher layer grant may indicate/map up to n UL-TCI-states, wherein each UL-TCI-state indicates the port(s) and the spatial relation(s) to be used for the corresponding PUSCH transmission. Paragraph [0322]: The PDCCH or the higher layer grant that schedules one or more PUSCH transmission occasions may indicate: ….and at least one spatial relation or beam direction to be used for the PUSCH(s) by an UL-TCI field that indicates one or more UL-TCI states.)
based on multiple precoders, determining first information respectively corresponding to each precoder of the multiple precoders, wherein each of the multiple precoders corresponds to each of the multiple SRS resources (Paragraph [0180]: According to another embodiment, the UE is configured to receive an indication of up to m ≥ n DMRS ports, p ≥ m antenna ports and n precoding matrices or vectors {F1,...,Fn} that map m DMRS ports to p antenna ports for n (n > 1) PUSCH transmissions or n (n > 1) segments of a single PUSCH transmission via a single PDCCH or via a higher layer grant, wherein the antenna ports are indicated via an SRS resource indicator field (SRI) present in the scheduling DCI or the higher layer grant, or via a field that indicates up to n UL-TCI-states in the scheduling DCI or the higher layer grant. The precoding matrices may be indicated by the network node via the ‘Precoding and number of layers’ field in the scheduling DCI or the higher layer grant, where the codepoint of the field in the DCI or the value of the parameter in the higher layer grant may indicate up to n precoding matrices. For example, the first precoding matrix is associated with a first PUSCH (or PUSCH segment) transmission, the second precoding matrix with a second PUSCH (or PUSCH segment) transmission, and so on. In another example, the precoding matrices may be indicated by the network node via the ‘Precoding and number of layers’ field in the scheduling DCI or the higher layer grant, where the field is split into multiple parts or partitions and each part provides a precoding matrix and each precoding matrix may be associated with at least one PUSCH transmission occasion or segment. Also see paragraph [0181].)
Grossmann does not explicitly teach TPMI fields; or first information respectively corresponding to precoding indicated by each TPMI field in the TPMI fields corresponding to the SRS resources indicated by the multiple SRI fields; based on precoders respectively indicated by multiple TPMI fields, determining first information corresponding to each of the precoders respectively indicated by the multiple TPMI fields; or based on multiple SRS resources or TPMIs indicated by the network side through an information field in the DCI or a higher layer parameter, determining first information respectively corresponding to each SRS resource or TPMI of the multiple SRS resources or TPMIs.
However, Matsumaura teaches TPMI fields; or first information respectively corresponding to precoding indicated by each TPMI field in the TPMI fields corresponding to the SRS resources indicated by the multiple SRI fields (Paragraph [0013]: The UE may be notified of the SRI, the TRI, the TPMI, and the like by using downlink control information (DCI). The SRI may be specified through an SRS Resoruce Indicator field (SRI field) in the DCI. The TRI and the TPMI may each be specified by a "Precoding information and number of layers" field in the DCI. Paragraph [0035]: For example, in a case of codebook based transmission, the UE may determine a precoder for PUSCH transmission, based on an SRI, a transmitted rank indicator (TRI), and a transmitted precoding matrix indicator (TPMI). Paragraph [0100]: The UE may use, for layers 1, 2, ..., k among L layers, SRI (SRS #i) indicated first by the SRI field in DCI, as a spatial filter for UL transmission from panel 1. The UE may use, for remaining layers k+1, k+2, ..., L among the L layers, SRI (SRS #j) indicated second by the SRI field in DCI, as a spatial filter for UL transmission from panel 2. Paragraph [0103]: The UE may use, for layers 1, 2, ..., k among L layers, SRI (SRS #i) indicated first by the SRI field in DCI, as a spatial filter for UL transmission from panel 1. The UE may use, for remaining layers k+1, k+2, ..., L among the L layers, SRI (SRS #j) indicated second by the SRI field in DCI, as a spatial filter for UL transmission from panel 2.)
based on precoders respectively indicated by multiple TPMI fields, determining first information corresponding to each of the precoders respectively indicated by the multiple TPMI fields (Paragraph [0013]: The UE may be notified of the SRI, the TRI, the TPMI, and the like by using downlink control information (DCI). The SRI may be specified through an SRS Resoruce Indicator field (SRI field) in the DCI. The TRI and the TPMI may each be specified by a "Precoding information and number of layers" field in the DCI. Paragraph [0035]: For example, in a case of codebook based transmission, the UE may determine a precoder for PUSCH transmission, based on an SRI, a transmitted rank indicator (TRI), and a transmitted precoding matrix indicator (TPMI). Paragraph [0104]: FIG. 8 shows an example of association (table) between values of the precoding information and number of layers field and the numbers of layers and TPMIs. Paragraph [0109]: The precoding information and number of layers field may be enhanced for indication of at least one of a layer and a TPMI for each of a plurality of PUSCHs in codebook based UL transmission. Paragraph [0113]: For indication of a TPMI, one TPMI indication may be maintained for each index indicated in the "precoding information and number of layers" field. One TPMI indication may be a joint TPMI. A TPMI may be applied to a plurality of panels. Paragraph [0114]: For indication of a TPMI, two TPMIs may be indicated for each index indicated in the "precoding information and number of layers" field.)
or based on multiple SRS resources or TPMIs indicated by the network side through an information field in the DCI or a higher layer parameter, determining first information respectively corresponding to each SRS resource or TPMI of the multiple SRS resources or TPMIs (Paragraph [0012]: In a case of CB based transmission, the UE may determine a precoder for PUSCH transmission, based on an SRI, a transmitted rank indicator (TRI), a transmitted precoding matrix indicator (TPMI). Paragraph [0013]: The UE may be notified of the SRI, the TRI, the TPMI, and the like by using downlink control information (DCI). The SRI may be specified through an SRS Resoruce Indicator field (SRI field) in the DCI. The TRI and the TPMI may each be specified by a "Precoding information and number of layers" field in the DCI. Paragraph [0047]: The UE may determine a spatial relation of a PUSCH scheduled by DCI (for example, DCI format 0_1), based on a value in a given field (for example, an SRS resource indicator (SRI) field) in the DCI. Paragraph [0072]: The DCI may include one or more SRI fields for indicating panels (beams or SRS resources) of the plurality of PUSCHs. One or more SRI fields may indicate a plurality of SRS resources. A plurality of SRS resources may correspond to a plurality of respective PUSCHs (panels or beams). The UE may use each of a plurality of SRS resources for transmission of a corresponding PUSCH. Paragraph [0104]: FIG. 8 shows an example of association (table) between values of the precoding information and number of layers field and the numbers of layers and TPMIs. Paragraph [0109]: The precoding information and number of layers field may be enhanced for indication of at least one of a layer and a TPMI for each of a plurality of PUSCHs in codebook based UL transmission. Paragraph [0113]: For indication of a TPMI, one TPMI indication may be maintained for each index indicated in the "precoding information and number of layers" field. One TPMI indication may be a joint TPMI. A TPMI may be applied to a plurality of panels. Paragraph [0114]: For indication of a TPMI, two TPMIs may be indicated for each index indicated in the "precoding information and number of layers" field.)
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to provide TPMI fields; or first information respectively corresponding to precoding indicated by each TPMI field in the TPMI fields corresponding to the SRS resources indicated by the multiple SRI fields; based on precoders respectively indicated by multiple TPMI fields, determining first information corresponding to each of the precoders respectively indicated by the multiple TPMI fields; or based on multiple SRS resources or TPMIs indicated by the network side through an information field in the DCI or a higher layer parameter, determining first information respectively corresponding to each SRS resource or TPMI of the multiple SRS resources or TPMIs, as taught by Matsumura in the system of Grossmann, so that the UE can schedule a PUSCH based on the information in the specific field in the DCI related to SRS resources and precoding information and number of layers (Matsumura: Paragraphs [0013], [0047], [0072], [0104], [0113]).
The combination of Grossmann and Matsumura does not explicitly teach based on multiple precoders, determining first information respectively corresponding to each precoder of the multiple precoders, wherein each of the multiple precoders corresponds to each of the multiple SRS resources, or the multiple precoders are indicated by TPMI fields respectively corresponding to the multiple SRS resources.
However, Muruganathan teaches based on multiple precoders, determining first information respectively corresponding to each precoder of the multiple precoders, wherein each of the multiple precoders corresponds to each of the multiple SRS resources, or the multiple precoders are indicated by TPMI fields respectively corresponding to the multiple SRS resources (Paragraph [0020]: The gNB indicates a TPMI and the associated number of layers corresponding to the indicated SRS resource (in case 2 SRS resources are used) or the configured SRS resource (in case of 1 SRS resource is used). TPMI and the number of PUSCH layers is indicated by the 'Precoding information and number of layers' field in DCI formats 0_1 and 0_2. The UE performs PUSCH transmission using the TPMI and number of layers indicated. Paragraph [0021]: The TPMI is used to indicate the precoder to be applied over the layers {0... v- 1} and that corresponds to the SRS resource selected by the SRI when multiple SRS resources are configured. Paragraph [0037]: In another embodiment, the instruction for transmitting the plurality of PUSCH repetitions via the codebook based PUSCH transmission comprises: a first SRS Resource Indicator, SRI, indicating a first SRS resource from the first SRS resource set, and a second SRI indicating a second SRS resource from the second SRS resource set; and a first Transmit Precoding Matrix Indicator, TPMI, associated with the first SRS resource, and a second TPMI associated with the second SRS resource. Paragraph [0038]: In another embodiment, the two TPMIs are independently indicated in two 'Precoding Information and Number of Layers' fields in Downlink Control Information, DCI. Paragraph [0039]: In another embodiment, multiple TPMIs corresponding to multiple SRS resources; and multiple SRS Resource Indicators, indicating a preferred TPMI for each of the multiple SRS. Paragraph [0116]: For codebook based PUSCH transmission, signaling/configuration aspects related to how to indicate multiple SRS Resource Indicators (SRIs) and how to indicate multiple Transmit Precoding Matrix Indicators (TPMIs) are disclosed. Paragraph [0188]: Embodiment 4: wherein the instruction(s) for transmitting the plurality of PUSCH repetitions to the multiple network nodes via the codebook based PUSCH transmission further comprises one or more of the following: multiple Transmit Precoding Matrix Indicators (TPMIs) corresponding to multiple Sounding Reference Signal (SRS) resources (e.g., network nodes); and multiple SRS Resource Indicators (SRIs) (e.g., in DCI) indicating a preferred TPMI for each of the multiple SRS resources.)
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to provide based on multiple precoders, determining first information respectively corresponding to each precoder of the multiple precoders, wherein each of the multiple precoders corresponds to each of the multiple SRS resources, or the multiple precoders are indicated by TPMI fields respectively corresponding to the multiple SRS resources, as taught by Muruganathan in the combined system of Grossmann and Matsumura, so that PUSCH reliability can be enhanced by transmitting from a UE to multiple TRPs (Muruganathan: Paragraphs [0020], [0021], [0037] - [0039], [0116], [0117], [0188]).
Regarding claim 4, the combination of Grossmann, Matsumura, and Muruganathan teaches the method of claim 3, wherein based on the SRS resources indicated by the multiple SRI fields or the TPMI fields corresponding to the SRS resources indicated by the multiple SRI fields, determining the first information respectively corresponding to each SRS resource in the SRS resources indicated by the multiple SRI fields or the first information respectively corresponding to precoding indicated by each TPMI field in the TPMI fields corresponding to the SRS resources indicated by the multiple SRI fields comprises: (see rejection for claim 3);
Grossmann further teaches determining a first subgroup of first information corresponding to SRS resources indicated by a first SRI field, and determining a second subgroup of first information corresponding to SRS resources indicated by a second SRI field, wherein the first SRI field and the second SRI field are SRI fields in the multiple SRI fields (Paragraph [0136]: According to an embodiment, the UE is configured, by the gNB, to receive a PDCCH or a higher layer grant that schedules n (n > 1) PUSCH transmissions using one of the multiplexing schemes proposed above. The single PDCCH or the higher layer grant indicates n different SRS resources, wherein each SRS resource may be associated with a PUSCH transmission occasion. Each PUSCH transmission occasion is carried out by the UE using the SRS port(s) which are associated with the corresponding SRS resource. The n SRS resources may be indicated via the SRS resource indicator, SRI field or a new field in the scheduling PDCCH or higher layer grant. The n SRS resources may be associated with the same SRS resource set or with different SRS resource sets. A special case of this method is the indication of up to n SRS resources. In a first example, a single PDCCH or higher layer grant may indicate 1 < n′ ≤ n different SRS resources wherein each PUSCH transmission occasion is associated with one of the n′ SRS resources. When n′ ≤ n, a single SRS resource may be associated with more than one PUSCH transmission occasion. In a second example, a single PDCCH or higher layer grant may indicate 1 < n′ ≤ n groups of SRS resources, wherein each group comprises one or more SRS resources and wherein each PUSCH transmission occasion is associated with one of the groups of one or more SRS resources. When n′ < n, a group of SRS resources may be associated with more than one PUSCH transmission occasion. Here, each group of SRS resources may belong to a different SRS resource set. In a special case, the SRS resources may be indicated via one or more SRI fields.)
Grossmann does not explicitly teach TPMI fields corresponding to SRS resources indicated by a first SRI field or TPMI fields corresponding to SRS resources indicated by a second SRI field.
However, Matsumura teaches TPMI fields corresponding to SRS resources indicated by a first SRI field or TPMI fields corresponding to SRS resources indicated by a second SRI field (Paragraph [0013]: The UE may be notified of the SRI, the TRI, the TPMI, and the like by using downlink control information (DCI). The SRI may be specified through an SRS Resoruce Indicator field (SRI field) in the DCI. The TRI and the TPMI may each be specified by a "Precoding information and number of layers" field in the DCI. Paragraph [0035]: For example, in a case of codebook based transmission, the UE may determine a precoder for PUSCH transmission, based on an SRI, a transmitted rank indicator (TRI), and a transmitted precoding matrix indicator (TPMI). Paragraph [0047]: The UE may determine a spatial relation of a PUSCH scheduled by DCI (for example, DCI format 0_1), based on a value in a given field (for example, an SRS resource indicator (SRI) field) in the DCI. Paragraph [0072]: The DCI may include one or more SRI fields for indicating panels (beams or SRS resources) of the plurality of PUSCHs. One or more SRI fields may indicate a plurality of SRS resources. A plurality of SRS resources may correspond to a plurality of respective PUSCHs (panels or beams). The UE may use each of a plurality of SRS resources for transmission of a corresponding PUSCH. Paragraph [0100]: The UE may use, for layers 1, 2, ..., k among L layers, SRI (SRS #i) indicated first by the SRI field in DCI, as a spatial filter for UL transmission from panel 1. The UE may use, for remaining layers k+1, k+2, ..., L among the L layers, SRI (SRS #j) indicated second by the SRI field in DCI, as a spatial filter for UL transmission from panel 2. Paragraph [0103]: For the explicit indication of k, a precoding information and number of layers field in DCI may be reused. The size of this field in DCI indicating a plurality of PUSCHs may be the same size as that in DCI indicating a single PUSCH or may be larger than that in DCI indicating a single PUSCH. In a case where the number of all layers is one or two, a table of precoding information and the number of layers for a single PUSCH (Rel. 15) may be reused. In a case where the number of all layers is three or four, two layers for two panels and a TPMI may be indicated by an index indicated by this field.)
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to provide TPMI fields corresponding to SRS resources indicated by a first SRI field or TPMI fields corresponding to SRS resources indicated by a second SRI field, as taught by Matsumura in the system of Grossmann, so that the UE can schedule a PUSCH based on the information in the specific field in the DCI related to TPMI fields corresponding to SRS resources (Matsumura: Paragraphs [0013], [0047], [0072], [0100], [0103]).
Regarding claim 5, the combination of Grossmann, Matsumura, and Muruganathan teaches the method of claim 3, wherein determining the first information respectively corresponding to each SRS resource set among the multiple SRS resource sets based on the multiple SRS resource sets comprises: (see rejection for claim 3);
Grossmann further teaches determining a first subgroup of first information corresponding to a first SRS resource set, and a second subgroup of first information corresponding to a second SRS resource set, wherein the first SRS resource set and the second SRS resource set are SRS resource sets among the multiple SRS resource sets (Paragraph [0136]: According to an embodiment, the UE is configured, by the gNB, to receive a PDCCH or a higher layer grant that schedules n (n > 1) PUSCH transmissions using one of the multiplexing schemes proposed above. The single PDCCH or the higher layer grant indicates n different SRS resources, wherein each SRS resource may be associated with a PUSCH transmission occasion. Each PUSCH transmission occasion is carried out by the UE using the SRS port(s) which are associated with the corresponding SRS resource. The n SRS resources may be indicated via the SRS resource indicator, SRI field or a new field in the scheduling PDCCH or higher layer grant. The n SRS resources may be associated with the same SRS resource set or with different SRS resource sets. A special case of this method is the indication of up to n SRS resources. In a first example, a single PDCCH or higher layer grant may indicate 1 < n′ ≤ n different SRS resources wherein each PUSCH transmission occasion is associated with one of the n′ SRS resources. When n′ ≤ n, a single SRS resource may be associated with more than one PUSCH transmission occasion. In a second example, a single PDCCH or higher layer grant may indicate 1 < n′ ≤ n groups of SRS resources, wherein each group comprises one or more SRS resources and wherein each PUSCH transmission occasion is associated with one of the groups of one or more SRS resources. When n′ < n, a group of SRS resources may be associated with more than one PUSCH transmission occasion. Here, each group of SRS resources may belong to a different SRS resource set. In a special case, the SRS resources may be indicated via one or more SRI fields. Paragraph [0234]: The SRS resources may be indicated, for example, via an existing field (e.g., the SRI field) or via a newly defined field in the DCI. Each indicated group of SRS resources from an SRS resource set is associated with a PUSCH transmission or PUSCH segment and its transmission is performed by the UE using the SRS/antenna port(s) associated with the group of SRS resource(s). In one example, a field that comprises n′ SRIs may be provided in the scheduling PDCCH or higher layer grant. …. wherein each SRI indicates one or more SRS resources from an SRS resource set that is different from the SRS resource sets associated with at least one other SRI. In a second example, a codepoint of the SRI field may map to n′ groups of SRS resources, wherein each group comprises of one or more SRS resources chosen from an SRS resource set that is different from the SRS resource sets associated with at least one other group of SRS resources. Paragraph [0239]: According to an embodiment, the UE is configured to receive a PDCCH or a higher layer grant scheduling n (n > 1) PUSCH transmissions wherein the scheduling PDCCH or higher layer grant indicates SRS resource(s) via one or more SRI fields in the scheduling PDCCH or higher layer grant. The antenna/SRS port(s) associated with one or more SRS resources indicated by the PDCCH or higher layer grant is/are used for at least one PUSCH transmission occasion scheduled by the PDCCH or higher layer grant. The UE may be indicated with up to n′ ≤ n groups of SRS resources wherein each group comprises one or more SRS resources and every group of SRS resource(s) is associated with a different SRS resource set. For an indicated group of one or more SRS resource(s) via the SRI field(s), the SRS resource set to which the SRS resource(s) belongs to or associated with can be determined based on at least one of the following methods.)
Regarding claim 6, the combination of Grossmann, Matsumura, and Muruganathan teaches the method of claim 3, wherein based on the precoders respectively indicated by the multiple TPMI fields, determining the first information corresponding to each of the precoders respectively indicated by the multiple TPMI fields comprises: (see rejection for claim 3);
The combination of Grossmann and Matsumura does not explicitly teach determining a first subgroup of first information corresponding to the precoders indicated by a first TPMI field, and a second subgroup of first information corresponding to the precoders indicated by a second TPMI field, wherein the first TPMI field and the second TPMI field are TPMI fields among the multiple TPMI fields.
However, Muruganathan teaches determining a first subgroup of first information corresponding to the precoders indicated by a first TPMI field, and a second subgroup of first information corresponding to the precoders indicated by a second TPMI field, wherein the first TPMI field and the second TPMI field are TPMI fields among the multiple TPMI fields (Paragraph [0149]: As shown in Figure 9, for multi-TRP based PUSCH repetition, multiple TPMIs need to be indicated. Paragraph [0150]: In one embodiment, the multiple TPMIs that need to be indicated to the UE are jointly encoded using the same 'Precoding information and number of layers' field. An example is shown in Table 8 below where two TPMIs are jointly indicated. In one variant of the embodiment, the same number of spatial layers is associated with each TPMI (e.g., both TPMI1 and TPMI2 have a single spatial layer). In an alternative embodiment, different number of spatial layers can be associated with each TPMI (e.g., TPMI1 has 2 spatial layers while TPMI2 has a single spatial layer).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to provide determining a first subgroup of first information corresponding to the precoders indicated by a first TPMI field, and a second subgroup of first information corresponding to the precoders indicated by a second TPMI field, wherein the first TPMI field and the second TPMI field are TPMI fields among the multiple TPMI fields so that PUSCH reliability can be enhanced by transmitting from a UE to multiple TRPs (Muruganathan: Paragraphs [0116], [0117], [0149], [0150]).
Regarding claim 9, the combination of Grossmann, Matsumura, and Muruganathan teaches the method of claim 3, wherein based on the multiple TCI states or spatial relations, determining the first information respectively corresponding to each TCI state or spatial relation of the multiple TCI states or spatial relations comprises: (see rejection for claim 3);
Grossmann further teaches determining a first subgroup of first information corresponding to a first TCI state or spatial relation, and a second subgroup of first information corresponding to a second TCI state or spatial relation, wherein the first TCI state or spatial relation and the second TCI state or spatial relation are TCI states or spatial relations among the multiple TCI states or spatial relations (Paragraph [0158]: In an alternative, a PDCCH or a higher layer grant that schedules n PUSCH transmissions (segmented or complete PUSCH transmission occasions) may indicate both the antenna port(s) and the spatial relation(s) to be used for the n PUSCH transmissions via the UL-TCI-field in the DCI or a parameter in the configuration of the higher layer grant that indicates the UL-TCI-states. The codepoints of the UL-TCI field in the DCI or the value of the parameter in the configuration of the higher layer grant may indicate/map up to n UL-TCI-states, wherein each UL-TCI-state indicates the port(s) and the spatial relation(s) to be used for the corresponding PUSCH transmission. This means that a first codepoint of said DCI field or a first value of said higher layer parameter may be associated with a first group of n1 ≤ n UL-TCI-states and n1 ≤ n SRS resources, a second codepoint of said DCI field or a second value of said higher layer parameter may be associated with a second group of n2 ≤ n UL-TCI-states and n2 ≤ n SRS resources, and so on.)
Regarding claim 10, the combination of Grossmann, Matsumura, and Muruganathan teaches the method of claim 3, wherein based on the multiple precoders, determining the first information respectively corresponding to each precoder of the multiple precoders comprises: (see rejection for claim 3);
Grossmann further teaches determining a first subgroup of first information corresponding to a first precoder, and a second subgroup of first information corresponding to a second precoder, wherein the first precoder and the second precoder are precoders among the multiple precoders (Paragraph [0180]: According to another embodiment, the UE is configured to receive an indication of up to m ≥ n DMRS ports, p ≥ m antenna ports and n precoding matrices or vectors {F1,...,Fn} that map m DMRS ports to p antenna ports for n (n > 1) PUSCH transmissions or n (n > 1) segments of a single PUSCH transmission via a single PDCCH or via a higher layer grant, wherein the antenna ports are indicated via an SRS resource indicator field (SRI) present in the scheduling DCI or the higher layer grant, or via a field that indicates up to n UL-TCI-states in the scheduling DCI or the higher layer grant. The precoding matrices may be indicated by the network node via the ‘Precoding and number of layers’ field in the scheduling DCI or the higher layer grant, where the codepoint of the field in the DCI or the value of the parameter in the higher layer grant may indicate up to n precoding matrices. For example, the first precoding matrix is associated with a first PUSCH (or PUSCH segment) transmission, the second precoding matrix with a second PUSCH (or PUSCH segment) transmission, and so on. In another example, the precoding matrices may be indicated by the network node via the ‘Precoding and number of layers’ field in the scheduling DCI or the higher layer grant, where the field is split into multiple parts or partitions and each part provides a precoding matrix and each precoding matrix may be associated with at least one PUSCH transmission occasion or segment. Also see paragraph [0181].)
Regarding claim 11, the combination of Grossmann, Matsumura, and Muruganathan teaches the method of claim 4 (see rejection for claim 4);
Grossmann further teaches wherein the first subgroup of the first information and the second subgroup of the first information satisfy: a first subgroup of the first information is a first subgroup of transmission occasions, and a second subgroup of the first information is a second subgroup of transmission occasions (Paragraph [0136]: According to an embodiment, the UE is configured, by the gNB, to receive a PDCCH or a higher layer grant that schedules n (n > 1) PUSCH transmissions using one of the multiplexing schemes proposed above. The single PDCCH or the higher layer grant indicates n different SRS resources, wherein each SRS resource may be associated with a PUSCH transmission occasion. Each PUSCH transmission occasion is carried out by the UE using the SRS port(s) which are associated with the corresponding SRS resource. The n SRS resources may be indicated via the SRS resource indicator, SRI field or a new field in the scheduling PDCCH or higher layer grant. The n SRS resources may be associated with the same SRS resource set or with different SRS resource sets. A special case of this method is the indication of up to n SRS resources. In a first example, a single PDCCH or higher layer grant may indicate 1 < n′ ≤ n different SRS resources wherein each PUSCH transmission occasion is associated with one of the n′ SRS resources. When n′ ≤ n, a single SRS resource may be associated with more than one PUSCH transmission occasion. In a second example, a single PDCCH or higher layer grant may indicate 1 < n′ ≤ n groups of SRS resources, wherein each group comprises one or more SRS resources and wherein each PUSCH transmission occasion is associated with one of the groups of one or more SRS resources. When n′ < n, a group of SRS resources may be associated with more than one PUSCH transmission occasion. Here, each group of SRS resources may belong to a different SRS resource set. In a special case, the SRS resources may be indicated via one or more SRI fields.)
Conclusion
/L.C./Examiner, Art Unit 2461
/HUY D VU/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 2461