DETAILED ACTION
Priority
This Application is a National Stage entry of 371 of PCT/IB2023/054410 filed on April 28, 2023 - it claims priority of a Republic of Korea Application No. KR10-2022-0053712 filed on April 29, 2022.
Information Disclosure Statement
Two information disclosure statements (IDS) filed on October 29, 2024, and on June 23, 2026, are acknowledged and have been considered.
Status of the Claims
Acknowledgement is made of the claims in the filed Application 18/861,369.
Original claims 1-8, 10-11; amended claims 9, 12; cancelled claims 13-14. No new matter was added.
Thus, claims 1-12 are currently under consideration.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1-4 and 9-12 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Fett and Venier WO 2021/204823 A1 (cited in the IDS), hereon after ‘823.
Regarding instant claims 1-4, ‘823 teaches compounds that are inhibitors of YAP1/TAZ-TEAD or TEAD dependent gene transcription. 823’ reveals an indole genus compound of formula (I) as shown (abstract and claim 1).
Compound of formula (I) in 823’ overlaps with instant compound of formula (I) where variables in instant claim 1 are as follows; Q is CH, X is C, Y is CRN, Z is N, R2 is H, L is absent or C1 alkylene, R1 is aryl wherein substituted with C1haloalkyl and W is
, where Ra, Rb and Rc are each H and R3 is H or C1 alkyl. Furthermore, Scheme 2 (page 15) in 823’ reveals exemplified embodiments (shown below) that read on instant compound of formula (I).
or
Regarding instant claims 9-12, reference 823’ teaches pharmaceutical compositions of compounds of formula (I) with pharmaceutically acceptable excipient (page 80 and claim 12) as in instant claim 9.
823’ further teaches compounds of formula (I) may be used in treatment of pathologies involving YAP1/TAZ-TEAD or TEAD dependent gene transcription inhibitors and for use as anticancer agent (page 80 and 88) as in instant claims 10 and 11. In addition, 823’ teaches the pharmaceutical compositions contain an effective dose of at least one of compound of formula (I), and in another aspect, a method of treating pathologies involving YAP1-TAZ-TEAD or TEAD dependent gene transcription inhibitors including examples of the diseases (page 80-81) – instant claim 12.
Thus, instant claims 1-4 and 9-12 are anticipated by Fett and Venier, WO 2021/204823 A1.
Claims 1-4 and 7 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Miller et a. WO 2022/ 049376 A1 (cited in the IDS), hereon after ‘376.
‘376 teaches example 39 (page 87), that reads on the instant claims as follows.
Wherein Q is CH, L is absent, Z is C, X is N, Y is N, R1 is H, R2 is C1 alkyl and W is
, where R3, Ra, Rb and Rc are each H.
Accordingly, instant claims 1-4 and 7 are anticipated by Miller et al., WO 2022/049376 A1.
Claims 1-4 and 7 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Spradlin et al. WO 2020/076996 A1 (cited in the IDS), hereon after ‘996.
‘996’ teaches the compound N-(1H-indol-4-yl)acrylamide (YP 1-19) ([0621] - page 244), which reads on the instant claims as follows.
Wherein Q is CH, L is absent, Z is C, X is N, Y is C, R1 is H, R2 is C1 alkyl and W is
, where R3, Ra, Rb and Rc are each H.
Claims 1-4 and 7 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by London et al. CA 3099847 A1 (cited in the IDS), hereon after ‘847.
847’ teaches compound GO1 (Table 1 – page 29) which reads on the instant claims as follows.
Wherein Q is CH, L is absent, Z is C, X is N, Y is N, R1 is H, R2 is H and W is
, where R3, Ra, Rb and Rc are each H.
Thus, instant claims 1-4 and 7 are anticipated by London et al. CA 3099847 A1.
Claims 1-4 and 7 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Kokosza et al. 2014, (cited in the IDS) hereon after Kokosza.
Kokoza teaches compounds 10l and 10n (Table 1 page 557), which read on the instant claims, wherein Q is CH, L is absent, Z is C, X is N, Y is C, R1 is H, R2 is C1 alkyl and W is
, where R3, Ra, Rb and Rc are each H.
Therefore, instant claims 1-4 and 7 are anticipated by Kokosza et al. 2014.
Allowable Subject Matter
Claim 8 is allowed.
Conclusion
Claims 1-4, 7 and 9-12 are rejected.
Claims 5 and 6 are objected to because they are dependent on a rejected claim.
Claim 8 is allowed.
Communication
/P.O./Examiner, Art Unit 1627
/Kortney L. Klinkel/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 1627