DETAILED ACTION
Claim Objections
Applicant is advised that should claim 7 be found allowable, claim 8 will be objected to under 37 CFR 1.75 as being a substantial duplicate thereof. When two claims in an application are duplicates or else are so close in content that they both cover the same thing, despite a slight difference in wording, it is proper after allowing one claim to object to the other as being a substantial duplicate of the allowed claim. See MPEP § 608.01(m).
Double Patenting
Claims 1 and 5-8 are provisionally rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claims 1, 3 and 6 of copending Application No. 18293224 in view of Roh (CN 104068799 A).
Claims 1, 3 and 6 of copending application disclose the limitations of claims 1 and 5-8 except for
(Re. claim 1) a water pump configured to supply water stored in the water tank to the heating generator, wherein an amount of water accommodated by the heating generator is equal to an amount of water that the water pump supplies to the heating generator
(Re. claim 5) a sealer disposed at an upper side of the heating chamber and configured to seal the upper side of the heating chamber; and an upper cover disposed at an upper side of the sealer and configured to cover the sealer.
However, Roh teaches a water pump 134 configured to supply water stored in the water tank to the heating generator, wherein an amount of water accommodated by the heating generator is equal to an amount of water that the water pump supplies to the heating generator (water supplied to heating generator is only supplied by water pump).
Regarding claim 5, a sealer 139 disposed at an upper side of the heating chamber and configured to seal the upper side of the heating chamber; and an upper cover 138 disposed at an upper side of the sealer and configured to cover the sealer.
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, at the time of filing, to modify the claims of the copending application to have
(Re. claim 1) a water pump configured to supply water stored in the water tank to the heating generator, wherein an amount of water accommodated by the heating generator is equal to an amount of water that the water pump supplies to the heating generator
(Re. claim 5) a sealer disposed at an upper side of the heating chamber and configured to seal the upper side of the heating chamber; and an upper cover disposed at an upper side of the sealer and configured to cover the sealer,
as taught by Roh, for the purpose of providing means to supply water to the heater for the purpose of heating the water and to prevent excape of the water/moisture from the chamber.
Claims 9 and 10 are provisionally rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claims 1, 3 and 6 of copending Application No. 18293224 in view of Roh (CN 104068799 A) and further in view of McGee et al (US 20140150201 A1).
Claims 1, 3 and 6 of copending application in view of Roh set forth the limitations of claims 9 and 10 except for the water pump is operated for a preset water supply time, and wherein an amount of water that the water pump supplies during the water supply time is equal to a product of the water supply time and an amount of moisture discharged to the mop rag per unit time and wherein an amount of water that the heating generator accommodates is equal to a product of the water supply time and an amount of moisture discharged to the mop rag per unit time.
However, McGee teaches the water pump is operated for a preset water supply time (paragraph 0043: “predetermined time” of “timer”), and wherein an amount of water that the water pump supplies during the water supply time is equal to a product of the water supply time and an amount of moisture discharged to the mop rag per unit time (pump continues to operate at selected pump rate until predetermined time is reached which must result in the water supply as claimed), and wherein an amount of water that the heating generator accommodates is equal to a product of the water supply time and an amount of moisture discharged to the mop rag per unit time (pump continues to operate at selected pump rate until predetermined time is reached which must result in the water supply through the heating generator as claimed; note that the claim does not require the heating generator to accommodate the claimed amount of water all at once).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, at the time filing, to modify the copending application claims in view of Roh by having the water pump operated for a preset water supply time, and wherein an amount of water that the water pump supplies during the water supply time is equal to a product of the water supply time and an amount of moisture discharged to the mop rag per unit time and wherein an amount of water that the heating generator accommodates is equal to a product of the water supply time and an amount of moisture discharged to the mop rag per unit time, as taught by McGee, for the purpose of preventing the device from operating for longer than desired.
This is a provisional nonstatutory double patenting rejection.
Claim 1 is provisionally rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claims 1 of copending Application No. 18873506 in view of Roh (CN 104068799 A).
Claims 1 of copending application disclose the limitations of claims 1 except for a water pump configured to supply water stored in the water tank to the heating generator, wherein an amount of water accommodated by the heating generator is equal to an amount of water that the water pump supplies to the heating generator
However, Roh teaches a water pump 134 configured to supply water stored in the water tank to the heating generator, wherein an amount of water accommodated by the heating generator is equal to an amount of water that the water pump supplies to the heating generator (water supplied to heating generator is only supplied by water pump).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, at the time of filing, to modify the claims of the copending application to have a water pump configured to supply water stored in the water tank to the heating generator, wherein an amount of water accommodated by the heating generator is equal to an amount of water that the water pump supplies to the heating generator
as taught by Roh, for the purpose of providing means to supply water to the heater for the purpose of heating the water.
Claims 9 and 10 are provisionally rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claims 1 of copending Application No. 18873506 in view of Roh (CN 104068799 A) and further in view of McGee et al (US 20140150201 A1).
Claims 1 of copending application in view of Roh set forth the limitations of claims 9 and 10 except for the water pump is operated for a preset water supply time, and wherein an amount of water that the water pump supplies during the water supply time is equal to a product of the water supply time and an amount of moisture discharged to the mop rag per unit time and wherein an amount of water that the heating generator accommodates is equal to a product of the water supply time and an amount of moisture discharged to the mop rag per unit time.
However, McGee teaches the water pump is operated for a preset water supply time (paragraph 0043: “predetermined time” of “timer”), and wherein an amount of water that the water pump supplies during the water supply time is equal to a product of the water supply time and an amount of moisture discharged to the mop rag per unit time (pump continues to operate at selected pump rate until predetermined time is reached which must result in the water supply as claimed), and wherein an amount of water that the heating generator accommodates is equal to a product of the water supply time and an amount of moisture discharged to the mop rag per unit time (pump continues to operate at selected pump rate until predetermined time is reached which must result in the water supply through the heating generator as claimed; note that the claim does not require the heating generator to accommodate the claimed amount of water all at once).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, at the time filing, to modify the copending application claims in view of Roh by having the water pump operated for a preset water supply time, and wherein an amount of water that the water pump supplies during the water supply time is equal to a product of the water supply time and an amount of moisture discharged to the mop rag per unit time and wherein an amount of water that the heating generator accommodates is equal to a product of the water supply time and an amount of moisture discharged to the mop rag per unit time, as taught by McGee, for the purpose of preventing the device from operating for longer than desired.
This is a provisional nonstatutory double patenting rejection.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claim 4 rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
Claim 4 recites “the moisture discharge port”. However, claim 2, from which claim 4 depends, recites “a pair of moisture discharge ports”. It is unclear if “the moisture discharge port” is referring to only one of the pair of discharge ports for both. For the purpose of examination, it is interpreted to read “the pair of moisture discharge ports”.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 1 and 5 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Roh (CN 104068799 A).
Regarding claim 1, Roh discloses a wet mop rag module for a cleaner configured to clean by wiping debris on a floor surface, comprising:
a module housing (outer housing shown in figure 1);
a water tank 132 coupled to the module housing and configured to store water inside; at least one or more rotary cleaning units 122a/122b disposed at a lower side of the module housing and to which a mop rag is couplable (of a structure that would allow a mop rag to couple thereto);
a heating generator 130 configured to heat water provided from the water tank; and
a water pump 134 configured to supply water stored in the water tank to the heating generator, wherein an amount of water accommodated by the heating generator is equal to an amount of water that the water pump supplies to the heating generator (water supplied to heating generator is only supplied by water pump).
Regarding claim 5, wherein the heating generator 130 (figure 6) comprises: a heating chamber (grooves 136a/b of heating block 136) having a flow path (figure 6) in which moisture flows; a heater 137 in contact with the heating chamber and configured to supply heat to the heating chamber; a lower cover (bottom of 136) disposed at a lower side of the heater and configured to cover the heater (see figure 8); a sealer 139 disposed at an upper side of the heating chamber and configured to seal the upper side of the heating chamber; and an upper cover 138 disposed at an upper side of the sealer and configured to cover the sealer.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 2-4 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Roh (CN 104068799 A) and in view of KR 20090007510 U (hereinafter KR-510).
Regarding claim 2, Roh discloses the heating generator 130 comprises: a heating chamber 136 in which a flow path through which water flows is formed; a heater 136 configured to supply heat to the heating chamber; a water inlet port 135a formed in the heating chamber and into which water being introduced from the water tank; and a moisture discharge port 135b (figures 6 and 9) formed in the heating chamber and through which heated moisture being discharged.
Regarding claim 3, the flow path communicates the water inlet port and the pair of moisture discharge ports to each other.
Regarding claim 4, in the heating chamber, a height of the water inlet port and a height of the moisture discharge port are formed to be equal.
Roh is silent as to
(Re. claim 2) the heating generator having a pair of moisture discharge ports;
(Re. claim 3) the flow path is formed symmetrically with respect to the water inlet port.
However, KR-510 teaches a heating generator for generating steam wherein
(Re. claim 2) the heating generator having a pair of moisture discharge ports 150 (figure 4);
(Re. claim 3) the flow path is formed symmetrically with respect to the water inlet port (with respect to a sidewall of the water inlet port as seen in annotated figure below).
Furthermore, rearrangement of the inlet port such that the flow path is formed symmetrically with respect to the central axis of the water inlet port would have been an obvious design choice wherein the device made obvious by the prior art would work equally and no inherent or disclosed advantage to such a placement is present.
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, at the time of filing to modify Roh by having
(Re. claim 2) the heating generator having a pair of moisture discharge ports;
(Re. claim 3) the flow path is formed symmetrically with respect to the water inlet port,
as taught by KR-510, for the purpose of providing dispersed discharge of moisture/steam heated equally.
Claim(s) 6 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Roh and in view of Cho (KR 20080022964 A).
Regarding claim 6, Roh discloses the claimed invention substantially as claimed, as set forth above for claim 1. Roh is silent regarding the heating generator comprising an insulation member disposed between the heater and the lower cover.
However, Cho teaches a heating generator comprising an insulation member disposed between a heater and a lower cover (claims: an insulation material is filled between the heating element and the metallic protection pipe).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, at the time of filing to modify Roh by providing the heating generator with an insulation member disposed between the heater and the lower cover, as taught by CHO
Claim(s) 7 and 8 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Roh and in view of Morgan (US 20130125940 A1).
Regarding claims 7 and 8, Rog discloses the claimed invention substantially as claimed, as set forth above for claim 1. Roh is silent regarding the heating generator comprising a temperature detector configured to detect a temperature of the heating chamber. However, Morgan teaches a temperature detector configured to detect a temperature of a heating chamber (paragraph 0012). Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, at the time of filing, to modify Roh by providing the heating generator with a temperature detector configured to detect a temperature of the heating chamber, as taught by Morgan for the purpose of preventing the heat from reaching a maximum temperature.
Claim(s) 9 and 10 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Roh, in view of Morgan (US 20130125940 A1) and further in view of McGee et al (US 20140150201 A1).
Regarding claims 9 and 10, Roh/Morgan discloses the claimed invention substantially as claimed, as set forth above for claim 8. Roh/Morgan is silent regarding the water pump is operated for a preset water supply time, and wherein an amount of water that the water pump supplies during the water supply time is equal to a product of the water supply time and an amount of moisture discharged to the mop rag per unit time and wherein an amount of water that the heating generator accommodates is equal to a product of the water supply time and an amount of moisture discharged to the mop rag per unit time.
However, McGee teaches the water pump is operated for a preset water supply time (paragraph 0043: “predetermined time” of “timer”), and wherein an amount of water that the water pump supplies during the water supply time is equal to a product of the water supply time and an amount of moisture discharged to the mop rag per unit time (pump continues to operate at selected pump rate until predetermined time is reached which must result in the water supply as claimed), and wherein an amount of water that the heating generator accommodates is equal to a product of the water supply time and an amount of moisture discharged to the mop rag per unit time (pump continues to operate at selected pump rate until predetermined time is reached which must result in the water supply through the heating generator as claimed; note that the claim does not require the heating generator to accommodate the claimed amount of water all at once).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, at the time filing, to modify Roh/Morgan by having the water pump operated for a preset water supply time, and wherein an amount of water that the water pump supplies during the water supply time is equal to a product of the water supply time and an amount of moisture discharged to the mop rag per unit time and wherein an amount of water that the heating generator accommodates is equal to a product of the water supply time and an amount of moisture discharged to the mop rag per unit time, as taught by McGee, for the purpose of preventing the device from operating for longer than desired.
Conclusion
/ERIC J ROSEN/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 3772