Allowable Subject Matter
Claims 9,13,16,19,30-31,37,40,43,45-46 and 48 are objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims and if the claim objections are addressed.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1-2,25-26, and 49-50 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(2) as being anticipated by Fang et al WO2021185089A1
Claims 3-5,7,10-12,14-15,17-18,20-24,27-29,38-39,41-42,44,47, and 51-52 are Canceled.
Regarding claim1, Fang el WO2021185089A1 discloses a Physical Uplink-Control Channel (PUCCH) transmission method,
according to a transmission configuration indication (TCI), performing, by a terminal, a non-coherent-joint transmission (NC-JT) of a PUCCH by multiple antenna panels of the terminal based on frequency division multiplexing (FDM), wherein different antenna panels correspond to different TCIs. (Fig. 3 and [0060]-[0064] discloses Fig. 3 is a diagram illustrating one or more examples 300 of non-coherent joint transmission (NCJT) on an uplink, in accordance with the present disclosure. In particular, reference number 310 shows NCJT of a first physical uplink shared channel (PUSCH) transmission 312 (shown as PUSCH 1) and a second PUSCH transmission 314 (shown as PUSCH 2). When performing NCJT, sometimes referred to as spatial division multiplexing (SDM), on an uplink, a UE may transmit the first PUSCH transmission 312 and the second PUSCH transmission 314 using the same time and frequency resource and using different spatial resources (e.g., separate antenna panels), as scheduled by a single DCI. For example, in some aspects, a UE may transmit the first PUSCH transmission 312 using a first antenna panel according to a first set of uplink transmission parameters (e.g., a first transmit precoder matrix indicator (TPMI), a first sounding reference signal (SRS) resource indicator (SRI), a first uplink transmission configuration indication (TCI) state, a first MCS, and/or the like). Furthermore, the UE may transmit the second PUSCH transmission 314 using a second antenna panel according to a second set of uplink transmission parameters (e.g., a second TPMI, a second SRI, a second uplink TCI state, a second MCS, and/or the like). In this way, the UE may form a first beam on the first antenna panel using a first precoding, and the UE may form a second beam on the second antenna panel using a second precoding. For example, for NCJT, a multi-layer precoder (P) may be represented by P = [vfvf ], where vf represents a precoder for a first layer for a first antenna panel (A), and vf represents a precoder for a second layer for a second antenna panel (B). Additionally, or alternatively, the UE may transmit an uplink communication based at least in part on a dynamic panel selection using a multi-layer precoder that may be represented by P =[vfv1] or P = [vf vf]. Additionally, or alternatively, the UE may transmit an uplink communication using a single-panel, multi-layer precoder that may be represented by P = [v 1v2 ... Vi], where v1 represents a precoder for a layer l.
Regarding claim25, Fang el WO2021185089A1 discloses A PUCCH transmission method, comprising: receiving, by a base station, a non coherent-joint transmission (NC-JT) of a PUCCH performed by multiple antenna panels of one terminal based on frequency division multiplexing (FDM); wherein different antenna panels correspond to different transmission configuration indications (TCIs). Fig. 3 and [0060]-[0064] discloses Fig. 3 is a diagram illustrating one or more examples 300 of non-coherent joint transmission (NCJT) on an uplink, in accordance with the present disclosure. In particular, reference number 310 shows NCJT of a first physical uplink shared channel (PUSCH) transmission 312 (shown as PUSCH 1) and a second PUSCH transmission 314 (shown as PUSCH 2). When performing NCJT, sometimes referred to as spatial division multiplexing (SDM), on an uplink, a UE may transmit the first PUSCH transmission 312 and the second PUSCH transmission 314 using the same time and frequency resource and using different spatial resources (e.g., separate antenna panels), as scheduled by a single DCI. For example, in some aspects, a UE may transmit the first PUSCH transmission 312 using a first antenna panel according to a first set of uplink transmission parameters (e.g., a first transmit precoder matrix indicator (TPMI), a first sounding reference signal (SRS) resource indicator (SRI), a first uplink transmission configuration indication (TCI) state, a first MCS, and/or the like). Furthermore, the UE may transmit the second PUSCH transmission 314 using a second antenna panel according to a second set of uplink transmission parameters (e.g., a second TPMI, a second SRI, a second uplink TCI state, a second MCS, and/or the like). In this way, the UE may form a first beam on the first antenna panel using a first precoding, and the UE may form a second beam on the second antenna panel using a second precoding. For example, for NCJT, a multi-layer precoder (P) may be represented by P = [vfvf ], where vf represents a precoder for a first layer for a first antenna panel (A), and vf represents a precoder for a second layer for a second antenna panel (B). Additionally, or alternatively, the UE may transmit an uplink communication based at least in part on a dynamic panel selection using a multi-layer precoder that may be represented by P =[vfv1] or P = [vf vf]. Additionally, or alternatively, the UE may transmit an uplink communication using a single-panel, multi-layer precoder that may be represented by P = [v 1v2 ... Vi], where v1 represents a precoder for a layer l.
Regarding claim 49, Fang el WO2021185089A1 discloses A PUCCH transmission apparatus, which is applied to a terminal, wherein the apparatus comprises: a processor; and a memory for storing instructions executable by the processor; wherein the processor is configured to: perform a non coherent-joint transmission (NC-JT) of a PUCCH based on frequency division multiplexing (FDM) through multiple antenna panels of the terminal according to a transmission configuration indication (TCI); wherein different antenna panels correspond to different TCIs. Fig. 3 and [0060]-[0064] discloses Fig. 3 is a diagram illustrating one or more examples 300 of non-coherent joint transmission (NCJT) on an uplink, in accordance with the present disclosure. In particular, reference number 310 shows NCJT of a first physical uplink shared channel (PUSCH) transmission 312 (shown as PUSCH 1) and a second PUSCH transmission 314 (shown as PUSCH 2). When performing NCJT, sometimes referred to as spatial division multiplexing (SDM), on an uplink, a UE may transmit the first PUSCH transmission 312 and the second PUSCH transmission 314 using the same time and frequency resource and using different spatial resources (e.g., separate antenna panels), as scheduled by a single DCI. For example, in some aspects, a UE may transmit the first PUSCH transmission 312 using a first antenna panel according to a first set of uplink transmission parameters (e.g., a first transmit precoder matrix indicator (TPMI), a first sounding reference signal (SRS) resource indicator (SRI), a first uplink transmission configuration indication (TCI) state, a first MCS, and/or the like). Furthermore, the UE may transmit the second PUSCH transmission 314 using a second antenna panel according to a second set of uplink transmission parameters (e.g., a second TPMI, a second SRI, a second uplink TCI state, a second MCS, and/or the like). In this way, the UE may form a first beam on the first antenna panel using a first precoding, and the UE may form a second beam on the second antenna panel using a second precoding. For example, for NCJT, a multi-layer precoder (P) may be represented by P = [vfvf ], where vf represents a precoder for a first layer for a first antenna panel (A), and vf represents a precoder for a second layer for a second antenna panel (B). Additionally, or alternatively, the UE may transmit an uplink communication based at least in part on a dynamic panel selection using a multi-layer precoder that may be represented by P =[vfv1] or P = [vf vf]. Additionally, or alternatively, the UE may transmit an uplink communication using a single-panel, multi-layer precoder that may be represented by P = [v 1v2 ... Vi], where v1 represents a precoder for a layer l.
Regarding claim2 and 26 , Fang el WO2021185089A1 discloses all the feature with respect to claim 1 and 25,respectively. Fang further discloses
wherein different antenna panels face different transmission reception points (TRPs) of a base station [0087] As shown by reference number 605, the base station may transmit, and the UE may receive, DCI that schedules an uplink communication of the UE. For example, the DCI may schedule a multi-panel uplink communication of the UE, such as a first PUSCH transmission ( e.g., of multiple layers) on a first antenna panel of the UE and a second PUSCH transmission (e.g., of multiple layers) on a second antenna panel of the UE. The DCI may enable the UE to determine an association between sets of transmission layers and the multiple codewords, as described below. In some aspects, the UE may receive the DCI from a first TRP (e.g., associated with the base station), and the DCI may schedule an uplink multi-panel communication to the first TRP and a second TRP (e.g., associated with the base station or another BS));
time domain resources associated with different TCIs are the same, and frequency domain resources associated with different TCIs do not overlap [0060]Fig. 3 is a diagram illustrating one or more examples 300 of non-coherent joint transmission (NCJT) on an uplink, in accordance with the present disclosure. In particular, reference number 310 shows NCJT of a first physical uplink shared channel (PUSCH) transmission 312 (shown as PUSCH 1) and a second PUSCH transmission 314 (shown as PUSCH 2). When performing NCJT, sometimes referred to as spatial division multiplexing (SDM), on an uplink, a UE may transmit the first PUSCH transmission 312 and the second PUSCH transmission 314 using the same time and frequency resource and using different spatial resources (e.g., separate antenna panels), as scheduled by a single DCI.;
demodulation reference signal (DMRS) ports associated with different TCIs are the same
[0067]UE determines an association between sets of transmission layers and codewords, an
association between DMRS ports and codewords, a codeword-specific scrambling
sequence, and/or the like. Some techniques and apparatuses described herein provide
for DMRS configuration for multiple codewords used for an uplink communication For example, as described in further detail herein with reference to Figs. 6-7, a base
station may transmit, and a UE may receive, DCI that identifies transmission parameters
to enable the UE to determine an association between sets of transmission layers and
multiple codewords that are to be used for an uplink transmission that uses multiple
antenna panels. Accordingly, the UE may determine the association between the sets of
transmission layers and the multiple codewords and may transmit the uplink
communication using the multiple codewords based at least in part on the association; or precoding matrices associated with different TCIs are independent (Fig. 3 and [0060]-[0064] discloses Fig. 3 is a diagram illustrating one or more examples 300 of non-coherent joint transmission (NCJT) on an uplink, in accordance with the present disclosure. In particular, reference number 310 shows NCJT of a first physical uplink shared channel (PUSCH) transmission 312 (shown as PUSCH 1) and a second PUSCH transmission 314 (shown as PUSCH 2). When performing NCJT, sometimes referred to as spatial division multiplexing (SDM), on an uplink, a UE may transmit the first PUSCH transmission 312 and the second PUSCH transmission 314 using the same time and frequency resource and using different spatial resources (e.g., separate antenna panels), as scheduled by a single DCI. For example, in some aspects, a UE may transmit the first PUSCH transmission 312 using a first antenna panel according to a first set of uplink transmission parameters (e.g., a first transmit precoder matrix indicator (TPMI), a first sounding reference signal (SRS) resource indicator (SRI), a first uplink transmission configuration indication (TCI) state, a first MCS, and/or the like). Furthermore, the UE may transmit the second PUSCH transmission 314 using a second antenna panel according to a second set of uplink transmission parameters (e.g., a second TPMI, a second SRI, a second uplink TCI state, a second MCS, and/or the like). In this way, the UE may form a first beam on the first antenna panel using a first precoding, and the UE may form a second beam on the second antenna panel using a second precoding. For example, for NCJT, a multi-layer precoder (P) may be represented by P = [vfvf ], where vf represents a precoder for a first layer for a first antenna panel (A), and vf represents a precoder for a second layer for a second antenna panel (B). Additionally, or alternatively, the UE may transmit an uplink communication based at least in part on a dynamic panel selection using a multi-layer precoder that may be represented by P =[vfv1] or P = [vf vf]. Additionally, or alternatively, the UE may transmit an uplink communication using a single-panel, multi-layer precoder that may be represented by P = [v 1v2 ... Vi], where v1 represents a precoder for a layer l.
Regarding claim 50 , Fang el WO2021185089A1 discloses all the features with respect to claim 25.
Fang further discloses A PUCCH transmission apparatus, which is applied to a base station, wherein the apparatus comprises: a processor; and a memory for storing instructions executable by the processor; wherein the processor is configured to execute the PUCCH transmission method according to claim 25[0009] discloses a base station for wireless communication may include a memory and one or more processors operatively coupled to the memory. and instructions stored in the memory and executable by the processor to cause the a base station to perform the method and [0229]An apparatus for wireless communication at a device, comprising a processor; memory coupled with the processor; and instructions stored in the memory and executable by the processor to cause the apparatus to perform the method
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
(a) A patent may not be obtained though the invention is not identically disclosed or described as set forth in section 102 of this title, if the differences between the subject matter sought to be patented and the prior art are such that the subject matter as a whole would have been obvious at the time the invention was made to a person having ordinary skill in the art to which said subject matter pertains. Patentability shall not be negatived by the manner in which the invention was made.
2. Ascertaining the differences between the prior art and the claims at issue. 3. Resolving the level of ordinary skill in the pertinent art. 4. Considering objective evidence present in the application indicating obviousness or nonobviousness. Claims 6 ,8 and 30 are rejected under pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 103(a) as being unpatentable over Fang el WO2021185089A1 in view of Jung ei al US20200107353A1
Regarding claims 6 and 30, Fang el WO2021185089A1 discloses all features with respect to claims 1 and 25, respectively
Fang does not disclose wherein the multiple antenna panels of the terminal perform the NC-JT of the PUCCH based on FDM within one PUCCH resource.
Jung et al US20200107353A1 discloses wherein the multiple antenna panels of the terminal perform the NC-JT of the PUCCH based on FDM within one PUCCH resource [0022]-0023] According to another possible implementation, the new DCI formats, e.g. DCI format 0_0A and DCI format 0_lA (or DCI format l_0A and DCI format l_lA), can be
defined to support both non-coherent joint transmission in one PUSCH and scheduling of multiple associated PUSCHs. In one example of noncoherent joint uplink transmission, a UE can transmit multiple codewords, such as at least two codewords, in one PUSCH, where each subset of the multiple codewords can be independently beamformed or precoded, potentially transmitted with a different UE antenna panel, and potentially intended to a different network node, such as a TRP, or different antenna panel of a network node..
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify Fang by including wherein the multiple antenna panels of the terminal perform the NC-JT of the PUCCH based on FDM within one PUCCH resource, as taught by Jung, in order to support non-coherent joint transmission in one PUSCH (see Jung [0022]-0023])
Regarding claim 8, Fang el WO2021185089A1 discloses all features with respect to claims 1 and 25, respectively
Fang discloses wherein physical resource blocks (PRBs) corresponding to any one of the multiple antenna panels of the terminal are continuously distributed in a frequency domain; or PRBs corresponding to the multiple antenna panels of the terminal are distributed at intervals in a frequency domain Fig. 3 and [0060]-[0064] discloses Fig. 3 is a diagram illustrating one or more examples 300 of non-coherent joint transmission (NCJT) on an uplink, in accordance with the present disclosure. In particular, reference number 310 shows NCJT of a first physical uplink shared channel (PUSCH) transmission 312 (shown as PUSCH 1) and a second PUSCH transmission 314 (shown as PUSCH 2). When performing NCJT, sometimes referred to as spatial division multiplexing (SDM), on an uplink, a UE may transmit the first PUSCH transmission 312 and the second PUSCH transmission 314 using the same time and frequency resource and using different spatial resources (e.g., separate antenna panels), as scheduled by a single DCI.
Conclusion
/ABDELTIF AJID/ Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2478