DETAILED ACTION
Continued Examination Under 37 CFR 1.114
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claims 19-20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
Referring to claim 19, the applicant recites “A dynamic metal-to-metal (MtM) seal comprising the metal seal element of claim 17”. However, claim 17 is directed to an assembly. It is unclear what the metes and bounds of claim 19 are.
Referring to claim 20, the applicant recites “The assembly of claim 19”. However, claims 19 is directed to a metal seal element. It is unclear what the metes and bounds of claim 19 are.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 17-19 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Osbourne et al. 5503230 in view of Schulte et al. 5655603.
Referring to claim 17, Osbourne discloses an assembly with a metal seal element for providing a dynamic metal-to-metal (MtM) seal, the assembly comprising: a tubing hanger (19) having an annulus (67) and an annulus access port; wherein the metal seal element (see fig. 4, at 79) is positioned between the annulus and the annulus access port (69). Osbourne discloses the metal seal element (79) comprises a base metal material but does not disclose a silver coating on top of the base metal material, and a Molybdenum disulphide coating on top of the silver coating. Schulte teaches a metal to metal seal element with a base metal material, a silver coating on top of the base metal material, and a Molybdenum disulphide coating on top of the silver coating (see col. 8, lines 42-48). Schulte further teaches the silver layer provides a ductile surface that will deform under contact loads and the deformation fills voids in the mating steel surfaces to preclude leakage through the voids. The molybdenum disulfide coating provides corrosion resistance for the silver coating and lubricity to mating surfaces (see col. 8, lines 49-59). Therefore, it would be obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before ethe effective filing date to modify the assembly disclosed by Osborne to have a silver coating on top of the base metal material, and a Molybdenum disulphide coating on top of the silver coating in view of the teachings of Schulte with a reasonable expectation of success in order to preclude leakage through the voids and provide corrosion resistance for the silver coating and lubricity to mating surfaces.
Referring to claim 18, Osbourne discloses wherein the metal seal element defines an extending seal leg (79) for providing sealing contact with a metal component.
Referring to claim 19, as best understood by the examiner, Osbourne discloses a dynamic metal-to-metal (MtM) seal comprising the metal seal element (17) of claim 17 and a metal component ( area at 73a), wherein the metal seal element is in sealing contact with the metal component and is moveable there along.
Claim(s) 20 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Osbourne et al. 5503230 in view of Schulte et al. 5655603.
Referring to claim 20, Osbourne does not disclose the metal component includes a Molybdenum disulphide coating thereon that is in contact with the Molybdenum disulphide coating of the metal seal element when sealing contact is made there between. Schulte teaches a metal component (30) includes a copper coating ( see col. 12, lines 46-50) thereon that is in contact with the Molybdenum disulphide coating of the metal seal element when sealing contact is made there between. White teaches that Molybdenum disulphide is a coating that can be used between metal to metal surfaces (see col. 2, lines 58-col. 3, line 10). Therefore, it would be obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date to modify the seal disclosed by Osbourne as modified by Schulte and White to have the metal component have Molybdenum disulphide coating in view of the teachings of White with a reasonable expectation of success to have good lubricity between the surfaces and Molybdenum disulphide coating is a known substitute for copper coating.
Allowable Subject Matter
Claims 1,3-11,13-16 are allowed.
The following is a statement of reasons for the indication of allowable subject matter: The closest prior art to Kent 20060076130 does not teach or suggest a tubing hanger having an annulus isolation device (AID) disposed within the annulus communication cavity wherein the AID further comprises one or more metal seal elements that form a dynamic metal-to-metal (MtM) seal with the metal sleeve; and wherein the metal seal element makes sealing contact with the metal sleeve when the AID is in the closed position and is taken out of sealing contact with the metal sleeve when the AID is moved to the open position in combination with the other limitations of the claim.
Response to Arguments
Applicant’s arguments with respect to claim(s) 17-20 have been considered but are moot because the new ground of rejection does not rely on any reference applied in the prior rejection of record for any teaching or matter specifically challenged in the argument.
Conclusion
/Giovanna Wright/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 3672