DETAILED ACTION
This non-final Office action is in response to Applicant’s patent application filed on 10/29/2024. An action on the merits follows.
Claims 1-19 and 22 are pending in the application.
Priority
Acknowledgment is made of applicant's claim for foreign priority under 35 U.S.C. 119(a)-(d). The certified copy has been filed.
Drawings
The drawings are objected to under 37 CFR 1.83(a). The drawings must show every feature of the invention specified in the claims. Therefore, the limitation “thread feeder" of claims 3-5 and 14-15 must be shown or the feature(s) canceled from the claim(s). No new matter should be entered.
The drawings are objected to under 37 CFR 1.83(a). The drawings must show every feature of the invention specified in the claims. Therefore, the limitation “rotor" of claims 16-19 must be shown or the feature(s) canceled from the claim(s). No new matter should be entered.
The drawings are objected to under 37 CFR 1.83(a). The drawings must show every feature of the invention specified in the claims. Therefore, the limitation “camera" of claims 18-19 must be shown or the feature(s) canceled from the claim(s). No new matter should be entered.
Specification
Applicant is reminded of the proper language and format for an abstract of the disclosure.
The abstract should be in narrative form and generally limited to a single paragraph on a separate sheet within the range of 50 to 150 words in length. The abstract should describe the disclosure sufficiently to assist readers in deciding whether there is a need for consulting the full patent text for details.
The language should be clear and concise and should not repeat information given in the title. It should avoid using phrases which can be implied, such as, “The disclosure concerns,” “The disclosure defined by this invention,” “The disclosure describes,” etc. In addition, the form and legal phraseology often used in patent claims, such as “means” and “said,” should be avoided.
The abstract of the disclosure is objected to because it includes phrases “The invention relates to” and “According to the invention”.
A corrected abstract of the disclosure is required and must be presented on a separate sheet, apart from any other text. See MPEP § 608.01(b).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claims 1-15, 19 and 22 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor, or for pre-AIA the applicant regards as the invention.
Claims 1, 3 and 13 recites the limitation “the second tie-off point”. There is insufficient antecedent basis for this limitation in the claim. Examiner assumes the Applicant is referring to one of the “two tie off points” in claim 1.
Claims 3, 10 and 11 recites the limitation “the first tie-off point”. There is insufficient antecedent basis for this limitation in the claim. Examiner assumes the Applicant is referring to one of the “two tie off points” in claim 1.
Claim 12 recites the limitation “the first displacer”. There is insufficient antecedent basis for this limitation in the claim. Examiner assumes the Applicant is referring to the “displacer” in claim 10.
Claim 14 recites the limitation “the thread feeder”. There is insufficient antecedent basis for this limitation in the claim. Please note claims 3-5 recite a thread feeder.
Claim 15 recites the limitation “the movement of thread feeder and/or displacers”. There is insufficient antecedent basis for this limitation in the claim. Claim 15 nor claim 1 on which claim 15 depends recite thread feeder and displacers. Claims 3-5 recite a thread feeder and claims 9-13 recite displacers.
Claim 19 recites the limitation “the rotor housing”. There is insufficient antecedent basis for this limitation in the claim.
Claims 2-13 and 22 are rejected for depending on a rejected claim.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim 1-2 and 9-14 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102 (a)(1/2) as being anticipated by USPGP# 20200120942 of Domlatil (henceforth Domlatil).
Regarding claim 1, Domlatil teaches
Method for the production of a product (3.1-3.4) containing a foodstuff in a skin (9) on one strand (see fig. 1), wherein successive products are separated from one another by a tie-off region (4), created between two tie-off points (7.1, 7.2), comprising
winding a tensioned thread (6) having a predetermined number of windings repeatedly around the tie-off region (para 0005, see 4 in figs. 1-2) along its length in such a way, that it displaces as much foodstuff as possible (para 0023-0024), which is located between the tie-off points, before the second tie-off point is created, and this thread is run from product to product (para 0023-0024, see also para 0005 and 0018 for additional details).
Regarding claim 2, as shown in claim 1, Domlatil teaches
wherein the same thread (6) is used to make the tie-off points and to be wound around the tie-off region (para 0032, see 4 in figs. 1-2).
Regarding claim 9, as shown in claim 1, Domlatil teaches
wherein the tie-off region is created by at least one displacer (10.1, 10.2, para 0038, see fig. 1).
Regarding claim 10, as shown in claim 9, Domlatil teaches
wherein a displacer (10.1) constricts the tie-off region in the conveying direction upstream of the first tie-off point (see fig. 1, para 0038).
Regarding claim 11, as shown in claim 10, Domlatil teaches
wherein, downstream the first tie-off point, the product is drawn further in the conveying direction by a further displacer (10.2) to create the tie-off region (para 0038, see fig. 1).
Regarding claim 12, as shown in claim 11, Domlatil teaches
wherein the tie-off region is wound around as the product continues to be drawn between the further displacer and the first displacer (para 0038, see fig. 1).
Regarding claim 13, as shown in claim 12, Domlatil teaches
wherein the second tie-off point (7.1) is created upstream the first displacer (see relative positions of first displacer 10.1).
Regarding claim 14, as shown in claim 11, Domlatil teaches
wherein the movement of the further displacer and the movement of the thread feeder are synchronized (para 0032-0033, any device for feeding thread 6 has to be in synchronization with the further displacer 10.2 in order to prevent the thread from breaking during movement of the further displacer).
Claims 16-17 rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102 (a)(1/2) as being anticipated by USPGP# 20210022354 of Pedroia et al. (henceforth Pedroia).
Regarding claim 16, Pedroia teaches
Device (device in fig. 1) for producing products (19) containing foodstuff in a skin (8) on one strand (see fig. 1), wherein successive products are separated from one another by a tie-off region (16, 17) and a rotor (1) for a thread (10) for winding around the tie-off region (see fig. 1) and a movable displacer (14) is assigned to the latter, wherein the movement of the displacer synchronized with the movement of the rotor is effected by means of a servo drive (para 0073, 0079, 0088).
Regarding claim 17, as shown in claim 16, Pedroia teaches
wherein the servo drive is an electric motor (para 0088) .
Claims 16-17 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102 (a)(1/2) as being anticipated by EP# 0865732 of Pedroia et al. (henceforth 732 Pedroia).
Regarding claim 16, 732 Pedroia teaches
Device (device in fig. 10) for producing products (35) containing foodstuff in a skin (32) on one strand (see fig. 10), wherein successive products are separated from one another by a tie-off region (see fig. 11, region comprising 33-34) and a rotor (1) for a thread (28) for winding around the tie-off region (see fig. 10) and a movable displacer (14) is assigned to the latter, wherein the movement of the displacer synchronized with the movement of the rotor is effected by means of a servo drive (para 0014, 0028).
Regarding claim 17, as shown in claim 16, 732 Pedroia teaches
wherein the servo drive is an electric motor (para 0014, 0028) or linear drive.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 3-5 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Domlatil in view of Pedroia.
Regarding claim 3, as shown in claim 1, Domlatil does not explicitly teach
wherein a thread feeder winds the thread (4) multiple times around the tie-off region (3) at the first tie-off point (1) of the tie-off region (3) to make the first tie-off point (1), then the product (5.1-5.3) is moved along its conveying direction to produce a predetermined number of windings (4A) and the second tie-off point (2) is made.
Pedroia teaches
Method for the production of a product (19) containing a foodstuff in a skin (8) on one strand (see fig. 1), wherein successive products are separated from one another by a tie-off region (16, 17) comprising a thread feeder (9, 12, 15) winds a thread (10) multiple times around the tie-off region (17) at the first tie-off point (top of 17 in fig. 1) of the tie-off region (17) to make a first tie-off point, then the product is moved along its conveying direction to produce a predetermined number of windings and a second tie-off point (bottom of 17 in fig. 1) is made (para 0067, 0073, 0078-0079).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to modify the method of Domlatil with the addition of a thread feeder, as taught by Pedroia, in order to produce the predictable result of precise and controlled feeding of the thread while minimizing torque, wear and energy consumption of the drive of the thread feeder (Pedroia: para 0010). Additionally, the thread consumption can be easily and safely monitored during use (Pedroia: para 0059)
Regarding claim 4, as shown in claim 3, the combination of Domlatil and Pedroia teaches
wherein the speed is constant both during making of the tie-off points and during the wrapping of the tie-off region (Pedroia: para 0074-0080).
Regarding claim 5, as shown in claim 3, the combination of Domlatil and Pedroia teaches
wherein the wrapping speed of the thread feeder during making of the tie-off points is different from that during making of the windings around the tie-off region (Pedroia: para 0074-0080).
Claims 6-7 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Domlatil in view of USP# 5,928,737 of Hammer et al. (henceforth Hammer).
Regarding claim 6, as shown in claim 1, Domlatil does not teach
wherein the skin consists of plastic.
Hammer teaches
Method for the production of a product (cased sausage) containing a foodstuff (sausage) in a skin consisting of plastic (c. 4, l. 5-40).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to modify the skin of Domlatil and make it out of plastic as taught by Hammer in order to produce the predictable result of increasing the mechanical strength of the skin (c. 1, l. 22-23). This reduces the chance of accidental breakage of the skin, thus making the product more reliable.
Regarding claim 7, as shown in claim 1, Domlatil does not teach
wherein a transparent skin is used.
Hammer teaches
Method for the production of a product (cased sausage) containing a foodstuff (sausage) in a transparent skin (c. 4, l. 6-10).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to modify the skin of Domlatil such that it is transparent as taught by Hammer in order to produce the predictable result of allowing the consumer to view and inspect the foodstuff prior to purchase/use.
Claims 8 and 22 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Domlatil in view of USPGP# 20100215813 of Peterson et al. (henceforth Peterson).
Regarding claim 8, as shown in claim 1, Domlatil does not teach
wherein a liquid foodstuff is selected as the foodstuff to be filled into the skin.
Peterson teaches
Method for the production of a product (70) containing a foodstuff (65) in a skin (25); wherein a liquid foodstuff (para 0065) is selected as the foodstuff to be filled into the skin.
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to modify the foodstuff of Domlatil such that it is liquid foodstuff, as taught by Peterson, in order to produce the predictable result of allowing the user to make additional food products that are liquid based as desired. This makes the method more versatile.
Regarding claim 22, as shown in claim 8, the combination of Domlatil and Peterson teaches
wherein the liquid foodstuff is a soup (Peterson: para 0065).
Claim 15 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Domlatil in view of USPGP# 20210282417 of Veldkamp et al. (henceforth Veldkamp).
Regarding claim 15, as shown in claim 1, Domlatil does not teach
wherein the skin type is determined and then the movement of thread feeder and/or displacers (11, 12) is determined.
Veldkamp teaches
Method for the production of a product containing a foodstuff in a skin (para 0005); wherein the skin type is determined (step 504, see fig. 5) and then the movement of processing devices is determined (step 508, fig. 5, para 0080).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to modify the method of Domlatil such that skin type is determined prior to determining movement speed of a thread feeder or displacer, as taught by Veldkamp, in order to produce the predictable result of allowing the user to make precise adjustments to different processing elements in order to produce the different end products (Veldkamp: para 0013). This makes the method more versatile.
Claims 18-19 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Pedroia in view of Veldkamp and in further view of CN# 113421373 of Yu et al. (henceforth Yu).
Regarding claim 18, as shown in claim 16, Pedroia does not teach
determining the skin type.
Veldkamp teaches
Device for the production of a product containing a foodstuff in a skin (para 0005); wherein the skin type is determined (step 504, see fig. 5).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to modify the method of Pedroia such that skin type is determined, as taught by Veldkamp, in order to produce the predictable result of allowing the user to make precise adjustments to different processing elements in order to produce the different end products (Veldkamp: para 0013). This makes the device more versatile.
The combination of Pedroia and Veldkamp does not teach
wherein a camera is provided for determining the skin type, which camera is in communication with an artificial intelligence.
Yu teaches
a camera is provided for determining processing links (para 0004), which camera is in communication with an artificial intelligence (para 0013-0014).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to modify the device of the combination of Pedroia and Veldkamp such that a camera that is connected to artificial intelligence is used to determine skin type, as taught by Yu, in order to produce the predictable result of automating the step of determining skin type during production. This makes the device easier to use (more user friendly) since it reduces the chance of operator error.
Regarding claim 19, as shown in claim 18, the combination of Pedroia, Veldkamp and Yu does not teach
wherein the camera is arranged on the rotor housing in the region of a skin intake.
However, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to modify the device of the combination of Pedroia, Veldkamp and Yu and place the camera in any desired location including at a skin intake region as claimed, so as to yield the predictable result of accurately and quickly determining the skin during operation. Please note, Applicant has not disclosed any criticality to this limitation (see 0024 of PGPub of the instant application).
Claims 18-19 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over 732 Pedroia in view of Veldkamp and in further view of CN# 113421373 of Yu et al. (henceforth Yu).
Regarding claim 18, as shown in claim 16, 732 Pedroia does not teach
determining the skin type.
Veldkamp teaches
Device for the production of a product containing a foodstuff in a skin (para 0005); wherein the skin type is determined (step 504, see fig. 5).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to modify the method of 732 Pedroia such that skin type is determined, as taught by Veldkamp, in order to produce the predictable result of allowing the user to make precise adjustments to different processing elements in order to produce the different end products (Veldkamp: para 0013). This makes the device more versatile.
The combination of 732 Pedroia and Veldkamp does not teach
wherein a camera is provided for determining the skin type, which camera is in communication with an artificial intelligence.
Yu teaches
a camera is provided for determining processing links (para 0004), which camera is in communication with an artificial intelligence (para 0013-0014).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to modify the device of the combination of 732 Pedroia and Veldkamp such that a camera that is connected to artificial intelligence to determine skin type, as taught by Yu, in order to produce the predictable result of automating the step of determining skin type during production. This makes the device easier to use (more user friendly) since it reduces the chance of operator error.
Regarding claim 19, as shown in claim 18, the combination of 732 Pedroia, Veldkamp and Yu does not teach
wherein the camera is arranged on the rotor housing in the region of a skin intake.
However, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to modify the device of the combination of 732 Pedroia, Veldkamp and Yu and place the camera in any desired location including at a skin intake region as claimed, so as to yield the predictable result of accurately and quickly determining the skin during operation. Please note, Applicant has not disclosed any criticality to this limitation (see 0024 of PGPub of the instant application).
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure.
Admitted prior art in para 0018 of PGPub of the instant application related to thread feeder and rotor as claimed.
/M. A./
Examiner, Art Unit 3731
/ANNA K KINSAUL/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 3731