DETAILED ACTION
Information Disclosure Statement
2. The Information Disclosure Statement filed on 10/29/2024 has been considered.
Claim Interpretation
This application includes one or more claim limitations that do not use the word “means,” but are nonetheless being interpreted under 35 U.S.C. 112(f) or pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, sixth paragraph, because the claim limitation(s) uses a generic placeholder that is coupled with functional language without reciting sufficient structure to perform the recited function and the generic placeholder is not preceded by a structural modifier. Such claim limitation(s) is/are:
For claim 1,
a. a tap coefficient update unit configured to adaptively set tap coefficients… on lines 16,17.
For claim 3,
b. the tap coefficient update unit is configured to adaptively set tap coefficients
a. The tap coefficient update unit 10 is a computer including a program 101, a CPU (Central Processing Unit) 102, a ROM (Read Only Memory) 103, and a RAM (Random Access Memory) 104, see and paragraph 29 and figure 1.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 4 and 5 are rejected under 35 USC 103 as being unpatentable over Komaki et al (EP 2464069A2) in view of Lee (US 2007/0047637).
Regarding claim 4, Komaki discloses a tap coefficient update ;(adaptive equalizer for processing the received optical signal and updating tap coefficient for the FIR filters, see figure 5) method comprising: detecting, by a detector, (the histogram generation units 44h and 44v, see figure 5) an output signal of a polarization separator that separates an input polarization multiplexed signal into two polarization components ;(the polarization multiplexed signal is separated into horizontal signal component and vertical signal component, see figure 5) detecting, by the detector, an output signal obtained by multiplexing output signals of optical filters connected to the polarization separator in a butterfly type; (first FIR filter 42-1 and third FIR filter 42-3 coupled horizontal component signal component second FIR filter 42-2 and fourth filter 42-4 coupled vertical component signal component, coupled to the histogram generation units 44h and 44v, see figure 5) calculating, by a control unit,(determination and tap coefficient correction circuit 45, filter coefficient application circuit 43, see figure 5) and an output signal obtained by multiplexing the output signals of the optical filters; (the histogram generation unit 44h determines where the amplitude value (a sum of squares of the I and Q components of a signal) of the horizontal signal component Eh' is located in the range which is delimited at equal intervals between 0 and a certain value and the histogram generation unit 44v determines where the amplitude value of the vertical signal component Ev' is located in the range which is delimited at equal intervals between 0 and a certain value (maximum value), see page 5, paragraphs 32 and 33 and figure 5) and calculating, by the control unit, (tap coefficient correction circuit 45, see figure 5) tap coefficients of the optical filters, the output signal of the polarization separator, and the output signal obtained by multiplexing the output signals of the optical filters ;(the tap coefficient of the FIR filters 42-1 through 42-4 is corrected by the filter coefficient application control circuit 43 or the local convergence determination and tap coefficient correction circuit 45, see page 4, paragraph 31 and figure 5).
However, Komaki does not explicitly disclose as an error signal, a difference between a predetermined amplitude, based on the error signal.
In a related field of endeavor, Lee discloses as an error signal, a difference between a predetermined amplitude, based on the error signal; (a plurality of predetermined amplitude levels based on an amplitude of an output signal of the feedforward filter, and an error calculation unit to calculate a first error value based on the amplitude of the output signal of the feedforward filter and the first level value, see Abstract and figure 3).
Thus, it would be obvious for one of the ordinary skilled in the art before the effective filling date of the invention to combine the error signal of Lee with Komaki to provide update of the filter tap coefficients based on predertmiend amplitude values and the motivation is to provide the channel equalizer is capable of operating independently of a phase error by using the amplitude of the received signal in channel equalization.
Regarding claim 5, Komaki discloses a non-transitory computer readable medium storing a program that causes a computer to perform operations ;(adaptive equalizer for processing the received optical signal and updating tap coefficient for the FIR filters, see figure 5) comprising: detecting an output signal of a polarization separator that separates an input polarization multiplexed signal into two polarization components; ;(the polarization multiplexed signal is separated into horizontal signal component and vertical signal component is coupled to the histogram generation units 44h and 44v and , filter coefficient application circuit 43, see figure 5) detecting an output signal obtained by multiplexing output signals of optical filters connected to the polarization separator in a butterfly type; (first FIR filter 42-1 and third FIR filter 42-3 coupled horizontal component signal component second FIR filter 42-2 and fourth filter 42-4 coupled vertical component signal component, coupled to the histogram generation units 44h and 44v, filter coefficient application circuit 43, see figure 5) calculating, and an output signal obtained by multiplexing the output signals of the optical filters (tap coefficient correction circuit 45, see figure 5); and calculating tap coefficients of the optical filters the output signal of the polarization separator, and the output signal obtained by multiplexing the output signals of the optical filters ;(the tap coefficient of the FIR filters 42-1 through 42-4 is corrected by the filter coefficient application control circuit 43 or the local convergence determination and tap coefficient correction circuit 45, see page 4, paragraph 31 and figure 5).
However, Komaki does not explicitly disclose as an error signal, a difference between a predetermined amplitude, based on the error signal.
In a related field of endeavor, Lee discloses as an error signal, a difference between a predetermined amplitude, based on the error signal; (a plurality of predetermined amplitude levels based on an amplitude of an output signal of the feedforward filter, and an error calculation unit to calculate a first error value based on the amplitude of the output signal of the feedforward filter and the first level value, see Abstract and figure 3).
Thus, it would be obvious for one of the ordinary skilled in the art before the effective filling date of the invention to combine the error signal of Lee with Komaki to provide update of the filter tap coefficients based on predertmiend amplitude values and the motivation is to provide the channel equalizer is capable of operating independently of a phase error by using the amplitude of the received signal in channel equalization.
Allowable Subject Matter
3. Claims 1-3 are allowed.
4. The following is an Examiner’s reason for allowance.
5. Regarding claim 1, the closest prior art is Komaki et al (EP 2464069A2) Regarding claim 1, Komaki discloses an optical signal processing device ;(adaptive equalizer for processing the received optical signal, see figure 5) comprising: a polarization separator configured to separate an input polarization multiplexed signal into two polarization components;(the polarization multiplexed signal is separated into horizontal signal component and vertical signal component, see figure 5) a first optical coupler configured to branch one polarization component separated by the polarization separator; (the polarization multiplexed signal is separated into horizontal signal component and vertical signal component, see figure 5) a second optical coupler configured to branch another polarization component separated by the polarization separator; (the polarization multiplexed signal is separated into horizontal signal component and vertical signal component, see figure 5) first and second optical filters to which the one polarization component branched by the first optical coupler is input;(first FIR filter 42-1 and third FIR filter 42-3 coupled horizontal component signal component, see figure 5) third and fourth optical filters to which the other polarization component branched by the second optical coupler is input; (second FIR filter 42-2 and fourth filter 42-4 coupled vertical component signal component, see figure 5).
However, regarding claim 1, the prior art of record fails to disclose a third optical coupler configured to multiplex outputs of the first and the third optical filters; a fourth optical coupler configured to multiplex outputs of the second and the fourth optical filters; and a tap coefficient update unit configured to adaptively set tap coefficients of the first to the fourth optical filters to separate a polarization multiplexed signal.
Conclusion
6. The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure as reproduced below.
a. Izumi (US 9735916) discloses an optical receiver includes: an optical brancher configured to branch polarization multiplexed light to a first polarization multiplexed light and a second polarization multiplexed light, the polarization multiplexed light in which a pilot signal is superimposed on at least one of a first polarization and a second polarization; see figure 3.
b. Masuda et al; (US 2021/0218476) discloses a digital coherent receiver includes: an adaptive equalizer configured to execute, using a first tap coefficient, adaptive equalization processing on a digital signal that corresponds to a signal; a first coefficient updating unit configured to update the first tap coefficient based on the digital signal on which the adaptive equalization processing has not been executed, see figure 2.
c. Perin et al; (US 11218224) discloses polarization demultiplexing performed by the addition of an optical polarization controller prior to the hybrid and may advantageously be realized by cascading multiple phase shifters driven by low-speed circuitry, see figure 1.
/AMRITBIR K SANDHU/ Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2634