DETAILED ACTION
Information Disclosure Statement
The information disclosure statement (IDS) submitted on November 26, 2024, is in compliance with the provisions of 37 CFR 1.97. Accordingly, the information disclosure statement is being considered by the examiner.
Claim Status
Claims 1 – 18 are examined here-in.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claims 7 and 16 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b), as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor, regards as the invention.
Claim 7 contains the trademark/trade name Tween. Where a trademark or trade name is used in a claim as a limitation to identify or describe a particular material or product, the claim does not comply with the requirements of 35 U.S.C. 112(b). See Ex parte Simpson, 218 USPQ 1020 (Bd. App. 1982). The claim scope is uncertain since the trademark or trade name cannot be used properly to identify any particular material or product. A trademark or trade name is used to identify a source of goods, and not the goods themselves. Thus, a trademark or trade name does not identify or describe the goods associated with the trademark or trade name. In the present case, the trademark/trade name is used to identify/describe preservative polyethylene glycol sorbitan monooleate and, accordingly, the identification/description is indefinite.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1 – 18 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Chaudry (US 2011/0265786 A1).
Chaudry teaches inhalable formulations that are suitable for administration via nebulization (abstract).
Chaudry teaches the formulation includes a vasodilator such as Treprostinil (paragraphs 0018, 0027). Chaudry teaches vasodilator is suitable in a range of 0.001 to 20 mg/mL (paragraph 0038).
Chaudry teaches tris(hydroxymethylamino)ethane is a pharmaceutically acceptable salt (paragraph 0031).
Chaudry teaches solvents for the formulation may be water, ethanol, or a mixture thereof (paragraph 0043).
Chaudry teaches preservatives such as sodium benzoate or benzalkonium chloride for the formulation (paragraph 0045).
Chaudry teaches osmotic adjusting agents such as sodium chloride (paragraph 0049).
Chaudry teaches the formulation has a pH between 2 and 8 (paragraph 0050). Chaudry teaches buffers suitable for the composition include citric acid (paragraph 0050).
Chaudry teaches the formulation is suitable for administration via nebulization (paragraph 0056). Chaudry teaches the nebulizer produces a nebulized mist without a propellant (paragraph 0054).
Chaudry does not teach a specific embodiment having each of the claimed elements, however, claims 1 – 18 are rendered prima facie obvious over the teachings of Chaudry, because it is prima facie obvious to combine prior art elements according to known methods, in order to yield predictable results (MPEP 2143(i)(a)). In the instant case, all the claimed elements (e.g., a formulation with Treprostinil, a solvent, a solubilizer, a preservative, no propellant) were known in the prior art (e.g., pharmaceutical formulations) and one skilled in the art could have combined the elements as claimed by known methods with no change in their respective functions, and the combination yielded nothing more than predictable results (e.g., a propellant-free formulation with Treprostinil, a solvent, a solubilizer, a preservative) to one of ordinary skill in the art.
Chaudry’s teaching for an inhalable formulations includes Treprostinil, water and ethanol, tris(hydroxymethylamino)ethane, and a preservative (abstract, paragraphs 0018, 0027, 0031, 0043, 0045) reads on instant claim 1.
Chaudry’s teaching that Treprostinil is suitable in a range of 0.001 to 20 mg/mL (paragraphs 0018, 0027, 0038) overlaps on the claimed range of 0.086 to 0.6 mg/mL as recited in claim 2. Claimed ranges that overlap teachings of the prior art are prima facie obvious according to MPEP 2144.05(i).
Chaudry teaches solvents for the formulation may be water, ethanol, or a mixture thereof (paragraph 0043) reading on instant claim 3. Although Chaudry does not specifically teach that ethanol is in a concentration from 100 to 300 mg/mL, as recited in claim 3, Chaudry does teach the total amount of solvent is in a range of 0.01 to 90% (paragraph 0043). According to MPEP 2144.05(ii)(a) differences in concentration do not support the patentability of subject matter encompassed by the prior art unless there is evidence indicating such concentration is critical. However, the taught range of 0.01 to 90% is approximately 0.1 to 900 mg/mL, a range that effectively encompasses 100 to 300 mg/mL as recited in claim 3. Claimed ranges that overlap teachings of the prior art are prima facie obvious according to MPEP 2144.05(i).
Chaudry’s teaching for tris(hydroxymethylamino)ethane as a pharmaceutically acceptable salt (paragraph 0031) reads on instant claim 4. Tris(hydroxymethylamino)ethane is also known as tromethamine. Chaudry teaches that tris(hydroxymethylamino)ethane is a pharmaceutically acceptable salt for Treprostinil (paragraphs 0027, 0031), which suggests tris(hydroxymethylamino)ethane in a stoichiometric amount to Treprostinil. A stoichiometric amount of tris(hydroxymethylamino)ethane overlaps on the claimed range of 0.05 to 0.2 mg/mL as recited in claim 4.
Chaudry teaches the inclusion of sodium chloride as an osmotic adjusting agent (paragraph 0049). Although Chaudry does not teach the amount of sodium chloride in units of mOsm/kg, Chaudry does teach the formulation may include 0.01 to 10% w/w osmotic adjusting agent (paragraph 0049). It is within the expertise of a person of ordinary skill in the art to optimize the amount of osmotic adjusting agent, within the ranges provided by Chaudry (paragraph 0049), to arrive at the claimed amount of 300 ± 30 mOsm/kg. A person of ordinary skill in the art would be motivated to optimize the osmolality of the solution to be suitable for administration via nebulization because Chaudry teaches that increased concentration of drug in the inhalation solution will optimize the therapeutic effects (paragraph 0066). Therefore, Chaudry’s teaching for sodium chloride as an osmotic adjusting agent in an amount of 0.01 to 10% w/w (paragraph 0049) reads on instant claims 5 and 6.
Chaudry’s teaching for preservatives such as sodium benzoate or benzalkonium chloride (paragraph 0045) reads on instant claim 7.
Chaudry’s teaching that the formulation has a pH between 2 and 8 (paragraph 0050) overlaps on the claimed range of 6.5 to 8.5 as recited in claim 8. Claimed ranges that overlap teachings of the prior art are prima facie obvious according to MPEP 2144.05(i).
Chaudry’s teaching for buffers such as citric acid (paragraph 0050) reads on instant claim 9.
Chaudry’s teaching that the formulation is suitable for administration via nebulization and that the nebulizer produces a nebulized mist without a propellant (paragraphs 0054 - 0056) reads on instant claims 10 – 18.
Conclusion
All claims are rejected. No claims are allowed.
Correspondence
/TORIANA N. VIGIL/Examiner, Art Unit 1612