DETAILED ACTION
2. This office action is a response to an application filed on 10/29/2024 where claims 1, 11-24 are pending.
Information Disclosure Statement
3. The information disclosure statement (IDS) submitted on 12/30/2024, 06/09/2026 has been considered by the examiner. The submission is in compliance with the provisions of 37CFR 1.97.
Drawings
4. The drawings were received on 10/12/2023. These drawing are acceptable.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 1, 12-14, 17, 19, 20-23, is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Zhu et al. (US 20220046458 A1 ) hereinafter Zhu and further in view of Laddu (US 20230254741 A1)hereinafter Laddu
As to claim 1. Zhu teaches A method for an inter-cell beam operation, adapted by a user equipment (UE), the method comprising: ([0011] inter-cell beam operation)
receiving a radio resource control (RRC) message from a first cell, the RRC message comprising first information including at least one of a transmission configuration indicator (TCI) configuration, a reference signal (RS) configuration associated with the TCI configuration,([0115] [0126] Fig. 9, UE receives RRC message from serving cell including RS indicated in TCI) and
and
applying at least one of the TCI configuration, the RS configuration associated with the TCI configuration, and the first value of the CORESET pool indices to perform a transmission to or a reception from the second cell.([0126][0165] Fig. 6, UE can then apply a common FFT window used for receiving the RS(s) indicated in the corresponding QCL-Info/TCI-State (transmitted from/associated with the serving cell TRP-1) to receive the downlink RS(s)/channel(s) transmitted from the non-serving (or neighboring) cell TRP-2.) certain values of ServCellIndex used to indicate the non-serving (or neighboring) cell information such as the PCI value(s), TRP ID/index values, CORESETPoolIndex values and/or other TRP-specific higher layer signaling index values)
Zhu does not explicitly teach a first value of control resource set (CORESET) pool indices, wherein the first information is associated with a second cell having a second physical cell identity (PCI) that is different from a first PCI of the first cell;
Laddu teaches a first value of control resource set (CORESET) pool indices([0070] Fig. 2, , first TRP 120a may activate a primary set of TCI states and a secondary set of TCI states associated with the same CORESETPoolIndex (e.g., CORESETPoolIndex = 0).)
wherein the first information is associated with a second cell having a second physical cell identity (PCI) that is different from a first PCI of the first cell; ([0094]) for inter-cell mobility, a TCI state that is associated with another physical Cell Identifier, PCI, (such as a PCI of second TRP 120b) than the PCI of serving TRP (such as a PCI of first TRP 120a) may be used as the mobility trigger)
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filling date of the claimed invention to combine teaching of Laddu with the teaching of Zhu because Laddu teaches that updating activated TCI states for the CORESETPoolIndex associated with first TRP would enable switching of UE from first TRP to second TRP thereby enabling inter-cell multi-TRP operation. (Laddu [0052][0053]).
Claim 11 are interpreted and rejected for the same reasons as set forth in claim 1.
As to claim 12. The combination of Zhu and Laddu specifically Zhu teaches
wherein; the RRC message further comprises second information including at least one of a second TCI configuration, a second RS configuration associated with the second TCI configuration, and a second value of the CORESET pool indices, ([0245] the UE could be explicitly indicated by the network how the reserved SCI(s) (or SCI/ServCellIndex value(s)) are associated with the non-serving (or neighboring) cells/TRPs. For instance, for all TCI states higher layer configured in the TCI state pool)
and the second information is associated with the first cell ([0014] determining, based on one or more TCI states, the first information, and the second information, a reception spatial domain filter for reception of at least one of (DL RSs and channels from the PCI; and measuring, based on the first information and the second information)
Claim 21 are interpreted and rejected for the same reasons as set forth in claim 12.
As to claim 13. The combination of Zhu and Laddu specifically Laddu teaches
wherein the first value of the CORESET pool indices in the first information is different from the second value of the CORESET pool indices in the second information.([0070] [0074] Fig. 1, Fig. 2, first TRP 120a may activate a primary set of TCI states and a secondary set of TCI states associated with the same CORESETPoolIndex (e.g., CORESETPoolIndex = 0 ; UE 110 may receive the primary set associated with another CORESETPoolIndex, such as CORESETPoolIndex = 1, from third TRP 120)
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filling date of the claimed invention to combine teaching of Laddu with the teaching of Zhu because Laddu teaches that updating activated TCI states for the CORESETPoolIndex associated with first TRP would enable switching of UE from first TRP to second TRP thereby enabling inter-cell multi-TRP operation. (Laddu [0052][0053]).
Claim 22 are interpreted and rejected for the same reasons as set forth in claim 13.
As to claim 14. The combination of Zhu and Laddu specifically Zhu teaches wherein the first value of the CORESET pool indices is associated with the TCI configuration.([0165] certain values of ServCellIndex in the higher layer parameter QCL-Info could be reserved/used to indicate the non-serving (or neighboring) cell information such as the PCI value(s), TRP ID/index values, CORESETPoolIndex values)
Claim 23 are interpreted and rejected for the same reasons as set forth in claim 14.
As to claim 17. The combination of Zhu and Laddu specifically Zhu teaches wherein the one or more computer-executable instructions, when executed by the at least one processor, further cause the UE to: ([0012] [0019]The UE includes a processor operably connected to the transceiver, the processor sets of instructions, configured to determine)
perform an inter-cell physical downlink shared channel (PDSCH) reception to receive a PDSCH from the second cell, ([0314] indicating the TRS as the QCL source RS for the reception of a PDSCH (or PDSCH DMRS) from a non-serving (or neighboring) cell/TRP is depicted. )
or
perform an inter-cell physical downlink control channel (PDCCH) reception to receive a PDCCH from the second cell, or
perform an inter-cell downlink reference signal reception from the second cell, or perform an inter-cell physical uplink shared channel (PUSCH) transmission to transmit a PUSCH to the second cell, or
perform an inter-cell physical uplink control channel (PUCCH) transmission to transmit a PUCCH to the second cell, or
perform an inter-cell uplink reference signal transmission to the second cell,
wherein: a downlink reference signal received in the inter-cell downlink reference signal reception comprises a DeModulation Reference Signal (DMRS) and a Channel State Information Reference Signal (CSI-RS, ([0085] [103] for inter-cell operation wherein different cells/TRPs could broadcast one or more of multiple types of RS including channel state information RS (CSI-RS) and demodulation RS (DMRS) )
and
an uplink reference signal transmitted in the inter-cell uplink reference signal transmission comprises a Sounding Reference Signal (SRS).([0446]uplink RS/channel enhancements for inter-cell operation are provided. To support inter-cell operation, enhancements on one or more uplink RSs/channels such as SRS, PUCCH, PUSCH and etc.)
As to claim 19. The combination of Zhu and Laddu specifically Zhu teaches wherein the one or more computer-executable instructions, when executed by the at least one processor, further cause the UE to: ([0012] [0019]The UE includes a processor operably connected to the transceiver, the processor sets of instructions, configured to determine)
receive or transmit, through the transceiver, a UE-dedicated channel or
a UE-dedicated signal via the second cell; [0115] A UE could be indicated by MAC CE or/and DCI based signaling or/and any combination of at least two of RRC, MAC CE and DCI based signaling; this indication could be via a separate (dedicated) parameter or joint with another parameter.)and
receive or transmit, through the transceiver, a non-UE-dedicated channel or a non-UE-dedicated signal via the second cell,
wherein: the UE-dedicated channel or the UE-dedicated signal comprises a message, a signal, or
information carried via a logical channel which is one of a dedicated control channel (DCCH) and a dedicated traffic channel (DTCH), or
the UE-dedicated channel or the UE-dedicated signal comprises a message, a signal, or information carried via one of a PDCCH and a PUCCH, or
the non-UE-dedicated channel or the non-UE-dedicated signal comprises a message, a signal, or
information carried via a logical channel which is one of a broadcast control channel (BCCH), a paging control channel (PCCH), and a common control channel (CCCH).
As to claim 20. Zhu teaches A network device comprising:
at least one transceiver;
at least one processor; and
at least one non-transitory computer-readable medium coupled to the at least one processor and storing one or more computer-executable instructions that, when executed by the at least one processor, cause the network device to ([0062] Fig. 2, network device includes processor coupled to a memory, processor executing instructions to perform functions)
transmit, through the transceiver, ([0063][0064] transmit through transceiver) Fig. 2 a radio resource control (RRC) message via a first cell to a User Equipment (UE),
the RRC message comprising first information including at least one of a transmission configuration indicator (TCI) configuration, a reference signal (RS) configuration associated with the TCI configuration, ,([0115] [0126] Fig. 9, UE receives RRC message from serving cell including RS indicated in TCI )
perform, through the transceiver, a transmission or a reception via the second cell according to at least one of the TCI configuration, the RS configuration associated with the TCI configuration, ([0153] FIG. 11, in step 1103, the network transmits to the UE a TCI state indicating one or more QCL source RSs; e QCL source RS could be transmitted from/associated with/configured for one or more non-serving (or neighboring) cell(s)/TRP(s))
Zhu does not teach and a first value of control resource set (CORESET) pool indices and
the first information is associated with a second cell with a second physical cell identity (PCI) that is different from a first PCI of the first cell; and
and the first value of the CORESET pool indices.
Laddu teaches and a first value of control resource set (CORESET) pool indices, ([0070] Fig. 2, , first TRP 120a may activate a primary set of TCI states and a secondary set of TCI states associated with the same CORESETPoolIndex (e.g., CORESETPoolIndex = 0).)
and
the first information is associated with a second cell with a second physical cell identity (PCI) that is different from a first PCI of the first cell; ([0094]) for inter-cell mobility, a TCI state that is associated with another physical Cell Identifier, PCI, (such as a PCI of second TRP 120b) than the PCI of serving TRP (such as a PCI of first TRP 120a) may be used as the mobility trigger)
and the first value of the CORESET pool indices. ([0070] Fig. 2, , first TRP 120a may activate a primary set of TCI states and a secondary set of TCI states associated with the same CORESETPoolIndex
(e.g., CORESETPoolIndex = 0).)
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filling date of the claimed invention to combine teaching of Laddu with the teaching of Zhu because Laddu teaches that updating activated TCI states for the CORESETPoolIndex associated with first TRP would enable switching of UE from first TRP to second TRP thereby enabling inter-cell multi-TRP operation. (Laddu [0052][0053]).
Claim(s) 15, 16, 24 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Zhu, Laddu and further in view of Ramachandra et al. (US 20230379769 A1)hereinafter Rama
As to claim 15. The combination of Zhu and Laddu does not teach wherein the TCI configuration comprises at least one of: a downlink TCI configuration related to a first list of TCI states configured for a downlink reception, an uplink TCI configuration related to a second list of TCI states configured for an uplink transmission, and a joint TCI configuration related to a third list of TCI states configured for the downlink reception and the uplink transmission.
Rama teaches wherein the TCI configuration comprises at least one of: a downlink TCI configuration related to a first list of TCI states configured for a downlink reception, an uplink TCI configuration related to a second list of TCI states configured for an uplink transmission, and a joint TCI configuration related to a third list of TCI states configured for the downlink reception and the uplink transmission.([0152] UE receives the lists of TCI states which may again have references to any of the RSs configured in one of the IEs in the serving cell configuration.)
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filling date of the claimed invention to combine teaching of Rama with the teaching of Zhu and Laddu because Rama teaches that with a given PCI, a TCI indication for a given PDCCH configuration triggers the UE to monitor PDCCH in a given beam of that cell associated to its PCI, in this case, a beam/SSB of the serving cell where that TCI state is configured.(Rama [0138])
Claim 24 are interpreted and rejected for the same reasons as set forth in claim 15.
As to claim 16 The combination of Zhu, Laddu and Rama specifically Rama teaches , wherein the one or more computer-executable instructions, when executed by the at least one processor, further cause the UE to: add the TCI configuration in response to receiving information indicating that the TCI configuration is to be added, or modify the TCI configuration in response to receiving information indicating that the TCI configuration is to be modified, or store the TCI configuration in response to adding or modifying the TCI configuration, or release the TCI configuration in response to receiving information indicating that the TCI configuration is to be released.([0163] a AddMod list structure for adding TCI states associated to different PCI(s) and/or ServingCellConfigCommon IE(s), for per-PCI and/or per-cell configuration(s).)
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filling date of the claimed invention to combine teaching of Rama with the teaching of Zhu and Laddu because Rama teaches that with a given PCI, a TCI indication for a given PDCCH configuration triggers the UE to monitor PDCCH in a given beam of that cell associated to its PCI, in this case, a beam/SSB of the serving cell where that TCI state is configured.(Rama [0138])
Claim(s) 18 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Zhu, Laddu and further in view of Jin et al. (US 20220287025 A1)hereinafter Jin
As to claim 18. The combination of Zhu and Laddu specifically Zhu teaches , wherein the one or more computer-executable instructions, when executed by the at least one processor, further cause the UE to: ([0012] [0019]The UE includes a processor operably connected to the transceiver, the processor sets of instructions, configured to determine)
The combination of Zhu and Laddu does not teach receive, through the transceiver, a UE capability enquiry message; and
transmit, through the transceiver, a UE capability information message in response to receiving the UE capability enquiry message,
wherein the UE capability information message comprises a capability of performing the transmission or
the reception with the second cell according to the at least one of the TCI configuration, the RS configuration associated with the TCI configuration, and
the first value of the CORESET pool indices; or
the one or more computer-executable instructions, when executed by the at least one processor, further cause the UE to be preconfigured with a capability of performing the transmission or
the reception with the second cell according to the at least one of the TCI configuration, the RS configuration associated with the TCI configuration, and the first value of the CORESET pool indices.
Jin teaches receive, through the transceiver, a UE capability enquiry message; and
transmit, through the transceiver, a UE capability information message in response to receiving the UE capability enquiry message, ([0172] an RRC connected state UE may transmit a UE capability information (UECapabilityInformation) message in response to a UE capability request message (UECapabilityEnquriy) from a base station.)
wherein the UE capability information message comprises a capability of performing the transmission or
the reception with the second cell according to the at least one of the TCI configuration, the RS configuration associated with the TCI configuration, and
the first value of the CORESET pool indices; or
the one or more computer-executable instructions, when executed by the at least one processor, further cause the UE to be preconfigured with a capability of performing the transmission or
the reception with the second cell according to the at least one of the TCI configuration, the RS configuration associated with the TCI configuration, and the first value of the CORESET pool indices.
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filling date of the claimed invention to combine teaching of Jin with the teaching of Zhu and Laddu because Jin teaches that UE capability information message would enable gNB to determine whether the gNB is capable of setting the maximum number of MIMO layers to be different for each uplink or downlink BWP for the UE.(Jin [0311])
Conclusion
6. The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure.
FAKOORIAN; Seyed Ali Akbar et al. [US 20220308152 A1] USING NON-POSITIONING SIGNALS FOR POSITIONING IN DOWNLINK AND/OR UPLINK
TUGNAWAT; Yogesh et al. [US 20220256376 A1] CONFORMANCE TESTING OF SEGMENTATION
Wu; Chih-Hsiang [US 11223981 B2] Managing inter-radio access technology capabilities of a user equipment
/ATIQUE AHMED/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2413