DETAILED ACTION
This office action is a response to an application filed on 10/29/2024 in which claims 16-35 are pending. Claims 1-15 were canceled.
Priority
Acknowledgment is made of applicant’s claim for foreign priority under 35 U.S.C. 119 (a)-(d). Receipt is acknowledged of certified copies of papers required by 37 CFR 1.55.
Information Disclosure Statement
The information disclosure statement (IDS) submitted on 10/29/2024 has been considered by the examiner. The submission is in compliance with the provisions of 37 CFR 1.97.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 16-35 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Lee et al. (US 2017/0245199) (provided in the IDS), hereinafter “Lee”.
As to claim 16, Lee teaches a method performed by a user equipment (UE) in a wireless communication system (Lee, Fig. 12, [0102], a method for performing autonomous denial for dual connectivity between a UE and a MeNB), the method comprising:
receiving, from a base station, autonomous denial information (Lee, Fig. 12, [0103], the autonomous denial information is received from the MeNB) associated with an in-device coexistence (IDC) (Lee, [0088], the autonomous denial is applied for serving cells causing the IDC) for a cell group (Lee, Fig. 12, [0103], “an autonomous denial rate for MCG (‘A’) and an autonomous denial rate for SCG (‘B’)”);
identifying a problem of the IDC (Lee, [0055]-[0058], the UE determines IDC problems); and
in case that the problem of the IDC is identified (Lee, [0055]-[0058], the UE determines IDC problems. Fig. 12, [0104]-[0105], the UE determines that performing the autonomous denial is necessary), determining to deny a transmission in an uplink (UL) slot for the cell group based on the autonomous denial information (Lee, [0062]-[0063], Table 1, [0064], “the maximum number of the UL subframes for which the UE is allowed to deny any UL transmission”, [0090], “the UE may perform autonomous denial by applying the configured autonomous denial rate to serving cells in the configured cell group”, Fig. 12, [0104]-[0105], the UE determines that performing the autonomous denial is necessary and performs autonomous denial on the corresponding cell group (i.e. MCG and SCG)).
As to claim 17, Lee teaches wherein the autonomous denial information includes first information indicating a maximum number of the UL slot for denying the transmission (Lee, [0063], Table 1, the autonomous denial configuration includes different parameters and values, [0064], “The autonomousDenialSubframes field indicates the maximum number of the UL subframes for which the UE is allowed to deny any UL transmission”).
As to claim 18, Lee teaches wherein the autonomous denial information includes second information indicating a validity period associated with the UL slot for denying the transmission (Lee, [0063], Table 1, the autonomous denial configuration includes different parameters and values, [0064], “The autonomousDenialValidity field indicates the validity period over which the UL autonomous denial subframes shall be counted”).
As to claim 19, Lee teaches wherein the autonomous denial information is configured per cell group (Lee, Fig. 12, [0103], “an autonomous denial rate for MCG (‘A’) and an autonomous denial rate for SCG (‘B’)”).
As to claim 20, Lee teaches further comprising:
transmitting, to the base station (Lee, [0055], “When a UE experiences IDC problems that it cannot solve by itself and a network intervention is required, it sends an IDC indication via dedicated RRC signaling to report the IDC problems to the eNB”), an UE assistance information message including an affected carrier frequency list (Lee, [0061], “To assist the eNB in selecting an appropriate solution, all necessary/available assistance information for both FDM and TDM solutions is sent together in the IDC indication to the eNB. The IDC assistance information contains the list of E-UTRA carriers suffering from IDC problems, the direction of the interference…”) and an affected carrier frequency combination list (Lee, [0008], [0055]-[0058], [0061], the assistance information includes the list of carries suffering from IDC problems, such as primary frequency, secondary frequency, a non-serving frequency. IDC is caused by the proximity of multiple radio transceivers within the same UE operating on adjacent frequencies or sub-harmonic frequencies).
As to claim 21, Lee teaches a method performed by a base station in a wireless communication system (Lee, Fig. 12, [0102], a method for performing autonomous denial for dual connectivity between a UE and a MeNB), the method comprising:
generating, autonomous denial information associated with an in-device coexistence (IDC) for a cell group (Lee, [0059], [0061]-[0064], Table 1, Fig. 12, [0103], the MeNB configures the autonomous denial via RRC signaling that include multiple values and parameters. [0091], the network configures an autonomous denial rate per cell group and a cell group to which the corresponding autonomous denial rate is to be applied to the UE); and
transmitting, to a user equipment (UE), the autonomous denial information (Lee, Fig. 12, [0103], the autonomous denial information is transmitted from the MeNB to the UE);
wherein the autonomous denial information is associated with denying a transmission of an uplink (UL) slot for the cell group (Lee, [0062]-[0063], Table 1, [0064], “the maximum number of the UL subframes for which the UE is allowed to deny any UL transmission”, [0090], “the UE may perform autonomous denial by applying the configured autonomous denial rate to serving cells in the configured cell group”, Fig. 12, [0104]-[0105], the UE determines that performing the autonomous denial is necessary and performs autonomous denial on the corresponding cell group (i.e. MCG and SCG)) based on an identification of the IDC (Lee, [0055]-[0058], the UE determines IDC problems. Fig. 12, [0104]-[0105], the UE determines that performing the autonomous denial is necessary).
As to claim 22, Lee teaches wherein the autonomous denial information includes first information indicating a maximum number of the UL slot for denying the transmission (Lee, [0063], Table 1, the autonomous denial configuration includes different parameters and values, [0064], “The autonomousDenialSubframes field indicates the maximum number of the UL subframes for which the UE is allowed to deny any UL transmission”).
As to claim 23, Lee teaches wherein the autonomous denial information includes second information indicating a validity period associated with the UL slot for denying the transmission (Lee, [0063], Table 1, the autonomous denial configuration includes different parameters and values, [0064], “The autonomousDenialValidity field indicates the validity period over which the UL autonomous denial subframes shall be counted”).
As to claim 24, Lee teaches wherein the base station configures the autonomous denial information per cell group (Lee, [0091], Fig. 12, [0103], “the MeNB transmits the RRC connection reconfiguration message which includes an autonomous denial rate for MCG (‘A’) and an autonomous denial rate for SCG (‘B’)”).
As to claim 25, Lee teaches further comprising:
receiving, from the UE (Lee, [0055], “When a UE experiences IDC problems that it cannot solve by itself and a network intervention is required, it sends an IDC indication via dedicated RRC signaling to report the IDC problems to the eNB”), an UE assistance information message including an affected carrier frequency list (Lee, [0061], “To assist the eNB in selecting an appropriate solution, all necessary/available assistance information for both FDM and TDM solutions is sent together in the IDC indication to the eNB. The IDC assistance information contains the list of E-UTRA carriers suffering from IDC problems, the direction of the interference…”) and an affected carrier frequency combination list (Lee, [0008], [0055]-[0058], [0061], the assistance information includes the list of carries suffering from IDC problems, such as primary frequency, secondary frequency, a non-serving frequency. IDC is caused by the proximity of multiple radio transceivers within the same UE operating on adjacent frequencies or sub-harmonic frequencies).
As to claim 26, Lee teaches a user equipment (UE) in a wireless communication system (Lee, Fig. 12, [0102], a method for performing autonomous denial for dual connectivity between a UE and a MeNB), the UE comprising:
a transceiver (Lee, Fig. 13, [0108]-[0109], the UE includes a transceiver 930); and
a controller configured to (Lee, Fig. 13, [0108]-[0109], the UE includes a processor to perform the functions of the UE):
receive, from a base station, autonomous denial information (Lee, Fig. 12, [0103], the autonomous denial information is received from the MeNB) associated with an in-device coexistence (IDC) (Lee, [0088], the autonomous denial is applied for serving cells causing the IDC) for a cell group (Lee, Fig. 12, [0103], “an autonomous denial rate for MCG (‘A’) and an autonomous denial rate for SCG (‘B’)”),
identify a problem of the IDC (Lee, [0055]-[0058], the UE determines IDC problems), and
in case that the problem of the IDC is identified (Lee, [0055]-[0058], the UE determines IDC problems. Fig. 12, [0104]-[0105], the UE determines that performing the autonomous denial is necessary), determine to deny a transmission in an uplink (UL) slot for the cell group based on the autonomous denial information (Lee, [0062]-[0063], Table 1, [0064], “the maximum number of the UL subframes for which the UE is allowed to deny any UL transmission”, [0090], “the UE may perform autonomous denial by applying the configured autonomous denial rate to serving cells in the configured cell group”, Fig. 12, [0104]-[0105], the UE determines that performing the autonomous denial is necessary and performs autonomous denial on the corresponding cell group (i.e. MCG and SCG)).
As to claim 27, Lee teaches wherein the autonomous denial information includes first information indicating a maximum number of the UL slot for denying the transmission (Lee, [0063], Table 1, the autonomous denial configuration includes different parameters and values, [0064], “The autonomousDenialSubframes field indicates the maximum number of the UL subframes for which the UE is allowed to deny any UL transmission”).
As to claim 28, Lee teaches wherein the autonomous denial information includes second information indicating a validity period associated with the UL slot for denying the transmission (Lee, [0063], Table 1, the autonomous denial configuration includes different parameters and values, [0064], “The autonomousDenialValidity field indicates the validity period over which the UL autonomous denial subframes shall be counted”).
As to claim 29, Lee teaches wherein the autonomous denial information is configured per cell group (Lee, Fig. 12, [0103], “an autonomous denial rate for MCG (‘A’) and an autonomous denial rate for SCG (‘B’)”).
As to claim 30, Lee teaches wherein the controller is further configured to:
transmit, to the base station (Lee, [0055], “When a UE experiences IDC problems that it cannot solve by itself and a network intervention is required, it sends an IDC indication via dedicated RRC signaling to report the IDC problems to the eNB”), an UE assistance information message including an affected carrier frequency list (Lee, [0061], “To assist the eNB in selecting an appropriate solution, all necessary/available assistance information for both FDM and TDM solutions is sent together in the IDC indication to the eNB. The IDC assistance information contains the list of E-UTRA carriers suffering from IDC problems, the direction of the interference…”) and an affected carrier frequency combination list (Lee, [0008], [0055]-[0058], [0061], the assistance information includes the list of carries suffering from IDC problems, such as primary frequency, secondary frequency, a non-serving frequency. IDC is caused by the proximity of multiple radio transceivers within the same UE operating on adjacent frequencies or sub-harmonic frequencies).
As to claim 31, Lee teaches a base station in a wireless communication system (Lee, Fig. 12, [0102], a method for performing autonomous denial for dual connectivity between a UE and a MeNB), the base station comprising:
a transceiver (Lee, Fig. 13, [0107], [0109], the eNB includes a transceiver 830); and
a controller configured to (Lee, Fig. 13, [0107], [0109], the eNB includes a processor to perform the functions of the eNB):
generate, autonomous denial information associated with an in-device coexistence (IDC) for a cell group (Lee, [0059], [0061]-[0064], Table 1, Fig. 12, [0103], the MeNB configures the autonomous denial via RRC signaling that include multiple values and parameters. [0091], the network configures an autonomous denial rate per cell group and a cell group to which the corresponding autonomous denial rate is to be applied to the UE), and
transmit, to a user equipment (UE), the autonomous denial information (Lee, Fig. 12, [0103], the autonomous denial information is transmitted from the MeNB to the UE);
wherein the autonomous denial information is associated with denying a transmission of an uplink (UL) slot for the cell group (Lee, [0062]-[0063], Table 1, [0064], “the maximum number of the UL subframes for which the UE is allowed to deny any UL transmission”, [0090], “the UE may perform autonomous denial by applying the configured autonomous denial rate to serving cells in the configured cell group”, Fig. 12, [0104]-[0105], the UE determines that performing the autonomous denial is necessary and performs autonomous denial on the corresponding cell group (i.e. MCG and SCG)) based on an identification of the IDC (Lee, [0055]-[0058], the UE determines IDC problems. Fig. 12, [0104]-[0105], the UE determines that performing the autonomous denial is necessary).
As to claim 32, Lee teaches wherein the autonomous denial information includes first information indicating a maximum number of the UL slot for denying the transmission (Lee, [0063], Table 1, the autonomous denial configuration includes different parameters and values, [0064], “The autonomousDenialSubframes field indicates the maximum number of the UL subframes for which the UE is allowed to deny any UL transmission”).
As to claim 33, Lee teaches wherein the autonomous denial information includes second information indicating a validity period associated with the UL slot for denying the transmission (Lee, [0063], Table 1, the autonomous denial configuration includes different parameters and values, [0064], “The autonomousDenialValidity field indicates the validity period over which the UL autonomous denial subframes shall be counted”).
As to claim 34, Lee teaches wherein the base station configures the autonomous denial information per cell group (Lee, [0091], Fig. 12, [0103], “the MeNB transmits the RRC connection reconfiguration message which includes an autonomous denial rate for MCG (‘A’) and an autonomous denial rate for SCG (‘B’)”).
As to claim 35, Lee teaches wherein the controller is further configured to:
receive, from the UE (Lee, [0055], “When a UE experiences IDC problems that it cannot solve by itself and a network intervention is required, it sends an IDC indication via dedicated RRC signaling to report the IDC problems to the eNB”), an UE assistance information message including an affected carrier frequency list (Lee, [0061], “To assist the eNB in selecting an appropriate solution, all necessary/available assistance information for both FDM and TDM solutions is sent together in the IDC indication to the eNB. The IDC assistance information contains the list of E-UTRA carriers suffering from IDC problems, the direction of the interference…”) and an affected carrier frequency combination list (Lee, [0008], [0055]-[0058], [0061], the assistance information includes the list of carries suffering from IDC problems, such as primary frequency, secondary frequency, a non-serving frequency. IDC is caused by the proximity of multiple radio transceivers within the same UE operating on adjacent frequencies or sub-harmonic frequencies).
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure:
Zhang et al. U.S. Patent No. 9,509,485 – Systems and methods for in-device co-existence interference avoidance for dual connectivity.
Fu et al. U.S. Patent No. 9,246,603 – Method of in-device interference mitigation for cellular, Bluetooth, WIFI, and satellite systems coexistence.
Dayal et al. U.S. Patent Application Publication No. 2014/0126552 – Autonomous denial configurations for multi-radio coexistence.
Park et al. U.S. Patent Application Publication No. 2012/0275362 – Devices for interference control signaling.
/RICARDO H CASTANEYRA/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2473